Pakistanis- How would describe Mr. Nawaz Sharif?

off all the people at the top of the heap, only NS has seen up close how big business works.

Rest of the politicians are just bunch of kids trying to shove fingers in to the Teletubbies toys.

Thanks for quoting Z Ali's essays.

The guy writes well but his attacks on NS are for the criticism sake.

We have working economic models from Asian tigers like S Korea, Taiwan and China

NS really wants to be like them.

And all these childish attacks on him make no sense.
Till now, despite his experience, Nawaz's policies have failed. This either shows badniyaati (bad intentions) or incompetent subordinates. Either way, I hope they work out well but I just don't see it happening, its not realistic and PMLN is spreading all these exaggerated growth figures - that is wrong, plain and simple.

It doesn't matter who he's trying to copy, if he's doing it wrong, it won't work.

The criticism is valid, I agree childish attacks are not but the criticism is.

Till now, despite his experience, Nawaz's policies have failed. This either shows badniyaati (bad intentions) or incompetent subordinates. Either way, I hope they work out well but I just don't see it happening, its not realistic and PMLN is spreading all these exaggerated growth figures - that is wrong, plain and simple.

It doesn't matter who he's trying to copy, if he's doing it wrong, it won't work.

The criticism is valid, I agree childish attacks are not but the criticism is.

Funny that you say "NS policies have failed".

It is like a high school brat who eats steak at dinner table and bad mouths his mum and dad that the steak was over-under cooked and that his parents are bad-diyanat,

Oh meray bhai

Why ignore positive changes he brought while working with other politicians and parts of gov

His infrastructure projects are used by all

and yet you come here and throw stones at them?

Funny that you say "NS policies have failed".

It is like a high school brat who eats steak at dinner table and bad mouths his mum and dad that the steak was over-under cooked and that his parents are bad-diyanat,

Oh meray bhai

Why ignore positive changes he brought while working with other politicians and parts of gov

His infrastructure projects are used by all

and yet you come here and throw stones at them?
The promises of massive growth turned out to be false. All the investments contributed to nothing. Pakistan's GDP growth is the lowest in South Asia. Meanwhile, loadshedding is as high as ever, the military budget is the lowest ever (so they can't be blamed this time), tax revenue is lowest in the region, among other things. If this is a success, God help us when there's a failure.
Pakistan | Data
Country and region specific forecasts and data
Basic Statistics 2014 | Asian Development Bank

So if you want to consider logic backed by statistics from the World Bank, IMF, Asian Development Bank and even the State Bank of Pakistan as a ''high school brat'', go ahead and stick your head in the sand.

Those infrastructure projects cost a lot more than they should have and are still full of issues. Sure, its good that they exist, but legitimate criticism is not 'throwing stones'. But of course, we all know PMLN's response to legitimate criticism.

The promises of massive growth turned out to be false. All the investments contributed to nothing. .

massive growth in 18 months? hahahah
investments to contribute in 18 months? another hahahahaha

Only "hawai kilay" (castles in the air) can be built in 18 months and shown to gullble followers of the so called dharna baaz leaders.

For real progress, you put seeds in, keep the area cool and moist for 10 to 15 years
and only then you many see fruits of hard labor.

18 months cannot produce much even if you have the best planner and workers.

It is time for us Pakistanis to put our heads to work for 5-10 years
before that time and effort, one would only get childish stuff

massive growth in 18 months? hahahah
investments to contribute in 18 months? another hahahahaha
It might be hilarious but that was precisely what PMLN promised. They promised to eliminate loadshedding in 6 months, along with turning Pakistan into an 'Asian Tiger' and Lahore into Venice within one year. They failed to deliver (obviously), but this is true not only for these 18 months, but for the previous years they were in power AND the future projections.

When they make such huge extravagant claims, they shouldn't be surprised when people complain that they delivered nothing. During election time, their only goal is to get elected and that's it.

Only "hawai kilay" (castles in the air) can be built in 18 months and shown to gullble followers of the so called dharna baaz leaders.
The PTI supporters are actually the least gullible among Pakistanis. PMLN supporters actually believed that they would finish Loadshedding in six months. PTI supporters, on the other hand, weren't promised mega projects. They were promised slow and steady reforms in education, healthcare and justice, which were delivered.

For real progress, you put seeds in, keep the area cool and moist for 10 to 15 years
and only then you many see fruits of hard labor.

18 months cannot produce much even if you have the best planner and workers.

It is time for us Pakistanis to put our heads to work for 5-10 years
before that time and effort, one would only get childish stuff
Slow stuff that takes 5-10 years to build is good and practical, I agree - but it should not deteriorate the country while its being done. If reforms or mega-projects directly cause more deterioration than improvement, they're not practical.

Besides, the articles I cited before make some very good points, points that are not even challenged by your little argument here. For example:
Pakistan has been down this path many times before and back to square one. Is this time any different? It is not an industrialised country like Britain, where major issues could be addressed by just privatisation. The Asian Development Bank recently warned that the IMF’s new programme is at risk, as “most of the required reforms have political and governance dimensions which posed formidable barriers in the past”.
Can Nawaz Sharif fix the economy? - Newspaper - DAWN.COM
I'm not talking about PMLN's mega projects exclusively, their entire economic framework is highly flawed. The projects may be successful if given enough time, but short and long-term economic policies won't improve over time, it's not a motorway or a metro bus, it's a national economy and must be treated as such.

You can't just ignore important issues and flaws and just leave everything on time. Fine, give them time, but also give them criticism - that's one of the main points of democracy.

It might be hilarious but that was precisely what PMLN promised.

Slow stuff that takes 5-10 years to build is good and practical, I agree - but it should not deteriorate the country while its being done. If reforms or mega-projects directly cause more deterioration than improvement, they're not practical.

Besides, the articles I cited before make some very good points, points that are not even challenged by your little argument here.

1. Political slogasn. Everyone listens and tailors it to his own agenda The only thing in 6 month possible was to pay off circular debt. Even a basic college student should know that NEW power plants don't come on line in 6 months. PMLN did try to pay off circular debt, but that was never enough.

2. When you remodel your house, you gotta put up with buidling material mess. you can't just hire jinns and fullfil your wishes in 1 sec,

3. privatization is one of the many aspects. This topic has been beaten to death by now. Not sure what you are looking for here.

And sure, IK should wait for 2018 and get his agenda in place.

This is how system works,

not by trashing the gov every 18 months.

Please learn from the primitive tribals of Africa and try to avoid their mistakes.

Thank you

1. Political slogasn. Everyone listens and tailors it to his own agenda The only thing in 6 month possible was to pay off circular debt. Even a basic college student should know that NEW power plants don't come on line in 6 months. PMLN did try to pay off circular debt, but that was never enough.
My point exactly - political rhetoric and nothing more.

2. When you remodel your house, you gotta put up with buidling material mess. you can't just hire jinns and fullfil your wishes in 1 sec,
When you remodel your house, you don't paint one wall and let the other one burn down. You can't hire jinns, but you can be careful enough to prevent a lot of damage.

privatization is one of the many aspects. This topic has been beaten to death by now. Not sure what you are looking for here.
And what am I saying? When did I say privatization is the only aspect? Did you not read my posts? I mentioned multiple aspects; mega-projects, privatization, tax collection - the articles mention even more. Also, do have a look at the World Bank's stats, those are quite enlightening.

And sure, IK should wait for 2018 and get his agenda in place.
He had no problem with doing just that as long as the electoral system was investigated and reformed - actually, that is precisely what he demanded for the first fourteen months; at first it was nothing more than merely four constituencies. Now don't tell me that investigating four constituencies would have derailed democracy, because they wouldn't have.

This is how system works,
No, the system does not work with stay orders and sidelining - it works with investigations, reforms and improvements. Aik to yeh system ko jo le ke baith jate ho aap log. They had a system in the stone age too, you know? But look at how much it changed. If they had stopped improving it because ' this is how system works', we'd all still be living in the stone age.

He had no problem with doing just that as long as the electoral system was investigated and reformed - .
let's not make this thread about IK. I understand your point but disagree strongly,

please stick to OP.

Thank you

let's not make this thread about IK. I understand your point but disagree strongly,

please stick to OP.

Thank you
It isn't that off-topic, as we're basically discussing Nawaz Sharif and his politics - this is a part of it. But sure, lets stay on topic and keep IK out of it. Do elaborate as to why you'd disagree on my point about reforming the system and NS's opposition to it.

In his first term he tried to be Ameer ul Momeneen (miserably failed)
In his 2nd term he tried to be a Sipahe Salar ( miserably failed )
In his current he don't know by himself what is he and what he do.
Economy may be good in Lahore and other plans are still in papers.
Pah Fouji Pah Amriki ko Ameer ul Momeneen aur Sipah Salar ki angrezi bata dijye ga:P

It isn't that off-topic, as we're basically discussing Nawaz Sharif and his politics - this is a part of it. But sure, lets stay on topic and keep IK out of it. Do elaborate as to why you'd disagree on my point about reforming the system and NS's opposition to it.

system cannot be reformed by burning tires

One should sit together and develop policies. That is the difficult but right thing to do

Gov benches in assembly will have their views
opposition will have its own

long debates and they should come together for a middle ground

NS opposition so far is like 5th grader kids,
asking for resignations.

pathetic at best

Ideology? Guy has no ideology.

Just to give you an idea of his personality, military officers who went inside his room after Musharraf coup found only "Khawateen Digest". He demanded same when he was under captivity after coup. A journalist was made to visit his residence in Raiwand, Lahore. He noted that it had everything from personal zoo with rare animals to swimming pools to mosque and what not. But there wasn't a single book (leave aside library) to be found. Lack of personality depth shows clearly in him (and his close circle) when they appear on media etc. Ever wonder why he did not write a book during exile? Does anyone know he use to cry with tears in captivity?

He is a businessman and was never meant to lead a nation. It is not that hard to see his leadership skills (or lack thereof) in this testing time. He does mimic Benazir Bhutto who was better educated (not necessarily mean she put it to good use) and connected better to people.

The irony is military officers appear better to people and thus have greater popularity. It is unfortunate but so are people of Pakistan.

system cannot be reformed by burning tires

One should sit together and develop policies. That is the difficult but right thing to do

Gov benches in assembly will have their views
opposition will have its own

long debates and they should come together for a middle ground

NS opposition so far is like 5th grader kids,
asking for resignations.

pathetic at best

For that the Government needs to be willing to compromise - until the protests started, they didn't let anything pass through. Anything. Every demand was sidelined or taken out by stay orders. There is no other option except protest in that case. If opposition so far was like 5th graders, NS himself was like a second grader - crying and lying ''I didn't do it''.

Pathetic at best

I can sum the feeling of general Pakistani about him and can describe him in three words
Go nawaz Go \:D/