My advice to Pakistan and Pakistanis

There is nothing wrong in what @MultaniGuy has said in the opening post. I second this, Pakistanis need to focus on STEM and human capital development to be competitive in the coming era of economic progress.

Pakistan missed that bus 30 years ago.
Lost opportunities are a mean bitch. Think 100 is expensive today to invest? Good luck. You're gonna need 1000 later!

Pakistan missed that bus 30 years ago.
Lost opportunities are a mean bitch. Think 100 is expensive today to invest? Good luck. You're gonna need 1000 later!
Yes and it's this defeatists attitude why Pakistan cannot move forward. When your car is stuck in neutral you decide to either hit reverse or switch into first gear.

What if the clutch is roasted as in Pakistan's case?

Either the people turn the tables on the system, or keep grinding with a busted clutch Flintstone style.

Hopefully with PPP / PML-N / Establishment and legacy parties out of the picture, we'll see new parties come and fill the vacuum and take Pakistan forward.

What if the clutch is roasted as in Pakistan's case?

Either the people turn the tables on the system, or keep grinding with a busted clutch Flintstone style.

Hopefully with PPP / PML-N / Establishment and legacy parties out of the picture, we'll see new parties come and fill the vacuum and take Pakistan forward.

If clutch is roasted, get out off your *** and push the bloody car. Pakistan wasn't obtained so easily.

I'm sorry I dont like overtly negative people. People should be realists but not defeatist.

Pakistan will rise and rise again. Pakistan is more than Imran Khan or Pakistan Army or PTI, Pakistan is the blood, sweat, tears, hopes, fears, dreams of those who came before us and those who will come after us.

If clutch is roasted, get out off your *** and push the bloody car. Pakistan wasn't obtained so easily.
We're changing the clutch in a car doing 90mph on the highway.

I'm sorry I dont like overtly negative people. People should be realists but not defeatist.
It's alright, I don't recall asking for validation anyway.
The current system has outlived it's usefulness, and therefore needs to get a hard reset so we can build better.

Pakistan will rise and rise again. Pakistan is more than Imran Khan or Pakistan Army or PTI, Pakistan is the blood, sweat, tears, hopes, fears, dreams of those who came before us and those who will come after us.
No doubt about it. Never was above one man or institution.

The current system has outlived it's usefulness, and therefore needs to get a hard reset so we can build better.

Hello,

That's OKAY, no one is offering validation here on PDF, we are exchanging IDEAS.

Not really, if that's how you want to look at things, that is your prerogative.

The problem with a lot of people on PDF lately is that they are negative mood hoovers, we can agree to disagree, we all have diverging outlooks on life. I agree the present "system" if that's what you want to call this malaise affecting our nation has indeed outlived its usefulness but then pray tell, what are we as a collective doing to correct this downward trend?

And indeed I have seen enough human blood and guts on the pavement to know NO MAN lives forever, ideas however, ideas can be eternal.

Salam.

The problem with a lot of people on PDF lately is that they are negative mood hoovers, we can agree to disagree, we all have diverging outlooks on life.
Part of it stems from the frustration of not seeing things moving forward. There's potential in this country; one that is being wasted because of the greed of dynasties who do not want to lose power.

I agree the present "system" if that's what you want to call this malaise affecting our nation has indeed outlived its usefulness but then pray tell, what are we as a collective doing to correct this downward trend?
The idea is to get behind people who have their WHY sorted out.
HOW's can have many different interpretations and paths and people may not unanimously agree on those which is perfectly fine, as long as they are working towards the WHY.

Things as they stand right now, IK tells me the WHY: Pakistan wasn't built to be a punching bag or a sock puppet for TPTB. I haven't heard the same from anybody else. We must learn to stand up on our own. It won't happen until the leeches are taken off.

You can argue that IK is working within the same dirty system to defeat it citing multiple examples. But isn't this what most people want? Steps that don't rock the boat too much. I feel it's not going to change things in the short term but approve of it nonetheless just because doing something is better than doing nothing.

What I propose on a personal level and many people share the same sentiment; is for the system to be built anew. We could in theory revert back to the initial constitution and rebuild again, or tear everything down and up a new constitution altogether; that effectively reflects the will of the populace: the WHY, not someone politician's internal biases and preferences based on economic subjugation and strangulation through keeping the masses uneducated and in perpetual poverty.

Pakistan will eventually have to move to an improved governance model eventually. What exactly the model is or how it actually works is something that needs to be debated though by the appropriate people.
  • Hybrid Indirect-Direct Democracy
  • Removal of the Senate altogether (useless burden)
  • Improved Judiciary; creating a system that bifurcates the absolute power of the judge
  • Eliminate all military owned enterprises
  • Reformed LEA's with interdepartmental selection of chiefs (to eliminate favoritism by politicians in power)
  • 50+ provinces based on a multiple criteria set with cities to be divided into at least 6 individual zones.
    Local Governments in those provinces and zones
  • Government sheds all SOE's, or increase %age of private public partnerships, thereby reducing corruption of using SOE's as vote banks.
  • Eliminate pension (do a 401K similar to the US)
  • Education compulsory till college, with focus on ethics (UAE education curriculum has a strong focus on civility and national expression).
  • Digital Government with secure data centers all over the country; that includes electronic voting for general, local elections.
  • National Petition Directorate, where anyone can open a petition directly with the PM's office and have compulsory action taken upon it if it has a sizable signature threshold (a good template is the Citizen's portal that resolves common issues effectively).
  • Land reforms similar to what India has taken in the past, and better.
  • Live databases of wealth of politicians with changes from last month, year, 5 years, 10 years.
On the economic side just some ideas
  • Reduction of cash economy (remove notes above 100PKR altogether) and moving towards digital economy to eliminate corruption
  • Reducing urban migration by increasing opportunities in villages and small cities, give them a reason to stay in the villages by providing better services across the board (education, healthcare, improved access to utilities and infrastructure etc).
  • Increasing the amount of cities by building up at least 5 more cities across the coast (doesn't have to be huge, Abu Dhabi started as a single street in the desert). NEOM, Saudi Arabia is a great idea, just build a single road from the coast into the country 50-100+ km long and build the city beside it
  • No free lunches. Though I feel for the people in absolute poverty, Pakistani's must shed their lazy tag and start working their assess off. We have a huge amount of manpower, and new cities can be built quite easily using this manpower.
  • Reducing all sorts of imported vehicles by at least 70%. Companies must setup a ToT for ICE and Electric variants that enables Pakistan to produce these internally.
  • Reducing imported phones, laptops and PC's. These should be built internally as well. Pakistan should aim to build a FAB, in collaboration with China in the next 20 years (~20 Billion USD CAPEX).
  • Promote IT and setup parks in every major city that enables companies to startup with minimum costs.
  • Instill computer literacy early in schools (I was coding as early as Grade 5 on gwbasic/qbasic).
Might have inconsistencies or errors, don't hound me for it, just putting it all in before I go back to work.

My Advice to Pakistanis is to:
1) Get educated in the Academic disciplines (Hard sciences, Social Sciences), Applied Sciences, and Practical Skills
2) Improve the Nominal GDP of Pakistan
3) Industrialize Pakistan make manufacturing plants

1) Ally with China

This prevent injustices from the West and their exploitation.

2) Improve the standard of living
Here is another intelligent, proud, independent leader with strong advice, encouragement, determination, and vision.

There is nothing wrong in what @MultaniGuy has said in the opening post. I second this, Pakistanis need to focus on STEM and human capital development to be competitive in the coming era of economic progress.
The students of top unis in Pakistan like GIKI, NUST, UET, FAST etc are all sitting and earning well abroad. Most in the gulf, while others in developed western countries. I know the reasons of falanay colonel sahab ki wajah se department mein growth nahi ho saki coz he was an old school egoist etc, but not every department in Pakistan is headed by people like that. The R&D and technological leap in Pakistan is still lagging. I have seen NUST lab (one of the best) and then I saw labs abroad, zameen aasaman ka fark hay. Where I am sitting now, the shift has started from 4G to 5G, but when the engineers from Pakistan come here, they have hardly worked on 4G features on live network where as 4G is active in Pakistan.

Now one cant say that Mobilink, Telenor, UFone etc technical departments are run by retired colonel sahib or old school PTCL babay. I can see that weak technical side while conducting interviews of Pak engineers having 10+ years of experience in cellular technical industry. The exposure is limited. In some modern countries 2G is completely gone, while in Pakistan 3G experts are moving towards 4G LTE, still a lot is left to be desired. Engineers in Pakistan are waiting for chance to get a contract abroad and then they hardly return, I have seen that in my field a lot. Those who couldnt survive the technical domain then started joining Govt jobs in different departments and successfully gave CSS exams. This is why we have some CSP police officers as doctors and engineers. Out of 100 engineers graduating, 95% go to engineering maintenance jobs, like maintaining a network, around 5% go into research like actually making or producing something for the world. Looking after a bloody router or sitting in front of a screen waiting for alarms to generate is not engineering per se.

Wouldnt I wish to see Pakistani engineers actually drafting 6G or 7G network protocols, before it gets deployed. In reality, Nokia or Huawei or Ericsson equipment is imported and then engineers learn from manuals how to run that equipment as well as telecoms programs (running program, not scripting or algos, no changes in that program as its licensed and paid). I remember that SCO (provides communication in north Pakistan) was mostly Chinese ZTE equipment, which is like the below average telecom vendor of the world. Samsung has come a lot way in cellular technology (no, not mobile making), but telecom equipment as well as network deployment for 5G networks.

Another issue is that engineers cant wield their career paths correctly. Most of them don't follow the fields they want coz they dont get jobs in those fields. How can one progress if the day and night toil isnt in the field of choice. The job itself becomes a burden and is maintained for salary only. I would say that Korea and China are very good examples, as European and american countries already had the base set before WW2 in most cases to build modern equipment relative to its time. If Korea even copied USA or got funding from USA to access and work on technology, then Pakistan had the same option with China, but what did PTCL or NTC do ? Kept importing equipment. Then Mobilink and UFone had no choice either. I have worked with engineers from NUST, FAST, GIKI, UET and many other technical universities of Pakistan, even those who did BCS and started jobs as engineers, majority are sitting and enjoying high paying jobs abroad. Most are enjoying working on different technologies which are not available in Pakistan yet. With such a long list of countries where these engineers worked in a span of 5-10 years, they get high paying jobs in developed countries.

Imagine if all of the Pakistani engineers from all disciplines and fields of engineering return to Pakistan, what will happen hypothetically ? A strong brain surge leading to technological advancements. What will happen in reality ? low paid jobs, access to less advanced technology, pessimism due to dire straits of Pakistani departments and government funding with stringent policies. Some PHDs who returned to Pakistan immediately turned to teaching in universities, which is good , however not all faculties are conducting active research in various disciplines. Some are waiting for better chances abroad again, while some re constrained by families circumstances to stay in Pakistan. I have talked about this before since I have seen this first hand but got quiet after the blame started to come on military as usual especially on colonel sahabs who are 2ICs of God on earth and the last word to kill all projects which benefit Pakistan, technology and man kind.

The students of top unis in Pakistan like GIKI, NUST, UET, FAST etc are all sitting and earning well abroad. Most in the gulf, while others in developed western countries. I know the reasons of falanay colonel sahab ki wajah se department mein growth nahi ho saki coz he was an old school egoist etc, but not every department in Pakistan is headed by people like that. The R&D and technological leap in Pakistan is still lagging. I have seen NUST lab (one of the best) and then I saw labs abroad, zameen aasaman ka fark hay. Where I am sitting now, the shift has started from 4G to 5G, but when the engineers from Pakistan come here, they have hardly worked on 4G features on live network where as 4G is active in Pakistan.

Now one cant say that Mobilink, Telenor, UFone etc technical departments are run by retired colonel sahib or old school PTCL babay. I can see that weak technical side while conducting interviews of Pak engineers having 10+ years of experience in cellular technical industry. The exposure is limited. In some modern countries 2G is completely gone, while in Pakistan 3G experts are moving towards 4G LTE, still a lot is left to be desired. Engineers in Pakistan are waiting for chance to get a contract abroad and then they hardly return, I have seen that in my field a lot. Those who couldnt survive the technical domain then started joining Govt jobs in different departments and successfully gave CSS exams. This is why we have some CSP police officers as doctors and engineers. Out of 100 engineers graduating, 95% go to engineering maintenance jobs, like maintaining a network, around 5% go into research like actually making or producing something for the world. Looking after a bloody router or sitting in front of a screen waiting for alarms to generate is not engineering per se.

Wouldnt I wish to see Pakistani engineers actually drafting 6G or 7G network protocols, before it gets deployed. In reality, Nokia or Huawei or Ericsson equipment is imported and then engineers learn from manuals how to run that equipment as well as telecoms programs (running program, not scripting or algos, no changes in that program as its licensed and paid). I remember that SCO (provides communication in north Pakistan) was mostly Chinese ZTE equipment, which is like the below average telecom vendor of the world. Samsung has come a lot way in cellular technology (no, not mobile making), but telecom equipment as well as network deployment for 5G networks.

Another issue is that engineers cant wield their career paths correctly. Most of them don't follow the fields they want coz they dont get jobs in those fields. How can one progress if the day and night toil isnt in the field of choice. The job itself becomes a burden and is maintained for salary only. I would say that Korea and China are very good examples, as European and american countries already had the base set before WW2 in most cases to build modern equipment relative to its time. If Korea even copied USA or got funding from USA to access and work on technology, then Pakistan had the same option with China, but what did PTCL or NTC do ? Kept importing equipment. Then Mobilink and UFone had no choice either. I have worked with engineers from NUST, FAST, GIKI, UET and many other technical universities of Pakistan, even those who did BCS and started jobs as engineers, majority are sitting and enjoying high paying jobs abroad. Most are enjoying working on different technologies which are not available in Pakistan yet. With such a long list of countries where these engineers worked in a span of 5-10 years, they get high paying jobs in developed countries.

Imagine if all of the Pakistani engineers from all disciplines and fields of engineering return to Pakistan, what will happen hypothetically ? A strong brain surge leading to technological advancements. What will happen in reality ? low paid jobs, access to less advanced technology, pessimism due to dire straits of Pakistani departments and government funding with stringent policies. Some PHDs who returned to Pakistan immediately turned to teaching in universities, which is good , however not all faculties are conducting active research in various disciplines. Some are waiting for better chances abroad again, while some re constrained by families circumstances to stay in Pakistan. I have talked about this before since I have seen this first hand but got quiet after the blame started to come on military as usual especially on colonel sahabs who are 2ICs of God on earth and the last word to kill all projects which benefit Pakistan, technology and man kind.
Thank you for taking the time to write this, I fully agree, I have been to SEECS Lab in NUST, truly amazing. I still have very high hopes for Paksitan, no way but forward.

There is a common motto in rescue "Aut viam inveniam aut faciam / find a way or make one"... We should all live by that message.

With respect, I disagree. Pakistan should -

• 1 - get educated in Islamic studies and learn practical skills like reading, writing and speaking in Arabic. It would also help if they were taught hown to sew Arabic Thobe.

• 2. Improve piety and faith. As long as they have faith nothing else is needed. Let a man and Pakistan's wealth be faith.

• 3. establish madaris factories across Pakistan to garner a more religious society.

• 4. teach self defence lessons in how to detect a blasphemer, kaffir and then how to tear him apart in less than 60 seconds.

• 5. ban female education, shut down all banks, ban interest.

• 6. ally only with Muslim ummah like Somalia, Saudia, Afghanistan, Yemen, Niger, Chad and declare sanctions against Dar al Harb particulary athiest nations like China followed by zionist supporters like USA.

• 7. establish a new department police that enforces sunnah of the prophet [PBUH]. Ban all TV, cars etc as being against our culture. In the path of sunnah use mirror signal, camels and donkeys as transport. Also benefit from being zero reliant on fuel imports.

Perfect recipe for Pakistan. A true Islamic Republic.
I this so tongue and cheek. Love it

This right there is my biggest bug bear with engineers from Pakistan and India, specially on the construction side of engineering, the level of Technical knowledge that is imparted on our on the job trainings is critical to our operations, whereas with the engineers I have interviewed it seemed that most had never got their hand dirty even during training, not that I expect my engineers to be running around with tools, but they have no idea of basic tools, working arrangements or general health and safety.

why is it that more Pakistanis are migrating to the west than China? Hell More Paks are goin to the UK. No need to mention visa applications to the US.

What injustice? Then dont come here better for us. You mean this injustice?

Hahahahaha!!! You cracked me up you you you!

no man! That @MultaniGuy said there's injustice here. He can just stay where he's at. It will serve humanity better.

Hey Grandpa been a while!!! How are you man?
When the West commits injustices in the developing world, we too have a right to take advantage of the West.

Don't be such a hypocrite.

why is it that more Pakistanis are migrating to the west than China? Hell More Paks are goin to the UK. No need to mention visa applications to the US.

no man! That @MultaniGuy said there's injustice here. He can just stay where he's at. It will serve humanity better.

Only for higher education...or to receive other benefits.

If Pakistan was like Japan, nobody would leave it.

When I graduated with my B.A. Honours Political Science Degree, the university professors said "Go help your country, go build Pakistan, go help your peoples." Please go do that.

You ignorant hypocrite, China does not claim to be an immigrant nation.

Show me the statistics, you moron.

Sure some Pakistanis have immigrated to the West.

But most Pakistanis stay at home or in the Gulf countries.

You think you know so much about Pakistanis/Muslims.