BanglaBhoot

RETIRED TTA
France
Amit Gupta
IPCS – December 29, 2009

Much of Washington’s AfPak strategy has been based on the idea that Pakistan needs to propped up from possible implosion. US policy analysts also point out that one of the countries that would be most affected by this breakup would be India though this is usually couched in alarmist terms of India taking “action” over Pakistani loose nukes.

Little has been written on this issue by Indian scholars and about how the US and India could coordinate their actions in case of such an occurrence—C. Raja Mohan being a notable exception and even he ended with the optimistic conclusion that Pakistan was a long way from state failure and, therefore, it was premature to have such debates.

Yet a discussion needs to be started on this issue mostly to communicate to Pakistan what India’s likely actions will be and, therefore, to prevent any worst case scenarios being built in Islamabad over New Delhi’s intentions. Pakistani strategists and policy analysts base their worst case scenarios on such perceptions and they invariably involve possible future conflict with India. This has also been the worst case scenario in the United States even though it is probably one that is furthest from the minds of Indian policy makers.

What the two countries will have to clearly define—in private talks or in public debate—is what exactly is meant by implosion? Is it wide scale Jihadi activity? Is it a serious secession movement? Or is it the taking over of the Pakistani military by radical elements? It could be a combination of any of these three as well. Having clear discussions on the issue will permit India to take steps to build confidence in Pakistan on Indian intentions.

Probably the first thing that has to be made clear is that India, while strengthening its defenses along the border, will not take advantage of the situation and intervene in any way. For a Pakistan army that views India as its principal threat, implosion would be seen as the easiest way for India to make territorial gains or to put strong pressure on Pakistan to compromise on political and sovereignty issues.

What the Indian government would require from Pakistan are a set of measures it would need for New Delhi to undertake so as not to be perceived as having hostile intentions. Such coordination is possible, of course, both through direct negotiations with Pakistan or, indeed, through second track diplomacy. But it has to be done through Washington to convince Islamabad of Indian intentions. Additionally, it would be useful for New Delhi to have a crisis mechanism in place where Washington was constantly updating it on on-going events in Pakistan and on the steps Washington was taking to defuse the crisis.

Perhaps the most important step that India can take is to publicly declare what it sees as the best end state in Pakistan. From an Indian perspective that would be the restoration of a unified Pakistan with a strong central government in Islamabad. No Indian government relishes the prospect of long term internal instability in Pakistan both for the security and humanitarian implications it has for New Delhi. It makes sense, therefore, to start these discussions with Washington D.C. either directly or through the more informal route of debates at the various think tanks in the beltway.

The second measure to be undertaken with the United States and other nations in the region would be on how to carry out humanitarian operations in an imploding Pakistan. India and the United States would, by default, be the major aid providers and, therefore, it is necessary for the two to work together to coordinate their strategies and to avoid the sort of problems that arose during the Kashmir earthquake of 2005. At that time Indian aid could not go through for some time because of the natural security concerns of the Pakistani defense establishment. From a Pakistani perspective, perhaps the least intrusive measure would be the provision of assistance through India’s naval and maritime fleets. Delivery of this aid could be made through Non Govenmental Organizations and the Red Cross both to ensure efficient utilization and to alleviate Pakistani concerns. In fact, this could serve as the template for any future humanitarian operations in Pakistan and could be worked as a confidence building measure with Islamabad.

It is in India’s interests to start such a debate and help lessen uncertainty in Pakistan and the United States about Indian intentions. It will also help shape the debate within the United States about its AfPak strategy which to a large extent continues to rest on worst case assumptions of state failure in Pakistan and potentially dangerous Indian intervention.

If Pakistan Fails-Amit Gupta,

US has been beating these drums for a long time now.......never ending debate

If Pakistan fails, it will come under the influence of Taliban. The economy dies. Education ceases to exist. And the nuclear establishments get bombed. But the people wouldn't let that happen. Hence, the 5th largest military and the civilian militia's the US is praising so much. I think the number of tribes leaders stands around 100 which is a lot considering how many people who are in one tribe.

So we all know that's not going to happen at all. So Hillary Clinton can stop having her nightmares.

And no, didnt read the article because I already knew what it said lol

Come on not again, Pakistan is not even close to being failed state. I am pretty sure these situations will not arise.

Its not likely for Pakistan to be a failed state. However, its the arrogance of Indian militant "scholar" who wishes. From Bharat Rakshak forum, many members truely believe that Pakistan is about to fail as a contry. Even the most ardent, irrational and blind Indian here in this forum is rather open minded compare to the guys in that site. That site is like millions of ostrich digging holes in the ground to talk to each other.

one thing i want to say anger and hate will not help any one

they have to ask them self where are is Pakistan now what will be the future don't tell me just think

i would like to see happy both Pakistan and India and just think how beautiful if Pakistan and India join again as we were before 1947 how beautiful

think guys 1947 was a wrong step in my personal view how powerful and happy will will be if we join again

jai hind

they have to ask them self where are is Pakistan now what will be the future don't tell me just think

i would like to see happy both Pakistan and India and just think how beautiful if Pakistan and India join again as we were before 1947 how beautiful

think guys 1947 was a wrong step in my personal view how powerful and happy will will be if we join again

jai hind

BJP will never want that With Pak 170 Million and 160 Million Indian Muslims they will never ever win election again.
Last five election were neck to neck, I wish luck to BJP :lol:

If the neighbor house is burning you pray that Fire fighters will control the fire (Pak Forces) else your house is next. :coffee:

kya Pakistan koi property hai jo sirf jinha ki hai

nahi

Pakistan har Pakistani kaa hai jo din *** kaam katre hai

jai hind

kya Pakistan koi property hai jo sirf jinha ki hai

nahi

Pakistan har Pakistani kaa hai jo din *** kaam katre hai

jai hind

I know India dream to control Central Asia and Pakistani land is vital for it else why India wants our millions of problems. :coffee:

ahh come on

open ur mind and ur heart just think big and good

indai +pakistan = happy,power,progress,and lots of good thing

I know India dream to control Central Asia and Pakistani land is vital for it else why India wants our millions of problems. :coffee:

you know what ur problem ur name is ur problem Pakistan is just Pakistan not a property

we don't want to control and please ask from ur grand father and father how happy we will before 1947

you will get your answer from your grand father

you know what ur problem ur name is ur problem Pakistan is just Pakistan not a property

we don't want to control and please ask from ur grand father and father how happy we will before 1947

you will get your answer from your grand father

Do I have to sing vande mataram every day in school :woot: after that

If the neighbor house is burning you pray that Fire fighters will control the fire (Pak Forces) else your house is next. :coffee:

That's a good one. Pity no one in Pakistan has enough Political will to say that.

jai hind

You honestly think that a reunification is even possible.

Even today. we discriminate one anohter in India. And we have not fixed those propblems yet.

All that will Happen though re-unification. Today is The discrimination of the former Pakistani People By the Fundamentalist elements with in India.

The best we can hope ofr given the nature of human Beings and the social Systems we have in Place. IS an EU esque Cooperative Relationship.

Even that has Many fundamentalist Enemies on both sides of the border. But it is something worth fighting for.