Medical Advice

Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, Delhi

Especially good for international patients.
International Patients - Testimonials

Details of planning the trip.
International Patients - Plan Your Visit

Over 200 Pakistani patients received Liver Transplant in this hospital.

Apollo Hospitals News & Events | Top Hospitals in India | India Best Hospitals | Super Speciality Hospital in India

Indraprastha Apollo Hospitals, Delhi has successfully completed 200 Liver Transplant cases of Pakistani patients. With success rate of over 90%

There is mentioning of new program for consultation in Pakistan and Visa under Aman ki Asha effort. Collaboration for benefits of patient from Pakistan

Geo Reports-Aman Ki Asha-29 Jun 2012 - YouTube

Testimonial of pakistani Patient who used a medical tourism company for Liver Transplant Operation in this hospital.

Mr. Mohammed Naem Shakil Jilani | Pakistan
Mr. Jilani underwent a successful Liver Transplant by Dr. Subash Gupta, Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, Delhi. We worked on this case for more than 6 months and finally managed to put everything in place, when it was really required.

Patient Testimonials

Indraprastha Apollo Hospital is an Indian hospital owned by Apollo Hospital group, India's largest healthcare chain, and is the second largest hospital in Delhi. Indraprastha Apollo Hospital has recently been accredited by Joint Commission International (JCI) USA as the first internationally accredited Hospital in India and South Asia.

Sorry, couldn't find any contact number of any previous Pakistani patient. Still searching.

Apollo Hospitals News & Events | Top Hospitals in India | India Best Hospitals | Super Speciality Hospital in India

Indraprastha Apollo Hospitals, Delhi has successfully completed 200 Liver Transplant cases of Pakistani patients. With success rate of over 90%

There is mentioning of new program for consultation in Pakistan and Visa under Aman ki Asha effort. Collaboration for benefits of patient from Pakistan

Testimonial of pakistani Patient who used a medical tourism company for Liver Transplant Operation in this hospital.

Mr. Jilani underwent a successful Liver Transplant by Dr. Subash Gupta, Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, Delhi. We worked on this case for more than 6 months and finally managed to put everything in place, when it was really required.

Patient Testimonials

Indraprastha Apollo Hospital is an Indian hospital owned by Apollo Hospital group, India's largest healthcare chain, and is the second largest hospital in Delhi. Indraprastha Apollo Hospital has recently been accredited by Joint Commission International (JCI) USA as the first internationally accredited Hospital in India and South Asia.

Sorry, couldn't find any contact number of any previous Pakistani patient. Still searching.

I found a video of Dr. Gupta on youtube, it's about the liver transplant of an American patient. At 2:00 a souvenir from a Pakistani patient.

You know that Dr A.S Soin of this website

Liver Transplant Program,Affordable Liver Transplant Hospitals Delhi,Low Cost Liver Transplant Delhi

They told me that Dr Soin is visiting Pakistan on 14th December if I am not wrong and we could meet him if we want. I will try to send my brother to meet him and see what he has to say about my father

The hospital asked for 50,000 USD but may be if we could meet him in Pakistan, he might be able to give better advice to us

Patient Testimonials

I will contact this hospital when I wake up Insha'Allah

Thanks for the useful links. Please do share whatever information you have and I will read every post made while I was sleeping

Dear Zakii, first of all I am very sorry to hear about your father,I understand it must be a very diffcult time for you. However, I must say your jumping the gun and in my humble opionion Elmo's advice is correct. What we must understand is, liver transplant/treatment options etal are things to consider later. The Liver is an incredible organ responsible for many functions critical for our body and can sustain alot of punishment before things go worng. Undoubtedly the Hep C must have played a role as their is a great literature that implicates it in the pathogenisis of liver Cancer. The liver is a highly vascular organ and their is great risk of metastasis of the cancer, i.e spread to different tissues. If their is indeed metsatasis then treatment can be difficult and prognosis is greatly reduced. It is for that reason your father should undergo preliminary test as soon as possible to ascertain the stage and grade of the tumour. Only after this can one think about treatment options.
I must stress time is of the essence here and these tests should be done as soon as poosible - Moreover, your father has the right to know about this - I understand it is difficult - However, as human beings we must hope for the best and plan for the worst - If in the unfortunate circumstance - difficult decsions need to be made - would it not be better if your father was making them instead of your family having to try and second guess? It gives time to make arrangements and I am sure your father WILL appreciate it.

I think after about 18 hours of torture on my life. I am feeling/gaining the strength again. I feel I can sleep now --- I feel I will have to think about life and understand the reality. Yes I think I should tell my father as soon as the reports have reconfirmed the cancer and that the doctors has given their specialist opinion. Yes I think he has the right to know the truth and I will try to convince the family to reveal the truth to him as I know, I will not be able to gather such courage myself

Hello,

One of my relative is suffering from Cancer and I know there are many doctors in this forum. Can somebody explain what is the meaning of "Cirrhosis of liver with Hepatic mass" ?

More reports are yet to come but this is the only report so far they have received

2n1ajvp.jpg

The report reveals nothing.

You can not confirm the hepatic mass as cancer, untill unless cytology (FNAC) of the mass is not done.

Cirrhosis of liver is a common finding and has many stages. Anyone even on fatty diet can develop cirrhosis of liver, then people who consume a lot of alcohol or suffering from Chronic infections like hepatitis (types) can develop Cirrhosis.

Going by reports the liver appears to be normal (pictures could have been more help than a written report to comment) with Hepatic mass. Cirrhosis of Liver is a chronic pathology though with poor prognosis but only when liver is not able to help coagulation cascade and metabolism of bile, urea, creatinine and other toxins it filters. Cirrhotic liver can cause other secondary complications like portal hypertension etc. If your relative is asymptomatic (bleeding tendencies, portal hypertension, hepatic encephalopathy etc. ) and liver markers are normal then there is no need to worry. Get FNAC done and get the hepatic mass excised out.

If its malignant then follow the right course of treating it. As you have mention he is suffering from cancer (needs more details) before (This is what I have understood) then the chances of this mass to be a metastasis from the primary source of cancer are very high.

Best of luck.

Don't worry brother - time is a healer - for both you family and your father - say strong and remember the almighty - inshallah he is planning for the best.

The report reveals nothing.

You can not confirm the hepatic mass as cancer, untill unless cytology (FNAC) of the mass is not done.

Cirrhosis of liver is a common finding and has many stages. Anyone even on fatty diet can develop cirrhosis of liver, then people who consume a lot of alcohol or suffering from Chronic infections like hepatitis (types) can develop Cirrhosis.

Going by reports the liver appears to be normal (pictures could have been more help than a written report to comment) with Hepatic mass. Cirrhosis of Liver is a chronic pathology though with poor prognosis but only when liver is not able to help coagulation cascade and metabolism of bile, urea, creatinine and other toxins it filters. Cirrhotic liver can cause other secondary complications like portal hypertension etc. If your relative is asymptomatic (bleeding tendencies, portal hypertension, hepatic encephalopathy etc. ) and liver markers are normal then there is no need to worry. Get FNAC done and get the hepatic mass excised out.

If its malignant then follow the right course of treating it. As you have mention he is suffering from cancer (needs more details) before (This is what I have understood) then the chances of this mass to be a metastasis from the primary source of cancer are very high.

Best of luck.

Thanks for your advice Sir,

You have given me another hope. I hope your words are true and he even not suffering from Cancer who knows... He was suffering from hepatitis and the doctor told my bro yesterday about this latest development. More tests are awaited and should be conducted today and tomorrow hopefully... and then we will have the final reports... The doctor told him that the reports suggests it's a cancer and the liver damaged up to 90% that it would need a transplantation. Nothing more or less as far as I know... so more reports will highlight better image of reality and I hope that is nothing to worry about and the doctors even suggest not to transplant at all and that he will be healed without the need of such transplants

Aameen

PS: Doobte ko tinkay ka sahara bhi kaafi hota hai and may be I can fool myself for a day or two until all the reports results are there in front of me?

My Dad's a Professor of Gastroenterology & Hepatology over there & hes been part of the Post-Operative process as a Physician & Hepatologist ! If I understood him correctly it was the continued ineptitude of the Hospital Administration & the lack of funding from the Government not to mention the devolution from Federal to Provincial Government that is ruining a perfectly well setup Transplant Unit over there.

Hes recommended most of his patients to both India & China routinely ! But the preference is usually abroad because of extremely good Post-Operative care but the aforementioned Asian countries are catching up real quick.

Not only that - it's the lack of intra-operative training and expertise in transplanting a liver successfully.

Indraprastha Apollo Hospital has recently been accredited by Joint Commission International (JCI) USA as the first internationally accredited Hospital in India and South Asia.

That is factually incorrect - Aga Khan University Hospital in Karachi Pakistan received JCI accredition back in 2009

Yes I think I should tell my father as soon as the reports have reconfirmed the cancer and that the doctors has given their specialist opinion.

Your family does not need to tell him, get your doctor to break the news to him. We are all trained to do that and how to deal with the grief. Counselling is part of medical training.

Please do not wait for specialist opinions, may be he doesn't want them. Also, he just needs to know what is being suspected, you cant run tests without telling him. You or your family has no legal right to make decisions on his part.

Not only that - it's the lack of intra-operative training and expertise in transplanting a liver successfully.
That is factually incorrect - Aga Kha University Hospital in Karachi Pakistan received JCI accredition back in 2009
Thanks for correction. i took it from Wiki about the hospital info. Rest of the info is correct.

Dunno ma'am, I'm not the relevant person to know the nuances of what it takes to run a successful liver transplant unit but I do suppose that we all have to begin somewhere & a learning curve of sorts is a progression that is unavoidable.

I'll leave it to the Medical Professionals to sort this one out ! Good day. :tup:

That is factually incorrect - Aga Khan University Hospital in Karachi Pakistan received JCI accredition back in 2009

At the end of the day - Although liver transplants are no childsplay they are happening and happening succefully at that - THe most important thing is to have an experienced team that has relevant experience - centres of excellence/specialists units for transplant should be sought out for any procedure. Here in Saudi we have some of the best prognosis post transplant and have an extremely high success rate - so I see no reason -if a suitable donor organ is found for a succesful operation to be conducted.
But I must stress again - we're all jumping the gun - who knows if there will even need to be a transplant? The report shown ny the OP is inconclusive to say the least.

Thanks for your advice Sir,

You have given me another hope. I hope your words are true and he even not suffering from Cancer who knows... He was suffering from hepatitis and the doctor told my bro yesterday about this latest development. More tests are awaited and should be conducted today and tomorrow hopefully... and then we will have the final reports... The doctor told him that the reports suggests it's a cancer and the liver damaged up to 90% that it would need a transplantation. Nothing more or less as far as I know... so more reports will highlight better image of reality and I hope that is nothing to worry about and the doctors even suggest not to transplant at all and that he will be healed without the need of such transplants

Aameen

PS: Doobte ko tinkay ka sahara bhi kaafi hota hai and may be I can fool myself for a day or two until all the reports results are there in front of me?

Can you tell me his Age ?

If your doctor is telling the above then information on more procedures done to him might have been missing from your side. After USG, FNAC is the mandatory test. Like I said images could have been more help but in western countries they do not give images.

Wait for the reports of cytology, after excision of the mass the liver can rebound back to normal with adequate efficiency. I hope they be able to preserve healthy liver tissue and its vital functioning. If they are planing to excise out the whole organ then transplantation is required.

In any case, you shouldn't worry, these days there is cure of every thing. Only thing by part of relatives and the patient is to have faith and good compliance.

To get well, the mantra is, start thinking like a doctor not a Patient.

Regards

PS: I will stick to my first post going by what I have read in USG report BTW.