Pakistan collapsing from within

xataxsata

Pakistan collapsing from within

Editor’s note: Javid Ahmad, a native of Kabul, is program coordinator with the Asia program of the German Marshall Fund of the United States.

Mashail Malik, a native of Islamabad, is a graduate student at the University of Chicago. The views expressed in this article are solely those of Javid Ahmad and Mashail Malik.

By Javid Ahmad and Mashail Malik, Special to CNN

Tensions that flare between Pakistan's ineffective civilian government and influential judiciary reached an all-time high last week when the country’s Supreme Court disqualified Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani from holding office.

The unprecedented ruling came less than two months after Gilani was charged with contempt for his refusal to ask the Swiss government to reopen corruption charges facing President Asif Ali Zardari. It was followed days later by parliament electing a replacement, Raja Pervez Ashraf, who has also been accused of corruption in the past.

These recent developments signify the deep rift between Pakistan's different internal institutions. Pakistan’s civilian government, the powerful military, the increasingly active judiciary, and the many opposition groups in the country are juggling varied and often deeply conflicting agendas.

One thing these internal forces have in common is that each wants to be at the center stage of Pakistan's political structure, and each wants to win the frustrated population's support. The cost of this power struggle, however, seems to be given little consideration by the players involved.

After Gilani was convicted, the speaker of Pakistan's parliament maintained that only parliament had the authority to disqualify Gilani from his post. But this did not stop the judiciary from ordering the Election Commission to declare him ineligible.

Both sides say they are defending Pakistan's nascent democracy, a claim that is also generously thrown around by members of other groups, including the influential military and the loud opposition. But by convicting a sitting prime minister, the Supreme Court has strongly challenged a long-standing unofficial tenet in Pakistan: those who rule are above the rule of law.

However, there is also the question of whether it is really the duty of the Supreme Court to take up a cause of dubious constitutional validity. (If Gilani had acquiesced to the court's demand to call on Swiss authorities, he would have directly violated the constitution, which clearly stipulates presidential immunity.)

The worry is that the court is overstepping its bounds and encroaching on to parliament and executive territory. The move, dubbed by some as a "judicial coup," is just another example of an unelected body directly challenging a democratically elected government in a fledgling democracy.

It would be imprudent to say that one side or the other is evidently right. But what is evident is what this conflict represents: a Pakistani state that is being pulled in different directions by internal forces catering to conflicting agendas, and where it is increasingly unclear where the real decision-making power rests. Gilani's removal in such turbulent times only intensifies the inter-institutional standoff that has characterized much of Pakistan's history.

Now what does all this mean for Pakistan and its allies?

This internal spectacle will likely affect negotiations with the U.S. over pressing issues such as the reopening of NATO supply routes. If the civilian government wants to make any serious concessions, the opposition will likely criticize the government and add to its already deep unpopularity. The government might then let the fear of this backlash impact their decision-making.

Also, the step taken by the Supreme Court epitomizes a wider, dangerous and historical trend in Pakistan: weak civilian governments find it difficult to command legitimacy and are constantly challenged by other internal institutions.

History repeats itself all the time in Pakistan, and this is not a good sign for a country where the average time an elected government stays in power is less than two years. In a relatively stable democracy, several institutions serve as checks and balances on one another. Pakistan, however, is a land of extremes — scarcely anything survives in the country without morphing into a dangerously virulent version of itself. The government is getting weaker and more ineffective, the judiciary is taking its activism up a notch, the opposition is getting louder and more obstructive by the minute, and so on.

In a country facing an economic crisis, an energy crisis and a growing population that far outstrips available resources, internal political strife is a time-consuming, distracting and often dangerous business.

In Pakistan, the news of Gilani's dismissal made it amply clear that the general population has gradually lost hope over the past decade. Hardly anyone seemed shocked, and not many cared either way.

"It means nothing," one becomes used to hearing. "Someone else will come in and do an equally terrible job."

Many people took to the streets over electricity shortages, not because the prime minister — considered by many to be a mere figurehead — was removed from office.

Such apathy is bad news for any country. But in all this chaos, there is still the opportunity to learn. Pakistani leaders should ponder that.

Pakistan collapsing from within – Global Public Square - CNN.com Blogs

lolz

it was 26 June 1975 if you guys remember what your primeminister did when court ordered against him ?you guys remember what indra did with Allahabad High Court judges Jagmohanlal Sinha and others when they found the Prime Minister guilty on the charge of misuse of government machinery for her election campaign. The court declared her election null and void and unseated her from her seat in the Lok Sabha. The court also banned her from contesting any election for an additional six years. Some serious charges such as bribing voters and election malpractices were dropped and she was held responsible for misusing the government machinery, and found guilty on charges such as using the state police to build a dais, availing the services of a government officer, Yashpal Kapoor, during times of India the elections before he had resigned from his position, and use of electricity from the state electricity department.

wht indra did ????????

Indian Emergency of 26 June 1975 – 21 March 1977 was a 21-month period

while we here in pakistan did it 1000s time better send home gillani obey court orders and make new PM

stop bashing us please kids . we are here will be here always .

mein jab 10 saal ka tha tou mein nay 9 o clock news per suna k Pakistan tareekh kay aik nazuk mor say guzar raha hai...

lolz

it was 26 June 1975 if you guys remember what your primeminister did when court ordered against him ?you guys remember what indra did with Allahabad High Court judges Jagmohanlal Sinha and others when they found the Prime Minister guilty on the charge of misuse of government machinery for her election campaign. The court declared her election null and void and unseated her from her seat in the Lok Sabha. The court also banned her from contesting any election for an additional six years. Some serious charges such as bribing voters and election malpractices were dropped and she was held responsible for misusing the government machinery, and found guilty on charges such as using the state police to build a dais, availing the services of a government officer, Yashpal Kapoor, during times of India the elections before he had resigned from his position, and use of electricity from the state electricity department.

wht indra did ????????

while we here in pakistan did it 1000s time better send home gillani obey court orders and make new PM

The actual logical comparison will be if Zardari or Kayani is dismissed by courts will they transfer power in peaceful way.

Kayani yes. Zardari No. Kayani is a Gentleman, Not a single controversy erupted against him about his misuse of Power, his misconduct, his lavish habits, His dictator mindset. People behind Kayani are all educated and have deep sense of understanding about Pakistani current situation so Kayani will peacefully transfer power to next Person.

Whatever said about Kayani, reverse that , and it will be applied on Zardari

I think the INDIANs are winning the War which they names "COLD START" and I think their winning is driven by our poor condition in every way. The people whether from Karachi or Khyber aren't happy just because of many facts that not just some local powers but also the whole establishment is fighting against us and they are fighting against the locals and the militants are hiding and foreign powers are supporting them.

can you guys do the same with kayani???

Didn't the same happened with Gen Karamat, who resigned.

Not all Generals of PA are the same and Kayani is also a lot different then Ayub, Zia & Musharaf.

I am not sure what's the point of Indians bringing in Kayani when the guy has let the PPP govt go on for nearly now 5 years with its record breaking corruption, and God knows so many other things. He has been doing his own business, but still some on our side and Indians especially bring him into such discussions, while he has done nothing to be brought in such discussions.

lolz

wht indra did ????????

First your post is offtopic, second that was 1975 and today is 2012 and Indira dint win next election and emergency declaration was in her powers ( but a bad decision indeed).
and please dont talk about your judiciary we know how u hanged ZAB.
so dont get involved in mudslinging discuss ontopic, for every one incident in India we will get 10 more to counter in Pakistan. so stop there.

Imran bhai aap history bi janthey hey !! Aap ka jawaab nahi ...

First your post is offtopic, second that was 1975 and today is 2012 and Indira dint win next election and emergency declaration was in her powers ( but a bad decision indeed).
and please dont talk about your judiciary we know how u hanged ZAB.
so dont get involved in mudslinging discuss ontopic, for every one incident in India we will get 10 more to counter in Pakistan. so stop there.

lolz kid we both face same situation look now how pakistan handle it and how india handle it .if that emergencies days india was never fall apart now pakistan will also never fall .simple logic .

Stop that lolz kid :P

See, the comparison should be amongst equals. Indira acted like a dictator and if I remember, she was the only one in India who did so.

Whereas in Pakistan, we have new dictators coming every decade.

Guess what, in India, we did protests, Jail Bharo Andolan and threw her out in 21 months.

In Pakistan, dictators come, rule, enjoy, and then, IF THEY WISH, leave the power. No protest. No Jail Bharo andolan. NOTHING.

See, we both face same situation. Look now how Indian public handles it and how Pakistani public handles it.