US Centcom chief Abizaid arrives in Pakistan

A.Rahman

US Centcom chief Abizaid arrives in Pakistan

ISLAMABAD (AFP) - The US Central Command chief, General John Abizaid, has arrived in Pakistan for talks with military officials, the military said.

Abizaid, who flew to Islamabad on a three-day visit, will hold talks with senior military officials, a statement said.

General John Abizaid, head of the US Central Command that covers parts of Africa and the Middle East, was in Afghanistan on Saturday where he said that Pakistan was not colluding with the Taliban, although some rebels come from across the border to fight in Afghanistan.

"There is always this notion that there is collusion on the part of the Pakistani government that I see always talked about in the press in the region and I absolutely don't believe that," Abizaid told reporters.

The governments of the neighbouring nations have long accused each other of not doing enough to quell the Taliban uprising, which is felt on both sides of the border.

Whenever there is some new development in Pakistan Gen Abizas arrives :)
Lo ji iss dafa tau unn ki pareshani aur ziada ha Bugti k marne se :)

What is happening in Afghanistan is a mystery.

There is no independent news available. Most of the news are from western news agencies and which are picked up by the Asian newspapers and media.

Currently, the British are heading the forces in Afghanistan and they are making more progress than before.

However, the overall control is that of the US and General Abizaid's comments are worth note.

AsSalam O Alaikum
He has made some stupid remarks in the past, but has either wisened up or is being diplomatic. Either way, I dont trust him as far as I can throw a stone. He will change his tack as soon as he exits Pakistan. Secondly, regarding Jana,s comments regarding Bugti,s death, I think there is no relation between the Afghan situation and Bugti. His sphere of influenc in the mainly Pushtoon Mujahideen would have been very limited. His death does not affect anyone other than pakistan. At least my 2ps worth.
WaSalam
Araz

regarding Jana,s comments regarding Bugti,s death, I think there is no relation between the Afghan situation and Bugti. His sphere of influenc in the mainly Pushtoon Mujahideen would have been very limited. His death does not affect anyone other than pakistan. At least my 2ps worth.
WaSalam
Araz

Araz US has its share in Balochistan as much as another country
There had been and are reports that US funded the Miscreants in Balochistan.

Due to its importance US dosnt want any development which gives China access to CARs and warm waters.
US has been watching Chines involvment in Balochistan uplift mega project as threat to her intrests.

He came last time when the accusation and counter accusation took place between Afghanistan and Pakistan

And now all are aware of what is the current problem.

Perpetually appearing as if he is running the show!

And as if he is the great mediator and pouring oil over troubled waers.

Araz US has its share in Balochistan as much as another country
There had been and are reports that US funded the Miscreants in Balochistan.

Due to its importance US dosnt want any development which gives China access to CARs and warm waters.
US has been watching Chines involvment in Balochistan uplift mega project as threat to her intrests.

jana
Iam aware of US interest in Baluchistan and the theory of its involvement in hindering its development. However, Nawab Bugti has traditionally had links with USSR. His links with the Afghan taliban would at best be minimal due to his hatred of the Pukhtoons. i also feel he would not have colluded with US on account of their support of PM. The US involvement theory is dubious at best as all it has to do is to tell PM to stop or otherwise-----, and believe me PM would. there may be others who want to stop development for various other reasons, who might ally themselves with US but not Bugti.my 2 Ps worth.
Araz

He came last time when the accusation and counter accusation took place between Afghanistan and Pakistan

Perpetually appearing as if he is running the show!

And as if he is the great mediator and pouring oil over troubled waers.

What makes you think that he is a great mediator and is running a show.

So many things are happening sir, which one are you refering to? Is it the Balochistan/Bugti issue or the Karzai v/s Mush thing?

I think therz calm over Karzai thing.
May be Sir Ray could eleborate whts in the offing.

Sri,

Why are you after my blood? :)

Abizaid is something like a "supercop".

It would be adequate to state that he surfaces like Allahdin's genie at hot spots.

Now who is Allahdin, go figure.

As far as what is happening, it is for all to see.

Come on Sir tell us tell us.

Whats in ur mind ?? Sir what u think whats new which causes him unrest:)

Dont worry we wont tell him that u had released information about your meeting with him :P

Military Forum Latest Posts