SUPER POWER AMERICA? SHAME....

Child maltreatment? Are they from social conditioning the way you Indian men are about women?

Women Rights in India : A Myth or Reality
Sir, I find your line of thought puzzling. How does it matter whether the motive of the crime was plain opportunism(as you point out for US) or some deep-seated sense of superiority as long as the severity of the crime remains the same? Will the quantum of punishment change depending on the motive of the perpetrator?

And NO, we Indian men DO NOT have the same cultural upbringing in every part of India. Not only do cultures and customs vary from region to region & religion to religion, they also vary across castes within the same region. Hence, there is no monolith to be found in case of character and behaviour of Indians.

ps: I think this is a $h!tty thread too.

whatt??
so op is proud because america has more rapes thn india....
besharmi Ki bhi hadd hoti hai.......
dusro par ungli uthaane se pehle apna ghar to dekh lo.....
closet rapist defending his pride..huh...

Sir, I find your line of thought puzzling. How does it matter whether the motive of the crime was plain opportunism(as you point out for US) or some deep-seated sense of superiority as long as the severity of the crime remains the same? Will the quantum of punishment change depending on the motive of the perpetrator?

And NO, we Indian men DO NOT have the same cultural upbringing in every part of India. Not only do cultures and customs vary from region to region & religion to religion, they also vary across castes within the same region. Hence, there is no monolith to be found in case of character and behaviour of Indians.

ps: I think this is a $h!tty thread too.
Instead of trying to understand my thoughts, may be you should try to understand your fellow Indians as to why so many of you have to focus on US about this. Criticize the US government and I may even join you, but when you (not you personally) tries to attribute the worst of humanity to be emblematic and typical of US and Americans, I see no reasons to be reasonable.

And there are plenty of dirt about India that I can find...

Instead of trying to understand my thoughts, may be you should try to understand your fellow Indians as to why so many of you have to focus on US about this. Criticize the US government and I may even join you, but when you (not you personally) tries to attribute the worst of humanity to be emblematic and typical of US and Americans, I see no reasons to be reasonable.

And there are plenty of dirt about India that can find...

I believe plenty of Indians too have questioned the motive of this specific thread. But we Indian men, the vast majority of whom aren't rapists and respect Women and their influence on our lives, have had to listen to such stereotyping for close to 2 years now. I'm not saying this for sympathy, but just to let you know why a few here may have overreacted.

Although I'm the first to admit that India is still unsafe for women in most areas after dark, it does not seem to be a local, uniquely Indian, trend. I too feel that India has taken more flak than it deserved in the past 2 years, but happy that such criticism has brought out a positive response from the authorities and society alike.

While this thread is very silly in it's premise that US or US media alone is responsible for India's new image as 'Rape Capital', it does indeed bring out a few stats which show that India does not necessarily deserve such a tag any more than US.

I believe plenty of Indians too have questioned the motive of this specific thread. But we Indian men, the vast majority of whom aren't rapists and respect Women and their influence on our lives, have had to listen to such stereotyping for close to 2 years now. I'm not saying this for sympathy, but just to let you know why a few here may have overreacted.

Although I'm the first to admit that India is still unsafe for women in most areas after dark, it does not seem to be a local, uniquely Indian, trend. I too feel that India has taken more flak than it deserved in the past 2 years, but happy that such criticism has brought out a positive response from the authorities and society alike.

While this thread is very silly in it's premise that US or US media alone is responsible for India's new image as 'Rape Capital', it does indeed bring out a few stats which show that India does not necessarily deserve such a tag any more than US.
Generalization in itself is nothing. If I generalize that Italians speaks with their hands as much as with their mouths, I would be entirely correct. If I generalize that Britons are usually stoic in the face of adversities, I would also be correct. So the issue is not about generalization but about WHAT is being used to generalize about a people and if the Indians on this forum refuses to police their own, as a group, you have no good cause to complain when such gross generalization is turned against you.

As for the use of statistics that the Indian men in this forum loves to tout in trying to attribute the worst of humanity to Americans...

Statistics Shine Little Light on Rape Rates - WSJ.com
Albeena Shakil, a women's-rights advocate who teaches at Bharati College in New Delhi, ticked off reasons Indian women wouldn't go to police after being raped, including the potential stigma and low rates of conviction of alleged rapists. "One does not have to be a statistician" to be aware of these reasons, Dr. Shakil said.

Sweden, meanwhile, has one of the highest rates of rape reported to the U.N., about 35 times India's rate. "This doesn't mean Sweden has more rape than other countries," said Dr. Me, of the U.N. Swedes, she said, "have a very high level of consciousness about what is rape and [that] they need to report it."
Even your own doubt your statistics.

It is one thing to say 'crime is crime'. It is easy to spout pithy. But when you have a culture that despite the laws, the people tolerate female infanticide/abortions, bride burnings, dowries, and castes, relics of medieval mentality, you have far more serious social problems than statistics. But I guess those issues are precisely the reasons why so many Indian men on this forum needs to escape via US rape statistics.

I won't have said all these, if this comparison thread was not started. We have an issue let's deal with it. What will we gain by saying US does this, US does that. US is our reference point or what ? How many rape cases of India are first reported by US news and then by an Indian news channel. None! It always goes the other way round.

Don't compare with US. Rape happens all over the world. It's just a matter of more and less. Don't forget that the Indian rape related news are reported by Indian and not US media. We should accept the issue. Only then we can mend it. Don't put blame on others. Help save the country. Even if lets say US have more, how's it going to help us ? Think.

Right.It is Indian media that repprts rape case in India.But US media become so excited when they excited about Indian media reports of rape cases.But they cant think what is happening in their own country.Indian media movement can help our country.But US media dont care about the USatrocities in foreign countries.Let alone rape cases.But Indian media dont what is happening in US.Be it is shooting case or rape cases.India have its own social tools to fight its own social evils .And for that we dont need US preaching.World also dont want US preachings and their emotions about human rights.

^^ Fight with your brother Gambit. I am done with this thread. My views are clear in 5-6 posts I have made, don't have anything extra to add. Thank You!

And there are plenty of dirt about India that I can find...
do find n post it here or the other thread titled why focus on rapes in in
Generalization in itself is nothing. If I generalize that Italians speaks with their hands as much as with their mouths, I would be entirely correct. If I generalize that Britons are usually stoic in the face of adversities, I would also be correct. So the issue is not about generalization but about WHAT is being used to generalize about a people and if the Indians on this forum refuses to police their own, as a group, you have no good cause to complain when such gross generalization is turned against you.

As for the use of statistics that the Indian men in this forum loves to tout in trying to attribute the worst of humanity to Americans...

It is one thing to say 'crime is crime'. It is easy to spout pithy. But when you have a culture that despite the laws, the people tolerate female infanticide/abortions, bride burnings, dowries, and castes, relics of medieval mentality, you have far more serious social problems than statistics. But I guess those issues are precisely the reasons why so many Indian men on this forum needs to escape via US rape statistics.
what the hell r u talking about?? There is nothing wrong with India,,we were great ppl once blah blah n more blah....our practices r all gud,,,,,, western culture n globalization is to be blamed for everythng bad...short skirts,bikinis blah blah...
gud cultured girls dont go out at night,,,only uncultured modern whores do,,they deserved to be raped.....blah blah......
lastly.....dont u know,there r more rapes in US then India....so everythng is fine...

Indians here speak in their personal capacity and are not representatives of their respective regions or country. Similarly, every American is not responsible or accountable for your actions. I only tried to reason with you because you are a respected poster here and your contributions previously have been very good. If you wish to stoop down to the level of a flame poster, then I guess I better stay on the sidelines again.

As I said before, there has been a rape article from India almost daily in all major American News outlets for the past two years. And the same stereotype has been repeated so often that most regular readers would now proscribe to it.

Now, will it be difficult to find one rape article daily from local American News Networks themselves? If Indian newspapers carry a rape article from US everyday in their dailies, what would be the image of US amongst Indians? You're the better judge.

And regarding India's social problems, yes, there are a few colossal ones. But the system that puts us in misery is also the system that binds us and lends additional layers of proximity across regions and religions. If one is to dismantle them, a butcher's axe isn't the solution, but a surgeon's knife. Meaning, it's a sensitive, time-intensive process. (Didn't the US have segregation until the 1960s in spite of the 1776 Declaration of Independence granting everyone equal rights?) In the meantime, it would be nice if Indians weren't typecast as vicious Rapists and Americans as reckless Gunslingers.

Indians here speak in their personal capacity and are not representatives of their respective regions or country.
Then...Again...You guys must police yourselves. If you do not like anyone here, be he American or Pakistani or Chinese, to generalize about India, you cannot allow not even one of you to get away with the same offense.

Similarly, every American is not responsible or accountable for your actions.

If you wish to stoop down to the level of a flame poster, then I guess I better stay on the sidelines again.
I have no problems doing so. If you can understand the emotional offense Indians on this forum have whenever this sort of thing is even alluded to by the media, then what make you think Americans are immune? The failure/refusal by the Indians on this forum to police yourselves only give Americans the impression that the lot of you enjoys this sort of activity.

Now, will it be difficult to find one rape article daily from local American News Networks themselves?
No, it will NOT be difficult.

If Indian newspapers carry a rape article from US everyday in their dailies, what would be the image of US amongst Indians? You're the better judge.
Try the shootings we have lately...See how much of them in the Indian news, then take an opinion poll yourself to see what are the Indians' image of we Americans.

And regarding India's social problems, yes, there are a few colossal ones. But the system that puts us in misery is also the system that binds us and lends additional layers of proximity across regions and religions. If one is to dismantle them, a butcher's axe isn't the solution, but a surgeon's knife. Meaning, it's a sensitive, time-intensive process. (Didn't the US have segregation until the 1960s in spite of the 1776 Declaration of Independence granting everyone equal rights?) In the meantime, it would be nice if Indians weren't typecast as vicious Rapists and Americans as reckless Gunslingers.
Yes, it would be. See post 1. Then see this thread...

One in five women raped in US: White House report

Now ask your fellow Indians on how helpful has it been for India's image.

Who are you to question Indian IQ?PRC a country known for stealing other countries intelluctual property.At least we dont do that.India and America both are democratic countries .so both will regularly published their criminal activities happened in their country.Because they have something what we called "Freedom of Press".
While your utopian PRC with high HDI,universe top IQ and zero criminals dont know what is "Press Freedom".

India a democracy? LOL

India is a dictatorship run by the Gandhi regime. America is a real democratic country.

India is a serial violator of IP and the latest case was in the pharmaceutical sector caught stealing western IP.

India was caught red handed copying Rifles too. LOL

India doesn't have a free press, India has a tabloid propaganda press that only knows to spew jingoistic propaganda.

If India had a free press, it would expose all the problems in India but it's all swept under the carpet due to pressure from the Gandhi dictatorship.

@isro2222 is interested in women and global issues!!!!! Revelation. Yaar please stick to inter planetary issues :P not international :P

@WebMaster can you please close this thread? @Aeronaut