Pakistan's Air Force Learned About the Bin Laden Raid on TV

UmarJustice

New Recruit

The Pakistani air force learned about the U.S. raid to kill Osama bin Laden from a television news report about a helicopter crash in Abbottabad. Belatedly, they scrambled fighter jets. But by then, the Americans were long gone.

In other words: Pakistan had virtually no chance of detecting U.S. choppers as they flew into the Pakistani equivalent of West Point. And if they raid was done all over again, they still wouldn't catch the aircraft. That's according to a leaked report from Pakistan's independent Abbottabad Commission that was charged by the Pakistani government to investigate the raid.

The commission says the Pakistani military never saw the raid coming because of the American choppers' stealthy, noise-reducing equipment, the skill of their crews at flying below radar, and the fact that Pakistan's air defenses are focused on its border with India, not Afghanistan.

The U.S. "was never expected to commit such a dastardly act," the commission's report quotes the unnamed deputy chief of Pakistan's air staff for operations (DCAS) as saying. The raid was so unexpected that the Pakistanis had no radars looking at the valleys along their northwest border with Afghanistan that the U.S. troops used to fly from Jalalabad in Afghanistan to Abbottabad, Pakistan, according to the report, first published by Al Jazeera.

Even if it had positioned radars to monitor the border, they wouldn't have made much difference. A separate Pakistani air force (PAF) board of inquiry into the raid concluded that "given the current inventory of radars, a repetition of a similar U.S. raid in the future would be difficult for the PAF to handle," the commission notes. "The U.S. was the only country in the world to have mastered stealth technology at an operational level, and the PAF did not have radars that could detect the intrusion of stealth objects."

Here are the key sentences in the report describing how the Pakistani air force learned of the raid, after it was over.

"The PAF first learnt of the Abbottabad raid at about 0207 on May 2" an hour and a half after the raid began and about 40 minutes after it ended, when, the DCAF told the commission, "'Pakistan TV channels started showing an Army helicopter crash at Abbottabad.' After ‘completion of the operation [by the SEALs] in about 40 minutes' the U.S. forces destroyed the crashed helicopter and ‘the other helicopters began their return at about 01110 hours and exited Pakistan airspace at approximately 0200 hours.'"

That means that SEALs along with Osama's body were already back inside Afghanistan by the time the Pakistani air force even knew of the raid. Remember, U.S. officials apparently drew up plans for American troops to fight their way out of Pakistan in case they were intercepted by the Pakistani military.

Nevertheless, Pakistani fighter jets were immediately scrambled and over Abbottabad about 15 minutes after taking off. (Remember: early American news coverage of the raid that said the choppers were almost caught by Pakistani fighter jets.) The report goes on to note that the jets entered the space around Abbottabad with no intelligence on what they were supposed to be looking for.

So, Pakistan couldn't stop the U.S. raid on its territory, period. Just another reason why the raid was "one of the most embarrassing incidents in the history of Pakistan," the report quotes the DCAS as saying.

Pakistan's Air Force Learned About the Bin Laden Raid on TV | Killer Apps

The Pakistani air force learned about the U.S. raid to kill Osama bin Laden from a television news report about a helicopter crash in Abbottabad. Belatedly, they scrambled fighter jets. But by then, the Americans were long gone.

In other words: Pakistan had virtually no chance of detecting U.S. choppers as they flew into the Pakistani equivalent of West Point. And if they raid was done all over again, they still wouldn't catch the aircraft. That's according to a leaked report from Pakistan's independent Abbottabad Commission that was charged by the Pakistani government to investigate the raid.

The commission says the Pakistani military never saw the raid coming because of the American choppers' stealthy, noise-reducing equipment, the skill of their crews at flying below radar, and the fact that Pakistan's air defenses are focused on its border with India, not Afghanistan.

The U.S. "was never expected to commit such a dastardly act," the commission's report quotes the unnamed deputy chief of Pakistan's air staff for operations (DCAS) as saying. The raid was so unexpected that the Pakistanis had no radars looking at the valleys along their northwest border with Afghanistan that the U.S. troops used to fly from Jalalabad in Afghanistan to Abbottabad, Pakistan, according to the report, first published by Al Jazeera.

Even if it had positioned radars to monitor the border, they wouldn't have made much difference. A separate Pakistani air force (PAF) board of inquiry into the raid concluded that "given the current inventory of radars, a repetition of a similar U.S. raid in the future would be difficult for the PAF to handle," the commission notes. "The U.S. was the only country in the world to have mastered stealth technology at an operational level, and the PAF did not have radars that could detect the intrusion of stealth objects."

Here are the key sentences in the report describing how the Pakistani air force learned of the raid, after it was over.

"The PAF first learnt of the Abbottabad raid at about 0207 on May 2" an hour and a half after the raid began and about 40 minutes after it ended, when, the DCAF told the commission, "'Pakistan TV channels started showing an Army helicopter crash at Abbottabad.' After ‘completion of the operation [by the SEALs] in about 40 minutes' the U.S. forces destroyed the crashed helicopter and ‘the other helicopters began their return at about 01110 hours and exited Pakistan airspace at approximately 0200 hours.'"

That means that SEALs along with Osama's body were already back inside Afghanistan by the time the Pakistani air force even knew of the raid. Remember, U.S. officials apparently drew up plans for American troops to fight their way out of Pakistan in case they were intercepted by the Pakistani military.

Nevertheless, Pakistani fighter jets were immediately scrambled and over Abbottabad about 15 minutes after taking off. (Remember: early American news coverage of the raid that said the choppers were almost caught by Pakistani fighter jets.) The report goes on to note that the jets entered the space around Abbottabad with no intelligence on what they were supposed to be looking for.

So, Pakistan couldn't stop the U.S. raid on its territory, period. Just another reason why the raid was "one of the most embarrassing incidents in the history of Pakistan," the report quotes the DCAS as saying.

Pakistan's Air Force Learned About the Bin Laden Raid on TV | Killer Apps

no surprizes :D

they use stealth technology no country in the world have such type of technology still today

i have question who order the army to return the wreckage of stealth black hawk to usa.
when commission was investigating the fact and figures that is disgusting

@GURU DUTT

Bet you were surprised when a slow rubber boat sailed right down your throat and held your financial capital hostage for two days. :fie:
salaam bhai jaan both are different a rubber boat used was which is frequentli used by fishermwen to fish in shallow water so navy & coastgaurd took them as fishermen

no issues look at what we and you achived after both these episode ..we on owr part got the world sympathy and your biggest ally came to owr fold and even though its intel services fu*** up big time by a double agent they still contribeuted and gave us every way possible after it and we achived so much against you on diplomacy front ..but what about you your intel services, Army & Air Force who not onli lost there credibilty both to there "Friends not Masters" but also to the general publick who till now supported them no matter what now strted to ask difficult quetions and even debated about there existence or usefull ness and your nation once again came to the world notice as an unreliable and double game playing ally who lied to there partners for almost six years and no one takes your assurances serousli now

so in short though both are different the results are very differnt we got more than expected but you lost all baki .....khair jane do

salaam bhai jaan both are different a rubber boat used was which is frequentli used by fishermwen to fish in shallow water so navy & coastgaurd took them as fishermen

no issues look at what we and you achived after both these episode ..we on owr part got the world sympathy and your biggest ally came to owr fold and even though its intel services fu*** up big time by a double agent they still contribeuted and gave us every way possible after it and we achived so much against you on diplomacy front ..but what about you your intel services, Army & Air Force who not onli lost there credibilty both to there "Friends not Masters" but also to the general publick who till now supported them no matter what now strted to ask difficult quetions and even debated about there existence or usefull ness and your nation once again came to the world notice as an unreliable and double game playing ally who lied to there partners for almost six years and no one takes your assurances serousli now

so in short though both are different the results are very differnt we got more than expected but you lost all baki .....khair jane do

Jab kisi baat pata nahi hota to bilawaja muh khol kar apnay app ko Ignorant aur illiterate nahi prove kartay, a. Helicopter came through the air corridor which is provided to NATO forces so thier plane flies in and out from afghanistan, which of course would not have raised any suspicious flag. they covered their tracks well. Next Time I do hope you better come to argue with all facts in hand instead of being plain stupid and ignorant

ha ha ha salaam hai jaan

well what did i said wrong bhai ji mujhe kehne se pehle thread ka naam to par lo if one country and its security aparatuss are so ignorant about the movemenst then who is responsible

why was ISI made if it cant detect worlds most wanted person living near the TOP ARMY School in your a Garrison town where all elite officers of ARMY , NAVY , Air Force and ISI are living post retairment

what is the use of air force if it cant detect two Foriegn millitarry helicopters howering a few hundred meters around its around Top army school for over one hour

well sir you know what you lost after May 2nd OBL Raid ....mujhe badnaam kerne se apko kuch hasil nahi hoga ...Good Luck For NEXT TIME ;)

PAF knew about everything. But radars were detecting high presence of F-18s n AWACS in Afghan Airspace close to Pak Afghan Border.

@GURU DUTT

Bet you were surprised when a slow rubber boat sailed right down your throat and held your financial capital hostage for two days. :fie:

Two days? That was for 72 hrs ie 3 days.

Than why Americans have to say different story about this?
Perhaps PAF trying to get money out of Govt's pocket for latest inventory

from one-liners to paragraphs of defensive drivel :laugh:

ha ha ha salaam hai jaan

well what did i said wrong bhai ji mujhe kehne se pehle thread ka naam to par lo if one country and its security aparatuss are so ignorant about the movemenst then who is responsible

why was ISI made if it cant detect worlds most wanted person living near the TOP ARMY School in your a Garrison town where all elite officers of ARMY , NAVY , Air Force and ISI are living post retairment

what is the use of air force if it cant detect two Foriegn millitarry helicopters howering a few hundred meters around its around Top army school for over one hour

well sir you know what you lost after May 2nd OBL Raid ....mujhe badnaam kerne se apko kuch hasil nahi hoga ...Good Luck For NEXT TIME ;)

Woi bak bak start, Why CIA and FBI was made if they couldnot identify persons of 9/11? Why RAW and IB was made if they couldnot identify persons coming to mumbai? And proof all elite officers of ARMY , NAVY , Air Force and ISI are living post retirement in Abbotabad? You are just blowing hot farce without backing up too much. Is being stupid your speciality or it is in your nature btw?

And when those two helicopters hovered around top army school? that house and that school is 5-6 KM away, but you didn't check that on google map right?

And once again, people slip through porus border and this is incompetence of all intel and relevant organizations of Pakistan, but the way you blabbering uselessly, I suggest you need grammar and some facts lessons even before we pay heed to your lies and bloddy bs arm twisting facts

better come up with backed up facts next time you even throw accusations

Hit hard where the enemy is weak. That is what the Americans did. You can't blame anyone fr this.

Lessons learnt for Pakistan:

The enemy is on both sides of the border.

The enemy knows what happens in our country more than the local government does.

The enemy can make a fool of Pakistan and get away with it.

Solutions:

(Will take a lot of 'looking into the situation' for filling it up.)

:ashamed:

from one-liners to paragraphs of defensive drivel :laugh:

Zulfi Bhai, See how tail went on fire when it come to mumbai attackers and we haven't even started with Hemant karkare and how their own parliamentarians raising suspicions of his death that He might be killed on purpose

Hit hard where the enemy is weak. That is what the Americans did. You can't blame anyone fr this.

Lessons learnt for Pakistan:

The enemy is on both sides of the border.

The enemy knows what happens in our country more than the local government does.

The enemy can make a fool of Pakistan and get away with it.

Solutions:

(Will take a lot of 'looking into the situation' for filling it up.)

:ashamed:

You can not bite a hand who feeds you or else that whole hand will be shove in to your ...... That's the solution, realistic solution. Our dependency is what makes us weak