This clown and his ilk are called "liberals" in Pakistan

Even though I can associate a lot more with people like Jibran Nasir than I can with extremist movlis, I still think people like him are deeply harmful to our nation. They are trying to impose a foreign way of life and foreign values on us. They use their position and influence to impose it, extremists use guns and bombs.

I think he's well meaning, but people like him have this undercurrent of self loathing. Anything anti Pakistan supported by the west, they'll support too.

Strange person. You chose to live in Netherlands. Probably one of the most liberal countries on earth. Yet you seem to harbour hatred for liberals.
I suspect he migrated for money, not for liberalism.

I live in the UK because of money, not the weather.

Im not putting words in your mouth, but often remarks like yours are an alternative way of saying "if you don't like liberals f==k off home".

Frankly why should he? Life is about making the most of your opportunities, not fitting in, or staying in comfort zones.

I have yet to see liberal/secular pakistani personality who is not on the payroll of some foreign country. May God give them 1 way ticket to some western nation.

I suspect he migrated for money, not for liberalism.
I live in the UK because of money, not the weather.
Good. Love to see secular needs and reasons overwhelm other factors. You guys are the best adverts for secularism. This is exactly why we should have secularism in Pakistan. After all it's all about, money, money loads of money. Oh I also love the money. All other considerations come second place.

This guy is a known Foreign funded agent with some nefarious agenda. Liberals think he is a liberal but he is one shady individual

Comes to the forefront to defend anyone anti-Islam with different excuses.
Was a supporter of Altaf Hussain and refused to condemn MQM terrorist wing as the party had ecular credentials rofl
When intelligence agencies got hold of atheist bloggers people behind bhensaa and mochi admin. He came forward to defend them .
Was contesting in NA 247 Karachi posing himself as a promoter of secularism.

Could'nt do a corner meeting and ran away when people asked him to recite the kalima. When he was pressed on this matter he said ok u do a court case against me and I'll speak who I am infrontof the judge. A certain section of our dalaal media [both electronic and social] were promoting him, have stopped watching them after that.

Good. Love to see secular needs and reasons overwhelm other factors. You guys are the best adverts for secularism. This is exactly why we should have secularism in Pakistan. After all it's all about, money, money loads of money. Oh I also love the money. All other considerations come second place.

Careful, you'll break out singing a certain Lilly Allen song next. :woot:

Money is neither secular nor religious (in the context of our discussion) , it is a neccesity of life.

If I could make the required amount of money in Pakistan, I might move back (I might not, I'm not fond of the heat, I handle cold better).

If I couldn't freely practice my religion, I'd definitely move. You can't say we value money more than our religion.

I have yet to see liberal/secular pakistani personality who is not on the payroll of some foreign country. May God give them 1 way ticket to some western nation.

There is a reason India, Singapore, Malaysia, etc.. don't allow dual-nationality. When you have the West whose only wish to impose and push their values down the throat of muslims than Pakistan needs to do something about it.

We don't even have a thinktank to study the anti-Muslim activism or Islamophobia or their funding Of NGOs in Pakistan for an agenda . We don't have anything to counter them

Careful, you'll break out singing a certain Lilly Allen song next. :woot:

Money is neither secular nor religious (in the context of our discussion) , it is a neccesity of life.

If I could make the required amount of money in Pakistan, I might move back (I might not, I'm not fond of the heat, I handle cold better).

If I couldn't freely practice my religion, I'd definitely move. You can't say we value money more than our religion.

What about your next generation who is exposed to Islamophobia and biases, would they be Muslim or Pakistani?

Post 9/11 there is a campaign of imposed integration of Muslims. Pakistani American community has become totally negligible. They don't have anything in common with Pakistan or Islam. Constant propaganda have made them completely oblivious and pathetic. Most are marrying into other religions same thing happening in Britain and Canada. Identity is there when you have pride, there is no room for pride for their background in US society.

If I couldn't freely practice my religion
But you know secularism is not "no religion". It merely means the state leaves the citizen to practice his/her religion without prejudice. Or it does not use it's sanction to favour one religion at the cost of others.

Then why did Jibran Nasir defend atheists, its ok as far as I'm concerned but those who used social media to spit venom and mock Islam and its symbols. Is that secularism also?

Well, Shabir Baloch was the Information Secretary of BSO- Azad; a terrorist organization, and he went missing after Kulbushun Yadav's arrest in 2016. Yadav confessed that RAW had assets in BSO. Most probably Shabir fled Pakistan after Yadav's arrest .... Mr. Jibran should tell us what "Qaum ki khatir Qurbani" has been given by Zareena Baloch w/o Shabir Baloch which Jibran is referring to

Oh bhai ji, when did I have beef with secularism. I enjoy secularism. My problem is so called secularists (like the French for example) for wh secularism = anti religion. Some of our liberals seem to under secular society through the same distorted prism.

They try to impose thier own dislike of religion onto others under the mask of a supposedly superior political system. They're very quickly becoming another face of the intolerance coin.

There is a reason India, Singapore, Malaysia, etc.. don't allow dual-nationality. When you have the West whose only wish to impose and push their values down the throat of muslims than Pakistan needs to do something about it.

We don't even have a thinktank to study the anti-Muslim activism or Islamophobia or their funding Of NGOs in Pakistan for an agenda . We don't have anything to counter them

What about your next generation who is exposed to Islamophobia and biases, would they be Muslim or Pakistani?

Post 9/11 there is a campaign of imposed integration of Muslims. Pakistani American community has become totally negligible. They don't have anything in common with Pakistan or Islam. Constant propaganda have made them completely oblivious and pathetic. Most are marrying into other religions same thing happening in Britain and Canada. Identity is there when you have pride, there is no room for pride for their background in US society.

Very good point about the next generation. Thier future is our responsibility. They will be what we raise them to be. In my city in the UK, our Jamia Masjid has an excellent Islamic course for children. It teaches them the basics you'd expect (reciting Quran, namaz etc), but also fiqh, Islamic character and relevance of Islamic values in society today. This covers 5-16. They've recently hired another young imam to focus entirely on young adults, 16-25. All our imams bar 1, speak fluent English. Our teachers get professional training (trying to figure out how to get them proper graduate teacher status).

If Islam is also present in the home lives of these kids, InshaAllah they will not grow astray.

Now keeping them Pakistani is harder. It's not impossible though. It's about relevance to them. You have to teach them thier history, take them to Pakistan, be tourists when you go (don't just spend 4 weeks arguing with your cousins). My wife is from. Pakistan, my kids are aware of thier maternal family there, we've been twice on family holidays in the last 7 years, we laughed at the Mark Wein videos at how he was impressed at all the food (my kids are total burgers lol).

It's up to parents, you get out what you put in.