Sahara entry to hurt domestic industry: Moudud

idune

Bangladesh

Sat, May 26th, 2012 10:37 pm BdST

Dhaka, May 26 (bdnews24.com) -- BNP Standing Committee Member Moudud Ahmed on Wednesday raised voice against the proposed investment by Indian conglomerate Sahara India Pariwar in Bangladesh's housing sector, claiming that it will lame the existing Bangladeshi entrepreneurs.

The veteran politician protested the government move allowing investment by the Indian company in a programme at the Diploma Engineers Institute.

He said the existing Bangladeshi entrepreneurs should have been given the chance. "But the government did not do that and instead has taken the initiative to destroy the housing sector in the name of new technology and technical assistance."

"Our local entrepreneurs are adept technologically and technically for such housing project ... we don't need outside technology."

On Friday, chief of the Indian conglomerate Subrata Roy Sahara declared that they were going to invest $100 to $125 million in their first project in Bangladesh. He added that the company had several proposed projects and it would select a suitable one through its offshoot, Sahara Matribhumi Unnoyan Corporation Limited, which was being created.

The business behemoth signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) last week to build a modern housing estate for low-income group people. The 'New Dhaka' project will also meet housing requirements of urban dwellers.

Sahara entry to hurt domestic industry: Moudud | Politics | bdnews24.com

Its quite true ..... but not allowing Sahara to enter wont help them either .... The best option i believe will be to allow a Joint Venture (and never a PPP, the thing will be full of corruption :P)

Local bigwigs like Concord can always take on similar projects if they are allowed the same facilities including the Free Land !!! ..... but a massive project like that will require quite an amount of capital and the risk is also very high ...... if its a Mega Project like the one Sahara is planning, bureaucratic tangles can be better handled by a major powerhouse like Sahara and Concord working together instead of any local company working alone.

It does seem that Sahara is going to make a lot of profit out of the project and will take the profit back to their country of origin ....... but the same is true for any other FDI...... infact, locals now-a-days are also remitting money out of the country to Malaysia, Singapore, Canada etc and becoming permanent residents there.

But major investments like these will create huge level of employment while ensuring proper working conditions; something that is quite substandard presently. Overall, i dont think the effect will be as bad as Mr Moudud is expecting ........ there is going to be a significant level of economic activity and will ensure employment for 1000s of people for over a decade and maybe more .......

The competition is also good for the market ..... substandard construction will be minimized and cheaper housing will surely be available due to the Economies of Scale.

Its time for us to open up .... Closing ourselves in has not helped us much in the past and surely will not do so in the future ..... We need to use this opportunity to Dictate the term and conditions to our favor and ensure a much higher return for the country !!! We can never allow a Sovereign Guarantee to a foreign company for such a big amount unless ofcourse India comes forward as a cosignatory in the pact.

Shara has made alliance with Shelteh of Bangladeshand asked for help from Bashundhara. I believe many other renowned builders will also join in the project.

But what is the reason for opening another thread on the same topic when 2 thread with same topic is already running where both good and bad part of the project has been discussed.

Mod close this thread or merge it with existing thread..

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...6-2-b-usd-new-bangladesh-capital-project.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/182061-sahara-india-build-townships.html

Realtors want MoU with Sahara scrapped

Nizam Ahmed

The country's realtors have urged the government to cancel a memorandum of understanding (MoU) signed last week with an Indian developer in the 'greater interest' of Bangladesh.

The MoU, if implemented, will hamper the country's interest seriously as millions of dollars will ultimately be drained out of it, some analysts said.

The Sahara India Pariwar and the Rajuk under the ministry of housing and public works last Wednesday signed the MoU for facilitating investment worth $120 million in a township project near Dhaka.

Subsequently Subrata Roy Sahara, "managing worker" and chairman of Sahara India Pariwar, formally launched Sahara Matribhumi Unnayan Corporation Ltd., at a news conference in Dhaka on Friday.

"We are calling upon the government to cancel the MoU immediately and give a second thought to it before inviting foreign realtors to the country," Murad Iqbal Chowdhury, general secretary of the Real Estate and Housing Association of Bangladesh (REHAB) told the FE.

The members of REHAB with an aggregate investment of some Tk 1,200 billion have been successfully implementing their housing and real estate projects, handing over some 12,000 flats and 6,000 plots to the buyers a year, according to the industry.

The realtors said had they been given the required facilities and cooperation by the government, they could have offered more facilities including lower priced flats and plots lands to the buyers.

"The realtors of the country will soon launch protests against the acceptance of the proposal by the relevant authorities," Murad Iqbal Chowdhury, the REHAB general secretary, said.

However, Nasrul Hamid, president of REHAB, who is also a member of parliament from the ruling Awami League, could not be contacted over telephone and his private secretary Mr. Saikat also did not pick up his mobile phone when this reporter called him repeatedly.

Set up in 1991 with 11 members, REHAB has now 1,200 members and since inception, its members have so far handed over more than 180,000 flats and 100,000 plots to the buyers.

"We have successfully utilised the remittance money sent by the expatriate workers, most of whom bought flats and plots for their respective families and their hard-earned foreign exchange have not flown out of the country," the REHAB general secretary said.

But if foreign realtors are allowed to set up housing projects, they will drain the remittance earnings out of the country, he said adding "we don't understand in whose interests the authorities concerned are doing all such negative things."

However, some leading economists said it was too early to make any objective comment on the project, without going through the details of the related proposals.

"The entire project, when implemented, will, however, have a pressure on the balance of payment as the foreign realtors will tend to take away the profit out of their sale proceeds, in foreign currency," said AB Mirza Azizul Islam, former adviser to the past caretaker government.

Thailand faced such a balance of payment crisis in late 1970s following transfer of profits by foreign realtors who developed Bangkok and other cities in 1977 Mr. AB Mirza, also an economist, recalled.

He said if the foreign realtors buy all the inputs from the country, it might help local producers a bit, but if the inputs were bought from outside, then it would have a total negative affect on the national economy.

Moreover, Sahara would like to have 100,000 acres of land on a long-term lease or other arrangement for the proposed township which will be really difficult for densely populated Bangladesh to provide, another economic analyst said on condition of anonymity.

Mirza Azizul Islam said the proposal lacked in clarity. It should be published more elaborately to remove confusion in public minds over it, he observed.

Meanwhile, Transparency International Bangladesh (TIB) on Thursday asked the authorities to immediately publish the details of the memorandum of understanding (MOU) signed between India's Sahara group and Rajuk for investment in low-cost township projects in Bangladesh.

Furthermore, some local businesses have also raised questions about the image of the Sahara group in India itself.

Realtors want MoU with Sahara scrapped

...Some brainless bots are in top position of our administration. Why don't they just make it a joint venture?

That is the present proposal. Initially sahara told that they will build that township in a 40 sq km land located 50 km from dhaka. But as rajuk already has plans to 4 townships this project has been asked to be built under ppp. Then size of the project will be bigger then proposed sahara project. Here the land that has been talked is located at the same places of the proposed rajuk township project. But sahara has not said anything yet about the ppp.

Well its just commonsense to make it under PPP, sahara should know this too. You can't bag a behemoth project like this without PPP in any other country, not even in africa. Cause they know which is good for them...

Sahara has great expertise in planning satellite towns in India. Working with foreign companies will help Bangladeshi real estate business to learn new things. Even Mumbai and Delhi Airports was modernized using PPP ventures from foreign companies and now Delhi Airport is one of the largest and one of the best Airports in Asia.

Jaane do bhai, mat samjhao, koi faida nahi hai. These people are blinded by their hatered.

Sat, May 26th, 2012 10:37 pm BdST

Dhaka, May 26 (bdnews24.com) -- BNP Standing Committee Member Moudud Ahmed on Wednesday raised voice against the proposed investment by Indian conglomerate Sahara India Pariwar in Bangladesh's housing sector, claiming that it will lame the existing Bangladeshi entrepreneurs.

The veteran politician protested the government move allowing investment by the Indian company in a programme at the Diploma Engineers Institute.

He said the existing Bangladeshi entrepreneurs should have been given the chance. "But the government did not do that and instead has taken the initiative to destroy the housing sector in the name of new technology and technical assistance."

"Our local entrepreneurs are adept technologically and technically for such housing project ... we don't need outside technology."

On Friday, chief of the Indian conglomerate Subrata Roy Sahara declared that they were going to invest $100 to $125 million in their first project in Bangladesh. He added that the company had several proposed projects and it would select a suitable one through its offshoot, Sahara Matribhumi Unnoyan Corporation Limited, which was being created.

The business behemoth signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) last week to build a modern housing estate for low-income group people. The 'New Dhaka' project will also meet housing requirements of urban dwellers.

Sahara entry to hurt domestic industry: Moudud | Politics | bdnews24.com
Totaly Agreed With Moudud, Dhk Is Sold To India By This.

Jaane do bhai, mat samjhao, koi faida nahi hai. These people are blinded by their hatered.
यानी आपके मुताबिक भारतीयों के अलावा दुनिया भर में सिर्फ मूर्ख रहते है ? या आप यह कहना चाहते हैं, हम लोग भारत के गलत काम देखने में असमर्थ हैं ?
हां शेख हसीना शयाद भारत सरकार की नीति का पालन किया,ताकि वह सियासी में हमेशा बना रहे | लेकिन हम क्या कर सकते हैं बोलो , हसीना की तरह हम लोग
भारत सरकार समर्थक नहीं ......:rofl::sniper: we hate india & we'll always do so :pakistan:,and our hatred not created by us but by you.

यानी आपके मुताबिक भारतीयों के अलावा दुनिया भर में सिर्फ मूर्ख रहते है ? या आप यह कहना चाहते हैं, हम लोग भारत के गलत काम देखने में असमर्थ हैं ?
हां शेख हसीना शयाद भारत सरकार की नीति का पालन किया,ताकि वह सियासी में हमेशा बना रहे | लेकिन हम क्या कर सकते हैं बोलो , हसीना की तरह हम लोग
भारत सरकार समर्थक नहीं ......:rofl::sniper: we hate india & we'll always do so :pakistan:,and our hatred not created by us but by you.

Shame that you have heart to raise paksitani flag. You are a living disgrace to your freedom fighters who gave up their lives to make you a free citizen. Your pakistani bosses were killing you people like maggot and yet you have no pride in you calling yourself a free bangladeshi.:angry::angry:

Sometimes i thing what would have happened is india let pakisatnis kill bangladeshi and india shot every bangladeshi refugee, your race wouldn't have survived the genocide done by your paksitani "aakas". Bangladesh and bangladeshis have their identity only because india helped them in getting freedom.

Are all bangladeshis as shameless as you?? Or it is just this forum.

Disgusting.:disagree::disagree:

‘Think before allowing foreign investment in housing sector’

Sunday, 03 June 2012

DHAKA, JUNE 2: Bangladesh’s real estate entrepreneurs Saturday urged the government to give a second thought before allowing Indian Sahara company to invest in housing sector of the country.
They also urged the government to initiate a dialogue with housing stakeholders to find a suitable model for

foreign investment. The entrepreneurs at a press conference in the city also urged the government to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with local real estate developers as they did with Indian business conglomerate Sahara group, recently.

Leaders of Real Estate and Housing Association of Bangladesh (REHAB) and Bangladesh Land Developers Association (BLDA) jointly organised the press conference at a local hotel to express their position following signing an MoU between India's Sahara group and Rajuk for building low-cost township projects in Bangladesh.

Sahara has sought 100,000 acres of land based on a long-term lease or some other types of arrangement from the government to implement the township project named “New Dhaka”, under which they will sell apartments at affordable prices.

Addressing the press conference, Rehab president Nasrul Hamid MP said that the government should discuss the issue in details with concerned stakeholders, including members of Rehab and BLDA, before making any major decisions in this regard.

The country’s real estate sector is now passing through a crucial juncture due to lack of power, energy and high bank interests. The entire industry came to a standstill especially due to lack of necessary land for construction.

Under these circumstances, the Rehab president urged the government to give a second thought before acquiring such huge volume of land for a foreign company. “We are not against foreign investment, but it should be done after adequate measures are taken to protect local industries,” said the Rehab chief adding if necessary they should come through equity partnership.

They urged the government to sit with members of Rehab and BLDA to discuss the issues and find out a suitable model which will deal how to accommodate foreign investment on an equitable partnership.
When asked about the high prices of flats and monopoly business by members of Rehab and BLDA, the organisers attributed the reasons to high prices of construction materials and non-cooperation of government in allocating land.

“If local investors are given the land, required facilities and cooperation by the government, they could have offered more facilities including lower priced flats and plots to the buyers,” said BLDA president Ahmed Akbar Sobhan.

The conference was addressed among others by former Rehab president Engineer Tanveerul Haque Probal, BLDA secretary general Mostafa Kamal Mohiuddin, Rehab senior vice president Sultana Shaheda Islam, vice president Dr. Md. Abdur Rahim Khan, its joint secretary Major (retired) Jamshed Hasan, Chairman Rehab standing committee Mohammad Akhtar Biswash and BTIL managing director FR Khan.

Sahara India Pariwar, one of the major conglomerates in the corporate world of India, has now officially set its foot in Bangladesh by signing an MoU for investment in Bangladesh’s housing industry. Initially it will invest US$120 million in a township project near Dhaka.
To look after its concerns in Bangladesh, Sahara’s first ever company in Bangladesh named ‘Sahara Matribhumi Unnayan Corporation Limited’ has recently started its journey. Sheikh Fazle Hossain Fahim, nephew of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, has been made its director.

‘Think before allowing foreign investment in housing sector’

Shame that you have heart to raise paksitani flag. You are a living disgrace to your freedom fighters who gave up their lives to make you a free citizen. Your pakistani bosses were killing you people like maggot and yet you have no pride in you calling yourself a free bangladeshi.:angry::angry:

Sometimes i thing what would have happened is india let pakisatnis kill bangladeshi and india shot every bangladeshi refugee, your race wouldn't have survived the genocide done by your paksitani "aakas". Bangladesh and bangladeshis have their identity only because india helped them in getting freedom.

Are all bangladeshis as shameless as you?? Or it is just this forum.

Disgusting.:disagree::disagree:
Dont u guys felt ashamed of celebrating bd's vijay dibash as yours . About my picture , I don't want to xplain about it to an indian fools,perhaps in a place where pakistanis live which flag u xpect ,and if it was indian flag you would say " ye dosti ki nishaani hai " . perhaps jo bat mudde ki hai us per bat karein toh bhtar hai :rofl: about our history,we know about it well thn you .you said," Your pakistani bosses were killing you people like maggot and yet you have no pride in you calling yourself a free bangladeshi " ... . well,well,well thn why dont you say what raksi bahini did in bd why accussing just pakistan.biharis messacared too much bangalis,there were also some bangali like razakars,and about indian daddas,well whn manekshaw can said," I've trained 80,000 personel in disguise of pak army to kill bengali pakistani " ... so xplain us about it.if india realy helped bd how can ur bsf chief say such busterds thing about killing bangladeshi,if supporting India is patriotism then I've to u brother," we're sorry ".some Indian brainwashed may be,but we're not blind :smokin::triniti: