India media storm over 10-year-old pregnant rape victim

Netherlands
_97207315_istock-469739616.jpg

A 10-year-old girl who is pregnant and has been refused an abortion is at the centre of a media storm in India. The BBC's Geeta Pandey travelled to the northern city of Chandigarh to piece together her story.

"We have seen lots of cases of teenage pregnancies involving 14 to 15-year-olds, but this is the first ever case that I have seen of a 10-year-old," said Mahavir Singh, of the Chandigarh State Legal Services Authority.

Mr Singh has been involved in a case which has shocked Chandigarh and the rest of India, that of a 10-year-old girl who became pregnant after allegedly being repeatedly raped by a relative.

That relative is now in jail, pending trial.

The girl in question has been described as a happy child who smiles easily. She's shy and not very talkative. English and mathematics are the favourite subjects of this class six student. She loves to draw and is pretty good at it. She can't get enough of her favourite cartoon shows Chhoti Anandi (Little Anandi) and Shin Chan. She loves chicken and fish - and ice-cream.

But on 28 July, India's Supreme Court rejected a petition - filed on her behalf - to allow her to abort, on the grounds that at 32 weeks, she is too far into her pregnancy. A doctors' panel had advised the court that a termination at this stage would be "too risky" for the girl, and that the foetus was "doing well".

The court order was a huge disappointment for the girl's family.

'She has no idea what happened'

Indian law does not allow terminations after 20 weeks unless doctors certify that the mother's life is in danger.

But in recent years, the courts have received several petitions, many from child rape survivors, seeking to terminate pregnancies after 20 weeks. In most cases, these pregnancies are discovered late because the children are not aware of their condition.

_97206485_gettyimages-613933186.jpg

In India, a child under 16 is raped every 155 minutes, a child under 10 every 13 hours

In the case of this 10-year-old too, the pregnancy was discovered only three weeks ago when she complained of pain in her lower abdomen and her mother took her to a doctor.

Someone who interacts with the girl on a regular basis says: "She's very innocent and has no idea what's happened to her."

Her parents also missed the telltale signs, perhaps because she's "a healthy, chubby child". Besides, they couldn't imagine even in their wildest nightmares that their daughter could be pregnant at 10.

The child has still not been told about her pregnancy and, for those dealing with her, talking to her is like treading on eggshells. She has been told that she has a big stone in her stomach and the bulge is because of that.

She's been put on a special diet of eggs, milk, fruit, fish and chicken and she seems to be enjoying the extra attention.

But in recent days, police, social workers and counsellors have been in and out of her house, and a media circus has grown up outside her home.

"She might not understand the exact problem, the gravity of the situation, but I think she has some idea now," a senior official told the BBC.
Her parents are struggling to deal with the situation. The family is poor and lives in a cramped one-room flat. Her father is a government employee and the mother works as a domestic helper.

Policewoman Pratibha Kumari, who has investigated the case, describes them as a "very nice family, who are so simple that they didn't even realise what this man was doing to their daughter".

The parents, she says, are understandably distraught. "Her mother has never talked to me without crying. The father says he feels like his daughter has been murdered."

The scale of abuse in India

_97232909_gettyimages-167260842.jpg

• A child under 16 is raped every 155 minutes, a child under 10 every 13 hours
  • More than 10,000 children were raped in 2015
  • 240 million women living in India were married before they turned 18
  • 53.22% of children who participated in a government study reported some form of sexual abuse
  • 50% of abusers are known to the child or are "persons in trust and care-givers"
Sources: Indian government, Unicef

What has made their situation worse is that, ever since the news of the rape and pregnancy hit the headlines, they have been hounded by journalists.

"When the girl's father came to see me, he told me his biggest problem was the press. He said there were reporters outside his home all the time and his privacy was being infringed upon," Neil Roberts, chair of the Child Welfare Committee, told the BBC.

The media attention has meant the girl is likely to get the best medical care and is entitled to claim financial compensation from the government.

But the unwanted publicity is causing the family immense grief. Many of the reporters went to their house when the father was at work and gained entry claiming to be child workers.

Since the alleged rapist was the mother's cousin, some even questioned if she was aware of the abuse and, maybe, even approved of it. "How come she didn't know that her daughter was pregnant for seven months?" they asked.

This has been very troubling for the family, and the girl's father is angry and bitter.

"I want him to be severely punished. He should get the death penalty or be locked away for the rest of his life in prison. He has admitted to the crime. But he has never said sorry to us," he tells me in a brief phone conversation.

Before hanging up on me, he asks: "Why are you advertising my daughter's case? The press have turned this into a business enterprise."

_97202867_gettyimages-459217840.jpg

Campaigners say 50% of abusers are known to the child or are "persons in trust and care-givers"

His anger is justified - even though there are laws that expressly forbid journalists from revealing identities of rape survivors and child victims of crimes, many people have been able to join the dots and identify the family because the alleged rapist's name was extensively reported in the Indian press. Now their neighbours and his work colleagues know. Possibly the child's school friends know too.

A local journalist, who met the family in the early days, says the parents are worried sick about the girl's future and the stigma she will face when she grows up. The father has also spoken of his worries over her health.

Medical tests so far show that her health is "good" though she suffers from "mild anaemia".

But there are other concerns. The girl was born with a hole in her heart, which was plugged in 2013. Although doctors say it's unlikely to interfere with her pregnancy, the fact remains that she is way too young to give birth.

Every year, 45,000 adult women die during childbirth in India. The risk of pregnant girls under the age of 15 years dying is two-and-a-half times higher than that for women above 20. Doctors say the risk is even higher for someone who is only 10.

It's a concern the Supreme Court took on board, but the judges still ruled that the pregnancy could continue.

So what will happen next?

Those in the know say the baby is due by the middle of September and the doctors have decided that it will be a Caesarean delivery. In case of any complications, the birth could be earlier.

Since the girl's family have said they want nothing to do with the baby, the newborn will be looked after by the child welfare committee until it is put up for adoption.

Medical experts say the 10-year-old is bound to suffer from mental trauma and will need years of counselling from a child psychologist.

"We've got our fingers crossed for her," said a child rights worker. "Can a 10-year-old deliver a child? Could it be life threatening for her? We are praying that nothing bad happens to her."

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-40823438

Bloody rabid dog, whose bloodline's greatest achievement is putting that rabid dog in front of a computer so that he can prove the rabidness of his disgusting existence.

@WebMaster,@Oscar, @Slav Defence , I have no mercy and absolutely nothing beyond disgust at anyone who uses kids and worse their appalling conditions to score political brownie points. I reserve the same contempt and disgust for any bloody dog who does the same, whichever country he/she/it may belong to.

I barely get enough time to pass comments here, or anywhere. But I suppose I could not look away from this scum. Ban me if I've violated any regulations; I will not be made to tolerate rabid dogs.
You don't need to complain....administrators here have an agenda which is given as many pakodias here directly work for pindi

Why? Does the truth hurt? This is your incredible India. Have the guts to face it now. It is your countrymen who go around raping every second. You rape women, children and animals. You Indians are filthy animals. You can't hide it from the world.

LOL These Indian dogs cuss Pakistan all day long on this forum, but look at their true face now. He can't take it anymore... He is about to explode the poor little rapist. LMAO A taste of your own medicine you filthy animal.

I never understood that. indians come here all the time criticizing Pakistan and talking as if their nation is a superpower yet are oblivious to their own problems and want to sweep everything under the carpet.

You don't need to complain....administrators here have an agenda which is given as many pakodias here directly work for pindi

Sure thing. The whole world is conspiring against India. BBC, CNN, NYT, WP etc. Every rape story that gets reported in the world media is a conspiracy against incredible India LMAO Let's just stop reporting on rape in India to accommodate and please the Indians.

Now, according to this stupid Indian the Pakistani army is instructing me to post every rape topic about India on this forum LOL It is a conspiracy by the ISI against India.

What a loser nation. Indians are sore losers. They cuss and hate all day long against Pakistan on this forum, but behold to even post something which is the reality.

This guy @maximuswarrior itself a isolated hypersensitive insecure troll.He uses rape as a context each of his argument.
Disgusting bugger using rape of a minor to score brownies.It's a social epidemic not only in India.
Pakistan is also no better.Better filter out those revenge rape freakos working under your civilian govt.Then take moral high ground over disgusting rape.

very sad day... we shd teach our children about no one can touch their private except mothers.
she is our daughter... she was not born with indian ration card but yes she is bani adam..
"injustice anywhere is threat to justice everywhere" M.L.King

Sure thing. The whole world is conspiring against India. Every rape story that gets reported in the world media is a conspiracy against incredible India LMAO

Now, the Pakistani army is instructing me to post every rape topic about India on this forum LOL It is a conspiracy by the ISI against India.

What a loser nation. Indians are losers.
time to go back to your sheep abdullah...What a waste of sperm , your father should have stick with goat... I am sure Results would have been far better lol

LOL Says the Indian filthy rapist. Do you even have one iota worth of shame in your body? What kind of a nation do you belong to where rape is glorified. This is what the Indian army does all day long against innocent people.

You rape and molest your own daughters and mothers and point fingers at others. What a disgusting nation you belong to.

We don't do this after happens in our country:

18 Comments Glorifying Rape That Have Been Broadcast In India

https://www.buzzfeed.com/sahilrizwan/the-r-word?utm_term=.eqpK6P8RGD#.wfnRw298Yl

That is what differentiates you from the rest of the world.

America top the list in number of rape ... doesnt means America is some ... whatever you say . I m out .. reason Pakistan is a failed state today is people like you ... blind fold on your own flaws but questioning India .... no need i m out you win congr8s ... meanwhile we will try reduce such casea ... committee is already made to look into possible edit for law ... the 20 month limit or so should be increased . And we r working in dis direction ..

Thank you Pakistan the more you insult us on toilet and rape the more we try to resolve such problems ... so that one day we set a example for others .. for your sisters and mothers that if India can fight crime against women . .. so Pakistan can .. khuda hafiz ... janab ... barbadh kr rhe ho aap log jinnah k pakistan ko

America top the list in number of rape ... doesnt means America is some ... whatever you say . I m out .. reason Pakistan is a failed state today is people like you ... blind fold on your own flaws but questioning India .... no need i m out you win congr8s ... meanwhile we will try reduce such casea ... committee is already made to look into possible edit for law ... the 20 month limit or so should be increased . And we r working in dis direction ..

Blah blah blah... In America ministers, police officials, priests and other higher up officials don't glorify rape. In India rape is glorified at the highest level. Stop comparing apples with oranges and grow a spine to call a spade a spade.

This is Indians for you folks. Blame and cuss Pakistanis and Chinese all day long, but start crying like a baby when the truth is exposed about India.

indians won't condemn this instead point their fingers at others.

I condemned dis and already a committee is formed ... a all girl police force ... law has been questioned in supreme court attorney general already provided his view ... now the question is what is Pakistan doing ?

Like I said bachu. Mirchi lagi tujhe ab? Pura saal is forum par China aur Pakistan ke may baap bane rehte ho. Ab asli chehra bataya to aag lag gay?

Bhai sun wo dono Pakistan ki ladkiyan ka he jo aaj mari ya marne ki condition main he unka soch ye bol rha hu ... apne Pakistan ka soch tu

I condemned dis and already a committee is formed ... a all girl police force ... law has been questioned in supreme court attorney general already provided his view ... now the question is what is Pakistan doing ?

LOL at what is Pakistan doing? This topic is about India. Remain on topic.

Rape happens in every country unfortunately, but rape in India is very different because your officials shamelessly protect and praise the offenders.

You are doing nothing. Indian officials don't condemn rape. They glorify it. Cow killings are glorified. Rape is glorified. Don't deny it.