Even with funds, Sindh govt fails to deliver development schemes

butt tu nai larai kara de hai.

beta ab aram say ye baat sono

24% of GDP ( $ 11 Billion) goes to Defence.

Whats the result ?

- Lost all Wars against India
- Still domestic terrorism

kya $300 million aik shehr deserve nahi karta kya ??? itnay chawal hai hum ??? :hitwall: :hitwall:

$11 billion 24% of GDP hotaa haiii ? :o:

Bhai tou saiiin bandaa haiii ! :disagree:

And no we haven't lost all wars against India - we lost '71 the rest were stalemates !

However even if I agree that we lost them - Why the heck does France spend money on its Defense Budget ?

Ayr $300 million hospitals pei lagayaa hotaaa tou ziyadaa faidaa thaaa !

$11 billion 24% of GDP hotaa haiii ? :o:

Bhai tou saiiin bandaa haiii ! :disagree:

And no we haven't lost all wars against India - we lost '71 the rest were stalemates !

However even if I agree that we lost them - Why the heck does France spend money on its Defense Budget ?

Ayr $300 million hospitals pei lagayaa hotaaa tou ziyadaa faidaa thaaa !

Oh i'm sorry, am i speaking to our Finance Minister ? Cut the crap. This news was on media. Go check it out. I don't want to spoon feed you all the time

Please don't lie to yourself

Do we have Kashmir ?
Do we have Siachen ?
Did we win Kargil ?
Was it our right policy to create Militants ? Are we still doing that ?
Are we doing the right thing killing separatists in Balochistan, Sindh and Azad Kashmir ? Is that different from East Pakistan ?

These Military Generals should have resigned. In fact on the day U.S Navy Seals came into Pakistan and on the day we were under base attacks by terrorists that had humiliated us even further.

Prove me why our Military deserves even a single dollar for defence. What is the probability it won't be used for defence and askari housing societies and other construction mafias ?

France spends money on Defence cuz they have a superiority complex and their policy is expansionist ! They have ruled more than half of Africa, Einstinen. The Airstrikes on Libya and recent decision to deploy troops in Central Africa proves they have not changed one bit. Come back when you find this has helped their economy and made the socialist government popular

With all time duffer like Qaim Ali shah running this province for the third time, what else you expect from Sind Gov.

I wonder whats wrong with PPP, they have many seasoned politicians with good reputation in Sind, don't know why they always end up with Qaim Ali shah when it comes to CM ship.

Punjab Gov. is completing projects in record time, whereas we in sind are left with Idiots and incompetant like Shah Sb.

In the absence of local gov. we need active CM for swift implementation of projects.
Shah Sb ko Bhang sae fursat ho tou wo kuch karain apnay sobay k liay

@Areesh @HRK - Bhai Sahiban kisss ko vote dei diyaa haiii ? :disagree:

Noora & Noora Jr. might not be the brightest bulbs in the country but they sure as hell utilize at least some of those funds even if on the wrong projects ! o_O

Bhai sahab...aap agar kharay ho jatay hotay to election mein to Sind aur Karachi ka thora bohot development hojaigi. Vote for @Armstrong :woot:

On a serious note...this is so unfortunate that PPP controls everything in Sind. These @$$h0l3s PPP don't wanna develop any city of Sind.:sniper:

Do we have Kashmir ?
Do we have Siachen ?
Did we win Kargil ?

Both Siachin and Kargil are part of the Kashmir , of which we have 37% ( 84,000km2 ) of , back from the First Kashmir war when the tribals and local militias were struggling against the Indian Army - to the stabilization of the fronts later . All in all , liberated by the same Pakistan Army you people so passionately despise . Most probably , its time to get your facts straight .

Prove me why our Military deserves even a single dollar for defence. What is the probability it won't be used for defence and askari housing societies and other construction mafias ?

By that logic , reasoning and implication . Tell me , what do politicians deserve ? With their levels of corruption and looting and plundering of the country .

Oh i'm sorry, am i speaking to our Finance Minister ? Cut the crap. This news was on media. Go check it out. I don't want to spoon feed you all the time

Please don't lie to yourself

Do we have Kashmir ?
Do we have Siachen ?
Did we win Kargil ?
Was it our right policy to create Militants ? Are we still doing that ?
Are we doing the right thing killing separatists in Balochistan, Sindh and Azad Kashmir ? Is that different from East Pakistan ?

These Military Generals should have resigned. In fact on the day U.S Navy Seals came into Pakistan and on the day we were under base attacks by terrorists that had humiliated us even further.

France spends money on Defence cuz they have a superiority complex and their policy is expansionist ! They have ruled more than half of Africa, Einstinen. The Airstrikes on Libya and recent decision to deploy troops in Central Africa proves they have not changed one bit. Come back when you find this has helped their economy and made the socialist government popular

With thinking like this we couldnt have even gotten half of Kashmir. Which have denied Indian acess to central asia and allowed Pakistan acces to China.

Azad Kashmir was liberated by locals. People call Mirpuris jahil but in reality they were the ones who had balls.

Our Army is a complete failure. Ayub Khan declined Chinese offer to grab Kashmir during China-India 1961 War. Yahya Khan failed to control East Pakistan, Zia ul Haq called Kashmir 'raigistan with mountains' and he diverted all the attention to Afghanistan. Musharraf and his four buddy Generals designed Kargil plan and we know that failed. After taking over as President he signed LoC as official border with India

KARACHI: The Sindh government claims to have utilised around 70 per cent of its Rs185 billion development budget for the current year, 2013-14. The 10-month progress report, however, paints a dismal picture in terms of the release and utilisation of funds in major sectors.

The report, which is available with The Express Tribune, reveals zero per cent expenditure in over 100 crucial schemes falling under the domain of the health and education departments alone. Moreover, not a single penny was spent on 230 schemes and 75 schemes in the roads and local government departments respectively.

Education

“The government has allocated Rs5,010 million for the up-gradation of primary schools to middle schools in Sindh,” reads the report. “The finance department has released Rs50 million for the scheme but the utilisation is zero in the 10 months of this fiscal year.” Similarly, Rs500 million was earmarked to provide better facilities at colleges. Despite having the funds, the department failed to initiate this programme too.

The establishment of comprehensive schools was a unique feature in the provincial budget, for which the education department was allocated Rs3,775 million. These funds have all gone to waste as the progress report shows zero utilisation.

Some of the major educational schemes that show zero per cent of the budget utilisation include the establishment of Shaheed Zulfikar Ali Bhutto University of Law at Karachi, Shaheed Benazir Bhutto Cadet College, Garhi Khuda Bux, in Larkana, building computer labs in existing colleges of the province, provision of sports and transport facilities at high schools, early education reforms and curriculum development. “Around 158 development schemes were to be initiated by the education department in the current year,” a senior official in the education department told The Express Tribune. “The finance department has not released a single penny for 60 important projects and schemes.”

Health

In the health sector, a hefty sum was allocated for 180 schemes. The progress report shows, however, that either a paltry amount has been utilised in some instances while the status of expenditure is missing in others.

table1.jpg

There are around 49 schemes against which the expenditure status is zero. An ambulance service, equipped with ventilators and oxygen cylinders, is among other schemes that have yet be executed for want of funds. A budget of Rs195 million was allocated for this scheme, which has yet to be released.

The document shows that Thalassaemia centres were to be established at Civil Hospital, Karachi, Lyari General Hospital, Liaquat University Hospital, Hyderabad, and Peoples Medical College, Benazirabad. There is also provision in the budget to start urological diagnostic services at five district hospitals in the province. The government failed, however, fund for these.

Similarly, Rs35 million had been allocated for the establishment of an infectious disease control department in all the teaching hospitals, but the funds are yet to be released.

Other schemes that remain on paper include the establishment of an accident emergency and trauma centre in New Karachi, Paeds Institute of Heart Diseases in Karachi, SIUT multi-organ transplantation and biological Centre at Kathore, Karachi, a kidney centre at Hyderabad, Thalessaemia control activities across the province, the provision of CT scan and MRI equipment at public hospitals and the child survival programme in Sindh. The government has not released funds for any of these schemes.

Other sectors

With the water crises one of the major issues of contention for Karachi citizens, Rs1000 million had been earmarked for the Greater Karachi Water Supply Scheme (K-4). The 10-month progress report shows there has been no expenditure on the project. Meanwhile, there was provision of Rs150 million for the Sindh Emergency Service (Rescue 1122) and Disaster preparedness projects. Both schemes are still limited to on paper.

When contacted, the adviser to CM on finance, Murad Ali Shah, refused to comment on the issue. “I will not speak to media,” he said abruptly. Finance secretary was also unwilling to speak on the issue.

On the other hand, the minister for parliamentary affairs, Dr Sikandar Mandhro and information minister Sharjeel Memon insisted that they have utilised more than 70 per cent of the budget.

“There are few projects which need the approval of higher authorities,” said Dr Mandhro, as he defended his government. “Some schemes are delayed because of technical hurdles otherwise we have done better than other provinces,” he said, referring to the utilisation of provincial development budget of Rs185 billion.

No work to show: Even with funds, Sindh govt fails to deliver development schemes – The Express Tribune

This is what PPP is and Sindhi's love their Master's like no body do and even they killed and their family killed they will always vote PPP like good slave and the whole Pakistan will suffer. To them no problem and one slogan"Bhutto" is enough for them.

I will believe it when I see it happening on the ground & not another one of those failed Sastii Rotiii or Yellow Cab schemes !

Bhai, who told you that sasti roti scheme failed? Did you not see its impact in March 2009? I was out of the streets and I talked to a number of people. Former PPP voters had come out against PPP in support of PML-N just because of pro-poor sasti roti scheme. It was successful for PML-N in its political impact.

Yellow cabs also got PML-N votes.

PML-N are not stupid. For good or bad, they know politics of Pakistan like no one else.

ON TOPIC:

@cb4 , going by this thread of yours, it seems like PML-N is gunning for Sindh. But I do not like to see a condescending tone and pointing fingers at Sindh govt by PML-N supporters. In my mind, this sends a wrong message. PML-N is still largely considered a party of Punjab. It seems as though Punjab is finding fault with Sindh, even though there is a lot of space for improvement in Punjab itself.

If some PML-N supporter from Sindh starts a thread, it would be easier to deflect above criticism.

Azad Kashmir was liberated by locals. People call Mirpuris jahil but in reality they were the ones who had balls.

Our Army is a complete failure. Ayub Khan declined Chinese offer to grab Kashmir during China-India 1961 War. Yahya Khan failed to control East Pakistan, Zia ul Haq called Kashmir 'raigistan with mountains' and he diverted all the attention to Afghanistan. Musharraf and his four buddy Generals designed Kargil plan and we know that failed. After taking over as President he signed LoC as official border with India

Correction:

1. Zia sb never called Kashmir 'raigistan with mountains'. He reffered to Siachin to say that even a blade of glass does not grow in that wasteland.

2. Chinese did not have the level of communication and influence in Pakistan back in 1962 and could not reveal their plans in advance. The Chinese embassy informed Qudratullah Shahab, Ayub Khan's personal secretary in the middle of the night and urged him to inform Ayub Khan right away. You are right in that Ayub was not prepared. But it would have required a good deal of preparation for conducting a war. So, while you are right in that Pakistan lost an opportunity to 'solve' Kashmir problem, it would have been a major war for which Pakistan was not prepared back then.

3. Kargil plan was crafted by Brigadier (r) Ghulam Muhammad and presented to Bhutto in mid-70s. General Musharraf just knew about it and did not actually plan it. His effort was really amateurish as shown by AC(r) Kaiser Tufail - at least as far as it concerned PAF. So it is wrong to say that Mush planned Kargil. He in fact did not. He did not have the brain to plan anything as evidence clearly shows.

4. It is wrong to malign our army as a whole. It too is a victim of ambition of a few generals.

Bhai, who told you that sasti roti scheme failed? Did you not see its impact in March 2009? I was out of the streets and I talked to a number of people. Former PPP voters had come out against PPP in support of PML-N just because of pro-poor sasti roti scheme. It was successful for PML-N in its political impact.

Yellow cabs also got PML-N votes.

PML-N are not stupid. For good or bad, they know politics of Pakistan like no one else.

Yes the Sasti Roti Scheme failed - Instead of giving subsidy on something he should've tackled the problem at root because a relief for a few months before the prices balloon out of control is practically worthless.

And the Yellow Cab Scheme failed as well - How many people bought those Taxis & then later used them for their personal use ?

At any rate - We don't need these; we need changes at the grass-root level !

Have you seen the condition of most of our Hospitals ? Instead of wasting the millions he wasted on a Metro Bus that had considerably cheaper alternatives (more buses....perhaps even fuel efficient buses) imagine if we had spent that kind of money upgrading most of the major hospitals in the Province !

Whether London got her first public transport system in the 1800s or 1800 BC I don't give a frig because I'm trying to consider something on its merits :

Which is better - A Bus Service or refurbishing & perhaps creating new Hospitals throughout the Province using the same money ?

And no one is expecting the Nooras to turn Lahore into Singapore in the blink of an eye but simply to get their damn priorities right - I'd rather be treated than be transported !

One has no option but to resign to fate and wait for better times. Mera bhai, even an illusion of progress is a lot during bleak times. Everyone and their dog knows that PML-N is heavy on infrastructure and very low on social services (apart from lip service and announcements). Yet people voted for them.

So wait a couple of years. I must say, I have a sneaking suspicion that something is in the works behind all these projects. I do not mean corruption, but some mega deal that will come out in 3 or so years. All these metro-wetro are part of something bigger. I do not want to seem a fool by saying more than this, because I am not in the loop and I can only guess at this stage.

One has no option but to resign to fate and wait for better times. Mera bhai, even an illusion of progress is a lot during bleak times. Everyone and their dog knows that PML-N is heavy on infrastructure and very low on social services (apart from lip service and announcements). Yet people voted for them.

So wait a couple of years. I must say, I have a sneaking suspicion that something is in the works behind all these projects. I do not mean corruption, but some mega deal that will come out in 3 or so years. All these metro-wetro are part of something bigger. I do not want to seem a fool by saying more than this, because I am not in the loop and I can only guess at this stage.

Bhai misplaced priorities ka hiii tou ronaaa haiii ! :disagree:

As I always say between PPP & PML N the Nooras the lesser of the two evils 'cause even if they spend money on a project that is prohibitively expensive & wasn't needed they at least spend it 'somewhere' whereas in case of the former one doesn't know in which blackhole all the finances went !

PTI was the only ray of hope for me but for all their sloganeering they've yet to deliver some perceptible change !

Because people in Pakistan are mostly illiterate. They don't have the mental capability (most of them, no disrespect to anyone) to fathom the point that 5 years from now, Metro Bus is not going to give you food or health or a home, but those grassroot level reforms will, albeit 5 years from now.

Our people want a Bang Bang thing, which gives instant results and you get the ads on the papers and on TV and then brag about it.

Alas, the drawback of democracy.

Yes the Sasti Roti Scheme failed - Instead of giving subsidy on something he should've tackled the problem at root because a relief for a few months before the prices balloon out of control is practically worthless.

And the Yellow Cab Scheme failed as well - How many people bought those Taxis & then later used them for their personal use ?

At any rate - We don't need these; we need changes at the grass-root level !

Have you seen the condition of most of our Hospitals ? Instead of wasting the millions he wasted on a Metro Bus that had considerably cheaper alternatives (more buses....perhaps even fuel efficient buses) imagine if we had spent that kind of money upgrading most of the major hospitals in the Province !

Oye!

You did not understand me. Did you read my reference to March 2009????? Schemes are started towards some end. That end was met in March 2009. There was little point in continuing sasti roti scheme beyond that. Indeed it ended in 2010. You may consider it a failure, I would not. Because you think it was a scheme to feed people, and I think it was a political stroke. BIG difference.

We should agree about spending on health... I am not contradicting you. But let us make the pie a little bigger before hoping for improvement.