DIMDEX-2018. My Visit and Highlights of from There

Bratva

PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST
So I just came back home from Day 1 DIMDEX-2018. Quite of revelations, disappointments and People who I wanted to meet remain elusive. I reached when 2 hours were left for closing of day one

Turkish are leading the Biggest contingent with Rokestan, STM, ASELSAN, HAVELSAN, SSM, MKEK

Americans are there with Lockheed, General dynamics.

Chinese are there with China Precision Machinery Import and Export Corporation

British are there

French are there

Australian are there

Russians are there with Rosoboronexport

Let's start with MILGEM. I'll remain vague which vendor I discussed things with but the various teams I discussed with was/is involved in technical discussion in both Agosta Submarine and MilGEM

As per the RFP Pakistan floated for MILGEM SHIP. Pakistan is getting ADA CLASS without any VLS. This is what Pakistan will be getting.

IMAG0259.jpg

The modifications would be Missile Tubes will be replaced with Pakistani specific missile tubes and Pakistan has asked to put Chinese equipment on it . Pakistan has not asked for a helicopter with MILGEM ADA in RFP. Turkish vendor is hoping DEAL will be signed before new elections in Pakistan

First Agosta Submarine upgradation timeline is 36 months is a best case scenario. Any glitches and unexpected integration problems can push the timeline further.

We had a perception Pakistan wanted to Upgrade all 3 submarines Nope, Team involved in Deal told me, Pakistan issued tender for only submarine at that time. Not for all 3 and then issued tender for second submarine just a while ago. There is no tender for 3rd submarine upgradation yet

Havelsan is providing combat management system. I asked specifically if Pakistan can integrate missiles of its own as french CMS could not have allowed Pakistan to do that. Team was very Specific, Despite Havelsan CMS being a proprietary System and We wont allow clients to make its own changes but since Pakistan is an exceptional case and we accomodate them always. So IF Pakistan wants to make change in CMS. Their request going to be approved by Turkish Ministry of defence but HAVELSAN will be the one making changes in CMS

I asked If Pakistan asked for any Missile to be integrated of their own from the GET GO. Team was very specific Pakistan didnot put any Request for this in the RFP for now

Any further queries regards havelsan CMS was asked to be redirected to Havelsan Stall. I'm gonna go there and further enquire about their CMS going into Agosta 90 B upgradation

I met the team who is responsible for ASELPOD. As per them ASELPOD doesnot have Datalink capability like SNIPER XR and in near future there is no plan to add this capability. If this capability gonna be added, it gonna be a hardware specific change and Pakistan PODS can not be upgraded, so Pakistan has to buy that specific version

majority of ASELPOD components are home made but some foriegn components are still there and they doesnot fall under ITAR so Pakistan will not be affected by ITAR sanctions

Turkish Team has successfully integrated ASELPOD on Pakistani jet last year and demonstration was successful and after that they scaled down their presence there as Pakistan is quite capable to undertake integration on rest of the Fighter jets

China Precision Machinery Import and Export Corporation. I went to their stall but due to it was 4.40 PM and they were packing up. Didnt get a chance to ask them properly. But yeah On their Display Boards, There was JF-17 Firing Missile. Mentions of CM-400 AKG, C-802 AKG. They have like one dozen SAMS included LY-80 mentioned on their display board. Tomorrow if i get a chance to visit I'm gonna visit and ask them question

Russian were quite cold. But I went to their stall at 4.50 pm. They said since I'm not a reporter just a visitor, they can't entertain any of my requests but come tomorrow, their media specialist can accommodate my queries

I didnt get time to VISIT MKEK, French, American Stalls which I'll visit tomorrow so throw my any questions if you have any

Pakistan Navy Delegation remain elusive. I was not able to locate Navy mission commander or our defence attache there. At 4:50 PM when I was going out I met Pakistani sailors who said they have come on a different bus and are not with Mission commander and can't tell where there leadership delegation is and I've to search for them separately. Lets see if I'm able to find Our Naval Delegation tomorrow !

highlight of the day, when I passed by pakistani sailors group, one sailor was saying, "Idhar se bhagna mushkil hoga"

As exhibition center is very very large and you have to walk a lot.

@Arsalan @The Deterrent @Quwa @cabatli_53 @DESERT FIGHTER @ali_raza @Bilal Khan (Quwa) @Bilal Khan 777 @cabatli_53 @Neptune @LegionnairE @Combat-Master @HRK @Tank131 @Rashid Mahmood @Oscar @war&peace @LeGenD @Areesh @Gryphon

Matlab koi achi khabar nahi hai

Meh...

Turkish were quite adamant we are not going out of the Scope of work mentioned in tender . Pakistan asked this in RFP and we are Providing this exact thing. Don't believe in rumors.

Mitti pao scene lag raha hai.

Turkish were quite adamant we are not going out of the Scope of work mentioned in tender . Pakistan asked this in RFP and we are Providing this exact thing. Don't believe in rumors.
wht about the RAM system

brother Please ask that if that PN Milgem will have RAM Launcher or not .. if not than what would be used for Point Defense or what specific AD we are talking about ..
Thanks in Advance

brother Please ask that if that PN Milgem will have RAM Launcher or not .. if not than what would be used for Point Defense or what specific AD we are talking about ..
Thanks in Advance

They said no turkish SAM going to be installed and speculated SAM would be of Chinese origin. How true the claim is, the time will tell.

i remember another point. I asked about Milgem armaments. He said it is definitely gonna use turkish weapons but for Anti Ship Missile. It is Pakistan choice to use which one.

They said no turkish SAM going to be installed and speculated SAM would be of Chinese origin. How true the claim is, the time will tell.

i remember another point. I asked about Milgem armaments. He said it is definitely gonna use turkish weapons but for Anti Ship Missile. It is Pakistan choice to use which one.

Turkish ATMCA is not yet ready or operational .. as for Air defense , if not RAM than Fl-3000N from China .. probably a PN official can help you with that

Part of me died after reading I Class isnt coming.

Turkish ATMCA is not yet ready or operational .. as for Air defense , if not RAM than Fl-3000N from China .. probably a PN official can help you with that
Why go for ATMCA when we have Harbah & more?

D6719C6B-65F2-445F-BD96-53BAFDBD4321.jpeg

According to ab old report on MILGEMs... PN will equip it with local weapons n subsystems... reducing costs by 50 million per vessel.

Part of me died after reading I Class isnt coming.

Why go for ATMCA when we have Harbah & more?

View attachment 459023

According to ab old report on MILGEMs... PN will equip it with local weapons n subsystems... reducing costs by 50 million per vessel.

I am all up for Harba bro , just saying to diversify our weapons .. but as Bravta said PN request for customized Launching Tubes, they are surely for Harbah.

As per the RFP Pakistan floated for MILGEM SHIP. Pakistan is getting ADA CLASS without any VLS. This is what Pakistan will be getting.

View attachment 458993
The modifications would be Missile Tubes will be replaced with Pakistani specific missile tubes and Pakistan has asked to put Chinese equipment on it . Pakistan has not asked for a helicopter with MILGEM ADA in RFP. Turkish vendor is hoping DEAL will be signed before new elections in Pakistan

This should serve as another confirmation of Pakistan Navy negotiating for 4x Ada-class corvettes. NOT I-Class frigates which some Turkish members have been trumpeting here for sometime.

I am grateful to @Bratva for the details.

(i) Anti-ship missile to be selected by Pakistan
(ii) PDMS/CIWS could be of Chinese origin

STM CEO Davut Yilmaz:

“Each MILGEM Ada would have cost $300 million but Pakistan is planning to use its own industry for some of the equipment, the price will drop to $250 million per ship”

US$ 50 million per ship is a big amount and will not include anti-ship missiles only. Questions arise, what else does Pakistani industry have to offer?

and,
Will some weapons (like Tp 43X2 torpedo tubes & torpedoes, 4x ship sets available) be transferred from Type 21's to the Milgem corvettes to save costs?
Saab is currently developing the Tp 47 as successor to the Tp 43X2, and I suspect both could eventually be fired from the existing 400mm torpedo tubes.

So Babar SLCM will not be installed on Agosta? Then which submarine they fired it from and which one will carry them?

What's the logic of getting a 300 million dollars vessel which cannot accommodate future upgrade or if any upgrade will be minimum? It's better if you expending extra 100 million per vessel and get I class frigate from turkey which will have much better punch then current Ada class corvette. It seems PN again walking the lines of F-22P frigate excusing fund crisis .