NOT VERIFIED: Pakistan Catholics protest after abduction, forced marriage of 13 year-old Catholic girl

Something seriously wrong with Pakistan society and courts as this is too regular a occurrence. 13 with 44 year old.
And not from some remote village but in the heart of Karachi.
Court allowing legal child abuse on a regular basis.
Shameful.
This news includes fake information about girl age and statement etc. In this regards India is the worst society in the world . if there is such a single case in Pakistan then there are more than 100 cases in India. All non-Hindu minorities in India, including Muslims, Christians and Sikhs, are victims of Indian state terrorism.

Minorities of Pakistan are cowards. Its time for Christians and Hindus living in Pakistan to be more aggressive towards the majority muslim community.
They are isolated in a sea of opposition. And with negligible international outcry.
Outcry is based on perception.
So India with its pacifist and democratic image attracts a lot of attention for incidents of violence. BBC is carrying out a systematic campaign against india but youtubers have put a spoke in their propaganda.
But countries with violent images and stereotypes, no names, don't invite outrage, as the violence is expected from them. The viewer or reader sees such news from these countries and doesn't blink a eye . Because its expected.
Eg China. It might be a repressive regime on par par with north korea but its treated normally because firstly for its obedient labour but more importantly because everyone thinks oh commie country. Par for the course.
So a identity card like aadhaar in India attracts a lot of flak from domestic and international groups for privacy invasion but a similar card in our neighborhood or china, no issues.

The other side is that we believe a 13 year old kid indeed married a 44 year old guy.
That side is not legally acceptable or morally.
We already have people on this thread justifying the act saying she's post puberty. This place is a cesspool.
Marriage age of most Pakistanis is also around this, perhaps a bit lower like 19-27.

There is a disconnect with diaspora Pakistanis and liberal Pakistanis, who live a parallel culture and rarely interact with rural Pakistanis or poor Pakistanis.

They don't understand that this is a part of the culture in many communities.

Those implying some sexual pleasure or motive of this poor man should ashamed. He has given her dignity and married her, inspite of her young age. He made a sacrifice to help a convert to Islam, the same sacrifice made by his first wife and the rest of his family.

We Pakistanis are a very religious conservative society, our heart bleeds for Islam. Many of us will marry young and old converts to help them in financial situations, even when they are not in their prime as women.

It is disgusting to imply such things. Media trials need to end. Shame also on the show put on by the parents. It is obvious this emancipated woman just wants to move on with her life.

They know they can pressure a change of judgement via media trial.

However I believe that this case, just like the Sikh convert to Islam, will be another disappointment for liberals.
Ek baat batao mere bhai.

Baghair wali ke nikah kese hogaya? Jab uska baap zinda hai tou koi aur wali bhi nahi ban sakta.

There is so much fakery on womens rights in Pakistan. Even if the marriage is legit and between couples of different religious background, its highlighted to create a bad and negative image of Pakistan.

The birth certificates and registration documents of this girl are photo sopped and fake. Dont trust everything that comes through social media especially when it comes on themes like 'girl abduction and marriage', 'military', 'Baloch rights', 'missing persons'. These are all deliberate pressure points.

I foresee more social, political and indirect or direct international pressure on Pakistan in coming years as Pakistan has taken a firm stand on Israel. We know how and who does the best job at spinning news and create propaganda.

Something seriously wrong with Pakistan society and courts as this is too regular a occurrence. 13 with 44 year old.
And not from some remote village but in the heart of Karachi.
Court allowing legal child abuse on a regular basis.
Shameful.

What is wrong if the girl has attained maturity and is in love to marry him?

since you asked my point of view so my answer is that I am not as sure as you are. I cant tell about her age for certain. to me she is a minor.

is she young? Yes
how young is she? dont know
did she leave her home with her consent? dont think so
is she first such case in the Islamic Republic of Pure? No
have the victims of the past incidents received any justice in this country? No
will similar incidents continue to happen? yes unfortunately.
should we blame Islam over these incidents of forced conversions? No
should we blame out local customs and abuse of religion for our sinful deeds? yes definitely

her age and consent is irrelevant. what is relevant is that she belongs to a weak minority family. because of that my fellow countrymen that belong to majority faith of Pakistan will justify this abduction.
God forbid if the roles were reversed and a Muslim girl was abducted by a Christian man and converted to Christianity , then the entire Christian colony would've been torched. their relatives lynched by the faithful. and the culprit male killed on spot or in custody.

Spot on, we've already seen justifications for it e.g. she's an adult in Islam, the courts are ok with it, she can make decisions.
She's in bridal dress so makeup is not for the purpose to hide tender age. Hence the theory of any design is out of the window.

This marriage is endorsed by the courts and i see nothing wrong religiously.
Although, I have seen religiously incorrect marriages celebrated in Pakistan and world media... so i take media writeup with pinch of salt, specially when her parents are wired to Christian right groups daily busy maligning Pakistan.

I have friends, who had Christian mother, his parents had turbulent start but today the children are grownup and relationship with brother sisters of mother are normalized. It's just a temporary boil for the conversion reasons, but than every one has right to his belief system as long it does not disturb others, age is non issue... as an example, Hazrat Ali was a child when he was convinced of Mohammad saw, but in Pakistan we have a legal cover for that too.

What is not right..... that in Christian families of Pakistan, parents brain wash their children against Muslims. Just to preserve their religion, and keep their children from any potential conversion or change in belief but that's not limited to Christians, Hindus does that, Sikhs does that and some so called Islamic sects. does that too.

As far age difference goes, it may not be normal, not seemingly right socially but we can't rule out the possibilities. Specially in circumstance where she converted.

I can already quote an interesting example, when a known philanderer and a father of a child, married to Jemaima Gold Smith, he was also in mid 40's, while she was around 18... i hope the subject case didn't turn out with same ending (May Allah protect the girl in OP).

So she stayed in bridal dress all this time did she, just to shoot the video? Nope and very few will buy it. She's been clearly dressed up.
Next, which courts are ok with it and why? The legal marriage age is 18, her 'documents' have clear inaccuracies.
I can understand taking the media with a pinch of salt but this has happened far too many times now.
I haven't come across Christian families who brainwash their kids against Islam. But there may be some, however the its bearing on this case is limited. Their daughter has gone missing all of a sudden.
As for Jemima she was 21 when she married, not 18 or even near it.

Islamic laws (Sharia) are the modern laws and very much applicable in a modern Islamic society.
Of course. And so is living in a primitive society forever in cycle of ignorance, poverty and for many a death of thousand cuts or life of a dog. But that is all fine. After all the strong, enterprising can always jump on back of truck to Turkey and then the secular pagan societies in the West.

However, Raymond Davis being a non-Muslim killed the victims deliberately and not by accident, therefore provision of compensation is questionable according to various Islamic schools of Sunni as well Shia origin.
However, as you clearly convey in your post the fact is according to some Raymond was re;leased according to that very Sharia Law. And there are many "Raymonds" only they never get the piblicity. Being American the blood money was counted in million dollars. Within Pakistan regularly the poor are culled and then the families forced to accept blood money. This is traversity of injustice. For a poor family to lose a relative and then get forced by their poverty and position in society to accept blood money. This being entirely Islam and touted as Sharia success by our mullahs and their apologists.

But then fir fools it is a cycle of never learning and repeating the same mistakes, again and again.

And in large parts of Europe the age of consent can be as low as 14.

Different laws in different countries. In Pakistan, according to Wikipedia, it is consent upon marriage which is usually 16 and up. Hence the question, was the marriage legally registered?

13 and 16 is a difference

my bad - I did not realize the law varied from state to state. What a mess. I live in a state where minimum age is 16. In any case if the bride is below 18 the bridgegroom cannot be more than 3 years older. There is an issue of parental consent

This may be true. However even a 13 year old is considered an adult in Islam and capable to make her own choices.

She converted to Islam and felt unsafe at home, so she ran away to marry a Muslim.

I have seen this scenario play out in the West also.

Judges made their decision based mostly on what she wants and what she considers best for her.

The liberal media and Indians want her to go back and leave Islam, but Pakistan will never allow it.

There are certain minimum expectations of an Islamic state, protecting converts is one of them.

You' light skinned ' Arab lookalike who you claim Latin Americans dance for you, lol. Professional liar you are who has not left your ancestral home on the Ganges.

This is our Ghar Wapsi, deal with it.

In the case of conversion to Islam, we cannot give her up. She is particularly vulnerable to psychological and mental abuse from her parents who want to revert her back to disbelief.

There are still places in Pakistan where marriage between grown men and young girls around this age are common.

Among poor, it is even more common. Not because of abuse or anything like that, but girls mature faster in certain environments and are considered women at a younger age.

One of my Pakistani physician friends in the hospital here married his wife when he was 22 and she was 12, they are from KP. It is common in many parts of Pakistan.

You are going to far too protect your Pres. Macron, who is Gustakh e Rasool saws.

No one cared about Macron marrying his teacher and his affiar w her her (while she was married and had kids older than him,) until he insulted Islam and defended blasphemy.

A gross misrepresentation of both Islam, Pakistan, and also this incident.

Bruh, when did you become a Liberal.

------

This thread is one sided, it deserves the other side's view. @Iltutmish @Zarvan @Psychic @Areesh @Reichsmarschall @PakFactor @Musings @Marker @PAKISTANFOREVER @21st Century Vampire @Itachi @Ahtisham Ullah Karamat @Desert Fox @The Accountant @The Eagle @Morpheus

In this day and age there is no way a 13 year old can be legally classed as an adult. They don't have the mental and emotional faculties of an adult. Just because a girl has periods does not make her an adult. Some girls start menstruation at age 8 or 9.

my bad - I did not realize the law varied from state to state. What a mess. I live in a state where minimum age is 16. In any case if the bride is below 18 the bridgegroom cannot be more than 3 years older. There is an issue of parental consent

Hence, enforce the laws on the books. If 16 is the minimum age of marriage then we need to find out if the marriage was even registered. I end it here by saying, the police must investigate and ascertain the facts, and the justice system must act on the findings by the police, either way.

However, as you clearly convey in your post the fact is according to some Raymond was re;leased according to that very Sharia Law. And there are many "Raymonds" only they never get the piblicity. Being American the blood money was counted in million dollars. Within Pakistan regularly the poor are culled and then the families forced to accept blood money. This is traversity of injustice. For a poor family to lose a relative and then get forced by their poverty and position in society to accept blood money. This being entirely Islam and touted as Sharia success by our mullahs and their apologists.
You should have proof or evidence that the decision of taking blood money by the victim's relatives was forced upon them. Accusation without any evidence is simply a invalid statement just to create hype.

There is a possibility that the relatives were given incentives and adequate amount of blood money.

Furthermore, this decision was taken under the supervision of court, and no no mullah was involved.

However, correctness of the decision is debatable issue because the killer was a non-Muslim and the crime was deliberate, not an accident. If this case was under trial in Islamic court, the decision would have been more "interesting".

Being in PDF, you must stop stating against Islam and its laws.

Islam and its teachings are for the most modern societies. Islam is not only a religion, but also a complete code of life. Islamic code of conduct is based on human nature - strength and weakness. Right (Halal), wrong (Haram) and acceptable (Makroo) are well defined. By implementing Islam and Sharia in a society, crime rate will be reduced to zero as there will be fair justice available to every cast and creed.

The problem is that we Pakistanis from top to grass root level, failed to implement it. Pakistan is created for Muslims, its essence is Islam, but we - Pakistani nation are ignorant never realized what our founding fathers Qaid e Azam, Alama Iqbal and Chaudhry Rehmat Ali dreamt about Pakistan.

A 13 year matured girl is more suitable for marriage than a 16 year unmatured girl.

Islam is a scientific religion. You guys have no clue and come up with some idiotic arbitrary ages for marriage.

In this day and age there is no way a 13 year old can be legally classed as an adult. They don't have the mental and emotional faculties of an adult. Just because a girl has periods does not make her an adult. Some girls start menstruation at age 8 or 9.
If you are a male, just ask yourself honestly, when you crossed the puberty age, what were your feelings about girls around you. If you understand what I meant, then you will appreciate similar feelings appear in the opposite sex. If you ask them, you will come to know, their feelings are more intense. It all happens at the age of 9 to 15. Human nature!!! If you do not agree with my assertion, then read books and research papers on Human Psychology, then you will come to know some very interesting facts.

Furthermore, the social media, television dramas and films exposure results in arousal of mental and emotional faculties before the normal time. Specially unmonitored internet is causing havoc among young generation. Their are some instances where school going young boys and girls having sex in the isolated classrooms. Age in between 10 and 15. A class 6 girl having sex with a class 9 boy in Pakistan. Unfortunately, this is the ground reality.

It is very unfortunate that we as parents specially fathers do not involve and interact ourselves with our children - reason being busy earning money. In my opinion instead of assuming that our young generation is innocent, it is better to have close interaction with them, make them your friend, instead of creating a barrier. More you will involve, better you may guide them in their adolescence period.

What is wrong if the girl has attained maturity and is in love to marry him?

At 13, she is incapable of handling a husband the responsibilities of a household, child bearing and rearing. I know many 13 year olds, I recall my own teen / pre-teen years I was well read emotionally mature for my age and yet I could not handle being married.

I can't imagine what man in his right mind would want to marry a 13 year old.:crazy:

As a parent myself I feel for her mom and dad, they've lost five years with their daughter.

Misguided or coerced it doesn't matter - we should all know better, and make the right choice for the thirteen year old.