Muslim appeasement | Modi Govt to repair riot damaged Mosques

Burn it and build it. As long as it is taxpayers' money who cares? demo crazy :D

Stop twisting the word "secularism" just because you don't understand it.

Indians particularly supporters of Modi and other hard line Hindu groups invented this word Sickluar for Indian Secularism so your definition about lack of understanding must be directed at Indians not me.

Also, what's so surprising about it. He has to be secular if he is to become the PM. Most Indians want him to win to save the economy and bring it back to 2010 levels.

:) well the surprising thing is that Modi abuse Congress as Muslim appeasers and call then names and now he is practicing the same.

So either he should accept his criticism of Congress viz a viz Muslim appeasement is uncalled for or he is a hypocrite

Indians particularly supporters of Modi and other hard line Hindu groups invented this word Sickluar for Indian Secularism so your definition about lack of understanding must be directed at Indians not me.

:) well the surprising thing is that Modi abuse Congress as Muslim appeasers and call then names and now he is practicing the same.

So either he should accept his criticism of Congress viz a viz Muslim appeasement is uncalled for or he is a hypocrite

As pointed out earlier , Modi govt. is only abiding by a court order. Nothing wrong with Muslim appeasement if it can help you win elections as long as other communities rights are not suffering.

Muslim appeasement is not calling muslims who are terrorists "muslim terrorists", appeasement is not identifying the ever present strain of violent and repressive orthodoxy that prevails in the midst of the SE muslims. Repairing mosques, although not technically the job of the govt., is not appeasement. If it were then the fact that Modi also demolished scores of temples would make him a divisive figure in terms of being discriminatory towards Hindus.

As pointed out earlier , Modi govt. is only abiding by a court order. Nothing wrong with Muslim appeasement if it can help you win elections as long as other communities rights are not suffering.

Well TBH it is not appeasement. It is simply a means to better the religious infrastructure.

It would have been appeasement if he had worn an arab wannabe clothes (hint: Chiranjeevi of Andhra), skullcap (Hint: Nitishullah), gone and pretended to pose like Islamic style praying (hint: Didi), attended an Islamic sermon (hint: Pappu G), or said that only muslim girls are like his daughters (hint: Akhilesh Khan)... then it would have been appeasement.

:) same applies to Congress policies.

Muslim appeasement is not calling muslims who are terrorists "muslim terrorists", appeasement is not identifying the ever present strain of violent and repressive orthodoxy that prevails in the midst of the SE muslims. Repairing mosques, although not technically the job of the govt., is not appeasement. If it were then the fact that Modi also demolished scores of temples would make him a divisive figure in terms of being discriminatory towards Hindus.

:))) So how Congress giving incentives to Muslims become appeasing "Muslim terrorists". And Modi appeasing Muslims is not the otherway round?

Because Congress' appeasement hurts the rights of other communities unlike this action by Modi Govt.

Giving quotas to Muslims in colleges or jobs will take away the right over that job or seat from a more meritorious Non-muslim candidate. Ignoring radlicalisation of a section of Muslim community will also harm not only the other communities in India but Muslims themselves as well. This what Congress does.

Repairing damaged mosques is not harming any other community in any way. This is totally acceptable, appeasement or not.

nelson-muntz.gif

30% of Modi's voters in recently held state elections were Muslims... the Bohri community.

This is before he was named the candidate for PM unofficially.

Oh and BTW the Bodri community are very open minded and cool people, only next to ismaili muslims.

Unlike your groups who pander to Arabia, these guys are actually proud Indians.

Muslim vote is a non factor in gujrat. They do not have influence even over a single seat. Modi does not need them to win Majority of seats.

He is probably trying to polish his image.

My answer is hidden somewhere in the second quoted post. He doesn't need Muslims help... As the majority in Gujarat is still non Muslims and just polishing his reputation for the sake of votes.

And I was talking about the Muslims in general, the population of millions of Muslims throughout Gujarat and not a minority of few thousand Muslims belonging to Bohri community.

Such tactics might soften the hurt of many Muslims in Gujarat but may not be enough to win votes for majority.

In my personal experience I have hardly found Muslims from Gujarat who would ever want to support Modi bin Laden. They are very very pro Indians but never found them supporting terrorist bin laden of India

All Gujrati Shias are supporting Modi... Gujrat has many Shia. When Sunni started killing Bohras(Shia) came to Gujrat and settle there.

30% of Gujrati Muslims have voted for Modi .. 100% shia and few Sunni voted for Modi in Gujrat..

How is it that every time we cross paths you are found to be absent comprehension? If a succinct post will not suffice then I shall elucidate for your benefit.

Appeasement constitutes an unwillingness to clearly label the strain of militant extremism present in the Muslim populace accurately, in simple terms the inability to call a spade a spade and acknowledge that "Islamic terror" is indeed the semantically correct term.

Appeasement constitutes removing effective anti-terrorism laws like POTA and TADA by claiming that such laws are discriminatory towards minorities.

Appeasement constitutes the inability to marginalize the vitriolic and hardliner elements in the Muslim society which often high-jack all discourse associated with the said society.

Appeasement constitutes sidelining academics and authors who are considered to be polemical so as to please a specific community.

Agreeing to repair damages caused to a large number of mosques, the said damage being a product of exigent circumstances, under the direction of the courts does not constitute appeasement. Furthermore I provided a simple addendum to illustrate my point, which is as follows, if such an action were equivalent to appeasement then the temples demolished by Modi would have been considered to be equivalent to Hindu oppression. A simple nuance that should be easy to follow for anyone even with the most meager quantum of intellect.

How is it that every time we cross paths you are found to be absent comprehension? If a succinct post will not suffice then I shall elucidate for your benefit.

Appeasement constitutes an unwillingness to clearly label the strain of militant extremism present in the Muslim populace accurately, in simple terms the inability to call a spade a spade and acknowledge that "Islamic terror" is indeed the semantically correct term.

Same applies to Hindu Terrorists and Hindu terror? Isnt it?? :)

And when was the last time Congress was unwilling to call those Muslims who are involved and proven guilty of terrorism? (wrong or rightly proven is another thing which we are not even discussing it.

The most funny thing in your definition of usage of the term "Islamic terrorism" IS that you want Congress to label entire Muslim population of India as terrorist community. Sorry generalization is NOT calling spade a spade but in your case its just Hindu appeasement.

On the other hand when same congress claim presence of HINDU TERRORISM then you also call it Muslim appeasement despite the fact that there are Hindu terrorists who had been charged over such charges.

Appeasement constitutes removing effective anti-terrorism laws like POTA and TADA by claiming that such laws are discriminatory towards minorities.

Draconian laws have NO place in civilized world may be you find once again a place for it during extremists' rule in India.

Appeasement constitutes the inability to marginalize the vitriolic and hardliner elements in the Muslim society which often high-jack all discourse associated with the said society.

And how did Hardline Hindus have margnalised them with their ability which is lacking in congress??

Appeasement constitutes sidelining academics and authors who are considered to be polemical so as to please a specific community.

Ahhh would you apply the same on Known painter Mr. Hussain? I don't think so you will . You are deliberately saying insulting Islam and Islamic texts by so-called academicians must be allowed but at the same time you will burn to hell if same ones abuse Hinduism in the same manner or for that matter Muslim scholars/authors do the same to Hinduism.

Congress is playing smart avoiding any clashes good thing.

Agreeing to repair damages caused to a large number of mosques, the said damage being a product of exigent circumstances, under the direction of the courts does not constitute appeasement. Furthermore I provided a simple addendum to illustrate my point, which is as follows, if such an action were equivalent to appeasement then the temples demolished by Modi would have been considered to be equivalent to Hindu oppression. A simple nuance that should be easy to follow for anyone even with the most meager quantum of intellect.

Mr. Modi and Co had defied such orders in the past so timing of his willingness to follow these now indeed much have to do with elections.

Narendra Modi govt agrees to pay for repair of riots-damaged mosques

Aug 28, 2013, 01.15 AM IST

AHMEDABAD: With an eye on the 2014 vote, Narendra Modi has taken another step on the 'sadbhavna' road. The state government on Tuesday assured the Supreme Court it would soon come up with a scheme for paying for repair of the mosques damaged during the 2002 riots.

The Gujarat government's U-turn came after 10 years of legal battle during which it refused to own up responsibility for restoring and repairing the shrines damaged by marauding Hindu mobs across the state

After Gujarat's additional advocate general Tushar Mehta gave this assurance, a bench of justices K S Radhakrishnan and A K Sikri ordered a stay on all processes of survey, assessment and processing of claims by religious trusts.

The state government assured the court it would draw up the scheme by the next hearing on October 1 and show it to the court and the original petitioner, the Islamic Relief Committee-Gujarat (IRCG).

"We'll wait for what the government comes up with, but this is clearly an attempt to remove the taint on the Modi administration," said ICRG chairman Shakeel Ahmed.

IRCG had moved the Gujarat high court in 2003 seeking directions to the state government to repair nearly 535 damaged religious places, mostly Muslim shrines and mosques, on the ground that the state was the custodian of life and property and had failed miserably to protect the shrines. The state government had maintained a secular state wasn't liable to finance the repair of religious places.

Last February, the high court had asked the state government to compensate for the riots-related damages and criticized its failure to protect people and property in 2002. The state government had then approached the apex court in appeal.

Narendra Modi govt agrees to pay for repair of riots-damaged mosques - The Times of India

Yeh badhiya hai... Na karo toh kehte nain jki karte nahi... aur kar do toh kehte hain ki kyun kiya...

Heads I win ... tails you lose.