No offices, No funds: Nazims of Peshawar in protest against KPK government

Chaval, atleast read all the posts on the page before replying..Dunya kahan nikal gai tu waheen baitha hai..
The taxes on services are the provincial authority whereas the federal collection (Divisble pool) is distributed quarterly. So instead of behaving like an outright dingo, you should read up on how things work. Betuki chornay se pahlay you need some understanding of the system. So again, if District governments are facing funds constraints then from where the MPAs are getting the development budget?

. Danggar yahi toh main pooch raha tha in the beginning if the federal is transferring funds or not wohi baat ab tu maan gaya hai chohtay aadmi, BTW i didnt put anything from myself I quoted an Islamabad policy research document which states 18th amendment has failed to assign.the revenue collection roles. Parh lai kanjraa agar parh sakta hai toh..

Strange! Other day IK was saying our ( kpk ) nazims are working freely and system is great than other provinces.

He says a lot of things. I stopped listening to him when he colluded with Tahir-ul-Qadri/Pakistani military during the dharna and caused a 2% GDP loss to the Pakistani economy.

The problem with our constitution & laws are, that there is always a door open with in these laws for corrupt politicians to use it.

The 18th amendment gave great powers to the provincial governments which allowed them to control their provincial territories and budgets without much involvement of the federal...

The local bodies receive fundings from the provincial govt. The federal does allot budget yearly to the provinces but the each province can raise their own funds as well for example investing to budgets to create greater amounts or self raising and financing although the federal allotmrng does play a huge role.

The local bodies get their funds from the provincial govt. The thing is that the job of MPA is to make law and the job of local bodies is to develop areas. Its all very well and good on paper but reality is horrifyingly different. You see these MPA and MNA are rulers of their constitutions and need to show work in that area to get reelected. They can't come to an am admi and tell him that I an you lawmaker so vote for me. The am admi will answer why should I care about law? What have you done for me and my area? The gutter is boiling, the road is down and there is no school.

Pakistan has created such a political structure where its very hard to leave it due to the mindset of the people...

Thus govts are stuck as they have to provide funding now to mpa and local bodies...

Kpk should really look into it bcz imran in his manifesto clearly mentioned that he will focus on creating the difference between local developer and lawmaker. However it seems that reality has unfolded on him and he has realized how hard it really is. Nevertheless should look to allot them budgets...

@Jzaib and @nomi007 can help tell what is going on and give info about it.
these processes take time . when my brother got elected. It took 4 months for just the ceremony. the budget is approved and yes providing offices to so many office barrier would be troublesome but will be eventually sorted out ,.

He says a lot of things. I stopped listening to him when he colluded with Tahir-ul-Qadri/Pakistani military during the dharna and caused a 2% GDP loss to the Pakistani economy.
u can read the local government act of all the provinces and then u will not be making statements like these . KPK enjoy more power then any other province

... u can read the local government act of all the provinces and then u will not be making statements like these . KPK enjoy more power then any other province

Politicians maybe enjoying the "more power" in the province but people ain't. Just realise this that more migrate from Khyber Pukhtunkhwa than any other province. That should alone give you an idea what the economic situation is like in this particular province.

Two-and-half-years in the Provincial Government is a long time my brother and all I see is Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf making excuses for their incompetence on a number of wide ranging issues.

Police gardi on protesting Nazims and Counselors
1103258115-1.jpg

1103258115-2.gif

Office spaces must only be provided to nazims and naib nazims with admin powers. Cost of providing office spaces to around 40 thousand councillors will be huge and of no benefit.

also i do not see any reason why funds should not be distributed on population basis. You cant just release the funds to the nazims etc and leave them alone. Funds are always released for specific projects after they are approved by the relevant body. In this case, local governments will approve the projects they want to carry out. Only then funding will be released from their respective allocations.

The problem is that these newly elected members dont know the processes. Provincial government should exert more effort in training these elected members so they could efficiently conduct their duties.

here are the full details of the dispute:

Local faults: ‘Govt yet to release development funds’
By Our Correspondent
Published: December 29, 2015
6SHARES
SHARE TWEET EMAIL
1017858-ppi-1451337101-495-640x480.jpg

General Councillors and Deputy Councillors chant slogans for acceptance of their demands. PHOTO: PPI

PESHAWAR:
An alliance of councillors and nazims claimed on Monday the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-led government failed to release development funds and allot office space for village and neighbourhood representatives.

Protesting outside the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, they slammed the K-P government, saying the slogan of change was meaningless. Councillor Nazim Ittehad representatives threatened a demonstration on Tuesday (today) in front of PTI Chairperson Imran Khan in the provincial capital when he inaugurates the Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital in Hayatabad.

The local government representatives were led by PTI Mardan district council member Sajjad Iqbal, Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) Jalala-III nazim Muhammad Shoaib, kisan councillor Ghafoor Khan and Katlang nazim Sabir Rehman. The protesting LG representatives held banners inscribed with slogans against the K-P administration and the local government minster. Hundreds of councillors and nazims from Mardan, Batkhela, Kohat, Charsadda, Swabi, Nowshera and Peshawar were part of the demonstration outside the provincial legislature.

“The K-P Minister for Local Government Inayatullah Khan is a liar,” Mardan tehsil councillor Waris Khan of the JI said. He explained Inayatullah and Chief Minister Pervez Khattak had announced on the assembly floor and in press statements that 30% of the ADP funds would be allocated for the local government setup. However, councillors stated not even a single penny of the amount had been released. The demonstrators said six months have passed since the LG set-up was established, but none of the promises had been fulfilled.

Project or population basis?

The sit-in continued till the filling of this report. City district nazim Muhammad Asim Khan failed to convince the protesters who said they would not budge until they met the chief minister. “The government first decided funds would be released on a project basis, but later conditioned them according to the population,” Waris Khan said. He added a PC-I was submitted with union council secretaries, but the provincial government rejected the projects and the LG secretary instructed funds be distributed based on the population of the union council .

A senior official of the Local Government and Rural Development department, requesting anonymity, claimed development funds had been released to all tiers of the local government about a month ago. “They want the money to be given in an envelope so that they can use it whichever way they like. That is not the way the system works,” he stressed. The official reiterated funds were transferred to the councils and now the local government representatives have to make their budgets accordingly.

“These funds can be utilised for schemes and cannot be spent at will. The PC-1 for the projects has to be approved after which tenders will be issued,” he explained.

He said Rs13.1 billion has been allocated for development at village councils out of which Rs6.5 billion was released. At the tehsil/town council level, Rs8.7 billion was allocated and half the amount was released, he added. Similarly, the allocation for the district council was Rs8.57 billion and half the amount had been handed over.

No corner office

Talking about working space, he said members of district councils would not be provided individual offices. He said a single office would be allotted for the district councils in which the nazim and naib nazims would sit.

“All the members of the councils will not be provided [individual] offices,” the official said. He added the tehsil and town councils had also been provided offices in which the nazim and naib nazims would sit, but tehsil councillors would not get individual spaces. He added village council offices comprised three rooms, one for the chairman, the other for the village secretary and the third for members of the council.

Published in The Express Tribune, December 29th, 2015.

Local faults: ‘Govt yet to release development funds’ - The Express Tribune

Whatever issue is KPK gov must resolve it