DG ISI Lt-Gen Nadeem Anjum holds security talks with CIA Director and US NSA in Washington

Pakistan, US hold security talks ahead of FM Bilawal's visit

The combination photo shows DG ISI Lt-Gen Nadeen Anjum (L) and US CIA chief William Burns. —Photo courtesy: DawnNewsTV/Reuters

WASHINGTON: Pakistan and the United States completed their security level talks in Washington on Wednesday, days before a scheduled meeting between their foreign policy chiefs is scheduled to be held in New York.

Inter-Services Intelligence Director-General (DG ISI) Lt-Gen Nadeem Anjum spent three days in Washington this week, meeting senior security officials, including US National Security Advisor Jake Sullivan and CIA Director William J. Burns.

Neither side disclosed the details of these meetings, but the talks are believed to have focused on bilateral security concerns and the situation in Afghanistan, as the US believes that Pakistan can help stabilise the war-torn country.

The last security level talks between the two countries were held in July 2021, when then-National Security Advisor Moeed Yusuf met Mr Sullivan at White House. The Pakistani delegation had also included former ISI chief Lt-Gen Faiz Hameed.

Later, Mr Sullivan said in a tweet that their talks focused on ‘regional connectivity and security, and “the urgent need for a reduction in violence in Afghanistan.”

The current ISI chief’s visit followed an unprecedented deterioration in Pakistan-US ties, triggered by former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s claim that Washington conspired with opposition leaders to topple his government.

At a news briefing on Tuesday, US State Department Spokesperson Ned Price rejected Mr. Khan’s claims as speculations and lies, adding that the United States will not let “lies get in the way” of its bilateral ties with Pakistan, a relationship, he stressed, the US values.

“We are not going to let propaganda, misinformation, and disinformation — lies — get in the way of any bilateral relationship we have, including with the bilateral relationship we have with Pakistan, one we value,” he said while responding to a question about Mr. Khan’s claims.

On March 27, days before his ouster, the former PM brandished a letter at a rally in Islamabad, claiming it contained evidence of a “foreign conspiracy” hatched to topple his government.

All three wings of the US administration - the White House, the Pentagon, and the State Department - have rejected the accusations, saying there’s no veracity to them.

During Tuesday’s briefing, Mr. Price was also asked about a call made by US Secretary of State Antony Blinken to Pakistan’s newly appointed Foreign Minister Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari last week, during which the US official invited Bilawal to a United Nations food security summit on York in New on May 18.Mr. Price said that Mr Blinken and Mr Bhutto-Zardari also discussed the “ongoing engagement when it comes to our economic ties, trade and investment, climate, energy, health, and education.”

Published in Dawn, May 12th, 2022

Back to Zardari era i guess where black water and other US assets were running rampant in Pakistan.

Yes as USA 🇺🇸 has clearly stated that they are interested only in CT and border security. Full stop.

What a fiasco.

Install puppets. And have the puppets do their bidding.

The US and its stooges are not even hiding the fact. They are shamelessly traveling in broad daylight and receiving instructions.

Somebody give a map to General Bajwa, and tell him that no matter how much he bend over. Pakistan cannot become America's front line proxy for the war in Ukraine.

Receiving the threat letter made Bajwa believe he is going to be the new General Musharraf. But unfortunately for him geography dictates otherwise.

Vcheng
I know exactly why the IMF has stated aims and objectives. I eill stand by my statement and agree to disagree. It is imperative to understand that No one going to the IMF has ever escaped the debt trap. Perhaps thetendencies to spend beyond their means remain a ptoblem.
A

As long as one keeps in mind that going to the IMF is a CHOICE that is made by the country requesting the bailout as help to escape the consequences of its own financial mismanagement, and not by IMF or anyone else. A choice. That explains it all, no matter whatever view one would like to hold.

Pakistan, US hold security talks ahead of FM Bilawal's visit

WASHINGTON: Pakistan and the United States completed their security level talks in Washington on Wednesday, days before a scheduled meeting between their foreign policy chiefs is scheduled to be held in New York.

Inter-Services Intelligence Director-General (DG ISI) Lt-Gen Nadeem Anjum spent three days in Washington this week, meeting senior security officials, including US National Security Advisor Jake Sullivan and CIA Director William J. Burns.

Neither side disclosed the details of these meetings, but the talks are believed to have focused on bilateral security concerns and the situation in Afghanistan, as the US believes that Pakistan can help stabilise the war-torn country.

The last security level talks between the two countries were held in July 2021, when then-National Security Advisor Moeed Yusuf met Mr Sullivan at White House. The Pakistani delegation had also included former ISI chief Lt-Gen Faiz Hameed.

Later, Mr Sullivan said in a tweet that their talks focused on ‘regional connectivity and security, and “the urgent need for a reduction in violence in Afghanistan.”

The current ISI chief’s visit followed an unprecedented deterioration in Pakistan-US ties, triggered by former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s claim that Washington conspired with opposition leaders to topple his government.

At a news briefing on Tuesday, US State Department Spokesperson Ned Price rejected Mr. Khan’s claims as speculations and lies, adding that the United States will not let “lies get in the way” of its bilateral ties with Pakistan, a relationship, he stressed, the US values.

“We are not going to let propaganda, misinformation, and disinformation — lies — get in the way of any bilateral relationship we have, including with the bilateral relationship we have with Pakistan, one we value,” he said while responding to a question about Mr. Khan’s claims.

On March 27, days before his ouster, the former PM brandished a letter at a rally in Islamabad, claiming it contained evidence of a “foreign conspiracy” hatched to topple his government.

All three wings of the US administration - the White House, the Pentagon, and the State Department - have rejected the accusations, saying there’s no veracity to them.

During Tuesday’s briefing, Mr. Price was also asked about a call made by US Secretary of State Antony Blinken to Pakistan’s newly appointed Foreign Minister Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari last week, during which the US official invited Bilawal to a United Nations food security summit on York in New on May 18.Mr. Price said that Mr Blinken and Mr Bhutto-Zardari also discussed the “ongoing engagement when it comes to our economic ties, trade and investment, climate, energy, health, and education.”

Published in Dawn, May 12th, 2022

Why is everybody on this thread so upset about it.
Chota Bhai apne Barey Bhai se milney gya hai.

Islam bhi Bhai charey ka dars deta hai

As long as one keeps in mind that going to the IMF is a CHOICE that is made by the country requesting the bailout as help to escape the consequences of its own financial mismanagement, and not by IMF or anyone else. A choice. That explains it all, no matter whatever view one would like to hold.
Every thing in life is a choice my dear Sir. You are tempted because you are not disciplined enough to live within your means. Initially there is progress but then the m9ney comes in and ends up in some foreign account and the country gets pushed under the bus with rising debt. It is our political choice made by people who are corrupt and used to living beyond their means. 115 Billion dollars later we are unable to pay/back the interest on our debt . It is all out of choice of the 220 million people who agreed in writing signifying their CHOICE.
Well said Sir.
Regards
A

You are tempted because you are not disciplined enough to live within your means.

So why blame others for one's own lack of financial discipline? 115 billion dollars later, may be it is time to consider other options such as default? As you rightly said, everything in life is a choice, indeed.

Please allow me to take on the points one by one.

In international geopolitics, nothing remains the same. If the paths have diverged for now, they will again converge in certain areas in some time. That is just the nature of things. Hence you are correct in saying that diplomatic norms must be followed, which also means that diplomatic communications must carry on. If Pakistan was disappointed with USA recently, it is only because Pakistan did not get everything they wanted, but then again, neither did USA. That is the art of compromise, as long as both sides get some of things they wanted, but not everything. I would say that such arrangements are likely to continue, with both sides jockeying for advantage, by getting as much as possible by giving away as least as possible. USA knows that Afghanistan will remain a hotbed that needs supervision, and Pakistan knows it is best placed to provide it. These two facts will ensure continued co-operation between the two, for sure.

Having observed the above, Pakistan will remain a far more important regional player than it will ever be an international partner, simply because US goals are global, while Pakistan's are not. Pakistan will need to enhance its value regionally, and be content with remaining on the sidelines on the global stage, as long it can wean itself off the hashish of being the center of geopolitics and the LSD of CPEC being the center of future world trade. As much as it may irk some here, Pakistan is clearly not going to be treated the same as India, because we lost the economic plot a few decades ago, and will now pay the price. May be in another 30-50 years, if by some miracle, we are able to get our economy going again, we might be able to revisit this issue of parity. Right now, it is best to let it sleep, just like our economy.

Coming to IK, as PM or exPM, please allow me to be blunt. USA knows that two-bit temporary actors as the façade do not mean much, including all the previous players, and certainly including the present ones. It tried to build up the civil side of things by the Kerry-Lugar Bill, which was a miscalculation on their part, clearly, as shown by the response of the military in ensuring that the civilians remain in a position of eating out of their hand, and their hand only (also why Dr. Afridi is still in jail, since the military wants it known that only it can decide on who gets to co-operate with entities outside the country). If exPMIK were to regain power, the military will ensure that that state of affairs continues. So to USA, it does not really matter what idiot's photo hangs on the wall next to Jinnah's, or who gets the photo ops in the Oval Office, as long as it can do business with the real power center. It is not USA's fault, or problem, that it can ignore the civil polity. It is simply an embedded and enduring "feature" of Pakistan that needs to be accepted if bilateral relations are to move on for mutual benefit.

I won't even go into why the Iron Brother is so silent over recent developments, but that, as they say, is another story for some other time, may be. :D

@araz I assume you have read the above, but have no comments.

I believe an air corridor will be provided to conduct strikes inside Afghanistan.

That will be Phase 1 and then a gradual Phase 2 where air bases will be provided.

Be on a look out for a lot of general’s and bureaucrat’s families investing their ‘hard earned’ money into real estates in Florida and Texas.

Well there were a very specific set of circumstances permitting the good old days which don’t translate to today
USA 🇺🇸 needs facilities or bases to operate drone strikes into Afghanistan. There will be no GLOC but certainly airspace availability. Secondly they in return will help with border security along the western border. All this for say 50m$ a month. Remember we come quite cheaply. Maybe just maybe they supply us with AH1Zs or issue NOC for the Turkish helo deal. If I know my military they will take both or either. Cheers