woman sentenced in scheme to send defense drawings to India

Windjammer

A North Brunswick woman was sentenced Thursday for illegally sending military technical information to India. An indictment also says a manufacturer she co-owned in India produced wing pins for F-15 fighter planes that failed, forcing 47 of the aircraft to be grounded. (Frances Micklow | The Star-Ledger)
20137554-mmmain.jpg

By Tim Darragh | NJ Advance Media for NJ.com

April 14, 2016 at 2:23 PM.

TRENTON — A 50-year-old North Brunswick woman was sentenced Thursday to nearly five years in prison for conspiring to send sensitive military technical information to India, U.S. Attorney Paul J.. Fishman announced.

Hannah Robert pleaded guilty last April to one count of conspiracy to violate the Arms Export Control Act before U.S. District Judge Anne E. Thompson in Trenton. Thompson Thursday sentenced her to 57 months in prison.

Until late 2012, Robert operated a defense supply company, One Source USA, out of a residence in Mount Laurel Township, an indictment says.

Robert, who also co-owned a plant that manufactured defense hardware items in India, worked with a co-conspirator to send drawings and technical information to India without approval from the State Department, it said.

Secretly using a computer at a Camden County church where she volunteered,Robert uploaded "thousands" of technical drawings about parts for, among other things, torpedo systems in nuclear submarines, military attack helicopters and F-15 fighters to India without State Department approvals, the indictment said.

The information was used not only to produce materials for the U.S. Defense Department, the company in India also bid on defense contracts for other nations, including the United Arab Emirates, the indictment said. In other cases, information was sent to facilitate bids for products destined for customers in Pakistan and Indonesia, it said.

In addition to sending the technical information to an Indian co-conspirator, Robert bid on defense contracts in the U.S. claiming they were made domestically, but in fact were made in the plant she co-owned in India, the indictment says.

In at least one case, the indictment says, the items her company supplied failed. Pins used to attach the F-15's wings to its fuselage were not made with the proper materials, forcing the military to ground 47 F-15 fighter aircraft, the indictment says.

http://www.nj.com/middlesex/index.s...entenced_for_scheme_to_send_defense_info.html

Interesting so she was spying for india n RAW in america.

So much for make in India quality. :D
yeah but in long run indians will win. If that make in india trend continues. Imagine how much of domestic manufacturing and productivity it will have for them. Like China they will also flood the international trade markets in future.

Quality of the product can be overcome in future provided if u continue to build it, its like practice.
If anyone can stop this then its only us, the ISI. Industrial sabotage/espionage, economical sabotage of india on a large scale and internal destabilization is more needed then ever to squeeze the FDI and failing their domestic industry, in hope of a overall economical collapse.

Do remember the more stronger the manufacturing capability india has the more money it can generate for defence budget. U destroy that and u practically destroy their ''will to fight'' considering how much indians like to flaunt their defence equipment and industrial base.

So much for make in India quality. :D

Made in India sucks big time..here are my experiences with Made in India..

Microsoft support - I usually end up solving the problems myself before the support could even understand..forced MS to cancel the contract and refund..Saudi gov client top notched pissed off!

Nissan Sunny (Made in India) : With in six month the car began to feel like five years old.

Bridgestone Tires : three out of four tires could not hold air needed frequent top ups...

Indian Made Ice machine : well don't even ask...a crude copy of Italian design.

yeah but in long run indians will win. If that make in india trend continues. Imagine how much of domestic manufacturing and productivity it will have for them. Like China they will also flood the international trade markets in future.

Quality of the product can be overcome in future provided if u continue to build it, its like practice.
If anyone can stop this then its only us, the ISI. Industrial sabotage/espionage, economical sabotage of india on a large scale and internal destabilization is more needed then ever to squeeze the FDI and failing their domestic industry, in hope of a overall economical collapse.

Do remember the more stronger the manufacturing capability india has the more money it can generate for defence budget. U destroy that and u practically destroy their ''will to fight'' considering how much indians like to flaunt their defence equipment and industrial base.

Dude, China has been running the same policy for decades and while it has provided low paid jobs for Chinese labour...China is light years away in quality manufacturing..no body outsources with quality in mind otherwise the factories in USA an Europe will simply shut down..A german product made in Germany and China will sure have quality and material differences.

As a Pakistani its the least of my concerns how much quality indian product has, for me it will be curtains if ever india reaches where china is today.

Do read my post completely.

Made in India sucks big time..here are my experiences with Made in India..

Microsoft support - I usually end up solving the problems myself before the support could even understand..forced MS to cancel the contract and refund..Saudi gov client top notched pissed off!

Nissan Sunny (Made in India) : With in six month the car began to feel like five years old.

Bridgestone Tires : three out of four tires could not hold air needed frequent top ups...

Indian Made Ice machine : well don't even ask...a crude copy of Italian design.

More like Fake in India

India should negotiate her release and give her a plush set up in India.

sentenced Thursday to 57 months in prison for conspiring to send sensitive military technical data to India,

:cry: Bless her she was helping us, I hope she will be sent to a open prison and not suffer too much

Looks like she was trying to steal designs, set up a manufacturing base in India and make some money by re exporting them back to the US.

torpedo systems for nuclear submarines, military attack helicopters, and F-15 fighter aircraft.....

Chalo agar kuch blue prints mil Gaye, to accha hai. Trying to help her directly will send wrong signals, may be give some compensation to their family etc....

We need to learn to get things done by a hook or a crook.

torpedo systems for nuclear submarines, military attack helicopters, and F-15 fighter aircraft.....

Chalo agar kuch blue prints mil Gaye, to accha hai. Trying to help her directly will send wrong signals, may be give some compensation to their family etc....

We need to learn to get things done by a hook or a crook.

Those are not the technical blueprints, rather the technical specification, which is only helpful for the OEM's who is competeting in the sales bits.