Pakistan to Apologise for 1971 Killings

We can ship our goods destined for the central asian countries to Karachi or Gwaddar in Pakistan, from where it can go on road or rail to the destinations through Afghanistan. However, to get this facility we need a friendly relationship with Pakistan, and the cost of transport will be very high comparing to a direct overland route via India.

On the contrary, if there is no road/rail link between BD and Pak through India, Pakistan does not get the short time and low cost benefit of its trade through BD to the ASEAN countries. In that case, Pakistan will have to do this trade via a long, time consuming and costly sea route, the same as it is now.

Miya! Dekho aisa hai ko wo sab to theke hai ,but pak-bangla railway service mumkin nahi hai ,due to security tamb jamp,to better aap wo bath kare jo possible hai like paying mere transit fees to india and get a possible export to middle east from superb gujrat ports, kaya bolte ho kab ki ticket book karo ?

You mean this?

Musharraf apology to Bangladesh - Telegraph

Its probably understandable if some in Bangladesh consider it inadequate.
Inadequate? It was more than an apology, it expressed regret!

It can be said again, there's no issue to it, just that an apology shouldn't be demanded. Pakistan has nothing forcing it to apologize other than our own will to better ties with Bangladesh and that has to be recognized.

I think Pakistan should do it once more as part of a song, dance and tango. But it should be a joint statement where as soon as Pak apologizes, the BD government must acknowledge it so that no one asks for a do-over again and again.

Or better do it in writing and take BD's forgiveness in writing too. Its silly, since everyone knows we're sorry for it, but if they want the whole show, then give them the show - just once more.

There is HUGE difference between 'regret' and 'apology' in diplomatic terms! ;)

Anyway, I think Pakistan should apologies and BD should acknowledge and both of them should resolve the issue amicably!

Yeah we say sorry, they arent satisfied, and neither are we, so a war starts again?
lol!
Its better to forget about the past and move on to the future!
If you wana have past in your hearts, then better learn from it instead of regretting!

As Abir said, there is a gulf of a difference between 'apology' and 'regret', particularly so, when it is worded in a way to dilute culpability. What the Bangladeshis want is an acknowledgment of the guilt - which is what an apology implies - and not a 'regret' for 'excesses committed during the unfortunate period'.

In any case, a speech by Musharraf doesn't qualify as official acknowledgment of GoP unless it is legally vetted in the Pakistani Senate.

PS: Many are recommending a convenient amnesia of '71. I wonder why.

An apology... which should be widely televised and exchange of teachers/intellecutals from the two countries... military delegation visiting... war exercises together... Business deals and pacts to be formed... defence pacts also (in case India attacks Pakistan, BD will attack India)...

all of this however requires better people than zardari and hasina wajid at both ends...

convenient amnesia is no good and it should be discussed and taught that nationalism of the kind that happened with BD and Pakistan eventually lead nations to disasters...

I don't know why Indians are trying to meddle in this matter. Pakistan has apologized and it has made public in many occasions. Its the same as saying the jamaat leaders aren't apologizing, though they have in every chance they got. The mistake the awami is they are demanding attention and really wants pakistan to look bad. Although they have apologized in multiple occasions, hasinas attitude is very demeaning. and she knows for a fact this will never resolve anything. Any one who read the book "amar fashi chai" knows this true traits of awami characters.

and give apology to indian stooge government awami league, the bengalis are being murdered by indian force, while hasina the is going to recieve award in india, the same hasnia wajid who hates pakistan, her father hated pakistan and conspired against it with india??????? even bengalis members here like al-zakir, idune, skies, mbimunshi dislike this awami government then who are we pakistanis to bow to our foreheads and issue apology to them..

not simply fcuking possible

pakistan should wait until this time bengladesh apologises for murdering pakistani patriots there.. no more apologies now

we would like to apologise if a pakistan friendly govt there demands it..

Will Bangladesh apologize for conspiracy and act of treason by Mukti Bahini as well murder of several west-Pakistan people stationed there??

PA effectively broke the back of so called Mukti Bahini and its leaders ran crying to India after which it felt necessary to interfere for support its allies. Name is what ever excuse you can!

Will Bangladesh apologize for conspiracy and act of treason by Mukti Bahini as well murder of several west-Pakistan people stationed there??

PA effectively broke the back of so called Mukti Bahini and its leaders ran crying to India after which it felt necessary to interfere for support its allies. Name is what ever excuse you can!

Lets not loose ground here. Yes, I support Pakistan in every aspect when they don't want to apologize to awami led government. However, a murder of few pakistani people stationed there had more to the story than your trying to imply and secondly thats no excuse to kill thousands of people overnight. And if im not wrong, the main contribution of Mukti Bahini was during the war and they are a group of extremely courageous men who has fought for the independence of this country.

One thing can be done. Open a new website for polling where only Pakistani People will vote for whether they should officially apologize or not, whether they think this issue seriously or not, what kind of relation they want to see with BD. That will show the percentage of willingness.

Make sure that only people from Pakistan have the access (only allowing IPs from PK) to that site for voting.

Buffering: :lol:

Suppose we will alive another 20 years. So if we can make a brotherly relation from now then we will see more development together. Otherwise, may be another 20 years will pass away but we will remain unchanged which can not be happen anyway. We should use our every possibilities together as brother and as Eastwatch Bhai told we should take the access to central Asia via PK.

An Indian can have opinions too. Just check in the begining of the thread. You'll know who dragged India's name in to this topic.

BTW, I think apologizing will bring a closure to that chapter and Pakistan will be seen as a mature and broad minded.

while i acknowledge that many wrongs were committed by ALL parties & beliggerants, there are 2 chief reasons why I personally don't think an apology is warranted

a.) eastern wing became seperate country; it was a victory to Bengalis who from the very beginning were keen on a seperate ethnic homeland (not a victory for our enemy)

b.) it need not even be mentioned the SCORES of Pakistanis, Pro-Pakistani Bengalis, Biharis, Islamists, etc. who were BUTCHERED (literally, butchered) by indian-backed mukti bahini terrorists --who employed means of killing which would make methods used by TTP pale in comparison

we are in 2010 now....our relations with Bangladesh is quite warm, and i would hope that there is further increase in commercial activity and cooperation --especially in field of defence

by the way, is this reported in any other news outlet --or is this another indian garbage propaganda net blog article