Pakistan's economy better than India's: Bloomberg

I think all these reports of international orgs indicating Pakistan 'doing well' is actually a statement that there is a retardation in the process of our downfall.
We are not getting doomed as quickly as some would like see.
There is a long long and very long way to go before we actually start 'doing well'.

LMAO ! Godspeed to pak economy but this article is BS in purest form.

I reckon this article is just to prod the pak govt to continue with it's debt financed raising of foreign exchange reserves which IMF wants. Such steps can lead to disastrous shocks in an economy in later future.

This great achievement can only be attributed to clean and honest Pakistan political leadership which is sincerely working hard to fulfill all its goals for last 7 years

Good news, but let's just cut the comparisons with India. India has made good progress for quite a few years now. Where as with Pakistan we are beginning to hear of developments.
Let's hope the momentum is kept up.

Good news, but let's just cut the comparisons with India. India has made good progress for quite a few years now. Where as with Pakistan we are beginning to hear of developments.
Let's hope the momentum is kept up.
You guys need to be very careful with the rising foreign exchange reserves rather. I mean I don't see the export data matching up with the development.

Inflation - 12 year low
interest rate - 42 year low
Stock market - 2nd best performance in the world
Exports - increased due to GSP+ status from EU
Investments - $42 Billion CPEC
Foreign Exchange Reserves - all time high
Privatization - first time happening to bring reforms
Corruption ratings - 10 places improvement over 1 year
Combating Terrorism - Pakistan tops list of countries observing decrease
Infrastructure development - 27% increase
GDP growth rate - highest in 7 years
GDP per capita - increased

If you think Bloomberg is wrong, better explain Moodys, S&P, and JICA reports as well. :)

-inflation is an indicator in demand vs supply of products. If you have low inflation, it's an indicator of the market slowing down, people buying less and less. 12 year low inflation means lowest demand in 12 yrs. It means it's a bad time for investment as the market is not growing as fast.

-low interest rate is a good thing. But gov. keeps borrowing all the money, and nothing is left for the private sector.

-it's a small market, very easy to manipulate. It has been amongst the best performers for many many years. The bubble will go bust eventually.

-Foreign reserves are high because of massive loans. Yeh wapis bhi bharney hain.

-privatization is a good thing. But look at the hypocrisy that on one hand you are privatizing companies and on the other hand setting up new state run enterprises like metro etc. What is happening lol?

-lower corruption is a good thing, but more can/should be done. Every single project is 10-20% commissions...And then they advertise in the papers "bees arab ki lagat sey flana flana, tees arab ki lagat sey flana flana". But then you compare the costs of the projects with same/similar projects in other countries, you realize all of them are overpriced by 20-30% easily.

-combat terrorism, okay good thing...But why were the terror cells kept alive for so long, even when entire world was asking to shut them down or do something. Blame goes to current plus two previous gov.s. for badly handling the war on terror.

-it's only the expenditure that has increased. you have to see individually each project if they were even financially feasible. Most of the projects this gov. has done are NOT financially feasible. Plus, again privatization vs more state enterprises.

-GDP growth rate of 4%. Enough said. And even that after rigging figures. see this.

-tiny growth in gdp/capita. no significant improvement. They are neither trying to reduce population growth rates through awareness (what I think is the easier way of increasing living standards and gdp/capita), nor are they focused on increasing productivity through investment in education etc. (the more difficult way).

As far as the ratings are concerned, they are not that hard to manipulate. All their data is based on gov. stats. Gov. stats are inaccurate and simply rigged at times. It's not even something new, has been going on since like for ever...Everyone's doing it, even the developed countries.

These things mean absolutely nothing. Go and ask the common investor/businessman if he's considering investing more capital for expanding his business in the next 12 months and see how they respond, that should tell you everything. If the local investor who knows his market inside out is not confident in investing more capital in the country, all of these figures become quite irrelevant. So go talk to the business community, they are the ones who get the first hand feedback from the economy.

You guys need to be very careful with the rising foreign exchange reserves rather. I mean I don't see the export data matching up with the development.

that's true, exports are not going good at all...

First the gov. artificially lowers the dollar as soon as they come to power in 2013 (bad for export) and then the recent euro crisis with euro falling, making exports to EU more difficult. The export industry is not in a good mood right now...

LAHORE: (Web Desk, Dunya News) – Pakistan’s economy has been declared better than India’s in Bloomberg report published on Friday. Pakistan has been included among the Top 10 emerging economies of the world, reported Dunya News.

According to the report published by Bloomberg, economic reforms and good relations with the international monetary organizations gave boost to Pakistan economy. It said that the success is better than India’s.

Report says that the payment of loans’ issue was resolved after Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif took over the government. It said that the construction industry also improved, leading to better ratings for Pakistan by Moody’s and Standards and Poors.

Bloomberg report says that interest rate is at 42-year lowest in Pakistan. It says that Nawaz Sharif government kept the economy afloat despite protests in the country. Pakistan wrote a new chapter in the history of reforms, privatization and economic progress, it says, and has become the best undiscovered investment opportunity of the world for investors with a 232-billion dollars economy.

Report goes on to say that Karachi Stock Exchange (KSE) saw 16% improvement during the last one year and is among the 10 best performing stock markets of the world. It says that progress has been observed in cement, construction and steel sectors. It said that the biggest of companies are trying to double their volume.

Appreciating the government reforms, the report says that a 27% increase was seen in the government expenditure on infrastructure, inflation came down and buying power of Pakistanis increased due to better incomes after Nawaz Sharif government took control in 2013. It says that the current government has also focused on rural progress along with the urban due to which suburban centers are growing fast in the country.

The report also acknowledged China’s support for Pakistan, saying that China once again proved to be Pakistan’s best friend by investing in 45-billion-dollar economic corridor project. Quoting the business circles in Pakistan, the report says that almost all the fields have observed three-time growth which is a clear indicator of economic progress.

Pakistan's economy better than India's: Bloomberg | Pakistan | Dunya News
Here is the original source.

In the ‘Best Hidden’ Frontier Market, a Boom Signals a Pakistan RevivalIn the 'Best Hidden' Frontier Market, a Boom Signals a Pakistan Revival | Emerging Markets | Bloomberg Professional

Where does it mention Pakistan in top 10. Kindly, guide me. Also, most of the article is centered around construction boom and it have been same since 2000 except some hiccup in 2008 due to over all world crisis. Real Estate and construction is the only sector performing well since 2000 due to ever growing population and urbanization, less opportunities in other sectors and influx of black money. Also, macroeconomic indicators alone aren't good indication because we have been fooled by Shaukat Aziz and many other with this. At the end, bubble bursts.

Also, macroeconomic indicators alone aren't good indication because we have been fooled by Shaukat Aziz and many other with this. At the end, bubble bursts.

The indicators themselves are most of the times rigged.....so they are not even reliable...

Pakistan heading towards Greece and they are talking about overtaking India :D

And this is in war time. Imagine what will happen when there is peace.

Economy can grow 7%+ for 15 year period for sure.

This is the Bloomberg Report on Pakistan

What the pakistani media missed out is that the report says that Pakistani economy was on the brink of failing and it has recovered from that.

India is briefly mentioned, not by Bloomberg, but some London analyst who says: "Pakistan is a reform story like neighbouring India’s, but only better." Meaning the pakistani have started reforming now (removing government controls and ownership) what India had started in 1991.

Now we are at 2015.And the Pakistani media claims something else entirely! This is for feel good factor but it will shows dangerous trend later.

PPP has been the worst in terms of growth. Sometimes it seems as if the party purposely keeps Pakistan behind to keep the people jahil and giving them stolen national funds in exchange for their vote. I have seen this which is why I say this. I would give a simple example. Of the 25000 ghost schools in Pakistan (meaning schools just on paper), 8000 are in Sindh. Meaning something like 30%.