Should Punjab be broken up into smaller states?

• Total voters
Such as what India did?

In this case, Punjab broken up into; Punjab, Seraki, etc.

India's case is different.

Sikhs' representative Mr. Tara Singh at the time independence agreed to join Indian union on the condition that Sikhs will be given separate state, where they will be in majority.

But after 1950 (Time when India's constitution was made) it was not possible to divide country on religious lines as India is secular and that would be considered unconstitutional.

So, Punjab was divided on bases of language (Punjabi, Haryanvi and Hindi) and coincidentally Sikhs happened to be in majority.

That can't happen. Pakistan is a federation, not a unitary state where you toy around with units (provinces/states etc) as much as you like.
Doing what you suggested would partly take away the autonomy of each province.

Well you can annex parts of other provinces but not divide a province in a federation? Case in point: Mianwali annexed by Punjab - and loads of other sh**** things done by bara bhai POON-JAB.

Khan, don't...! Okay...don't ! 'Punjab' is my 'Red-Line' !

LOL.. Mein to sirf sach bolta hoon..... :D I'm not trashing Punjab, I own more than 800 'murabbas' in Punjab. So chill!

Besides, weren't you supposed to be from AK?

LOL.. Mein to sirf sach bolta hoon..... :D I'm not trashing Punjab, I own more than 800 'murabbas' in Punjab. So chill!

Besides, weren't you supposed to be from AK?

Nope...I'm an ethnic Kashmiri born to a Punjabi mother who is a lover of all things Punjab and Punjabi ! :smokin:

And my family's been here in Punjab for the better part of a century so we're 'Punjabi-Kashmiris', just like the Pukhtoons of Minawali are 'Punjabi Pukhtoons'.

Aur yeh eik tou 'Donald Trump Yousafzai' banaa choor do - Merei 'Construction Firms' hain, mein '800 murabaa' own kartaa hun ! Oh bhai...I ran off with 'Ivanka' whilst you were being a Real Estate Mogul. :rofl:

Not sure about this. In India, building states according to linguistic lines has been quiet successful by giving various groups a say in their own governance. This helps improve participation which reduces resentment against other communities.

Japan may not be the right example here considering that it is quiet homogeneous which is not the case with Pakistan or India. Isn't prefectures more like Municipalities?

The problem I see is that once you start diving among ethnic lines then every community, no matter how small, will want one. And the ones who don't get it will start to be resentful that others got it but they didn't.

And Yes I agree that Japan is pretty homogeneous, but still, we must strive to break up the provinces and provide better service that is closer to the people.

Nope...I'm an ethnic Kashmiri born to a Punjabi mother who is a lover of all things Punjab and Punjabi ! :smokin:

And my family's been here in Punjab for the better part of a century so we're 'Punjabi-Kashmiris', just like the Pukhtoons of Minawali are 'Punjabi Pukhtoons'.

Aur yeh eik tou 'Donald Trump Yousafzai' banaa choor do - Merei 'Construction Firms' hain, mein '800 murabaa' own kartaa hun ! Oh bhai...I ran off with 'Ivanka' whilst you were being a Real Estate Mogul. :rofl:

I'm from an influential ...... - Multan and Layyah.... By the way, you are very close on my surname. It's Zai..... But you picked the wrong Zai!

The problem I see is that once you start diving among ethnic lines then every community, no matter how small, will want one. And the ones who don't get it will start to be resentful that others got it but they didn't.

And Yes I agree that Japan is pretty homogeneous, but still, we must strive to break up the provinces and provide better service that is closer to the people.

Rusty, yaaraaa tou kidhar seh hai ?

On your post : Don't you think that letting People express themselves even if it involves making ethnically or linguistically homogeneous provinces the way to go ? Which is to say had we renamed 'KPK' as 'Pukhtoonistan' or something else years earlier there wouldn't be any 'friction' about it a few years ago or had we given the Seriakis the right to form their own Province out of Southern Punjab there wouldn't be nearly as much resentment against the North as it is right now. Furthermore, if we had recognized the demands of the Pukhtoons of Northern Balochistan and the Gilgit-Baltistanis...we'd never have an ounce of resentment, if there is any, in any of those Provinces...! I don't like the notion how people exalt 'ethnicity or linguistics' to such a hallowed pedestal that it supersedes 'our National identity as being One because we're One in faith' or something to the effect but wouldn't recognizing the ground realities be a more prudent approach ? I.e People do give more than just a fleeting credence to their 'ethnic and linguistic' nationalities and the fact that 'we're all Muslims' isn't enough for them so instead of shoving it forcefully down their throat.....let them, within reasonable bounds, express themselves.

I'm not from AK :devil:

Ok.. The day my PM's open I'll let you know my full name.

Son, its AJK ! :P

And no...we're originally from IOK. The Land of the....of the ? 'The Butttss' - Yes...thats it ! :chilli:

Hey, did you know that there are a **** load of jokes about b**s? I know, I know ... there are a b**t load of jokes about pathans as well :D

Yup...don't get me started ! Between a packet of Naswar and your buddy 'Suleiman the Desi Masseuse' I can make you cry ! :devil:

Baluch wins....no jokes about us
2e5qdsj.jpg