Jokingjustice
New Recruit
10 September 2016.
How heartening and of pride it was for this senior citizen reading that the Honourable Federal Ombudsman “on complaint” has taken up the issue of present severe crisis thousands of Overseas Pakistanis (OPs) were in, in Saudi Arabia. The Pakistanis working in Dammam since some months did not get their salaries. An anchor said his channel contacted the Secretary Foreign Affairs, Overseas Pakistanis Foundation and the Pakistani Ambassador in Saudi Arabia but with no response from these three.
2. The Federal Ombudsman has fixed a Hearing and summoned Foreign Secretary. The plain reading of the news item causes a little confusion. It reads that the Honourable Ombudsman took “cognizance” of the matter which in simple words means that on knowing the gravity of the situation through say the newspapers, talk shows, TV/Radio news, as kind as an ombudsman is supposed to be took, he took a notice (today layman knows it as suo moto – thanks to Iftikhar Choudhary). But the same news item gives simultaneously another impression that he took action on “complaint”. Who filed this complaint? Must be an aggrieved Pakistani in Dammam who is victim of non payment of salaries because otherwise today our Federal Ombudsman does not generally accept complaints if the complainant was not an aggrieved.
3. Whatever may be the case, I am sure all the Pakistanis suffering through the hands of 2-3 defaulting Saudi companies would soon get their dues as these companies knew well now that the matter was not just with the non caring Pakistani Embassy but with the Ombudsman Pakistan. And, as such, these companies would be afraid of in their act of mal administration. Reason being that the ombudsman system in Pakistan, as we the commoners are given to understand, is derived from the Islamic teachings and the Saudis are always careful and truly afraid of from accountability/honest justice which an Ombudsman (Qadhi) delivers there in Saudi Arabia.
4. However, this senior citizen based on his long practical experience is a bit worried. I don’t know exactly but in simple words have read that one approached his “Peer Sahib” explaining how he was under the burden of a loan of Rs. 100 which being too poor he saw no chance of ever paying back. Presenting a Rs. 2/- to “نذرانہ “ to his Peer Sahib, he humbly sought prayer from the Peer. Peer Sahib, as usual, muttered some “jinnatee” words and assured the poor man he now need no worry. The poor man had a chance to narrate it to Dr. Illama Iqbal showing his confidence that due to Peer Sahib his debit would be now be cleared. The reply from Dr. Illama Iqbal is very famous. Illama said “now you are under a debit of Rs. 102”.
5. Based on his repeated, repeat repeated, experience this senior citizen is, however, a bit worried about the complainant. If the cognizance is on a complaint, what the complainant would do when he would receive a Notice of Appearance for a Hearing in Pakistan (Islamabad?). Thus the complainant already having nothing, from where would he take about Rs. 2 lacs to travel to Pakistan to attend a Hearing? Since establishment of a special dedicated complaint cell for OPs in the Federal Ombudsman, almost invariably every Overseas Pakistani (OPs) complainant is summoned to attend a Hearing in Pakistan whether there is any remotest even Zero percent need or not. I wonder in such a case the complainant who is already in financial crisis, would travel to Pakistan to “get justice” which travel would need him Rs. 1.5 to Rs. 2 lac expense. Suppose he gets loan whereas in his present time hard days hardly anyone would afford him a sure an unrecoverable loan. What would happen if the Investigation Officer in the Ombudsman Office that Hearing day does not come to the Office? A friend of mine was summoned. He had 40 long years rich experience abroad as Head Accountant. Doing 2 plus 2, he decided to spend a few thousands on “sweets” rather than spending so much on travel to Pakistan. The Dealing Officer that hearing day was himself not present in the Hearing as my said friend later learnt. I was two month back summoned for a Hearing. My complaint was on the subject of non provision of a free of cost National Savings Form. I was summoned when the National Savings did not attend – to get a free of cost Form. Had I gone to Karachi o such a huge expense what would had happened? Come again after a few days?
6. Most senior intellectual late Irshad Ahmed Haqqani some 20 years back wrote his 2-series column entitled “Hamari Wazarat-e-Kharja ke سپوت”. He wrote that these سپوت in order to remain posted abroad, promotions or for getting extensions keep sending Islamabad جھوٹئ سچی reports of their invisible deeds and achievements. Almost somewhere same time I travelled on leave to Pakistan. On stopover in Dubai, new passengers for Karachi boarded amongst whom was an old face I knew him from Karachi. He seated with me. During routine courtesies I observed he was half minded and upset. He told me that his mother had asked him to bring one or two things which he thought he would purchase during the afternoon before going to the airport. He, however, could not do it as unexpectedly at the last moment he got an urgent assignment to prepare for the Pakistan Embassy the current month’s remittances figures. It surprised me. I asked him why had he to provide these figures to the Pakistani Embassy as he was the employee of the Bank. He told me every month this figure was provided to the Embassy.
7. If one Pakistani Bank was providing such information illegally to Pakistani Embassy in one country, the other Banks not just in Dubai but elsewhere must also be doing that!. But why should an Embassy need these figures?. As such when I came back to Bahrain, under curiosity I checked first with Habib Bank Bahrain. I could not believe my eyes seeing an official letter from the Embassy to the Bank advising it to provide monthly remittances figure. Later I checked this with UBL etc. Same was situation there. I went to two three private Exchange Companies and found the same situation there. I enquired from the Pakistani national Manager of one such Exchange Company that he was a private company why should he do such an illegal activity which if came to the knowledge of his company owner “Sheikh” he would immediately be arrested and deported. This Manager was here on deputation from MCB Karachi. Despite two decades or more I still remember his wording. He said “Javed Bhai, you know I am resident of Karachi. My wife is working in PIA. When initially I refused to comply with, my wife got transferred from Karachi to Peshawar.
8. Bhutto 1973-74 took military in Balouchistan, when those concerned Balouch tribal leaders with their tribesmen went up in the mountains. The educated ones having interest with history would recall that 1974-76 in the 07.45 pm daily national news bulletin on Radio Pakistan every alternate de there used to be a short news in the second segment that Sardar ABC Mengal with his 2500 tribesmen came down the mountains posing his confidence on Chairman Bhutto. Two days later came news that this time Sardar XYZ Mari with his 3000 tribesmen posing confidence on Chairman Bhutto climbed down the mountains and joined PPP. If all those two years “came down” figures is counted, it would cross the total Pakistan population then during 1974-77. All this news bulletin record is available in the Radio Pakistan archive unless like Swiss record taken husked away by Wajid Shamasul Haq or according to today’s TV Nadipur record has allegedly been burnt.
9. Since about 10 years almost monthly the nation learns of ever increasing remittances due to the favourable policies of the “government of the time”. Zardari Government continuously claimed it. Nawaz Sharif government more vehemently continuously claims it. Earlier only the concerned Ministers, State Bank and the Pakistani Embassies abroad attributed this achievement to their credit. Joined in it, later, Pakistan Remittance Initiative (PRI) created in the SBP only to provide jobs to dear ones joined in claiming that it was due to its taking birth. The fact is PRI has nothing whatsoever to do in all it except that it has some computers through computer all remittances are made to “pass” through. Yes, this practically worthless except in papers organization has done one job known publically viz, its officials were found indulged in some clandestine commission scandal investigation of which FIA started but as is usual in our beloved country which investigation would never get completed. Why should one remain behind. Lastly, in this band wagon, boarded the MD Overseas Pakistanis Foundation and final last the Federal Ombudsman Secretariat claiming their shares which enabled remittances increased and streamlined over which claim those who have little knowledge of remittances system can only laugh at.
10. What is the true naked fact about so much so often continuous repeated claim of “increase” in remittances? Those who are long resident abroad, like me since 33 years, particularly in the Middle East see the naked fact that since 15 years number of Pakistani workers in these countries is continuously decreasing due to increasing preference to the cheap Bangladeshi and Indian manpower. Cost of living in the Middle East has increased manifold. Earlier facilities like free education, full free medical/hospitalization has gone, subsidy on electricity finished causing huge rise in electricity, visa resident permits, licences fees manifold increased, postage upto 500% increased etc. New fees earlier never thought of, for example fee on airport porter are now paid by foreign workers. All this has reduced the any saving capacity of the majority of Pakistanis. So as to how mysteriously that much remittances to Pakistan were going from these countries? Independent circles after disclosure of Dubai properties and Pakistanis money stashed abroad now openly debate on channels that these mysterious remittances were in practice that money syphoned out from Pakistan and re-routed under the label of remittances back to Pakistan for tax exemption and whitening. An example of it is any Pakistani whether an account holder or a non account holder could in 1950 to end 1990s from Middle East was able to send a bank draft from any Pakistani Bank abroad. Since 10 years this facility has been restricted only to those who are account holders of these Pakistani banks like Habib or United Bank. Non account holder were totally refused bank draft facility. However under the so called PIN facility (known as TT) anyone can now send any amount to anyone in Pakistan irrespective if the beneficiary in Pakistan was a RAW agent, a drug pusher, a smuggler, representative of a terrorist group; only the beneficiary needed was a Pakistani ID Card (a genuine or fake, alien or whatsoever). When I raised this issue as a Human Right Petition with the SC, the response of the Bank through SC was that the transaction of a bank draft was not traceable while the TT was. At least I can’t be fooled.
11. Claiming every achievement to oneself worth of his salt is not restricted just to remittances. It is almost in every field. Take, for another example, claim of Pakistanis provided jobs abroad. Every concerned claims it to its achievement. Protector of Emigrants claims it with pride whereas it is a known fact today foreign government hardly demand manpower from Pakistan. Whoever is going abroad he is going abroad is due to efforts of his relatives/friends abroad. Every Pakistan going abroad whom his friend or relative sent a Visa from abroad under the law needs to approach the Protector of Emigrants, pay heavy amount for nothing, repeat it nothing remotest whatsoever except that the Protector puts an “official stamp” on his paper. As much stamps are put on papers, all are reported in Returns as Pakistanis having been provided jobs by Overseas Employment. On this Fid-ul-Fitr, His Majesty the King of Bahrain granted royal pardon to about 550 prisoners. This royal gesture is annual ritual on Eids and Bahrain National Day. The official hand out issued by the Government of Bahrain stated it was a royal pardon on the occasion of Eid to those who showed good conduct during their sentences. These 550 include Bahrainis, Pakistanis, Indians, Bangladeshis, Philippines and so on. None claimed it to his/its achievement except that Pakistan Foreign Office issued a Press Release ensuring that it gets invariably prominent space in newspapers stating this release of prisoners were due to “efforts of Pakistani Mission/Ambassador”. I tried my best to find similar press release “claim of achievement” from one or two other countries but could not find one.
12. All the victims in Dammam Saudi Arabia, or the one who filed a complaint with the Federal Ombudsman, one day surely would get their salaries/dues, fully or partially or a little relief in some other form, it would be to ALL victims and not just to Pakistanis only. But this senior citizen would eagerly await to amuse himself, and INSHALLAH he would soon in the future have the opportunity to smile at, as to who and who in Pakistan and how many viz Pakistani Ambassador in Saudi personally, Embassy, Foreign Office, OPF, Overseas Pakistanis Minister, Protector of Immigrants, Federal Ombudsman, Grievance Commissioner for OPs, Commissioner of OPs – one of them or ALL, decorate the feather in their caps true to Ghalib کچھ نہ سمجھے خدا کرے کوئی .
PS: While this senior citizen was ending it, came the footing on talk show “The Reporters 08/09/2016” that in Mecca thousands of Pakistanis arrested are being kept in camps and no one was caring to look
10 September 2016.
How heartening and of pride it was for this senior citizen reading that the Honourable Federal Ombudsman “on complaint” has taken up the issue of present severe crisis thousands of Overseas Pakistanis (OPs) were in, in Saudi Arabia. The Pakistanis working in Dammam since some months did not get their salaries. An anchor said his channel contacted the Secretary Foreign Affairs, Overseas Pakistanis Foundation and the Pakistani Ambassador in Saudi Arabia but with no response from these three.
2. The Federal Ombudsman has fixed a Hearing and summoned Foreign Secretary. The plain reading of the news item causes a little confusion. It reads that the Honourable Ombudsman took “cognizance” of the matter which in simple words means that on knowing the gravity of the situation through say the newspapers, talk shows, TV/Radio news, as kind as an ombudsman is supposed to be took, he took a notice (today layman knows it as suo moto – thanks to Iftikhar Choudhary). But the same news item gives simultaneously another impression that he took action on “complaint”. Who filed this complaint? Must be an aggrieved Pakistani in Dammam who is victim of non payment of salaries because otherwise today our Federal Ombudsman does not generally accept complaints if the complainant was not an aggrieved.
3. Whatever may be the case, I am sure all the Pakistanis suffering through the hands of 2-3 defaulting Saudi companies would soon get their dues as these companies knew well now that the matter was not just with the non caring Pakistani Embassy but with the Ombudsman Pakistan. And, as such, these companies would be afraid of in their act of mal administration. Reason being that the ombudsman system in Pakistan, as we the commoners are given to understand, is derived from the Islamic teachings and the Saudis are always careful and truly afraid of from accountability/honest justice which an Ombudsman (Qadhi) delivers there in Saudi Arabia.
4. However, this senior citizen based on his long practical experience is a bit worried. I don’t know exactly but in simple words have read that one approached his “Peer Sahib” explaining how he was under the burden of a loan of Rs. 100 which being too poor he saw no chance of ever paying back. Presenting a Rs. 2/- to “نذرانہ “ to his Peer Sahib, he humbly sought prayer from the Peer. Peer Sahib, as usual, muttered some “jinnatee” words and assured the poor man he now need no worry. The poor man had a chance to narrate it to Dr. Illama Iqbal showing his confidence that due to Peer Sahib his debit would be now be cleared. The reply from Dr. Illama Iqbal is very famous. Illama said “now you are under a debit of Rs. 102”.
5. Based on his repeated, repeat repeated, experience this senior citizen is, however, a bit worried about the complainant. If the cognizance is on a complaint, what the complainant would do when he would receive a Notice of Appearance for a Hearing in Pakistan (Islamabad?). Thus the complainant already having nothing, from where would he take about Rs. 2 lacs to travel to Pakistan to attend a Hearing? Since establishment of a special dedicated complaint cell for OPs in the Federal Ombudsman, almost invariably every Overseas Pakistani (OPs) complainant is summoned to attend a Hearing in Pakistan whether there is any remotest even Zero percent need or not. I wonder in such a case the complainant who is already in financial crisis, would travel to Pakistan to “get justice” which travel would need him Rs. 1.5 to Rs. 2 lac expense. Suppose he gets loan whereas in his present time hard days hardly anyone would afford him a sure an unrecoverable loan. What would happen if the Investigation Officer in the Ombudsman Office that Hearing day does not come to the Office? A friend of mine was summoned. He had 40 long years rich experience abroad as Head Accountant. Doing 2 plus 2, he decided to spend a few thousands on “sweets” rather than spending so much on travel to Pakistan. The Dealing Officer that hearing day was himself not present in the Hearing as my said friend later learnt. I was two month back summoned for a Hearing. My complaint was on the subject of non provision of a free of cost National Savings Form. I was summoned when the National Savings did not attend – to get a free of cost Form. Had I gone to Karachi o such a huge expense what would had happened? Come again after a few days?
6. Most senior intellectual late Irshad Ahmed Haqqani some 20 years back wrote his 2-series column entitled “Hamari Wazarat-e-Kharja ke سپوت”. He wrote that these سپوت in order to remain posted abroad, promotions or for getting extensions keep sending Islamabad جھوٹئ سچی reports of their invisible deeds and achievements. Almost somewhere same time I travelled on leave to Pakistan. On stopover in Dubai, new passengers for Karachi boarded amongst whom was an old face I knew him from Karachi. He seated with me. During routine courtesies I observed he was half minded and upset. He told me that his mother had asked him to bring one or two things which he thought he would purchase during the afternoon before going to the airport. He, however, could not do it as unexpectedly at the last moment he got an urgent assignment to prepare for the Pakistan Embassy the current month’s remittances figures. It surprised me. I asked him why had he to provide these figures to the Pakistani Embassy as he was the employee of the Bank. He told me every month this figure was provided to the Embassy.
7. If one Pakistani Bank was providing such information illegally to Pakistani Embassy in one country, the other Banks not just in Dubai but elsewhere must also be doing that!. But why should an Embassy need these figures?. As such when I came back to Bahrain, under curiosity I checked first with Habib Bank Bahrain. I could not believe my eyes seeing an official letter from the Embassy to the Bank advising it to provide monthly remittances figure. Later I checked this with UBL etc. Same was situation there. I went to two three private Exchange Companies and found the same situation there. I enquired from the Pakistani national Manager of one such Exchange Company that he was a private company why should he do such an illegal activity which if came to the knowledge of his company owner “Sheikh” he would immediately be arrested and deported. This Manager was here on deputation from MCB Karachi. Despite two decades or more I still remember his wording. He said “Javed Bhai, you know I am resident of Karachi. My wife is working in PIA. When initially I refused to comply with, my wife got transferred from Karachi to Peshawar.
8. Bhutto 1973-74 took military in Balouchistan, when those concerned Balouch tribal leaders with their tribesmen went up in the mountains. The educated ones having interest with history would recall that 1974-76 in the 07.45 pm daily national news bulletin on Radio Pakistan every alternate de there used to be a short news in the second segment that Sardar ABC Mengal with his 2500 tribesmen came down the mountains posing his confidence on Chairman Bhutto. Two days later came news that this time Sardar XYZ Mari with his 3000 tribesmen posing confidence on Chairman Bhutto climbed down the mountains and joined PPP. If all those two years “came down” figures is counted, it would cross the total Pakistan population then during 1974-77. All this news bulletin record is available in the Radio Pakistan archive unless like Swiss record taken husked away by Wajid Shamasul Haq or according to today’s TV Nadipur record has allegedly been burnt.
9. Since about 10 years almost monthly the nation learns of ever increasing remittances due to the favourable policies of the “government of the time”. Zardari Government continuously claimed it. Nawaz Sharif government more vehemently continuously claims it. Earlier only the concerned Ministers, State Bank and the Pakistani Embassies abroad attributed this achievement to their credit. Joined in it, later, Pakistan Remittance Initiative (PRI) created in the SBP only to provide jobs to dear ones joined in claiming that it was due to its taking birth. The fact is PRI has nothing whatsoever to do in all it except that it has some computers through computer all remittances are made to “pass” through. Yes, this practically worthless except in papers organization has done one job known publically viz, its officials were found indulged in some clandestine commission scandal investigation of which FIA started but as is usual in our beloved country which investigation would never get completed. Why should one remain behind. Lastly, in this band wagon, boarded the MD Overseas Pakistanis Foundation and final last the Federal Ombudsman Secretariat claiming their shares which enabled remittances increased and streamlined over which claim those who have little knowledge of remittances system can only laugh at.
10. What is the true naked fact about so much so often continuous repeated claim of “increase” in remittances? Those who are long resident abroad, like me since 33 years, particularly in the Middle East see the naked fact that since 15 years number of Pakistani workers in these countries is continuously decreasing due to increasing preference to the cheap Bangladeshi and Indian manpower. Cost of living in the Middle East has increased manifold. Earlier facilities like free education, full free medical/hospitalization has gone, subsidy on electricity finished causing huge rise in electricity, visa resident permits, licences fees manifold increased, postage upto 500% increased etc. New fees earlier never thought of, for example fee on airport porter are now paid by foreign workers. All this has reduced the any saving capacity of the majority of Pakistanis. So as to how mysteriously that much remittances to Pakistan were going from these countries? Independent circles after disclosure of Dubai properties and Pakistanis money stashed abroad now openly debate on channels that these mysterious remittances were in practice that money syphoned out from Pakistan and re-routed under the label of remittances back to Pakistan for tax exemption and whitening. An example of it is any Pakistani whether an account holder or a non account holder could in 1950 to end 1990s from Middle East was able to send a bank draft from any Pakistani Bank abroad. Since 10 years this facility has been restricted only to those who are account holders of these Pakistani banks like Habib or United Bank. Non account holder were totally refused bank draft facility. However under the so called PIN facility (known as TT) anyone can now send any amount to anyone in Pakistan irrespective if the beneficiary in Pakistan was a RAW agent, a drug pusher, a smuggler, representative of a terrorist group; only the beneficiary needed was a Pakistani ID Card (a genuine or fake, alien or whatsoever). When I raised this issue as a Human Right Petition with the SC, the response of the Bank through SC was that the transaction of a bank draft was not traceable while the TT was. At least I can’t be fooled.
11. Claiming every achievement to oneself worth of his salt is not restricted just to remittances. It is almost in every field. Take, for another example, claim of Pakistanis provided jobs abroad. Every concerned claims it to its achievement. Protector of Emigrants claims it with pride whereas it is a known fact today foreign government hardly demand manpower from Pakistan. Whoever is going abroad he is going abroad is due to efforts of his relatives/friends abroad. Every Pakistan going abroad whom his friend or relative sent a Visa from abroad under the law needs to approach the Protector of Emigrants, pay heavy amount for nothing, repeat it nothing remotest whatsoever except that the Protector puts an “official stamp” on his paper. As much stamps are put on papers, all are reported in Returns as Pakistanis having been provided jobs by Overseas Employment. On this Fid-ul-Fitr, His Majesty the King of Bahrain granted royal pardon to about 550 prisoners. This royal gesture is annual ritual on Eids and Bahrain National Day. The official hand out issued by the Government of Bahrain stated it was a royal pardon on the occasion of Eid to those who showed good conduct during their sentences. These 550 include Bahrainis, Pakistanis, Indians, Bangladeshis, Philippines and so on. None claimed it to his/its achievement except that Pakistan Foreign Office issued a Press Release ensuring that it gets invariably prominent space in newspapers stating this release of prisoners were due to “efforts of Pakistani Mission/Ambassador”. I tried my best to find similar press release “claim of achievement” from one or two other countries but could not find one.
12. All the victims in Dammam Saudi Arabia, or the one who filed a complaint with the Federal Ombudsman, one day surely would get their salaries/dues, fully or partially or a little relief in some other form, it would be to ALL victims and not just to Pakistanis only. But this senior citizen would eagerly await to amuse himself, and INSHALLAH he would soon in the future have the opportunity to smile at, as to who and who in Pakistan and how many viz Pakistani Ambassador in Saudi personally, Embassy, Foreign Office, OPF, Overseas Pakistanis Minister, Protector of Immigrants, Federal Ombudsman, Grievance Commissioner for OPs, Commissioner of OPs – one of them or ALL, decorate the feather in their caps true to Ghalib کچھ نہ سمجھے خدا کرے کوئی .
PS: While this senior citizen was ending it, came the footing on talk show “The Reporters 08/09/2016” that in Mecca thousands of Pakistanis arrested are being kept in camps and no one was caring to look