We'll Join Taliban,if not supported: Militia

EastWest

Militia’s warning: ‘We’ll join Taliban if govt doesn’t want us’

PESHAWAR: The head of the anti-Taliban militia targeted in Wednesday’s suicide bombing at a funeral in Adezai has warned that its volunteers will be forced to join the Taliban if it does not get material and financial support from the government within two days. “Either the government accepts our demands within two days or they should let us join the Taliban, ” Haji Dilawar Khan, who leads the Qaumi Amn Lashkar, told reporters here.

“We are no longer capable of fighting them alone. We need the government’s help.” Khan had made a similar warning last week, when he told a press conference that the government was not providing the militia promised ammunition and rations. He said the government’s apathy was demonstrated the day after his press conference, when Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Senior Minister Bashir Bilour had reportedly told the media that the militias were no longer useful.

After Khan spoke to reporters on Wednesday, Bilour released a press statement pledging that the government would negotiate the matter with the lashkar soon.

Adezai village is close to Peshawar, not far from the tribally administered regions that border Afghanistan where the Taliban are at their strongest. The area is home to several tribal lashkars that were formed with government backing to resist the Taliban.

Khan said despite a lack of support from the government, his militia had managed to wrest Matani from Taliban control.
=================================================

Terrifying times for the ppl of KP..Just imagine the horror and mayhem would follow if Taliban are re-inforced with support from ex-anti-taliban fighters.

IMHO, raising or supporting a militia to combat another militia is wrong and an imperfect way of handling extremism. Sooner or later, the 'pro government' militia gets involved in excesses for which the government is blamed. As the militia grows in strength with governmental support so does the government's dependence on it to do their dirty job for them. In then end we end up having to solve two problems instead of just one. It is a short term and a short cut method to be avoided.

agar aap saanp ko maarne ke liye nevale is dosti karte ho to kya guarentee hai ki saanp ko maarkar nevala khud aapko nahi kaatne ko daudega.

pakistan is committing the same mistake which it did in early 90s, that is to arm groups against each other. IMHO that not the right way to go about things.

Militia idea is stupid, they should be protected as people of Pakistan,not as a militia.

Also their threats are dumb, either we help them kill the Taliban or they join the Taliban? Can't they just sit one out?

Militia idea is stupid, they should be protected as people of Pakistan,not as a militia.

Also their threats are dumb, either we help them kill the Taliban or they join the Taliban? Can't they just sit one out?

Those who are not familiar with local volunteer militia against the terrorists might say its a stupid idea but those who are familiar with the situation and modalities they know how affective it is and how it works.

36 innocent people were mascaraed yesterday in Peshawar for no crime of theirs but for protecting YOU from terrorists. such stupid attitude is not going to help from you guys. we will indeed sit out if you create the will to go after terrorists.

why dont you carry operation in South Punjab against terrorists who are providing fodder for suicide bombing?

and when these locals from KP are standing with you sacrificing their lives for peace of Pakistan you are unwilling to provide them needed resources to fight against well equipped terrorists from TTP, Al-Qaeda and local terrorists .

Army had also supported these local volunteers but your federal govt refused to give needed resources now tell me why should i make my family a scape goat for you by standing against terrorists when you are not willing to give me any support ?

What kind of "support" does this "militia" want? What "needed resources"? Personally I think Pak Army and law enforcement (which is lacking in NWFP) should be handling the security situation not a "militia".

IMHO, raising or supporting a militia to combat another militia is wrong and an imperfect way of handling extremism. Sooner or later, the 'pro government' militia gets involved in excesses for which the government is blamed. As the militia grows in strength with governmental support so does the government's dependence on it to do their dirty job for them. In then end we end up having to solve two problems instead of just one. It is a short term and a short cut method to be avoided.

In case of countries like India or others may be thats a case but here as far as KP is concerned its not a militia in the first place. these are normal common people who have been forming such units for fighting against criminals since centuries the only thing which is new is that these people are now fighting against terrorists for securing peace in Pakistan by lending help to the Government.
as far as weapons are concerned we already have more than our police have. the only demand came from these volunteer ant-terrorist units was compensation for the ammunition which they use against the terrorists which is a fair demand

"why dont you carry operation in South Punjab against terrorists who are providing fodder for suicide bombing?"

Is the situation in So Punjab milder or less severe than NWFP?

If...

Militia A joins the Taliban

Than

Militia B will have to be created to fight Militia A (New Taliban) + Taliban

If Militia B isn't "supported" and they threaten to join Taliban and do.

Than Militia C will have to be created to fight Militia A + B...

Trend continues...

Solution has to be a permanent solution. Establish better law enforcement with full loyalty to Pakistan. Pak Army should continue it's operation against Taliban.

Agree with you on the highlighted part. We too have had a lot of experience with the militias. First the Ikhwan ul Musalmeen in the Valley comprising of surrendered and reformed militants to contain HM and HUA. Then the Salwa Judam to contain the Naxals. Yes they are very effective. We let this factor alone override our better judgement and turn a blind eye to their excesses. Ultimately, they create other problems which may be more severe than the original issue.

Militia...Come on people this isn't the 18th century. The best help the militia can be given is relieving them of their duty. Go home, let the professionals handle it. Professional Pak Army and law enforcement have to be in charge.

What kind of "support" does this "militia" want? What "needed resources"? Personally I think Pak Army and law enforcement (which is lacking in NWFP) should be handling the security situation not a "militia".

Its responsibility of the elected govt not army.

as far as resources are concerned they use their own weapons and ammunition, now do you think ammunition is coming free? they are poor people spending from their own pockets so govt should pay for it otherwise its easy for them not to lend any support and not even report presence of any terrorist there which is going to mess up everything

Agree with you on the highlighted part. We too have had a lot of experience with the militias. First the Ikhwan ul Musalmeen in the Valley comprising of surrendered and reformed militants to contain HM and HUA. Then the Salwa Judam to contain the Naxals. Yes they are very effective. We let this factor alone override our better judgement and turn a blind eye to their excesses. Ultimately, they create other problems which may be more severe than the original issue.

:tdown:
Ikhwanul Muslim was a terrorist group created by India in country of Kashmir to kill Kashmiris and blame it on Kashmiri freedom fighters and thus malign the struggle so please spare us of your misplaced comparison

You and many others on this forum have yet to show your/their grievances to the families who lost their loved ones in the blast yesterday just because they were protecting people like you and me. We will not just sit out but god forbids we may join the Taliban soon if the situation remains the same. You don't know what are we people going through and you people are trying to demoralise us with your BS keyboard injections. I've lost a loved one already in a blast and other seriously injured who become a handicapped for his life and you here are lecturing us that we are stupid people who needs to just sit out or join the Taliban. Well as I said if the situation persists WE may join them very soon and then I'll see if you have the guts to come back from UAE to save your Pakistan.