Will revoke AFSPA in a phased manner: Mufti Sayeed

army is sitting pretty there.. they dont want to change status quo... chaska lag gaya hai abuse ka...

Army will stay there as per the national government's decision.

When UPA-2 with their pet Abdullah couldn't do shit, this guy will try?

I'd like to see him try and lose the seat of the CM. Mufti is worse than Omar. At least Omar was an idiot like Pappu.

Army will stay there as per the national government's decision.

When UPA-2 with their pet Abdullah couldn't do shit, this guy will try?

I'd like to see him try and lose the seat of the CM. Mufti is worse than Omar. At least Omar was an idiot like Pappu.
BJP will pay elsewhere if they stop withdrawl... there is always a bargain in politics.. may be release more political prisoners..
but yea, they will bark on national tv, show fake anger etc.

BJP will pay elsewhere if they stop withdrawl... there is always a bargain in politics.. may be release more political prisoners..

No one has the guts to revoke AFSPA without Army's approval, mate.

If the useless UPA couldn't do it, good luck trying to get it done under current government.

This is not some stupid state politics. Remember the Army is there that's why Kashmir is there the way it is whatever it is, despite its demonic atrocities done in the 90s against its real natives.

Without Army, we will see a very horrifying state.

AFSPA is here to stay. Political prisoners?

They are terrorists working to target our interests in our nation.

BJP will pay for NOT revoking the AFSPA? :lol:

You're smoking something strong mate. Everyone stands behind the Indian Army no matter what political ideology they come from. This is for India; not some terrorist-turned-politician.

No one has the guts to revoke AFSPA without Army's approval, mate.

If the useless UPA couldn't do it, good luck trying to get it done under current government.

This is not some stupid state politics. Remember the Army is there that's why Kashmir is there the way it is whatever it is, despite its demonic atrocities done in the 90s against its real natives.

Without Army, we will see a very horrifying state.

AFSPA is here to stay. Political prisoners?

They are terrorists working to target our interests in our nation.

BJP will pay for NOT revoking the AFSPA? :lol:

You're smoking something strong mate. Everyone stands behind the Indian Army no matter what political ideology they come from. This is for India; not some terrorist-turned-politician.
what if army is the villian.. will you say so or your sense of fear (we will die otherwise) and guilt (they take bullet on behalf of us) will stop you from saying that. :p:

AFSPA is not dependent on any government, BJP, UPA etc.

the army on both sides of the border, has an absolute blank check on both sides, in terms of requisition and funds..

there's too much money at stake for both armies that there will be no change in the status quo, including AFSPA.. both armies will never kill the hen who lays golden eggs.. hen being cross border tensions sufficient to keep both armies in place..

what if army is the villian.. will you say so or your sense of fear (we will die otherwise) and guilt (they take bullet on behalf of us) will stop you from saying that. :p:

Are you saying the army is the villain?

You clearly need to step down from your moral high horse in UK and come here and see what the Army does.

I don't know what is making you speak thus, but the ground reality here is far different in the state than what you think it is.

Army is the reason why J&K have been tamed.

You clearly need to step down from your moral high horse in UK and come here and see what the Army does.

I don't know what is making you speak thus, but the ground reality here is far different in the state than what you think it is.

AFSPA is not dependent on any government, BJP, UPA etc.

the army on both sides of the border, has an absolute blank check on both sides, in terms of requisition and funds..

there's too much money at stake for both armies that there will be no change in the status quo, including AFSPA.. both armies will never kill the hen who lays golden eggs.. hen being cross border tensions sufficient to keep both armies in place..

This 'hen' you speak of has killed more army men than anything else. Please speak of our troops with respect to what they do sir.

Do remember, you speak this because people like my brothers are rotting on these hostile military outposts to keep us all safe. Remember, they also have families and children and parents to take care of.

This 'hen' you speak of has killed more army men than anything else. Please speak of our troops with respect to what they do sir.

Do remember, you speak this because people like my brothers are rotting on these hostile military outposts to keep us all safe. Remember, they also have families and children and parents to take care of.

I have many friends in the armed forces who were or are posted in Kashmir, hen which lays golden eggs is from the horses mouth in their own words.. it's an open secret that people prefer Kashmir postings, due to the lucrative 'extra income' they stand to earn from these postings..

no disrespect intended for anyone, but everyone is well informed about these hidden agendas..

I have many friends in the armed forces who were or are posted in Kashmir, hen which lays golden eggs is from the horses mouth in their own words.. it's an open secret that people prefer Kashmir postings, due to the lucrative 'extra income' they stand to earn from these postings..

no disrespect intended for anyone, but everyone is well informed about these hidden agendas..

Sir ji, then you should also know what is a fact and what is a fiction. While the 'extra income' part is true, please understand the dangers attached to that state. With a traitor CM there and the always volatile and violent muslims of the valley, the Army needs to be always there.

Bhai, I'm not saying that most of the army atrocity stories, are true.. they are cooked up by vested media interests.. I have non army friends in Kashmir, and their biggest grouse against army is that there are restrictions on movement like showing identity papers whenever they leave the house, restrictions on connectivity which the rest of India enjoys, restrictions on academic and economic opportunities.. not on any atrocity..

on both sides of the border, there's too much money at stake with both armies, that any change in status quo isn't possible in the short term..

Bhai, I'm not saying that most of the army atrocity stories, are true.. they are cooked up by vested media interests.. I have non army friends in Kashmir, and their biggest grouse against army is that there are restrictions on movement like showing identity papers whenever they leave the house, restrictions on connectivity which the rest of India enjoys, restrictions on academic and economic opportunities.. not on any atrocity..

on both sides of the border, there's too much money at stake with both armies, that any change in status quo isn't possible in the short term..

You're right. That's there. But the muslims of the valley brought it upon themselves and are doing nothing to reverse that. Tell me, as a security personnel, how would you know whether someone is not a terrorist or not? You do know that there is a part of Kashmir on the other side of the border right now isn't it (thanks to Indira's blunder in 71)?

So unless you have papers, or some identification, how do you know that the person is not from across the border or a sleeper cell recruiter?

J&K's biggest threat is a terrorist attack and the valley has proven well in the 90s that they are very well capable of doing it.

AFSPA is what keeps the state civilized, despite the state having lost its civilized population in exile.

Will revoke AFSPA in a phased manner: Mufti Sayeed

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed said on Monday that his government would work towards the gradual removal of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) after taking the Army on board.

Mr. Sayeed also reiterated the need for talks with Pakistan and the Hurriyat as he read out sections from the common minimum programme agreed to by his party and coalition partner, BJP, in the Legislative Council.

Though Mr. Sayeed’s speech was largely a repetition of his address in the Assembly a few days ago, it is significant now as it comes against the backdrop of two militant attacks in Kathua and Samba on successive days last week. Mr. Sayeed had on Sunday blamed the attacks on non-state actors and said Pakistan must rein in extremists if it wanted peace with India.

“I want to tell everybody that Pakistan, Pakistani Prime Minister and Pakistani establishment should be told that nobody should be allowed to cross onto this side... only then will there be peace,” Mr. Sayeed said in his reply to the Governor’s address.

On the AFSPA, Mr. Sayeed said there were certain reservations as far as the Defence Ministry and some Army officers were concerned. Mr. Sayeed read out passages verbatim from the CMP, stressing the need for initiating a meaningful dialogue with “all the internal stakeholders, irrespective of their ideological positions,” to resolve all the outstanding issues of Kashmir.

On cross-border firing, the Chief Minister said he would leave no stone unturned to ensure peace at the border with Pakistan. “During our rule, we told Gen. N.C. Vij, the then Army Chief, that this was vital and there was full fencing. They [Pakistan] were not allowing us to construct the fence,” he said. “But now there is some technique to cut the fence.”

“I want to assure the members, who have concerns on the issue, that we will create an atmosphere of peace and normality on the borders,” he said.
Will revoke AFSPA in a phased manner: Mufti Sayeed - The Hindu

I say Separate Kashmir with Laddakh and other part and develop laddakh like anything. Let these bloody fellow manage Kashmir valley. No army inside Kashmir, No AFSPA . Just guard border and let these idiot fight with terrorist and insurgents. No special package and no subsidy until they fall in line.

You're right. That's there. But the muslims of the valley brought it upon themselves and are doing nothing to reverse that. Tell me, as a security personnel, how would you know whether someone is not a terrorist or not? You do know that there is a part of Kashmir on the other side of the border right now isn't it (thanks to Indira's blunder in 71)?

So unless you have papers, or some identification, how do you know that the person is not from across the border or a sleeper cell recruiter?

J&K's biggest threat is a terrorist attack and the valley has proven well in the 90s that they are very well capable of doing it.

AFSPA is what keeps the state civilized, despite the state having lost its civilized population in exile.

AFSPA is really not needed by army in present form, it is most prevalent in Kashmir and Nagaland, the reasons are more economical rather than logistical..

regarding Indira's blunder, it was more so in the short term, in the longer term, it is best we didn't annex the Pakistan parts of Kashmir, as those areas would prove to be an administrative nightmare, for little gain.. the area isn't really accessible for most part, nor too many natural resources, plus hostile populations..

Kashmir's Muslims made the same initial mistake as Punjab's Sikhs.. when militancy could be eradicated in Punjab, it could surely be eradicated in Kashmir too.. difference is, the amount of money involved with the armies on both sides of the border today, so it isn't possible anymore, as the instrument against militancy itself is best served by the presence of militancy..