Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

Crazy greedy Chinese salivating over this potential infrastructure deal possibly screwing themselves in the long run. :suicide:

LOL, and how exactly does that work?

Look at India's industrial capacity, or GDP, or growth, or any other factor. They don't compete in the same areas we are competing in, they don't pose a direct threat to our competitiveness in any way.

In a military sense as you suggested before, it's even more ridiculous. Not just the geography of the Himalayas, but the massive power imbalance.

I think you are seriously overestimating the strength of India's economy and military. Possibly you are convinced by the Indian boasting on this forum, but that does not have anything to do with the ground reality.

The real threat is America, who are being supported by our ridiculous policy of buying US treasury bonds. They are the ones who have the capability of causing damage to us, economically, diplomatically and militarily.

Crazy greedy Chinese salivating over this potential infrastructure deal possibly screwing themselves in the long run. :suicide:

Shut up dude...! Don't cry our incompetence in form of abusing others.

We are the second biggest importer on Earth.

We imported over $2 trillion USD worth of products in 2013 alone.

Financial Times - China overtakes US as world’s largest goods trader

Well the CAD is India's own business.

We also have large trade deficits to places in East Asian like Japan, South Korea, and Taiwan. But we can handle it, it's not just about exports, imports especially are vital for economic health.

Wrong comparison. China doesn't suffers from CAD the way India does. You can afford to have trade deficits with certain countries with no repercussions.

Modi is pro-business, and friendly to Chinese investment.

Much of Chinese investment into India went straight to Gujarat, even while the Congress party shunned good money due to their ideological bias towards some kind of Nehruvian socialism.

We may not like Japan, but we do business with them. We do business with America too. In vast amounts. If we can make our historical enemy Japan into one of our biggest trading partners, then why would we turn down anyone else?

This is an interconnected world, it's better to be pragmatic and accept FDI (into non-vital sectors), regardless of the source.

Baniya likes :D

Wrong comparison. China doesn't suffers from CAD the way India does. You can afford to have trade deficits with certain countries with no repercussions.

LOL, you talk about it like the CAD is some sort of illness that can't be fixed.

It can be fixed. Every country that has a trade surplus today, has had a trade deficit in some point in their history, and they have fixed it.

Have you heard of "Yin and yang"? Even if not, I'm sure you've heard of "中道" (the Middle Path). The key is balance.

India right now seems to be trying to ape the Western style of economic growth, one based on debt and deficit fueled consumption.

That's fine for Western developed economies, they can afford it. But how do you think they started out? Check out the Industrial revolution in Britain and America. The USA was in fact the world's largest manufacturer until only a few years back (a title they held for 100 years), until China took that title from them.

And how can you boost exports, without first boosting imports? All the capital goods required to build a manufacturing base must be sourced from somewhere, until you can build them domestically. Even then, imports are still essential in terms of raw materials or components, for example in electronic devices.

To export, you need to import. Domestic supply chains are great, and they boost efficiency a lot, but you still have to import a lot, check out China's import figures to see.

China is also friendly with....dictators of sub- Saharan Africa, Congo, Sudan, Somalia etc......

LOL, you talk about it like the CAD is some sort of illness that can't be fixed.

It can be fixed. Every country that has a trade surplus today, has had a trade deficit in some point in their history, and they have fixed it.

Have you heard of "Yin and yang"? Even if not, I'm sure you've heard of "中道" (the Middle Path). The key is balance.

India right now seems to be trying to ape the Western style of economic growth, one based on debt and deficit fueled consumption.

That's fine for Western developed economies, they can afford it. But how do you think they started out? Check out the Industrial revolution in Britain and America. The USA was in fact the world's largest manufacturer until only a few years back (a title they held for 100 years), until China took that title from them.

And how can you boost exports, without first boosting imports? All the capital goods required to build a manufacturing base must be sourced from somewhere, until you can build them domestically. Even then, imports are still essential in terms of raw materials or components, for example in electronic devices.

To export, you need to import. Domestic supply chains are great, and they boost efficiency a lot, but you still have to import a lot, check out China's import figures to see.

Irrelevant of it being a necessary evil, or a curable disease, it is a big problem right now. As you have seen in the recent drama of Rupee rolling down the hill. Till the govt doesn't draw a serious long term plan to curb it, it is not a thing to ignore. India's biggest import is still oil. Given that oil prices heavily influence inflation, the govt cannot afford to let its prices surge up. Also, the foreign currency reserve of India is minuscule.

I am not against import. But the current finances of India doesn't allow it.

China is also friendly with....dictators of sub- Saharan Africa, Congo, Sudan, Somalia etc......

This is how the big league boys play. Only suckers adhere to morality in geopolitics. India truly is not ready for the big time.

Irrelevant of it being a necessary evil, or a curable disease, it is a big problem right now. As you have seen in the recent drama of Rupee rolling down the hill. Till the govt doesn't draw a serious long term plan to curb it, it is not a thing to ignore. India's biggest import is still oil. Given that oil prices heavily influence inflation, the govt cannot afford to let its prices surge up. Also, the foreign currency reserve of India is minuscule.

I am not against import. But the current finances of India doesn't allow it.

How do you plan on setting up a manufacturing base in the long run, if you don't import more capital goods to increase your production capability?

When trying to build up a manufacturing base, a massive CAD is expected.

China just ordered around 300,000 industrial robots in the year 2013 (though many of these were built domestically). We already have a manufacturing base and we still need to build up continuously.

How do you plan on setting up a manufacturing base in the long run, if you don't import more capital goods to increase your production capability?

When trying to build up a manufacturing base, a massive CAD is expected.

China just ordered around 300,000 industrial robots in the year 2013 (though many of these were built domestically). We already have a manufacturing base and we still need to build up continuously.

By asking foreign companies to set up plants, probably in some special zones. The big importing would be feasible when there is sufficient currency reserve. What China did, as @Genesis mentioned before was that it let companies set up the plants in China. This brought in foreign currency, as every product manufactured and exported would bring some. China didn't ever had to worry so much for CAD, as they had a base build up. India is decades behind to have that kind of base.

All the more reason to start building up a manufacturing base soon, right?

And it's all about the infrastructure. That's what we can build, and we can afford to provide financing/loans at the cheapest possible rate, no one else can provide better rates due to the enormity of our currency reserves.

India needs to do it sooner rather than later, and China is the one with the most experience in this area. You can lock off the sensitive sectors if you like, or contract that stuff out to someone else.

All the more reason to start building up a manufacturing base soon, right?

And it's all about the infrastructure. That's what we can build, and we can afford to provide financing/loans at the cheapest possible rate, no one else can provide better rates due to the enormity of our currency reserves.

India needs to do it sooner rather than later, and China is the one with the most experience in this area. You can lock off the sensitive sectors if you like, or contract that stuff out to someone else.

That's the idea for the industrial corridor. To create infra for manufacturing.

If China can just finance, nothing better. Bring in some expertise, have its companies do some work, all good. Some have expressed fears that money and experience apart, it will also bring in Chinese manufactured good, on large scale. For example, can Indian companies compete with Chinese in Cement, railway coaches and many other such stuff? No. It is inevitable that such products would be imported on a large scale.

Modi’s minister convicted for corruption | Tehelka.com

[paste:font size="6"]Rajkot (PTI): A senior minister in the Narendra Modi government was today sentenced to three years imprisonment by a court in Porbandar in the Rs 54-crore illegal limestone mining case of 2006.

Gujarat Water Resources minister Babu Bokhiria was convicted by Chief Judicial Magistrate C V Pandya.

Bokhiria along with former Congress MP Bharat Odedara, alleged gangster Bhima Dula Odedara, who is behind the bars in a murder case, and his son Lakshman Dula Odedara, who is chairman of Porbandar marketing yard, were sentenced to three years imprisonment and fined Rs 5,000 each.

In 2006, manager of Saurashtra Chemical Company Umesh Bhavsar had registered a complaint against the four alleging that they had illegally mined limestone from the land where the company holds mining rights.

The complaint also mentioned that they had to face a loss of Rs 54 crore due to the illegal mining done by the four persons. Porbandar is around 180 Kms from here.

Porbandar Police had arrested Bokhiria in 2007 from city airport as after the complaint, he left the country and was declared as an absconder. However, the high court had later released him on bail.

In the last state assembly elections held in December 2012, Bokhiria had defeated state Congress president Arjun Modhwadia. Bokhiria was made cabinet minister in the Modi government which took over the reins on December 25 last year.

BAbu Bokharia is not convicted for doing anything wrong in his ministership.

Don't practice Gujarat model in any other state: Congress to BJP | Latest News & Updates at DNAIndia.com
Claiming that Modi and BJP preside over an "empire of corruption", Sibal wondered how can the BJP even make allegations against the Congress on the issue of corruption asking which of its ministers has been convicted or in jail.

He alleged that 22 BJP legislators were involved in land grab deals in Karnataka, and in Madhya Pradesh, the Lokayukta has complained that the state government is not forwarding documents even as he wants to start proceedings against 10 BJP ministers.

"Why is the BJP and Modi silent on this matter? Look at the plots that have been given by Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan to members of his family at throw-away prices.

"Nobody talks about that. What about this Saraswati Shishu Mandir. They have been given plots across the state. Nobody talks about that," he said.

About Gujarat, Sibal said another minister Purushottam Solanki was 'prosecuted' under Prevention of Corruption Act but no action was taken by the BJP government against them.

Shakeel Ahmed said that he does not think that Modi's dreams will fructify including "his biggest dream" of becoming Prime Minister.

Wow. Highly Honest Minister Kapil Sibbal is talking about corruption.

Surprise is that some fake Muslims do not have any issue against Congress grabbing Waquf board land and that too of 2 LAKH Crore.

New Delhi: A scam that reportedly threatens to be bigger than the 2G scam has emerged from Karnataka, promising to bring more trouble for the Congress. The State Minorities Commission has reportedly found that over 22 thousand properties owned by the Wakf Board was illegally encroached and sold over the last decade.

The estimated loss to the exchequer is said to be around Rs 2 lakh crore.

ALSO SEE Wakf land scam: Karnataka will have to take a call, says Salman Khurshid
The Chairperson of the State Minorities Commission, Anwar Manippady told CNN-IBN that a few top politicians were involved in the scam. Sources say the Commission's report has named 38 Congress leaders.

Said Manippady, "We thought that let us look into other places too and we found mind-boggling figures in the amount of land encroached, took over property in their names or their kith and kin names... by fraud.

"What I've submitted today is a 7,500 page of documents, including gazette notification, registration of documents. Some have registered in their own name, some have sold it in benami names."

"The total value of Wakf properties in Karnataka is about Rs 4 lakh crore plus, and encroachments/embezzlements is Rs 2 lakh crores," he added.

He continued, "Imagine the strength to the Muslims if all this property is recovered. If the property is recovered, people in the community will have no problems. No Muslim will die because of lack of hospitals or medicines. A university can be set up. No Muslim will go without a roof on his head. We have been bestowed with this property. It is gone to the wrong hands.

"What I submitted today is only the tip of the ice-berg. If investigation happens, we will all swoon."

The report was submitted to Chief Minister DV Sadananda Gowda on Monday. Reports say it may be tabled in the state Assembly in a day or two.

The report states that the Wakf Board functionaries helped transfer the land to private individuals and institutions over the last 11 years.

It also states that 85 per cent of Wakf board properties that were misused are in Bangalore alone.

Wakf Board land scam: Rs 2 lakh crore scam surfaces in Karnataka

'Rs 2-lakh cr' land scam rocks Wakf Board

Rs 2 lakh cr-scam hits Karnataka Wakf Board - Hindustan Times

Wakf Land Scam Puts Congress in a Spot | Tehelka.com

Rs. 10 as entry fee for Youth in Modi’s Ahmedabad Rally – Rs. 10 lakhs for a class-III job!
Pratik Sinha February 21, 2014 | 2 Responses

Kalyansinh Champawat Caught Red Handed collecting 10 lakhs worth of cash from a candidate
On 20th February, 2014, in the Vijay Shankhnad meeting of youth at Ahmedabad, while Modi was sneering at the UPA Government for not creating job opportunities for the Youth, the police was busy arresting BJP activists who had taken crores of bribe money to give jobs to the unemployed! In one of the most shameful acts of corruption, a leading activist of BJP, Mr Kalyansinh Champawat and his accomplices had charged an amount of Rs 10 lakhs from each unemployed youth in Gujarat to get a class-III job! The recruitment scam of the 1200 posts of Talati, senior clerk , multi-purpose health worker etc that came into light very recently, has once again exposed the dirty underbelly of Gujarat governance and the fraud the Government is playing with the lives of the unemployed youth.

Kalyansingh Champawat – BJP Leader
The modus operandi for the collection of bribe money was by organizing a coaching class for giving training to the candidates who would participate in the recruitment examination. The organizers of the coaching class were influential BJP leaders like Dr. Kalyansinh Champawat who due to their proximity with Government, had arranged with the examiners of the written test to “pass” the selected candidates who were asked to make a special mark on their answer paper for identification. Those candidates who paid the money were secretly told to mark their answer paper for being passed. Champawat and his assistant Nisal Shah were arrested on Wednesday and were remanded in police custody for a day. During remand they disclosed the names of two more accomplishes, Anil Mewada and Nainesh Jaiswal who used to bring the prospective candidates to the coaching class. Around 20 students appeared have admitted before the police that they had paid money to Champawat.

In the last ten years, almost all the recruitment to Government jobs in Gujarat has been marred with allegations of corruption including the recruitment of police constables. This is the manner in which the “clean” governance of Modi works and the youth are “empowered”. This post would remain incomplete if we do not disclose that while on one hand government jobs are being sold, on the other hand jobs to implement central schemes like MNREGA are being abolished. Three years back, Government of Gujarat which is the implementing agency for MNREGA had employed over 13000 persons as Gram Rojgar Sevak (GRS) to implement the project. By a recent circular, over 10000 posts have been abolished with effect from 28th February, 2014. Thus while ten thousand young people will lose their jobs, the rural employment guarantee scheme would also suffer due to want of necessary man power.

Share this:

In Gujarat People giving and taking Bribe are caught red handed. In other states, they get the Job by bribe. Do you see this as negative thing????