Ahead of India visit: Terrorist ‘safe havens’ in Pakistan unacceptable, says Obama

But there is a difference. Both Mukti Bahini and Afghan Mujahids succeeded in evicting the occupying forces. But that's where the similarity ends. After India's goal was achieved and Pakistani forces were evicted from Bangladesh, India did not try to make Bangladesh a client state. Pakistan did exactly the opposite and started militarily backing one of the faction in Afghanistan which resulted in the civil war in Afghanistan. And it was just a matter of time when that war spilled over into Pakistan. Whoever thought that they could create a national civil war in Afghanistan and keep Pakistan shielded from it were smoking the top variety of an infamous afghan product. :)

PS: Is ending with a smily ok with you

Yeah!! Osama was never in Pakistan :rofl:
Perhaps want to quite a crediable source here, because once war was ober and everyoneleft the area, a power gap.was created in afghanistan, it wasnt pakistan nor US that supported any group at this point. Civil war had already started with each lord/ tribal leader fighting for his chance at ttheCentral seat, it was only then Taliban stood up and later ksa and pakistan supported the idea, with nothing but US watching it all.

Big big slap on the face of Pakistani diplomats.

Pakistan needs to shift foreign policy in region from US to China/Russia. China and Pak must work quickly to secure alliance with Afghanistan.

US has let down Pakistan big time with these statements. Pakistan must act now. I hope Sartaj Aziz has got his thinking hat on because we have a window of 2 years to secure Afghanistan/Pak/China nexus.

India must be locked into the sub continent for the good of the region.

:lol: typical Pakistani sad excuse. I agree that USA and Pakistan together created Mujahiddeens to fight USSR. Pretty much like Mukti Bahini was created to expel Pakistan from Bangladesh or even the armed groups that were created in pre independence India to fight the british. But you didnt see Mukti Bahini people or Indian and Pakistani freedom fighters turning on the new govts in Bangladesh, India and Pakistan post independence. The terrorists you refer to created by USA were probably the freedom fighters created by USA money, but were converted to terrorists by Pakistan and its stupid policy of strategic depth and asymmetric power. Jo boya ab kaato.

Obama aisay statement de kr India ko chuna laga rha hai

Munna itna serious na le,Pakistani ko tune akele hi jhelna hai,kisi ki madat ni ani aur ye to tu bhi janta hai,teri kismat hi kharab thi jo hum se tumhara wasta para

All this discussion and statements are an indicator of the direction and optics of the US-India and US-pakistan relationships.

Obama is the first POTUS to visit India twice and also the first to be chief guest of RDay.

The posts of Pakistani posters depicting chuna lagana and all that show that the US India relationship is now more about trade and cooperation in various fields including space technology.

Whereas US Pakistan relationship has remained almost monotonous and is more about what US can give and what Pakistan can do in return, ie a transactional relationship.

The discussion between US India are related to multiple fields of interest and mutual benefit.

The high regard for Indian diaspora and people of Indian origin especially for their contributions to the society in various fields, also help the Indian case.

Not to mention several Indian-American people present in the delegation as an indicator of heights of achievements of the people of Indian origin.

It is an irony that Obama had actually visited Pakistan before becoming a politician.

As much as the hypocrisy of Obama making the statement, the fact remains that the best interests of Pakistani people are served by removing the terrorist groups from Pakistani soil.

Instead of heartburn maybe Pakistani government can use it as a motivation and achieve the goal of getting rid of this menace to humanity.

I have a very different take on this. Though actually agreeing with the above i must also state that americans do feel a threat from a nuclear armed pakistan and its nexus with china...while pakistanis always elude to fact americans are there friends but putting historical context on it america did sanction pakistan in 80s while there was no terrorist threat just to hamper their economy and trying to role back the nuclear weapons programme... part of terrorist problems we see today may be due to the fact that USA left them orphan..
The americans fear a more radical islamic government in pakistan with alot of nukes and any technology they need being accessible from china...
I dont blame them

@Mrc US has done that to almost all states with the exception of Israel and Saudi Arabia.
Stopping aid is not the same as sanctioned, which is what happened in the 80s. Pakistan worsened the situation by proliferation to Syria Libia Iran and North Korea.

The terrorist "problem" is a result of their continued use as a policy instrument both in Afghanistan and India. Along with increasingly islamized population, this has lead to decline of Pakistani image and international relations.

Perhaps want to quite a crediable source here, because once war was ober and everyoneleft the area, a power gap.was created in afghanistan, it wasnt pakistan nor US that supported any group at this point. Civil war had already started with each lord/ tribal leader fighting for his chance at ttheCentral seat, it was only then Taliban stood up and later ksa and pakistan supported the idea, with nothing but US watching it all.
The key confession here is that Pakistan militarily interfered in Afghan matters, in its internal civil war and could not take it to a successful closure. What's happening today in Pakistan is the result of that failed gamble. When you do what you do, you gotta pay the piper .

You need to get yourself educated. Col (retd.) Shariful Haq Dalim, a close relative of Mujeeb and commander of Mukti Bahini's book "Bangladesh - Untold facts" would be a good starter.
Trust me... I dont need second hand information about the 1971 war and liberation of Bangladesh.

Obama is going to India for business because Indian economy is very much integrated part of the world economy, and with huge reserves of dollars. American companies can attract a lot of business out of India hence Obama visit to India is important.
Pakistan is not a major international trader nor have a huge dollars reserve to offer any opportunities to international traders hence Obama 's visit is not important.

The key confession here is that Pakistan militarily interfered in Afghan matters, in its internal civil war and could not take it to a successful closure. What's happening today in Pakistan is the result of that failed gamble. When you do what you do, you gotta pay the piper .

Trust me... I dont need second hand information about the 1971 war and liberation of Bangladesh.
Your fact is wrong again or perhaps too holistic. Pakistan gambling for the afghan powerful seat has little to do with what is happening in Pakistan today.
I will not deny that we did not support the religious ideology to bank on our neighbours, now this includes eastern and western.
Pakistan did not.intervene not.until Taliban had risen to the top by overthrowing the seat in Kabul.
And can you please do the honor.and elaborate on how pakistan.intervened in afgahn civil war???

I trust you... you are interested in no knowledge whatsoever but your own theories and fantasies. Do you even know Dalim's relationship with Mujeeb? and you call this 2nd hand information? You are telling me Indira, Mujeeb, Yahya and Bhutto used to hold meetings in your living room? Amazing level of ignorance and defiance.

@balixd the mujahedeen (created by CIA+ISI) toppled the government in Kabul. Then the Pakistani establishment supported the Taliban, while the CIA retreated from the scene.

USA accepts india as a major regional power of importance to this region and beyond .

India BEHAVES in international relations with maturity and experience.

Hence the likes of USA visit india ...AND ignore and isolate our neighbour .

Only the Pakistanis can change this reality.

I can understand why the Pakistanis feel vulnerable USA is the most important nation in our world.

Even the chinease don't give you $1 billion a year like USA has done