World Bank offers to finance Peshawar-Kabul Motorway

ISLAMABAD - The National Assembly Standing Committee on Communications was informed on Tuesday that the World Bank (WB) has offered to finance Peshawar-Kabul Motorway.

Officials of the National Highway Authority (NHA) told the committee that the proposed project would help expand the benefits of the CPEC project to Afghanistan and Central Asia.

The 265-kilometer four-lane motorway will be completed in three years at a cost of $760 million. The WB has agreed to finance the construction of Peshawar-Kabul Motorway which is being constructed by Pakistan to improve regional connectivity. The project was discussed at a meeting between Finance Minister Ishaq Dar and Vice President of WB’s South Asia Region at Washington in April this year.

During the meeting, Dar had proposed to the WB to finance the project for improving regional connectivity.

The committee was briefed that the Ministry of Communications has launched most of its projects in Balochistan. Balochistan will be connected with other provinces, with new projects very soon. The committee was told that the residents of Khuzdar had to travel via Karachi for Sukkar and it was a terrible situation for them to face and added that Khuzdar-Sukkur direct road will be inaugurated very soon. The M-8 had already been completed and now it takes six hours to travel over 650 kilometres. It was also told to the committee that Kuchlak bypass construction has started. With the aid of the Asian Development Bank, the phase–I from Mardan to Sawabi of Peshawar-Topi road will be started soon. The committee directed the authorities concerned to expand the road which connects Liyari Expressway to M-9. The NHA officials told the committee that work has been divided into four parts and this road will be completed in 18 months by 2018 with the addition of 22 new bridges.

The committee was told that Karachi Green Line project is in progress. The Phase-I of Green Line will be completed by November 2017 and Phase-II by April 2018. The committee directed the quarters concerned for continuous coordination with the provincial governments so that people of Karachi could avail benefits of these national projects on time.

It was told to the committee that climate challenges have been considered in the project. Over 800 trees have been planted and 18,000 new trees will be planted for control of climate challenges.

The meeting was presided by Chairman Standing Committee Muzammil Qureshi while Dr Darshan, Nazir Ahmed Bughio, Ramesh Lal, Salim Ur Rehman, Hamid-ul-Haq Khalil, Sanjay Parwani, Tariq Ullah, Ms. Naseema Panenzai, Usman Khan Tarkai, Ms. ShahJehan Mangrio, Hafiz Abdul Karim Federal Minister for Communication, Chairman NHA Shahid Tarar, Additional Secretary Communication and other high officials were also present at the meeting.
http://nation.com.pk/national/27-Sep-2017/wb-offers-to-finance-peshawar-kabul-motorway

Expanding the motorway, while Afghanistan continues to stick it's finger into the eyes of Pakistan.

India will never allow this motorway to build unless something changes. Right @A-Team ? Otherwise why would Afghanistan have problem with world class motorway without investing their own penny.

if they offer us to mining and fencing afghan border then yes . we no need motorway we need a high wall between us and waristan

they are already dependent on you, make them more dependant...doesnt matter when your kids talk back to you, after all they are your kids and you don't throw them under the train.

Build that wall first and let Afghanistan pay for it.

We will see what we can do with the supply route that Kabul so craves.

Not a viable/beneficial project for both nations until improved relations/trade activities.

We should use the motorway and annex some areas around it so we can secure a border in good terrain

ISLAMABAD - The National Assembly Standing Committee on Communications was informed on Tuesday that the World Bank (WB) has offered to finance Peshawar-Kabul Motorway.

Officials of the National Highway Authority (NHA) told the committee that the proposed project would help expand the benefits of the CPEC project to Afghanistan and Central Asia.

The 265-kilometer four-lane motorway will be completed in three years at a cost of $760 million. The WB has agreed to finance the construction of Peshawar-Kabul Motorway which is being constructed by Pakistan to improve regional connectivity. The project was discussed at a meeting between Finance Minister Ishaq Dar and Vice President of WB’s South Asia Region at Washington in April this year.

During the meeting, Dar had proposed to the WB to finance the project for improving regional connectivity.

The committee was briefed that the Ministry of Communications has launched most of its projects in Balochistan. Balochistan will be connected with other provinces, with new projects very soon. The committee was told that the residents of Khuzdar had to travel via Karachi for Sukkar and it was a terrible situation for them to face and added that Khuzdar-Sukkur direct road will be inaugurated very soon. The M-8 had already been completed and now it takes six hours to travel over 650 kilometres. It was also told to the committee that Kuchlak bypass construction has started. With the aid of the Asian Development Bank, the phase–I from Mardan to Sawabi of Peshawar-Topi road will be started soon. The committee directed the authorities concerned to expand the road which connects Liyari Expressway to M-9. The NHA officials told the committee that work has been divided into four parts and this road will be completed in 18 months by 2018 with the addition of 22 new bridges.

The committee was told that Karachi Green Line project is in progress. The Phase-I of Green Line will be completed by November 2017 and Phase-II by April 2018. The committee directed the quarters concerned for continuous coordination with the provincial governments so that people of Karachi could avail benefits of these national projects on time.

It was told to the committee that climate challenges have been considered in the project. Over 800 trees have been planted and 18,000 new trees will be planted for control of climate challenges.

The meeting was presided by Chairman Standing Committee Muzammil Qureshi while Dr Darshan, Nazir Ahmed Bughio, Ramesh Lal, Salim Ur Rehman, Hamid-ul-Haq Khalil, Sanjay Parwani, Tariq Ullah, Ms. Naseema Panenzai, Usman Khan Tarkai, Ms. ShahJehan Mangrio, Hafiz Abdul Karim Federal Minister for Communication, Chairman NHA Shahid Tarar, Additional Secretary Communication and other high officials were also present at the meeting.
http://nation.com.pk/national/27-Sep-2017/wb-offers-to-finance-peshawar-kabul-motorway

Good news hope it materializes! A win-win for both countries.

As for the noobs and trolls commenting useless stuff here, get a life!

Refrain......refrain..... At the end of day the burden will be on shoulders of Pakistanis. They take tenders, they leave in the middle and then case is brought into world courts and Pakistan gotta pay millions and in some cases billions which is taxpayers money.

pakistani policy makers bhi koi kuttay ki dum hain kabhi sedhay nahi ho saktey.bhai loan bhi lay rahey ho to kis kay laye.pesa haram ka aya hay jo in haram khoro pay laga rahey ho. dam bano nahi to payasi mar jaye gi yeah qoum chand salon main.:hitwall::hitwall::hitwall::hitwall::hitwall::hitwall:

@RealNapster I see some objective people on PDF ( such as yourself) and is good to exchange comments once and while and then I come across trolls/clowns like the one above! Makes you think ;)

Have you asked why? If you dont then i suggest going back to school and reading ( Ghostwars, Crossed Swords and few other books by Ahmed Rashid and Hussain Haqqani) that should be a good start. I am sure you will get some of your answers!