Whom you are supporting and why

Pakistani politics is too petty, pointless and toxic for me to support anyone at the moment. PTI is unlikely to win any election, they may be able to form an effective opposition if they play their cards right and don't do any other stupid moves between now and 2018. PMLN is still most likely to form a government IMO, but that could change depending on the first set of polls we see in a few years.

Am I wrong to assume that in Pakistani politics, personalities tend to be more important than ideology? For example, in India (Not that personalities aren’t important.), elections seem to come down to two sides with clear ideological differences; one is secular and semi-socialist, led by the Congress Party. The other is overtly Hindu, capitalist and traditionalist, led by the BJP. Which side is in power denotes a very clear difference in policies that will be implemented.

In Pakistan, it seems that despite the ideological foundations of parties, there is less actual difference in policies, even if they win. IOW, whether it is PPP or PML, or PTI, etc., people's support has less to do with the parties ideological positions than it does the personalities, trustworthiness, etc., of the individual leaders.

I don't know as I am ignorant of the details but am just asking.

No, you're not wrong, you're absolutely right. Pakistani politics is one hundred percent about personality, scandals and chest thumping.

There are differences in policies, but these are blurred significantly by corruption and incompetency. For example, PTI is more of a left wing party, more populist, and often talks about the welfare state and reform. While, PMLN politically speaking is centre-right, pro privatisation, big on infrastructure, working at the moment to maximise foreign investment. PPP's policies are actually quite irrelevant, because in practise they don't follow any political ideology, it's corruption from the local level, to incompetency and corruption at the state level.

Pakistan's media is sensationalist, they play intense action Hollywood style movie music during their opening headlines, it's interesting to note that maybe 10 years ago, they didn't pull stupid stunts like this, but they've since learned from Indian media, it cheapens the news but it's far more entertaining.
The media focuses primarily on big media personalities commenting on big political personalities, the backdrop is the political party and they all feign concern for the common man, since that is the last ingredient.

I have huge reservations with N just as I have huge reservations with pti. With N I am often reminded of the time of 2008-2012. I just can't forget that time and friendly politics.

Well I can tell you for damn sure who will not get my vote. PPP and if the genuises of internal sindh still vote for them well you have the capability to chose your own leaders. You are responsible for your actions. No crying.
I told it many times too. PPPP can come if we remain silent. Then nation will cry for 5 years. Its better to take some decision than silent. Boycotting election is never option for us.

I advice you to improve your english,maxpane.
Am a learner . with passage of time it will improve . i know my english isnt good but i always try to improve it .

Is it grammer or spellings ?where i have to improve ?

This stubborn nature and decisions are what his supporters love. He doesn't bow before anyone at any cost.
Bro stubborn nature i dnt like. he should atleast show unity when turkish president parliament. thats my poit . i respect your opinion.

I'm not a hardcore PTI supporter used to be back in 2013 but a lot of things have changed since dharna but still out of all the political parties PTI is the only good option we have.
yup i agree PTI lost alot of supporters who believed in the change vision IK had pre dharna, what happened after the Dherna had made PTI into no less different to other political parties. Also since 2013 the face of PTI stance has changed, from Imran making everyone believe that they can bring about change themselves to having a negative mindset of accusing and crying fowl at all opportunities they get. This has made the average party supporter from being a believer of change to people being constantly depressed and accusing the government of foul of even when infact sometimes they do the right thing.

PTI since the dherna has left a political hole for voters. If RS started a part in a couple of years time i will bet you all PTI supporters will kick out IK as their saviour and look at Raheel Sharif as someone they can stand up for.

At some point I supported Imran Khan but now I don't. I thought may be Nawaz Sharif could bring some change afterall but zero results. I would never support Zardari aur Billo.

I don't want to vote anymore. If I chose to vote for some party I will vote for PML-Q or APML. Don't ask why.

yup i agree PTI lost alot of supporters who believed in the change vision IK had pre dharna, what happened after the Dherna had made PTI into no less different to other political parties. Also since 2013 the face of PTI stance has changed, from Imran making everyone believe that they can bring about change themselves to having a negative mindset of accusing and crying fowl at all opportunities they get. This has made the average party supporter from being a believer of change to people being constantly depressed and accusing the government of foul of even when infact sometimes they do the right thing.

PTI since the dherna has left a political hole for voters. If RS started a part in a couple of years time i will bet you all PTI supporters will kick out IK as their saviour and look at Raheel Sharif as someone they can stand up for.

I am one of those voters. I was quite disappointed with how PTI has conducted itself after the 2013 elections. They should have been more pro-active in the Parliament. But i also have to give them credit for bringing positive change to KPK, and as of now KPK is leading the province in Pakistan in terms of governance and reforms. Compare the 3 years of experience against PML-N's 30 years worth of governance.

But as a disappointed PTI voter, what else choice do i have? There is PPP on one hand and PML-N on the other. PML-N has broken all records of corruption and mismanagement. Just look at the economy, exports, governance, political appointments, nepotism. They have broken the records of PPP when it comes to mismanaging the country, and all the appointees. I mean, Maryam Nawaz running the country and conducting meetings when Nawaz Sharif was getting his medical check up in London. I mean come on. PML-N is just a family limited company.

I am one of those voters. I was quite disappointed with how PTI has conducted itself after the 2013 elections. They should have been more pro-active in the Parliament. But i also have to give them credit for bringing positive change to KPK, and as of now KPK is leading the province in Pakistan in terms of governance and reforms. Compare the 3 years of experience against PML-N's 30 years worth of governance.

But as a disappointed PTI voter, what else choice do i have? There is PPP on one hand and PML-N on the other. PML-N has broken all records of corruption and mismanagement. Just look at the economy, exports, governance, political appointments, nepotism. They have broken the records of PPP when it comes to mismanaging the country, and all the appointees. I mean, Maryam Nawaz running the country and conducting meetings when Nawaz Sharif was getting his medical check up in London. I mean come on. PML-N is just a family limited company.

good governance in KPK alone won't get IK to the PM house.

i said this in 2013 and i still believe it to this day the only way IK gets to the PM house is if he breaks PPP and MQM vote bank in sindh. the perfect opportunity came after the Karachi operation started and MQM got broken into 3 parts and Zardari left the country this was the opportunity of a life time for PTI to steal sindh from PPP.

Good governance in KPK and managing to defeat PPP in sindh in the next general election would have probably got IK enough vote to form a parliament. But he wanted to do it the easy way and become PM because of dhernas

Sindh really needed all the attention of IK corruption calls and dhernas instead IK got hungry and decided to go after ISB time after time. this is where i think PTI went wrong, they had a vision against corruption which they should have take from province to province and then eventually take on PML N in punjab from a position from power.

All those ... .sitting on the fringes of the political system and trying to show themselves as too Pious to vote for any one .....

you people are the worst ... Worst than even Taffo Loyalists, and PPP jeyalay or Insapiyans or PMLN Gullu butts ....

Coz Our voter turn out was 50% in GE 2013 (highest in Past few elections) .... and just coz 50% of yu do not vote .... those with 20% votes DECIDE for us in the Future .... Take More loan, Do More Corruption !

so get down from your pedestal AND VOTE FOR ONE once ... Any one .. coz thr is a possibility when 80 % instead of 40-50% will vote from thr conscious (& thos 50 are real as well as educated people) ... we may have better of the worst rather thn the WORST of the worst .....(e,g. had All in USA choose to vote ... they would have Hillary over trump may be !!!

So Save us from our TRUMP (Biggest Evil) ... Help us choose Hillary (Least Evil) !!!! (its just an example)

On topic ... Have voted (not supported) MQM So far ... Open to listen to what MQM, PTI, have to say and what PMLN have to SHOW in upcoming elections .... Will NEVER Ever vote for Pee Peee Pee or JI !

(I take into Account MQM only coz i m from Karachi & they do matter in the political dynamics of the city which is hard for outsiders to get & i don't blame them)

All those ... .sitting on the fringes of the political system and trying to show themselves as too Pious to vote for any one .....

you people are the worst ... Worst than even Taffo Loyalists, and PPP jeyalay or Insapiyans or PMLN Gullu butts ....

Coz Our voter turn out was 50% in GE 2013 (highest in Past few elections) .... and just coz 50% of yu do not vote .... those with 20% votes DECIDE for us in the Future .... Take More loan, Do More Corruption !

so get down from your pedestal AND VOTE FOR ONE once ... Any one .. coz thr is a possibility when 80 % instead of 40-50% will vote from thr conscious (& thos 50 are real as well as educated people) ... we may have better of the worst rather thn the WORST of the worst .....(e,g. had All in USA choose to vote ... they would have Hillary over trump may be !!!

So Save us from our TRUMP (Biggest Evil) ... Help us choose Hillary (Least Evil) !!!! (its just an example)

On topic ... Have voted (not supported) MQM So far ... Open to listen to what MQM, PTI, have to say and what PMLN have to SHOW in upcoming elections .... Will NEVER Ever vote for Pee Peee Pee or JI !

(I take into Account MQM only coz i m from Karachi & they do matter in the political dynamics of the city which is hard for outsiders to get & i don't blame them)
:p: :p: :p: :p: i just ask opinion but you throw all your anger . take a deep breathe. :p: :p:

good governance in KPK alone won't get IK to the PM house.

i said this in 2013 and i still believe it to this day the only way IK gets to the PM house is if he breaks PPP and MQM vote bank in sindh. the perfect opportunity came after the Karachi operation started and MQM got broken into 3 parts and Zardari left the country this was the opportunity of a life time for PTI to steal sindh from PPP.

Good governance in KPK and managing to defeat PPP in sindh in the next general election would have probably got IK enough vote to form a parliament. But he wanted to do it the easy way and become PM because of dhernas

Sindh really needed all the attention of IK corruption calls and dhernas instead IK got hungry and decided to go after ISB time after time. this is where i think PTI went wrong, they had a vision against corruption which they should have take from province to province and then eventually take on PML N in punjab from a position from power.

I agree with you, he should have focused more on Sindh. But keep in mind the Waderas and Big Land Lords dominate the local Sindh politics and people still cast vote for Bhutto. Same goes for Karachi, the locals will always vote for MQM based on ethnicity.

At the end of the day the real electoral prize will always be Punjab, and PTI has played its cards right in Punjab. If you win Punjab you win the Federal Government. PTI has played its cards right in Punjab by effectively replacing PPP as the opposition party in Punjab. In the last few by-elections PTI candidates lost by a margin less than 10 000 votes. Keep in mind PML-N has both Provincial and Federal Government. In general elections these were winning PTI candidates. Between 2008-2013, PPP won all the By Elections in Punjab for National Assembly seats because they were in center. The Anti PML-N vote in Punjab is more than the Pro PML-N vote, and PTI is doing it right by mobilizing that vote in support of itself and not splitting it with PPP.

:p: :p: :p: :p: i just ask opinion but you throw all your anger . take a deep breathe. :p: :p:

Yes the Rant is over ... and now i m calm ... !!! :p

Plus the comment is not directed to you ... i myself is still in doubt over 2-3 options .!!!

but i m more disappointed over those (and quite a few in this thread too) ... who are saying being a Political Atheist is the Way to go .... its NOT ... u r letting people handing over the herd to a wolf by the herd and u urself is a sheep .. and sooner or later wolf will eventually get u too !