Members of Gulf royal families given permits to hunt protected bird in Pakistan

Kailash Kumar

Suriname
Members of Gulf royal families given permits to hunt protected bird

Bhagwandas

February 04, 2019

KARACHI: The federal government has issued at least 13 special permits to members of the royal families of Gulf states to hunt internationally protected bird houbara bustard in Sindh during the 2018-19 hunting season, according to sources.

Those given the permits include a king and a president, besides crown princes, their uncles and cousins, and armed forces chiefs belonging to the ruling families of Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Qatar.

At least one member of the elite group has a dubious distinction, as he is being pursued by a Pakistani investigation agency for his alleged role in a money laundering scam being investigated in the country.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf had criticised the-then federal government when it had issued hunting permits to members of the Arab royal families last year and announced that it would not allow them to hunt in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, where the PTI had its own government.

So, although the hunting permits were issued for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa as well, hunting could not be carried out in the province owing to its government’s tough stance on animal conservation. But this year the federal government, which is led by the PTI, has issued hunting permits for Sindh, according to the sources.

The sources said that Malik Amin Aslam — the president for South East Asia of the International Union for Conservation of Nature, who is also adviser to the federal government on climate change — looked the other way when the permits for hunting houbara bustard were being issued to members of the Gulf royal families.

An inhabitant of the colder Central Asian regions, the houbara bustard migrates southwards in winter to avoid the harsh weather conditions in its habitat.

Earlier, the bird used to migrate right up to the Arabian peninsula, but owing to ruthless hunting there over the years by Arab hunters, who considered it to be an aphrodisiac, it has stopped going there and rests in Pakistan instead during winter.

Owing to the bird’s special status and its dwindling population, the houbara bustard is protected globally. But the Pakistan government, keeping in view the royal hunters’ interest in it, issues special permits to hunt the bird, which is also protected under Pakistani laws. (Pakistanis are not allowed to hunt it.)

However, this is not the first time that such permits have been issued as previous governments have also issued these permits.

As per the permits signed by M. Adeel Pervaiz, the foreign ministry’s deputy chief of protocol, the names of the permit holders and the areas allocated to them are as follows:

King of Bahrain Sheikh Hamad bin Issa bin Salman Al-Khalifa has been allocated Jamshoro district, including Thano Bula Khan, Kotri, Manjhand and Sehwan tehsils. President of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al-Nahyan and Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces Gen Sheikh Mohammad bin Zayed Al-Nahyan have been allocated Sukkur and Nawabshah districts. Prince Mansour bin Mohammad S. Abdul Rahman Al-Saud of Saudi Arabia has been given Kashmore district.

Uncle of Bahrain’s king Sheikh Ebrahim bin Hamad bin Abdullah Al-Khalifa has been allocated Shah Bunder tehsil in Sujawal district. The king’s defence adviser Sheikh Abdullah bin Salman Al-Khalifa has been granted Jati tehsil in Sujawal district. The king’s first cousin and Bahrain’s Interior Minister Lt Gen Sheikh Rashid bin Abdullah Al-Khalifa has been given Naushahro Feroz district.

Hyderabad and Malir districts, excluding Malir Cantonment and Dhabeji, have been reserved for Sheikh Ahmed bin Ali Al-Khalifa, who is a first cousin of Bahrain’s king. The deputy prime minister of the UAE, Sheikh Sultan bin Zayed Al-Nahyan, has been given Khairpur district, excluding Kotdiji and not across Nara canal. A representative of Abu Dhabi’s rulers, Sheikh Hamdan bin Zayed Al-Nahyan, has been allocated Khairpur Nathan Shah tehsil, Juhi tehsil and union council Fareedabad in Dadu district, Gaibi Dero in Larkana district, Shahdadkot district and Khairpur district (across Nara canal).

Deputy chief for police and general security of Dubai and a member of the ruling family Lt Gen Sheikh Ahmed bin Rashid Al-Maktoum has been allocated Tharparkar district, including Mithi and Nagarparkar (minus protected area), and Umerkot district. A member of the ruling family of Dubai, Shaikh Rashid bin Khalifa Al-Maktoum, has been allocated Badin district, Jungshahi in Thatta district and Dhabeji in Malir district. Mirpurkhas district has been reserved for a member of the Qatar’s ruling family, Sheikh Abdul Rehman bin Hamad Al-Thani.

Nasir Abdullah Lootah, a UAE citizen and chief of the Summit Bank, has been given Thatta district, excluding Shah Bunder and Jungshahi. He is being pursued by the Federal Investigation Agency for his alleged role in a money laundering scam.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1461703/m...families-given-permits-to-hunt-protected-bird

Only handsome Princes should be allowed to hunt the Pakistani bird.

Beggars can't choose what to do in their country, until Pakistani state continues its ways of begging we would continue to see Pakistan being humiliated by people who only 40 years ago were living in mud huts and killing each other over water.

As they are an endangered species - i disagree with this decision. No endangered species should be hunted in Pakistan.

For a few million $$ we let Ramond Davis hunt Pakistani men.

For the billions the Arabs are giving us, we can at least let them hunt some birds :ph34r:

For a few million $$ we let Ramond Davis hunt Pakistani men.

For the billions the Arabs are giving us, we can at least let them hunt some birds :ph34r:

KARACHI: The federal government has issued a number of special permits to hunt the internationally protected migratory bird houbara bustard in Punjab during the hunting season 2016-17, according to sources.

They said that Qatari prince Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim bin Jaber Al-Thani is among those in whose name the permits have been issued.

According to the sources, this is not the first time that a special hunting permit has been issued to the Qatari prince.

The prince has lately been in the news following the submission of his letter in the Supreme Court in connection with the Panamagate case.

In his letter he has described his father’s business relations with the family of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and his involvement in the London apartments that are at the centre of the Panama Papers controversy.

The houbara bustard is not only protected under various international conventions and agreements signed by the country but its hunting is also banned under the local wildlife protection laws. Pakistanis are not allowed to hunt it but it is much sought after by Arab hunters.

According to the sources, the areas allocated for hunting to Prince Hamad are Punjab’s Bhakkar and Jhang districts. He has been allowed to hunt down 100 birds during a 10-day period.

The permit was sent to the prince through Qatar’s diplomatic mission in Islamabad.

The letter sent to the Qatari embassy (DCP (P&I)-19/6/2016-17 Allocation) says: “The ministry of foreign affairs of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan... has the honour to state that the Government of Pakistan has conveyed its recommendation to the authorities concerned in the province for the allocation of following areas — Bhakkar and Jhang districts in Punjab province — to Prince Hamad bin Jassim bin Jaber Al-Thani, former prime minister of Qatar, for hunting of houbara bustard for the season 2016-17.”

The code of conduct for hunting — sent along with the foreign ministry’s letter — said the three-month hunting season began on Nov 1 and would conclude on Jan 31, 2017.

The sources said that copies of the hunting permit had been sent to various government officers, including Umeed Khalid, the conservator for wildlife, Climate Change Division, Building No 144, F-8 Markaz, Islamabad, for information and appropriate action.

@The Sandman @mingle @Farah Sohail @Verve @El_Swordsmen @Knight Rider @django @Emmie @notorious_eagle @Moonlight @PaklovesTurkiye @Zibago
@Mansoon @Imad.Khan

http://www.dawn.com/news/1297470/qatari-prince-issued-permit-for-hunting-protected-houbara-bustard

Kitna aur girain ge yeh log..

I am now looking for more jokes to lower my BP.

I am in a dilemma right now. Will just wait for the 2018 elections. After that phurrrrrrr. I have now seen enough "educated people" who are still supporting the ruling elite and defending its crimes shamelessly.

I now see no light at the end of the tunnel.

keep yourself cool n calm, its just return of favor from a king towards a king

Welcome to the "Jamhoriyat" of king Nawaz Sharif ye awaam bhi soi hui hai aur soti hi rhe gi

Qatri Gandu..

And the Supreme Court Judges Cannot see this? Kiun k Pakistan mai qanoon wakai andha hai

To mock further the government has tabled 24th constitution amendment bill seeking for the right of appeal in suo motu notices taken by the Supreme Court. If bill becomes an act & if by any chance SC verdict comes against NS, NS will be able to continue bamboozling the awam. Banana republic!

kia kuch karna parta hai faqt aik letter k liye ......

Lets all just keep our fingers crossed and hope for the best on Nov. 30th
If the SC can deliver fairly on the Panamagate case then it will forever change the dynamics of Pakistani politics.

Custodians and protectors of NRO/National Security lead by the outgoing Photoshoot Bobby Sharif would also be held resposible for this mess in history

It means that if there is any slight chance SC gives decision against Nawaz and his children, they will get it overruled by next CJ Saqib Nisar. Interestingly, last CJ of SC Jawwad barred this hunting and later Saqib Nisar overruled it which is a rare event as SC's decision isn't overruled in review petitions.

welcome to Kingdom of Sharifs.

Pubjabi muhawra kuti choraan naal ruli ey

I have just made a thread on this issue..

Serving their masters like the royal dogs they are.

P.S. Arabs hunt the poor birds to eat because apparently it enhances your sexual power. They would need all the birds they can hunt, there is a whole harem waiting to be pleasured.

It shows they are tajrba kaar siasat daan.

And tajrba kaar dash.

still we will vote for nawaz sharif. he and his family has the divine right to rule us. they can do whatever they like.

Lol All the common NS knights are vacant from this thread. What a surprise?

As for hunting permits, maybe the awam can be given a special to hunt down the corrupt politicians/judges/mullahs/feudal/industrialists b*stards so we can balance the score?

Btw in all seriousness, these birds are all martyrs in the cause of reclaiming our sovereignty from our Arab overlords. Khuda in ko jannat naseeb farmaye, ameen.

Foolish commoner this is ayein and jamhori hunting that strenghtens democracy

I am sure these birds will be given a lecture on the model governance of NS before being shot by the pristine pure righteous Qatari Prince.

Haha, nice. Divine right indeed. If NS wants to be the King Charles of Pakistan, then I pray to God we have a Oliver Cromwell in our ranks.

I pray Mian sab would see music of his deeds before he dies - and may we all witness what happens to him.

There was another Fireon named Altaf who is now worthless as a used condom. I wish Mian Nawaz Shareef and the family would also see reward of their acts on earth and I reckon that will be equally worth watching!

Why drag army into this? You gave votes to Sher. Now Sher does what sher does, becomes a pointer dog to Sheikhs. You can vote him out , the only way. Educate those around you about voting and honesty. Uou can't pill off dhadhli every election.

Democracy under this big face is worse than dictatorship.

Leave it, bhai....Yeh saaley insaano ki qadar nh kartey....birds ki kahan karenge.....

Beggars can't choose what to do in their country, until Pakistani state continues its ways of begging we would continue to see Pakistan being humiliated by people who only 40 years ago were living in mud huts and killing each other over water.

As they are an endangered species - i disagree with this decision. No endangered species should be hunted in Pakistan.

We can industrialize bustard farming thus elevating the poor.

#Visionary
#GoldenEraToHuntBustard

We can industrialize bustard farming thus elevating the poor.

#Visionary
#GoldenEraToHuntBustard
Yea well i stopped supporting PTI since late 2017. If you still want a comment than remember "hallmark of a great leader is he takes u turns" - IK ;):enjoy:

Can you please post the exact same post replacing PM of 2016 with PM of 2019?

Just to make sure you take no U-turns yourself?

2019 We can industrialize bustard farming thus elevating the poor. #Visionary #GoldenEraToHuntBustard

2016: issuing hunting permits was Arab ghulami :astagh:
2019: it helps preservation :wub:

2016: 20 car convoys were VVIP culture :pissed:
2019: its security :wub:

2017: asking friendly countries for money was begging :cray:
2019: it's the financial genius of the government :wub:

2016: using helicopters was an extravagant waste of money :angry:
2019: it's the cheapest mode of travel :wub:

2016: PM not attending parliament showed he didnt respect it :tsk:
2019: PM doesn't have to answer to anyway :wub:

2016: opposing and getting in the way of everything the government did was good opposition :wub:

2019: it's all anti state activity :rap:

2016: trying to improve relations with India was bad :stop:
2019: it's great foreign policy :wub:

2016: mehngai and inflation showed government didnt care about common people :feminist:
2019: why must the government subsidise anything :wub:

Ab aap mano ya na maano - PTI has truly bought change to Pakistan :wub:

Bas aik baat hai that no one seems to be able to change, and that is:
2016: it's all PMLNs fault
2019: it's all PMLNs fault :laughcry:

Can you please post the exact same post replacing PM of 2016 with PM of 2019?

Just to make sure you take no U-turns yourself?
And than face the wraith of abusive pti trolls? Not interested :p Kher yar tbh i have stopped taking interest in politics i rarely do now its just a headache.