Pakistan Military Officer Pay Scale/Recruitment

Please accept my apology Pakistanmyheart.I misunderstood your post but i'd disagree with you regarding PAF.Nearly all Air Forces in the world are dominated by Pilots and trust me they are not power lusty like some Army Generals (Again you are Generalizing by saying ALL PAF PIlots and Army Generals are power lusty!)

It is a simple formula. The right man should get the right job, and obviously pilots are not experts of EVERYTHING that an Air Force does. So, this culture must end. It is the age of technology. It is the age of specialization. Not every one is a specialist on every thing. So, a specialist job should be handled by a specialist. I do not think it is that difficult to understand!

As far as power lusty are concerned, I dont want to get into the very long discussion, that we have already done on the "PAF Leadership" thread. Read the last post by @x_man, where he accepts that pilots do try to grab all important posts, and this is due to a culture prevailing in our country, where the powerful get to rule, without considering the fact that they are the right ones or not.

Please accept my apology Pakistanmyheart.I misunderstood your post but i'd disagree with you regarding PAF.Nearly all Air Forces in the world are dominated by Pilots and trust me they are not power lusty like some Army Generals (Again you are Generalizing by saying ALL PAF PIlots and Army Generals are power lusty!)

Don't you dare apologise to him he is one of those members who have no respect instead of a good discussion he at the end says

** After presenting another solid fact, pakistanMYheart eats popcorn and waits for unrelated, abusive and rude remarks **

listen kid I have had students like you, who never could understand, I never raised my voice nor did I suspend them Why, Knowing them I knew they will eventually end up infront of someone who is not be so forgiving and yes they lost there jobs because of the attitude and behavior. This is my last request as an elder you dont like me fine with me but don't disrespect me again.
If you are waiting for abusive and rude remarks I can start with Stamore and keep going but there are a lot of people who respect me because I respect them and don't want them to see me like that. Try making a good name for your self just because MK told you that man you just shockup the whole forum keep it up but when you get banned he will not be able to save you.
You Command respect not demand respect.

I think we have amply discussed about the different posts of pilots in the other thread. From DCAS Admn to War Heroes, we almost touched each area. But making statements like this …
Otherwise, PAF people are no less in their lust for power. What army is doing to the country, the PAF is doing to itself.
....and this

PAF plants pilots at all important posts inside its own organization, so, the right and qualified people never get through.

clearly indicates that you are not in a mood for healthy discussion but just inciting and provacating other members with the hate that you have towards pilots in particularly….You have been constantly misleading the members and dissing any argument presented to you against your misinformation.....MODs please note.

Give them enought rope---and they always 'hang' themselves by getting banned. :wave::wave:

Mastan sahib, app na ya mastain kub sa shruh ker dee hain? Abb app humara mazaq tu na urrain, By the way my neck size is 16 1/2, any idea for the rope siz? lol

And Sir xeric, is there any chance for me to get a thanks award from you? Please! Com'n buddy! let's have a cease fire and cooling off time before we start the 2nd round. Do you know that Islam allows narazgi for only 3 days and then you must surrender?

helo n hi to all!
well... i ve jst read wat all u wrote...sonic!...u might b right but i think that u r not aware of some facts or sume one has really misled and givn very wrong information to u.... u ve tried to make an earnest endeavour to give an impression dat pak officers r only enjoying perks n priveledges which dey dun even deserve... u even tried to draw a comparison between indian officers and pak officer's benefits....well lets start from the same point...here are som of teh details of wat a liutenant gets in indian army once he joins
1. free rations
2. furnished accomodation with allied facilities ..... free
3. free medical facilities including his siblings...not just parents
4. group housing scheme....*
5 soft loans for building houses
6. transport for childern to their schools
7. 2 months of fully paid leave very year
8. free travel by rajdhani/ any express train wid family
9. basic pay of rs 10500---liutenant
10. dearness allowance---57% of basic pay
11. city compensatory allowance... if not posted in a big city
12. outfit allowance....6000......revised regularly
13. field area allowance.... if in field.....upto 3500
14. if posted to glacier.....7000
15. qualification grant.....more courses u qualify....3000-10000

well.... janab.... i think... u must hav been able to draw a clear picture of the lifestyle an indian officer experiences and i hope ....coz u were so much vocal on the perks being enjoyed by pak officers... i need not to provide u about wat our officers get....i assume dat u must b aware of dat......there is only one field in above stated facts which is also appllicable to pak officers and dat is marked with a "*"....scroll up please......
now i know u ll comment on a number of entries above.....so let me clarify those my self for ur ease.....
1. no free rations for officers of army
2. only acomodation......with just one bad and one chair with allied facilities but NOTHING FREE....rest furnishing is on officr n for allied facilities...he pays bills
3. free medical facilities but NOT AT ALL FOR SIBLINGS.....
4. yes ... group housing scheme is same
5. loans???......huh..... wat to talk about soft loan policy.........even if arranging from commercial banks....permission is mandatory from commander
6. sir... no concept of transport for childern here!
7. 1 month of leave is authorized once in a year...... ask any of officers u know..... h many times they have spent a complete month wid dere family .... ask dere families rather
8. 50% discount on train....dat too just for ur wife only.....NOTHING FREE sir!
9. basic pay---8500---liutenant
10.dearness allownce???....ask any pak officer...he wont have even heard of it ...sir!
11. city compensatory allowance....same goes for it.....visit anyone in "mailsi"...southern punjab...ask him wat is it.......or declare mailsi a mega city...sir!
12. outfit allowance...... for Ncos.....in pma only....those who are instructor for drill...no such allowance for officers.....and even den ever yourself compare teh outfit maintained by a **** officer with another officer of any other army....... u ll not feel dat our officers do not get an allowance for it....which others do get
13. field.....go to "chor"...ask if he is getting even 1 extra peny for it......be mind ful v r talking of field...not of hard area...coz i know... u ll try to misguide people by mixing a field area with hard area....field area is when ever anyon is out of cant and in an open area(field) for practical exercise....... i hope i need not to explain a hard area now... i expext all the readers to be dat much wise atleast....
14. either they go to glacier or in battls in wana or swat..... any place... at maximum they get a sum of rs 3000...either in form of hard area allowance or in form of internal security allowance...respectively....wid due respect sir!
15. qualification grant????..... well ... pakistan has got the biggest number of oficers who take sword from royal academy of sandhurst england..... even after doing and getting 1st position in foreign staff courses in grmany, france, jordan and many more...no one gets and not even expexts to be given any such allowance....sir!

now..... to sum up...some more facts...... one can easily make up as who is gtting more..... from these figures....but at same time dun 4get n b mindful dat indian our currency has different wieghtage as compared to indian.... a car which indian officer can buy in rs 290000......(maruti)..... for buying same **** officer has to pay rs 410000.....means if u take all these facts meentioned above in dollars.... u ll find that difference wud further double......
now to add to ur hapines "sonic"...and for guidance of all readers.... please refer to "6th CPC" announced by indian govt for indian army officers whereby...
"very indian officer gets rs 12000 per child for his tution (education) and further 6000 if he wants tto put him in some hostel....this facility can b availed by all officers for 2 children only"
plz mr sonic....can u kindly show me a mtch to it in our army....sir......plz

and to end up..... the fact which sonic was trying to exploit to misguide many of readers...... 4 plots.......ist of all let me telll u that 4 plots can b availed by only officers who rise up to the rank of brig.......and for ur kind information....80 % of oficrs retire as majors......so how many plots can rest 20 % consume ....even if they eat na..... even then not as much as u were trying to portray......
now some facts to answer u.
1. it is never like dis that plots r givn 4 free or for rs 4000 per plot...... for ur kind information..... latest plot...ma father got....n it was of 8 marla....he had to pay rs 9 lac..... then it was alloted...otherwise allotment was to be cancelled
2. houses which are given...... mr...... officers who subsribe to this scheme only they get it..... n then they have to pay a dwnpayment ...which is 45000 now a days.....n subsequently....intallments of rs 1500 for ist 8 years, 2500 for next 5 years, 3500 for next 5, and 5000 for last 5 years....
3. if ur service is less then 23 years ... u r not eligible.....sir
4. at nd of service...once house is alloted... again a lumpsum payment is to b paid to get possession of house.
5. n one important information....do not just add up all these figures and reply me back and say that it forms an amount which is less then teh amount of hpuse.....answer my question...... wat army does with teh downpayment and installments????..... is it not used in projects to generate economic activity..... can u undermine teh utility these accumulated funds offer to army n this country... where is it invested... is it not for the meting the need of this giant army.....just tell me.... what will happen if u put same downpayment in a fixed account for 23 years and keep on adding to a fixed savings account for 23 years ..every month...wat ll be the profit u ll earn on it.....now understood
... even now if u calculate like a misery n say... even then it does not make up teh amount for house... so mr....only dat little margin which is left... is a benefit which a poor army officer is given after the most dedicated, most threatened, most devoted and 24 hours 7 days job for his complete life....... i wud appreciate if every tom dick n harry has those guts to sacrifice his comfort to the level which these officers always do.......... u do not deserve to talk about these people...who leave there loved ones behind and walk down those valleys from where they dun ve teh surety to return.... u feel lik killing urself if u fail to be wid ur wife at the birth of ur child.....mr.....my brother died... my father couldnt see his face.... he was in kargil....... n i m not portraying it as a grief..... i m proud of ma dad...... n this is nothing.....sacrfices worth mentioning cant be mentioned here...which everyone cant offer...... the dirty seed u tried to sow between army n common man... i tried it shud not nourish ...n th 2nd seed u tried to sow between nco n jco n officers....i ll address it next time... coz for today its more den enough....tc...MAY ALLAH show u th right path!

helo n hi to all!
well... i ve jst read wat all u wrote...sonic!...u might b right but i think that u r not aware of some facts or sume one has really misled and givn very wrong information to u.... u ve tried to make an earnest endeavour to give an impression dat pak officers r only enjoying perks n priveledges which dey dun even deserve... u even tried to draw a comparison between indian officers and pak officer's benefits....well lets start from the same point...here are som of teh details of wat a liutenant gets in indian army once he joins
1. free rations

well.... janab.... i think... u must hav been able to draw a clear picture of the lifestyle an indian officer experiences and i hope ....coz u were so much vocal on the perks being enjoyed by pak officers... i need not to provide u about wat our officers get....i assume dat u must b aware of dat......there is only one field in above stated facts which is also appllicable to pak officers and dat is marked with a "*"....scroll up please......
now i know u ll comment on a number of entries above.....so let me clarify those my self for ur ease.....
2. only acomodation......with just one bad and one chair with allied facilities but NOTHING FREE....rest furnishing is on officr n for allied facilities...he pays bills
5. loans???......huh..... wat to talk about soft loan policy.........even if arranging from commercial banks....permission is mandatory from commander
7. 1 month of leave is authorized once in a year...... ask any of officers u know..... h many times they have spent a complete month wid dere family .... ask dere families rather
10.dearness allownce???....ask any pak officer...he wont have even heard of it ...sir!
11. city compensatory allowance....same goes for it.....visit anyone in "mailsi"...southern punjab...ask him wat is it.......or declare mailsi a mega city...sir!
12. outfit allowance...... for Ncos.....in pma only....those who are instructor for drill...no such allowance for officers.....and even den ever yourself compare teh outfit maintained by a **** officer with another officer of any other army....... u ll not feel dat our officers do not get an allowance for it....which others do get
13. field.....go to "chor"...ask if he is getting even 1 extra peny for it......be mind ful v r talking of field...not of hard area...coz i know... u ll try to misguide people by mixing a field area with hard area....field area is when ever anyon is out of cant and in an open area(field) for practical exercise....... i hope i need not to explain a hard area now... i expext all the readers to be dat much wise atleast....
14. either they go to glacier or in battls in wana or swat..... any place... at maximum they get a sum of rs 3000...either in form of hard area allowance or in form of internal security allowance...respectively....wid due respect sir!
15. qualification grant????..... well ... pakistan has got the biggest number of oficers who take sword from royal academy of sandhurst england..... even after doing and getting 1st position in foreign staff courses in grmany, france, jordan and many more...no one gets and not even expexts to be given any such allowance....sir!

now..... to sum up...some more facts...... one can easily make up as who is gtting more..... from these figures....but at same time dun 4get n b mindful dat indian our currency has different wieghtage as compared to indian.... a car which indian officer can buy in rs 290000......(maruti)..... for buying same **** officer has to pay rs 410000.....means if u take all these facts meentioned above in dollars.... u ll find that difference wud further double......
now to add to ur hapines "sonic"...and for guidance of all readers.... please refer to "6th CPC" announced by indian govt for indian army officers whereby...
"very indian officer gets rs 12000 per child for his tution (education) and further 6000 if he wants tto put him in some hostel....this facility can b availed by all officers for 2 children only"

and to end up..... the fact which sonic was trying to exploit to misguide many of readers...... 4 plots.......ist of all let me telll u that 4 plots can b availed by only officers who rise up to the rank of brig.......and for ur kind information....80 % of oficrs retire as majors......so how many plots can rest 20 % consume ....even if they eat na..... even then not as much as u were trying to portray......
1. it is never like dis that plots r givn 4 free or for rs 4000 per plot...... for ur kind information..... latest plot...ma father got....n it was of 8 marla....he had to pay rs 9 lac..... then it was alloted...otherwise allotment was to be cancelled
2. houses which are given...... mr...... officers who subsribe to this scheme only they get it..... n then they have to pay a dwnpayment ...which is 45000 now a days.....n subsequently....intallments of rs 1500 for ist 8 years, 2500 for next 5 years, 3500 for next 5, and 5000 for last 5 years....
4. at nd of service...once house is alloted... again a lumpsum payment is to b paid to get possession of house.
5. n one important information....do not just add up all these figures and reply me back and say that it forms an amount which is less then teh amount of hpuse.....answer my question...... wat army does with teh downpayment and installments????..... is it not used in projects to generate economic activity..... can u undermine teh utility these accumulated funds offer to army n this country... where is it invested... is it not for the meting the need of this giant army.....just tell me.... what will happen if u put same downpayment in a fixed account for 23 years and keep on adding to a fixed savings account for 23 years ..every month...wat ll be the profit u ll earn on it.....now understood
... even now if u calculate like a misery n say... even then it does not make up teh amount for house... so mr....only dat little margin which is left... is a benefit which a poor army officer is given after the most dedicated, most threatened, most devoted and 24 hours 7 days job for his complete life....... i wud appreciate if every tom dick n harry has those guts to sacrifice his comfort to the level which these officers always do.......... u do not deserve to talk about these people...who leave there loved ones behind and walk down those valleys from where they dun ve teh surety to return.... u feel lik killing urself if u fail to be wid ur wife at the birth of ur child.....mr.....my brother died... my father couldnt see his face.... he was in kargil....... n i m not portraying it as a grief..... i m proud of ma dad...... n this is nothing.....sacrfices worth mentioning cant be mentioned here...which everyone cant offer...... the dirty seed u tried to sow between army n common man... i tried it shud not nourish ...n th 2nd seed u tried to sow between nco n jco n officers....i ll address it next time... coz for today its more den enough....tc...MAY ALLAH show u th right path!

plz do read ma post... i replied wat"sonic" misled every body regarding perks n priveledges dat pak officers enjoy comparitevely to indian officers... plz read it just once... its a requst

Yes dear, read it and 101% agreed also, spent 25 years of my life in the army background, and never seen the extra perks that people talk about. Yea generals may be, but normal officers, didn't saw any. Bro is a Lieutenant in the PA, sitting in a hard area, his total pay including all allowances comes to just 18,000/- and after deduction gets 15,500 or sometimes 16,000/-, and from this he has to give 5,000+ just for the mess bill & the other spending on extra official lunches & dinners or tea breaks are extra. So in the end what left can be calculated. Nowadays, the camouflage army uniform costs around Rs.2000 to 2500.

Dad spent 29 years serving the armed forces, the salary which he was getting at his retirement age, i started to earn more then his retirement time salary in just 2 years time after getting my job.

Salary after 29 years service = My salary after 2 years.

I just don't understand from where & how people get this idea that all of the army officers are enjoying high perks & high salaries.

The perks they are getting, they deserve it after what kind of life they spend. For civilians its very easy to see, as they look from the outside, but whts inside they don't see.

Generals apart.

Thanks for the addition.
Yes dear, read it and 101% agreed also, spent 25 years of my life in the army background, and never seen the extra perks that people talk about. Yea generals may be, but normal officers, didn't saw any. Bro is a Lieutenant in the PA, sitting in a hard area, his total pay including all allowances comes to just 18,000/- and after deduction gets 15,500 or sometimes 16,000/-, and from this he has to give 5,000+ just for the mess bill & the other spending on extra official lunches & dinners or tea breaks are extra. So in the end what left can be calculated. Nowadays, the camouflage army uniform costs around Rs.2000 to 2500.

Dad spent 29 years serving the armed forces, the salary which he was getting at his retirement age, i started to earn more then his retirement time salary in just 2 years time after getting my job.

Salary after 29 years service = My salary after 2 years.

I just don't understand from where & how people get this idea that all of the army officers are enjoying high perks & high salaries.

The perks they are getting, they deserve it after what kind of life they spend. For civilians its very easy to see, as they look from the outside, but whts inside they don't see.

Generals apart.

5000 as Mess Bill! Bro you must add another 2000 (minimum) keeping view the inflation rate.

i remember having nothing in my pocket when i paid my bills-legitimate ofcourse ;), but we were still happy and contended, wore guud cloths and lived like a human! Though you have to sacrifice many other loves to get the essentials, but you know it works well :)

Thanks for the addition.

5000 as Mess Bill! Bro you must add another 2000 (minimum) keeping view the inflation rate.

i remember having nothing in my pocket when i paid my bills-legitimate ofcourse ;), but we were still happy and contended, wore guud cloths and lived like a human! Though you have to sacrifice many other loves to get the essentials, but you know it works well :)

Well he is sitting at a way up on a mountain post overlooking the indians, so his mess bill is down, once he goes to a normal place, then the real bills would start coming in. :)

I ask him buy what ever u wanna buy now, once u come down then u will be sitting with an empty pocket.

Yups agreed, no matter what the salary is, officers spend a good decent life either as a bachelor or even when they get a family.

Well he is sitting at a way up on a mountain post overlooking the indians, so his mess bill is down, once he goes to a normal place, then the real bills would start coming in. :)

I ask him buy what ever u wanna buy now, once u come down then u will be sitting with an empty pocket.

Yups agreed, no matter what the salary is, officers spend a good decent life either as a bachelor or even when they get a family.

You got it right bro.

i think you must read that post of mine where i said that i saved like 50k when i was sitting up somewhere.

Officers and men are mostly able to save alot when they are deployed but at the expense of their 'normal life'. Sitting without light, without the basic facilities, without eating something nice, without socializing etc etc.

And yes your advice ti him his also guud that he should save and buy whatever he has planned as this money that he would save is not going to last when he would come down!

helo n hi to all!
1. free rations

No offence but please can you write in english, you are writing your comments not sending an email where you are short of time or space.:coffee:

helo n hi to all!
1. free rations

well.... janab.... i think... u must hav been able to draw a clear picture of the lifestyle an indian officer experiences and i hope ....coz u were so much vocal on the perks being enjoyed by pak officers... !

Not sure why you are comparing pay and benefits of Indian Army officers with Pakistan Army officers? Where did that come from in the discussion? By the way do you have any link/s to prove your point? And If IA officers are being paid better than PA officers as per you observation, then believe me they deserve all that.

The Indian Army officers are comparatively better than Pakistan Army officers and don’t you ever dare to compare them with PA officers. Indian Army officers have many accomplishments under their belts. Name just three accomplishments of Pakistan Army officers since 1948. I can list blunders after blunders and grave failures of PA officers. And now let me tell you why IA officers are better than PA officers as follows:

1. The majority of returning Pakistani NCO’s/JCO’s POW’s from 71 Indo/Pak war stated clearly that IA officer’s were better than PA officers. And I can bet if we do the survey again today, you will get the same results.

2. There are incidents from Indo/Pak 71 war where PA officers took refuge in Dhaka leaving their regiments on the border without any high command. An extreme example of cowardice.

3. Indian Army officers have never let down their nation and have never lost to Pakistan Army officers in any of the wars such as 65, 71, Kargil, and Siachen.

4. IA officers have never surrendered to PA officers in thousands. Shame.

5. IA officers are not involved in real estate business and the Indian public doesn’t call them property dealers. Now compare that to PA officers, go and see yourself how PA officers wearing commando uniforms running around with real estate files in their hands in defense colonies, dealing and wheeling in real estate as compared to brushing up their training and no wonder why Pakistani public calls them as ‘Property Dealers’.

We have not fought a war since 1971 and PA officers should be very thankful to Pakistani people for their generosity as they continue to pay them without any results.

Before you and others complain like a cry baby about PA officer’s benefits, here is my challenge to you, your sympathizers and the PA officers:

Get my homeland, Kashmir and Siachen, back from Indian occupation. Will you please? Mush tried with his commando brigade and miserably failed with all the ground links and support as compared to Indians who depend on air for all their supplies.

Out there any Mai ka laal?

i need not to provide u about wat our officers get....i assume dat u must b aware of dat......there is only one field in above stated facts which is also appllicable to pak officers and dat is marked with a "*"....scroll up please......

Here we go again. That’s an irrelevant issue. This shows how ignorant you are with the issue on hand. The issue on hand that concerns me most is the Pakistan Army officer’s involvement in real estate and the defense colonies. I care less about the pay and the perks being paid to PA officers and that has never been an issue for me. This issue has been beaten to death and not sure what transpired you to start the same old ‘roona dhoona’ once again. Did you even care to read the whole thread?

Let me once again state as I did in one of my previous posts. No one forced anyone to join Pakistan Army. They did it because of their own will and choice. And what can one expect with an FA degree? There is a choice for you complainers. If you feel private sector is better, then no one is stopping you to do so. I am sure there are many who would love to take your place with many tahnks. So, please quit being a crying baby. Put up or leave.

For God’s sake, now don’t tell me those worn out, classical arguments of facing hardships on the borders, defending Pakistan to the peril of your lives and so forth. We have had enough of these obtuse excuses and are thoroughly fed-up of this all-purpose monologue. It has been delivered far too many times and has already lost most, if not all, of its allure. No more emotional blackmailing, please.

And next time before you open your mouth to complain, let me post some of the points from my previous posts (mine and also from people of Pakistani) for you to ponder:

(i) A common Pakistani doesn’t get even a few tablets of Paracetamol after having queued for hours and endured endless humiliation at public hospitals. For you and for your families, there are helicopters and ambulances with luxurious wards at well-equipped military hospitals [strictly out of bound for common man] -- free of cost. Go and compare any CMH to a General Hospital and find out yourself the disparity between those two entities.

(ii) Barn for cattle at military farms is generally better furnished than the government schools for civilian children. And, few those who are lucky that they at least have a school, be in rubbles, to go to -- more than 50% of them don’t have even this symbolic consolation. In contrast, PA officer’s sons/daughter’s birthrights include O-Level at sumptuous Army Public Schools on highly subsidized rates.

(iii) The 140 million ‘ordinary’ Pakistanis have fewer swimming pools available to them than the sports centers exclusively on the disposal of officers of the armed forces.

(iv) According to the World Health Organization (WHO), 136 out of 1000 newly born babies die before the age of five in Pakistan. How many officers out of every 1000 passed-out from the PMA embrace martyrdom in the line of duty?

(v) You know, the most repulsive of all is that those, who in reality do face the enemy bullets i.e., jawans, NCOs and JCOs are not much better off either. No less than 50000 of them used to be orderlies – euphemism for slave – polishing shoes, making beds of the officers, cooking, doing dishes, and washing baby pampers. And do you know how many of them were court martial and sent to private jail by the PA officers because begum sahiba did not like them?

(vi) How do you explain that a professor holding a Doctorate -- who started teaching at a public university 35 years back, before you joined the army -- is not entitled to a single residential plot whereas the property given to PA officers -- squarely due to their military service -- is worth of millions rupees?

(vii) How come a brigadier in the army has more perks and privileges than the Chief Justice of Pakistan?

(viii) Why a senior surgeon serving in a government hospital doesn’t get a fraction of monetary rewards as compared to what a GOC grabs without doing anything productive at all?

(ix) What does a police officer get from the state, despite risking his life, putting up with abuses and curses of the public on daily basis (and quite often flouting the law at the behest of the junta), in relation to good-for-nothing military officers?

(x) Where in the world, a FA or at the most BA passed supervisor/foreman in a security firm is multi-millionaire, by default, on his retirement, entirely because of his job?

(xi) Which government service, irrespective of tenure, academic qualifications and/or assignments, in the entire region of South Asia, results in comparable amount of financial gains than that of military officer career in Pakistan? What extraordinary, the military officers of Pakistan accomplish to deserve the amazing remunerations?

(xii) With more than 40% of the Pakistani population under abject poverty and 13 % infant mortality rate on one hand and then milliner PA officers on the other hand.

(xiii) World-class recreational facilities for the kith and kin of the military officers, and at the same time not even clean drinking water (what to talk about other basic necessities of daily life) for the overwhelming majority of Pakistanis, yet some of you are complaining without any moral qualms.

(xiv) Scores of Pakistani children scavenge rubbish for recyclables for their living; innumerable chotas are sweating across the country to survive? Surely, PA officers don’t. Your defense housing societies are not at all a part of the Pakistan we dwell in. Your secluded garrisons have nothing to do with the mainstream society – being crushed under unexplainable hardships.

(xv) Alas, all those few who do lay down their lives defending the motherland get next to nothing in the land of pure. The wholesale “bandar bant” is only for star officers. Here follows the proof: The National Assembly was informed on Monday, September 8, 2003 that during the last 12 years of both political and military regimes (1990-2002) a total of 34 defense officers housing schemes of various sizes for officers of the Pakistan Army were established over an area of almost 1,000 acres of land. Out of 34, only two housing schemes of 15 acres have been launched for Jawans and non-commissioned officers.

(xvi) Would it be wrong to say that these housing schemes are denying right of thousands of jawans, who remain on the frontline laying down their lives in the defense of the motherland. Put it in simple words, the GHQ awards large plots to officers, who buy them at dirt-cheap prices only to sell them off to civilians and make huge profits. It would be interesting to check how many of the original allottees still lived in these housing societies and how many have made quick money by disposing their plots of.

(xvii) Just last year when as many as 200 old settlements were being bulldozed in Karachi in the Lyari Expressway scheme, 248 acres of prime land on the sea front were given to the Defense Housing Authority at the rate of Rs20 per square yard. The value of this land had been evaluated at Rs. 25,000 per square yard for commercial use and Rs. 15,000 per square yard for residential purposes.

(xviii) In answer to a Question in the Senate, the federal government has revealed that 485 residential plots in various cities of all four provinces were allotted to Army officers between October 1999 and July 2003. Though the plots were allotted to officers of all ranks from full general down to lieutenant. These plots were not allotted at a subsidy; they were given away almost free. Technically leased, the terms were token: Rs 5 per sq yd premium, with an annual lease of Rs 0.50 per sq yd. This works out to Rs 4000 for a plot just over one and a half kanals, with an annual rent of Rs 80. Even in a depressed real estate market, the worth would be at least Rs 6 million. The plots were allotted according to a policy framed in 1978, by the Zia military regime, but that is no excuse for what is now an institutionalized abuse.

(xix) It can be argued that those serving in the armed forces should receive greater rewards since they risk their lives in defending the country. Perhaps one should just look at the facts: we have not fought a formal war for 33 years and yet we continue to support five soldiers versus only two policemen per 1,000 citizens. As far as laying down one`s life is concerned, the total number of men and officers killed in all three previous wars put together is less than the number of policemen killed in Karachi alone over the last 10 years.

(xx) To give plots to military officers for building their own houses is a genuine welfare activity and no one would grudge it. But is the building of multi-billion integrated luxury homes with golf course townships in a posh locality in Lahore or the multi-billion dollar development of Karachi beach in association with foreign partnership also a legitimate welfare activity that should be undertaken by the military?

It is claimed that the DHAs are private bodies and they purchase land in the open market and after development sell them to all. But are the DHAs really private bodies competing with other private bodies in a level playing field? Is there any other private housing society that is headed by a serving corps commander and whose executive functionaries such as the administrator are serving senior army officers drawing salaries from the public exchequer?

(xxi) During question hour in the parliament it has transpired that military officers get one after 15 years of service, a second one after 25, a third one after 28 years and a fourth one after 33 years of service each worth more than 15 million rupees in the open market. To call it welfare is stretching the meaning of the word a bit too far.

(xxii) The lower ranking officers are also in a desperate psychological state. Morale is very low and it is not an accident that the Pakistani military outfits are losing their battles in the tribal areas. It is for these reasons that general Kayani has given wage rises and other privileges to the lower ranks and soldiers. The poor soldiers and ranks have a seething hatred towards the top brass who have become billionaires as their women flaunt and exhibit this wealth with a repugnant vulgarity.

(xxiii) A A Naizi (of the bangladesh fame) in the last interview before his death was mainly worried about the fact that he didnt get the land he was promised in kasur!
How can ordinary majors, colonels and brigadiers build mansions in DHA on their “real salaries” - of course all the money comes from corruption and kickbacks.

(xxiv) Since August 14, 1947, the day Pakistan came into being, more than 200,000 Americans have embraced ‘martyrdom’ in uniform. It means, judge against Pakistan the US has lost several times more of her sons per capita in wars. Have these ongoing sacrifices been translated into blanket kabza of the khakis in the US? No, absolutely not, the defense secretary can still sack the army chief on standing feet?

(xxv) Hamoodur Rahman Commission Report: One of the major causes of our disgrace was the moral degeneration which had set in among senior army commanders such as lust for wine and women, and greed for lands and houses, a large number of senior army officers, particularly those occupying the highest positions, had not only lost the will to fight but also the professional competence necessary for taking the vital and critical decisions demanded of them for the successful prosecution of war.

(xxvi) Pakistan spends so much of her national budgetary resources on army, yet it used to send young civilian lads to fight in the occupied valley [of Kashmir]. Why don`t PA officers wage this `jihad` themselves, for which they get fat salaries and dozens of other benefits which a civilian cannot even dream of?

(xxvii) If Pakistan didn’t have the bomb, we would be on our knees in 24 hours if attacked by India. 1971 is an open testament to this fact. When asked about what he thought of the Pakistan Army, a top Indian general laughed and said “They are bloody property dealers.” He was referring to the colonels, brigadiers and generals whose only interest is in Defense Housing Authority (DHA) plots and Cantonment area bungalows.

And lastly being a son of an officer, you have no clue what goes on in the regiment and plight of the poor soldiers.

And if your dad or brother is not happy being a PA officer, then maybe it's about time for them to think of join IA army for better benefits and pay. Wondering if they will ever qualify for IA's higher standard? The Indian readers of this forum might be able to assist in that regards?