India set to launch South Asia's first Semi High Speed Rail

Contrarian

Trial run of semi high-speed Delhi-Agra train on July 3

NEW DELHI: Railways is all set to hold a trial run on July 3 of a train at a speed of 160kmph on the Delhi-Agra route as it looks to launch a semi-high speed service between the two destinations in November.

Equipped with an electric locomotive of 5400HP, the train will begin its test journey at 10 A.M. on July 3 from New Delhi Station with Commissioner Railway Safety PK Vajpayee, Divisional Railway Managers (DRM) of Delhi and Agra Divisions and other senior officials involved with the semi-high speed project on board.

"We are finalising all preparations for the trial run at 160kmph speed between Delhi and Agra on July 3. The special train will have 10 coaches. We will make the return journey on the same day," DRM of Delhi Division, Anurag Sachaan, told PTI.

RPF personnel will be deployed along the route to ensure that the trial run goes off smoothly.

There are about 16 speed restriction areas and curves on the Delhi-Agra route which are being upgraded to improve the speed, he said.

Currently, the Bhopal Shatabdi runs at speeds of up to a maximum of 150kmph on that route.

The train would come as a boon for tourists visiting Taj Mahal as the travel time between Delhi and Agra is expected to come down to 90 minutes from the current 120 minutes.

The state transporter is making the semi-high speed train -- the first of its kind in the railways -- operational using its own resources.

It is estimated that a cost of Rs 15 crore would be incurred to make the track ready for the semi-high speed train, said a senior Railway Ministry official involved with the project.

There will be fencing for a stretch of 27-km along the track between Delhi and Agra to prevent obstruction and ensure speed.

After the Delhi to Agra service, Railways will run similar trains for Kanpur and Chandigarh from the national capital.

Trial run of semi high-speed Delhi-Agra train on July 3 - The Economic Times

I think high speed rail usually means trains over 250 Kmph. That will take some serious time. Delhi Agra is a short run test phase. I hope they have major plans for metro city corridors.

Yes.
Though I would prefer the GoI to make sure entire if not most of IR runs semi-high speed network instead of focusing on high speed rail on some corridors. The cost will work out the same for both.

Changing IR to semi-high speed will and completely eliminating the sleeper system will make railways very very profitable. Sleeper berths of most trains will be reduced as most journeys will become under 10 hour routes and use chairs instead that will increase passengers transported per train.

Yes.
Though I would prefer the GoI to make sure entire if not most of IR runs semi-high speed network instead of focusing on high speed rail on some corridors. The cost will work out the same for both.

Changing IR to semi-high speed will and completely eliminating the sleeper system will make railways very very profitable. Sleeper berths of most trains will be reduced as most journeys will become under 10 hour routes and use chairs instead that will increase passengers transported per train.

You forgot the recent havoc people created in fare increases. So much so that even a strong leader like NaMo had to partly roll back fare hikes. This is the problem in a mob rule democracy. Even the bitter medicine pill is not accepted by ignorant and rote-memory educated crowd.

Eliminating sleepers will probably raise more protests from the daru chikan crowd who cannot tell all these metrics of measurement and growth.

They wont if the duration of journey is reduced. They will object if they are made to travel for more than 10 hours on a chair. Not if its less than that. We already have chair cars that take 7 hour journeys - shaitabdis.

I know that bhai sahab. But what do you say about the crowd mentality?

High speed trains?? Look out....

5738.1237984732.jpg

The semi high speed rail system should be increased to more and more parts of the country it will cost less as compared to the high speed rail network which required huge investment. Both the projects should be runned on a parallel basis opting for high speed rail is also important for us.

economically saner .increasing speed,frequency and building linkages with proposed industrial corridors and ports are way more significant than shiny over hyped bullet trains.

Thats Bangladesh. But yes similar conditions do exists in our nation as well
BANGLADESH | Railways - SkyscraperCity
Yep! Imagine a train zipping along at 250 kmph with cows and donkeys grazing on the tracks!! And then we have hundreds of those dangerous unmanned crossings too!

The only alternative is to build elevated high speed tracks or an impenetrable fence along the entire length. And I haven't even got started on our Naxal friends who are always up to no good. One fish plate removed and......

Yep! Imagine a train zipping along at 250 kmph with cows and donkeys grazing on the tracks!! And then we have hundreds of those dangerous unmanned crossings too!
The only alternative is to build elevated high speed tracks or an impenetrable fence along the entire length. And I haven't even got started on our Naxal friends who are always up to no good. One fish plate removed and......

Free burger patties? :P

On a serious note, these higher than usual speed trains will be introduced only on "safe" routes IMHO.It will take years before we upgrade our infrastructure and inculcate a sense of civil behavior in our citizens before the whole nation can reap benefits.

Free burger patties? :P

On a serious note, these higher than usual speed trains will be introduced only on "safe" routes IMHO.It will take years before we upgrade our infrastructure and inculcate a sense of civil behavior in our citizens before the whole nation can reap benefits.
Whenever I'm traveling by the high speed French TGV at almost 300kmph, I can't help noticing that there are no animals within 500m of the tracks. They are all fenced off in private farms. And the tracks are at ground level, not elevated. There's been no accident since its inception.

(I hope I haven't spoken too soon as I'll soon be heading from Paris to Nice on the TGV!!
Worry.gif
:lol:)