Rawalpindi in 1975

The first shot is a catholic chirch most likely opposite PC and GHQ. There's also a cricket ground nearby. I don't know if cricket ground was there in 1975
Beautiful simple old days. Less pollution,clean roads way less population ,double decker buses and tension free life.
I grew up and spent most of my life in Rawalpindi , Islamabad areas know these twin cities quite good but I had a hard time identifying some places . Too much has changed .
Rawalpindi and Islamabad residents please check in .

Pakistan 1964

Rawalpindi 1928

6aLDcOPTLjw

981098_474099619337163_7276735_o.jpg

10733941_811487515598370_5060702454493363431_o.jpg

10968400_802461049834350_7445971891800903892_n.jpg

Intersection of Kashmir Road and Adamjee Road in Early 1960s

532503_502415886505536_1784591807_n.jpg

Bank Road Saddar,
in 1964-65

599326_533476853399439_2118956306_n.jpg

1025317_542087922538332_920781471_o.jpg

1410724_545906392156485_1646813236_o.jpg

1399431_546371905443267_1986615371_o.jpg

1399494_548433198570471_2134944390_o.jpg

10854414_764212026992586_4929874317644198283_o.jpg

Bank Road Saddar,
in 1964-65

Beautiful pics. Thanks for sharing.
You ve noticed one thing in the early days of pakistan in 60's,70's the British influence was very apparent. The names of the even small area shops were English rather the local names we see these days.
In one pic above it's " montegemory biscuits" " pam rose soap" and tropical tailors.

The tanga stand in 4th picture is now a dhulhan van stand. A baraf wala used to sell a whole bunch of ice in that van stand. Varan bus depot was attached to the corner of this Van stand. So many harware/auto accessories stores nearby. I am getting so nostalgic even though I am Lahori, but Pindi is in my bones I grew up here. If my country was good I never would have left it. It is good. But logon ne is mulk ki nass mar di hai pakar k.

Bank Road Saddar,
in 1964-65

The Habib Bank building was still there in 2013 I don't know if it is still there. Rawalpindi city center has so many memories. So many outings with my family for getting some munchies or to do some shopping.

Bank Road Saddar,
in 1964-65

I'm not sure if the fowara chowk(fountain square english makes it sound so regal, try going there in nightmarish traffic) is of Raja baza or not?!

Gora changed our minds forever sir. We never took the same pride in ourselves after the Gora. British raj psychological warfare was too strong.
Beautiful pics. Thanks for sharing.
You ve noticed one thing in the early days of pakistan in 60's,70's the British influence was very apparent. The names of the even small area shops were English rather the local names we see these days.
In one pic above it's " montegemory biscuits" " pam rose soap" and tropical tailors.

unnamed.jpg

Government Gordon College, Rawalpindi

download.jpg

Welcome to the St. Paul's Church Rawalpindi Pakistan. The Church established in 1908 by The Church of Scotland and currently run by The Presbyterian Church of Pakistan.

I'm not sure if the fowara chowk(fountain square english makes it sound so regal, try going there in nightmarish traffic) is of Raja baza or not?!
Yes i am almost sure that is fowara Chowk of raja bazaar. These days it's a traffic mess and surrounded by house construction related hardware shops. I've visited last time that area quite long time ago like 5 years. If you are constructing your own house and need something related to it just name it and you can find everything in that area.

A lot of time was spent on the 6th road as well---hehehehe---.
Sir ji... app na tu lagta ha commercial market bara waqat guzara haa... vo Chandni chook pa aik Karai ghost ka restaurant yaad haa .....

Yes i am almost sure that is fowara Chowk of raja bazaar. These days it's a traffic mess and surrounded by house construction related hardware shops. I've visited last time that area quite long time ago like 5 years. If you are constructing your own house and need something related to it just name it and you can find everything in that area.
basant time.... lol .. yaar vo... Nehari ka nashta bara yaad ata ha... yaar covid khatam ha Pakistan jaoo..badly missing home town

That old Rawalpindi area , specially the can't area,westridge area looks like we are living in some British residential area because that area was designed by the British. Spacious roads,lawns , fountains ,old style bungalows . Even posh areas of Islamabad cannot compete with the beauty of that area.
My parents lived on those houses for a while and still miss those houses. Now they demolish all of them .. our servant used to go to RA Bazar for grocery ..

They are getting demolished and building new ones at their place because they are old and not safe.
In Karachi I've lived in one such British era bungalow . One day after a rainfall the roof of one room collapsed suddenly. Luckily no one was in that room.

Drug Store, Saddar, Rawalpindi. This is 1960s photo of Drug Store which was located at the intersection of Haider Road and Kashmir Road. Walji’s Stop was next to it where one could board on a VW microbus for going to Islamabad. Its no more there. Now a mattress shop exists in its place. Photo contributed by Shaban Malik.

Photos-of-Rawalpindi-Drug-Store-at-the-intersection-of-Kashmir-Road-and-Haider-Road-Rawalpindi-Saddar.jpg

Kashmir Road, Rawalpindi-1960s. It is the intersection of Bank Road and Kashmir Road. Kwangson & Co Footwear signboard is clearly visible. The Chinese owner of the shop used to make flying shoes of Aviation pilots serving in Dhamial Camp.

Kashmir-Road-Rawalpindi-1960s.jpg

Double Decker Bus at Chandni Chowk, Rawalpindi- 1963. Photo contributed by Lt Gen Tahir Mahmud Qazi. He took this photo in 1963 with his 120 mm Box Kodak camera which was gifted by his elder brother who was a doctor in Saudi Arabia

Photos-of-Rawalpindi-Double-Decker-Bus-at-Chandni-Chowk-Rawalpindi.jpg

The Bridge Over Leh Nullah, Rawalpindi in early 1960s. This bridge is near Mureer Chowk on the Murree Road. The size of the bridge at that time speaks volumes about the planners of the 1960s.
Photo from the album of Syed Ghiasuddin Ahmed who was Commissioner Rawalpindi in early 1960s (Courtesy Syed Ali Hamid).

Rawalpindi-Photos-The-bridge-over-Leh-Nullah-Rawalpindi-in-early-1960s-Pictures-of-Rawalpindi.jpg