China urges Pakistani leaders to resolve issues over CPEC project

He makes sense when he says they want a complete corridor and not just a road.
CPEC another kala bagh dam ?

oh yeah right...

The thing is the gov already pointed out Special economic zones for every province even in that thread i posted name of the areas where it's gonna be... First they gonna build roads and power based projects so that Pakistan which is Energy deficient country become energy sufficient Country after that special economic zones will be build ....

If there won't be a road how the hell gov or investors gonna invest on that particular area? to make a corridor one has to follow some steps.... CPEC was started in 2015 and gonna complete in 2030 no one can provide everything in one day

They are just comparing themselves to Punjab if they are getting that we should also get exact same of what they are getting... Weather it's power Plant Road Railway etc etc it's not about fare share but it's about equal share which is not possible

Meri jan, good or bad, Khatak is the "Chief Minister" of KPK PROVINCE, next time you become the Chief Minister of Punjabitsan, you can go ahead and shut the fvck yourself up. How's that?

Punjabistan mein' Ganga ulti behti hai!

Talking about you mentality, keep you sectarian sh!t to your self. I am a concerned Pakistani, not Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi, Phatan or Kashmiri.

I know of the good intentions that Punjab and Sindh has for rest of the provinces, we've seen it all before, from water resource sharing to other things. Our province, our mandate, our laws, our wishes. Pakistan is a federation, and we will use all opportunities within the legal framework to get what we wish.

Talking about you mentality, keep you sectarian sh!t to your self. I am a concerned Pakistani, not Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi, Phatan or Kashmiri.

Is there a vested interest of your's in this deal on a personal level----becaiuse your post is a little too agitated.

There is no vested interest here of mine, literally nothing. I am worried for this project for the sake of Pakistan, the kind of rhetoric being used could easily become damaging. I have personally nothing to gain from any of this discussion or any supposed 'route'.

I'm afraid there is...........

And who are you to say that? Do you even know me??

Please tell us all what the vested interest here is, I really want to hear it. Do respond asap.

Chinese concerned over KP CM’s posture against CPEC

ISLAMABAD: China has conveyed its concerns to Pakistan over the smooth sailing of the critically-important China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) project within days after the recent unwarranted aggressive posturing of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) chief minister on this particular issue.

Informed sources said that these concerns were conveyed to the Planning Commission through the Chinese Embassy. Some senior diplomats of the Chinese Embassy in Islamabad visited the Planning Commission to discuss the situation arising out of the recent controversies.

CPEC Project Director Major General (retd) Dr Zahir Shah, when approached by The News, confirmed that the Planning Commission, which is the lead government agency handling the project, has been approached a few days back by the Chinese to convey their concerns.

According to the general, the Chinese want supportive environment for the smooth implementation of the project. “They did express their concerns,” he said.

Sources said that the Chinese approached the Planning Commission a day or two after KP Chief Minister Pervaiz Khattak issued a public warning of taking extreme steps if the concerns of the province over the CPEC were not addressed.

“I warn if the federal government does not address the reservations of the KP about the (CPEC) project, then we will take an extreme step. And you (Centre) will see what we are going to do,” Khattak had told a news conference and said that the corridor would be allowed.

Continuing with his public aggression on an issue of national importance, Khattak was also quoted as saying that his government won’t allow the CPEC to pass through the province if the Centre denied the due share in its route to the latter.

“If KP doesn’t gain from the (CPEC) project, then nobody will be able to get anything from the whole project,” he warned without realising how seriously such statements from the chief executive of a province could affect the Chinese investment.

The major challenge for both Pakistan and China is to address the security issues connected with the CPEC for which the federal as well as the provincial governments have to play an important role.

The sources lamented that when a chief minister of a province starts hurling threats against the project’s smooth implementation, it is bound to shatter the trust of foreign investors.

The KP chief minister is of the view that the federal government was denying the province its due rights whether it was oil, gas, water or net hydel profit issue, and thus forcing the provincial government to go for agitation.

Later, the chief minister rallied other political parties of the province to further agitate the issue in public instead of discussing their reservations with the Centre behind closed doors to avoid making the project controversial and politicised.

The Planning Commission experts are of the view that the KP chief minister’s reservations are generally based on misunderstandings and do not hold any ground.

These sources said that the Centre expects from the provinces to get the maximum benefit from the CPEC by proposing a strong case of their industrial and economic zones.

While the KP chief minister insists that his province is getting nothing but only highways, the media reports suggest that the federal government has already identified as many as 27 sites in provinces, Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) and Gilgit-Baltistan for setting up of Special Economic Zones (SEZs) under the CPEC. Eight of these sites have been identified in the KP.

The media reports say that these sites include marble and granite based industrial estate at Mansehra (80 acres, mining), industrial estate Nowshera (1,000 acres, manufacturing), expansion of Industrial Estate Hattar (424 acres, manufacturing), industrial estate at Chitral (80 acres, food processing) as well as Industrial Estate Ghazi (90 acres, manufacturing) and industrial estate Dera Ismail Khan (188 acres, manufacturing).

Industrial estate at border of Kohat and Karak and industrial and economic zone at Bannu (400 acre) in the KP have also been identified as sites for SEZs under the CPEC.

While Punjab is being blamed for getting the whole share, the report said that as against eight special economic zones in the KP, seven such zones have been identified in Punjab.

Chinese concerned over KP CM’s posture against CPEC | Top Story | thenews.com.pk

Jang and The News at it again soon to be followed by others.Even today APC is being held in Islamabad attended by Balochistan and kpk parties .China is saying all parties to resolve not pin pointing Khatak.

InshAllah these parties will make sure Sharif brothers dont spend all funds for one province only.

APC held in Islamabad to address concerns of political parties over CPEC project

The meeting headed by leader of BMP-M Sardar Akhtar Mengal was attended by Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Pakhtunkhawa Milli Awami Party (PK-MAP) leader Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Federal Minister for Planning and Development Ahsan Iqbal, Awami National Party’s (ANP) Mian Iftikhar Hussain, Minister for Railway Saad Rafique, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Raja Zafar-ul-Haq, Qaumi Watan Party Chairperson Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, ANP leader Afrasiab Khattak, former Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry, Former Balochistan Chief Minister Abdul Malik Baloch, Jamaat-e-Islami delegation (JI) Secretary General Liaqat Baloch, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Farhatullah Babar, Chief Minister (CM) Khyber Pakhtunkhawa (KP) Pervez Khattak and other prominent leaders.

APC held in Islamabad to address concerns of political parties over CPEC project - Pakistan - Dunya News

Not sure what the issue is connecting largest cities of Pakistan , will flourish trade in all cities.

Distributing the Truck traffic will benefit overall , otherwise all the routes will be flooded with Trucks

Truck traffic damage the roads in long run , and having strategy to distribute this traffic will be beneficial

Some companies would have storage facilities for goods in

a) Peshawar
b) Karachi
c) Lahore
d) Baluchistan

It is completely ok for CPEC goods to go thru Karachi/Gawadar , and link up to cities like Lahore / Quetta , and up north to China

Having 100% of traffic from one route will not only destroy roads , it will cause Huge Traffic Jams

Goods going to China , with out need to stop in Lahore ( example: oil)
If goods land in Karachi port , makes sense , to Karachi-Lahore-North Route
If goods land in GWADAR port makes sense gawadar - quetta -North Route

Goods going from China outbound (Electroics, Cars , textile)

• 50% via Lahore - Karachi route
  • 50% via Peshawar - Quetta - Gawadar route
If goods are being made in CPEC, at LAHORE
  • Depending on season / traffic on road , it can go via Lahore/Karachi
  • Or the goods can flow out via slightly longer Lahore - Peshawar - Quetta - Gawadar route
(If lets say there is strike in Karachi , the traffic can go 100% via other route)

Strategic benefit is if one port is lets say at its peak the traffic can be diverted to the other port etc

In distant future , if goods are going to Afghanistan , gawadar->peshawar route can be taken
If goods are going to India , good will go thru Lahore or Sindh (Logical short distance)

Jang and The News at it again soon to be followed by others

Ah yes lets blame it on certain media we don't like and lets also put it to blame on Khattak's and Chinese remarks being expressed :crazy:

Read my comment again before giving your opinion .many political parties have serious concerns not pti alone as evident from todays APC in Islamabad

@Hyperion @MastanKhan

If you say to me stop being devisive---I would reply---stop being deceitful---. The punjab route is fraudulent and deceitful---and this is typical of the Sharif family---.

There is no reason for the punjab route to be the primary route---.

If cpec has multiple projects and roads--then take the last road thru Lahore---that shouldn't be painful now.

Interlinking is trickery---why don't they interlink Lahore with those roads and let the main artery go thru the baluchistan / kpk route----.

Is there a vested interest of your's in this deal on a personal level----becaiuse your post is a little too agitated.

I do say stop being divisive, and I'll say it again, stop being divisive. Did you not hear what I said in the last post? There is no one single route, there are multiple projects and routes, even within Balochistan there are several 'routes' as you may call them being built.

Read more about it here. CPEC includes within it's transport projects, a web of different roads, highways with various designations, interconnecting with previous projects.

Route alignment controversy

There simply is no one route. The maps using single routes like this one are false in every way, they are simplistic representations of the connection.

China_Pakistan_Economic_Corridor_Map.png.pagespeed.ce.VCLW7zNBam.png

Instead, the actual list of projects, and routes, remember, there are multiple, and none of them are lone routes, they interconnect, there is no preferred route here.

Pak-China%2BIndustrial%2BCorridor.jpg

Direct from the NHA. And on a closer inspection of these larger routes, again from the NHA.
This is what the various routes starting from Balochistan look like.

upload_2016-1-10_13-23-26.png

So, like I said, there is no eastern or western route. The route alignment controversy is wrong and damaging.
There are multiple routes and projects and for various reasons, it is a good idea to have routes connected to major population centres like Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar and so on.

Now please if you have any evidence to the contrary that there is a single route. And no other route. And that this route is an eastern route, I'd like to see it. Please also disprove these maps if you can, they come direct from the NHA, so good luck.

But if you don't want to take my word for it. And suspect 'vested interests' :rolleyes:

Take a look here yourself: Project Details

And let me know if any other nonsense comes to your minds.

Lastly, CPEC as I said earlier is not just about a road, or just about transportation, it is also about upgrading infrastructure, developing gwadar, the city, port and airport, building huge energy projects too.
And if you do look at the list of these, and forget the multiple route bs for a moment.

There is no Punjab preference in those projects. Again, ask for the evidence of that, I have posted it on this forum before.

APC declaration asks for fulfillment of CPEC promises

January 10, 2016, 2:18 pm

apc-on-cpec-underway-1452417440-5865.jpg

All Parties Conference regarding China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) was summoned in Islamabad today. Representatives of political and religious parties like PPP, PML-N, JI, JUI, BNP and PTI were present in the conference.

Balochistan National Party (BNP) chairman Akhtar Mengal chaored the conference. “PTI leadership was absent from the occasion but CM KP Pervaiz Khattak reached the conference. He was late,” media reported.

While addressing the conference Khattak stated that there is no share for KP in the project. “Does government not want to make any infrastructure in KP and Balochistan?" he asked. “I am the CM of KP but never have been contacted regarding the project,” he added. “We are not traitors. No one should call us that” he demanded. “We even presented the resolution for construction of Western route of CPEC but never got the response from the central government,” he claimed.

Furthermore BNP chairman Akhtar Mengal presented their demands in context of Balochistan. “Balochistan should be given it due share in the project,” he demanded. “The rights of natural resources and sea ports of the province should be handed over to Balochistan government,” he added.

The APC on CPEC has issued the declaration of the conference. “The declaration includes the demand of fulfillment of PM's promises regarding the CPEC,” media reported. The declaration demands that Baloch should not be considered minorities. “We also demand basic facilities for people of Gwadar. Local people should be given priority in the projects and fishermen should be given alternative jobs,” the declaration stated.

Furthermore it is being demanded that the ban of political participation on Gwadar's locals should be ended. “We condemn the issuance of new ID cards to local people of Gwadar. The land taken from the people should be paid accordingly and people of Gwadar should not be divided,” the declaration further demanded.

The CPEC project holds high significance for the county’s economical and political stability. The political parties from Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhuwa (KP) have expressed their apprehensions on the Western route of the project. They consider it Punjab central and believe their areas have been deprived. The ruling party PML-N has tried to convince the other parties but their concerns remain intact. To show their point of view the All Party Conference was called by the BNP in Islamabad.

The Nation

APC declaration asks for fulfillment of CPEC promises

Investments are typically encouraged in backward areas with tax incentives and infrastructure support by government. Here the opposite is happening. Government is saying: I am giving you a safer option through Punjab, effectively cutting down the potential of KPK and Balochistan. Instead a responsible government would say if an investor wants a corridor to China, they have to go through KPK and Balochistan taking up the issue of security head on. That is when KPK/Balochistan gets some business and employment.
Yes but first thing an investor want is security! all the rest are secondary incentives.

oh yeah right...

The thing is the gov already pointed out Special economic zones for every province even in that thread i posted name of the areas where it's gonna be... First they gonna build roads and power based projects so that Pakistan which is Energy deficient country become energy sufficient Country after that special economic zones will be build ....

If there won't be a road how the hell gov or investors gonna invest on that particular area? to make a corridor one has to follow some steps.... CPEC was started in 2015 and gonna complete in 2030 no one can provide everything in one day

They are just comparing themselves to Punjab if they are getting that we should also get exact same of what they are getting... Weather it's power Plant Road Railway etc etc it's not about fare share but it's about equal share which is not possible
You are talking from a perspective that since KP and Balochistan don't even have a road, first let them get the road. Since Punjab is already more developed it should get next level projects. But that is not being fair. All provinces should be dragged along with Punjab to the next level. If Balochistan and KP doesn't have dense railway, it is an anomaly to be corrected. It should not be a reason for Punjab getting the railway corridor. The gas pipeline situation is even worse. The people of the province which gives Karachi and Lahore gas don't have gas pipelines to their homes. And a trans-national road like CPEC motorway should better pass through less populated areas so that fewer villages have to be displaced(less money in way of compensation for farmers) and lesser local traffic will enter and hog the corridor motorway.

And the point about not being able to provide everything in one day is true. But starting the eastern road project first is gross injustice and simply being stupid about other province's concerns.

@cb4

10th January 2016

K-P and the CPEC

Earlier on Saturday, the Chinese Embassy in Islamabad had urged the government, its allies and the opposition parties to resolve their difference to strengthen communication and coordination on the CPEC to create favourable conditions for the project.

On Friday, a two-member delegation of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf comprising former foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi and MNA Dr Shireen Mazari had met the Chinese ambassador. Sharing details of his meeting, Qureshi told The Express Tribune that “we gave an assurance to the ambassador that we don’t have any issue with China and we are in favour of the CPEC”.

Qureshi said it was pledged in an all parties’ conference (APC) that the western route would be completed first. He accused the government of retreating from this pledge. “Building just the road is not enough. Our demand for work on the western route includes development of infrastructure, rail tracks, fiber optics, LNG and uninterrupted supply of electricity,” he added.

Opposition parties are demanding the government take them into confidence while addressing their concerns on the government’s plan to execute the CPEC. During the recent session of parliament, not a single day passed without opposition parties’ protesting against the government’s approach on the CPEC.

CPEC: Aftab Sherpao doubts govt’s plans for western route

Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in the National Assembly Khursheed Shah also wrote a letter to Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif expressing reservations on projects related to the CPEC and called the initiatives taken on the project ‘Punjab-centric’.
He asked the premier to adhere to the decisions reached at the APC held over the project in May last year.

Energy projects worth $25b to be completed under CPEC: Ahsan Iqbal - The Express Tribune