Inadian Paln To Reserve Seat For Azad Kashmir In Indian Parliament

HRK

PDF THINK TANK: CONSULTANT
Home Ministry's brainwave: Keep some Lok Sabha seats for Pakistani Kashmir, just in case

Rahul Tripathi : New Delhi, Tue Oct 15 2013, 08:43 hrs

M_Id_429569_Home_Ministry.jpg

The Union home ministry is working on a proposal to create Lok Sabha seats in Pakistani Kashmir in what is being seen as a far-fetched and potentially controversial move to assert India's right on the territory.

Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde is reviewing the proposal, which involves amending Article 81 of the Indian constitution, and is said to believe that the change should be made early.

Top MHA officials led by Home Secretary Anil Goswami, who is from the Jammu and Kashmir cadre, held discussions earlier this month and felt that the matter needs to be legally examined by the law and justice ministry first.

The officials have cited the composition of the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly where 24 seats are reserved for Pakistani Kashmir but are vacant as the territory is in Pakistan's control. However, these seats are not taken into account to consider the total membership of the Assembly.

"It is strongly felt that there is a need for making amendment in Article 81 of the Indian constitution so as to include a provision similar to the provision in the Jammu and Kashmir constitution for keeping seats vacant for the Lok Sabha in respect of the territory illegally occupied by Pakistan," says the MHA proposal, prepared by joint secretary R K Srivastava.

"It is not understood as to how a reference to this provision was not included in the Indian constitution and how this mismatch has occurred in the two constitutions," the proposal adds.

While stressing on the need for the law ministry's opinion, the proposal says that "an amendment in the Indian constitution would give weightage to the statement made by the Prime Minister and the resolutions passed by the Parliament" — a reference to India's public assertions that *** is an integral part of India and will remain so.

"It is important that we claim our right on the territory forcibly occupied by

Pakistan, even if the Lok Sabha seats like Assembly remain vacant," said a top MHA official.

Analysts, however, feel the move is incongruous with reality as India has for long emphasised the sanctity of the Line of Control and does not really expect to

reclaim Pakistani Kashmir.

Home Ministry's brainwave: Keep some Lok Sabha seats for ***, just in case - Indian Express

Billi ko chichro ke khoowab ......:omghaha:

Due to some technical problem same thread get posted 3 times mods kindly delete other two ......

We should support such a decision by India because consequently Pakistan will reserve seat for Indian Occupied Kashmir. Think what does that mean.. That will mean the Kashmir dispute will not just get democratic exposure (which demographically Muslims win) but will keep getting exposure in almost every NA session. Indian silence and unwillingness to settle the dispute is our main hurdle but if they create a point of debate in India and also in Pakistan as well as on democratic forums around the world then sure.. We have good chances of making the issue hot and known at larger scale and also it will generate an opportunity to push on UN's decision of conducting a plebiscite there in Kashmir --- and if it doesn't happen.. what would Pakistan loose to this decision anyway?

We shouldn't make fun of this intent... its actually good one.

We should support such a decision by India because consequently Pakistan will reserve seat for Indian Occupied Kashmir. Think what does that mean.. That will mean the Kashmir dispute will not just get democratic exposure (which demographically Muslims win) but will keep getting exposure in almost every NA session. Indian silence and unwillingness to settle the dispute is our main hurdle but if they create a point of debate in India and also in Pakistan as well as on democratic forums around the world then sure.. We have good chances of making the issue hot and known at larger scale and also it will generate an opportunity to push on UN's decision of conducting a plebiscite there in Kashmir --- and if it doesn't happen.. what would Pakistan loose to this decision anyway?

agreed to some extent ...... but I don't think this move will get momentum in India, as it will weaken the legal position of India as an Internationally recognized party of Kashmir dispute.

by This move Kashmir situation will go back to the era of late 40s & 50s ......

modes please merge other 2 thread of same topic in one thread

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strategic-geopolitical-issues/283751-inadian-paln-reserve-seat-azad-kashmir-indian-parliament.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strategic-geopolitical-issues/283748-inadian-paln-reserve-seat-azad-kashmir-indian-parliament.html

agreed to some extent ...... but I don't think this move will get momentum in India, as it will weaken the legal position of India as an Internationally recognized party of Kashmir dispute.

by This move Kashmir situation will go back to the era of late 40s & 50s ......

modes please merge other 2 thread of same topic in one thread

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strategic-geopolitical-issues/283751-inadian-paln-reserve-seat-azad-kashmir-indian-parliament.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strategic-geopolitical-issues/283748-inadian-paln-reserve-seat-azad-kashmir-indian-parliament.html

Plus rename the thread also .

India and plan have spelling mistakes too .

Reactions: HRK

It's not about Kashmir - it's about us claiming all our territories which we lost in 47 (read up on Akand Bharat). I guess we are just following what the Chinese are trying to do right now.

Sooo Bismillah sarkaar ..... kabi aoo na khushboo lagaa ke ....... :welcome:

Inshallah Suwagaat ka koi kassar nahi choorain ga ...... :partay:

Sooo Bismillah sarkaar ..... kabi aoo na khushboo lagaa ke ....... :welcome:

Inshallah Suwagaat ka koi kassar nahi choorain ga ...... :partay:

It will come to that surely but It's not happening any time soon though - probably not in your lifetime, so save up on your invitation for now. It will most likely be a gradual process - not like how China's doing it right now. :D

You have no representation for Kashmiris of P0K in Pakistan's National Assembly. People there has no right to elect representative in Pakistan's national Assembly. :laugh:

Most Pakistanis support China's historical claims on taiwan, tibet, mongolia, islands ....

So they should support India's historical claims on p0k..

One day we will get back our territory, not by war but using other techniques at our disposal

You have no representation for Kashmiris of P0K in Pakistan's National Assembly. People there has no right to elect representative in Pakistan's national Assembly. :laugh:

As Kashmir is a disputed territory...... who's fate is yet to be determine by its people through plebiscite under UN resolutions....

&

Constitution of Pakistan under article 257 has given the right to the people of Kashmir to decide the nature of relationship between state of Jammu & Kashmir and Pakistan according to their wishes

Most Pakistanis support China's historical claims on taiwan, tibet, mongolia, islands ....

So they should support India's historical claims

One day we will get back our territory, not by war but using other techniques at our disposal

First of all India has to prove her "historical claim" of Kashmir ....... :omghaha:

Do you know the origin of word Kashmir, do you know who built Srinagar.

As Kashmir is a disputed territory...... who's fate is yet to be determine by its people through plebiscite under UN resolutions....

&

Constitution of Pakistan under article 257 has given the right to the people of Kashmir to decide the nature of relationship between state of Jammu & Kashmir and Pakistan according to their wishes

What do you mean by 'nature of relationship', Pakistan show Kashmir as the part of Pakistan but don't have allow representation even to the territory under your occupation. :cheesy:

So they should support India's historical claims on p0k..

Chinese even claim those territories alien to Chinese civilization, all the care about grabbing the land.