Low solar activity poses risk for Mars-bound astronaut

moon is boring...

It has water that can be separated into hydrogen (fuel) and oxygen (selfexplanatory), the dust it has can be fuel for fusion reactors (helium-3), and th same dust can be used in conjunction with large 3D printers to create a moon base, safe from radiation and incoming rocks (concepts already in "development")

Building a lunar base with 3D printing / Technology / Our Activities / ESA

Inside the ESA's Plan To Build the First Moon Base

byunarg7skcnqg7kwhpy.png

Oh and, these aren't just webpages with fancy graphics, actual conferences are being held on this subject as we speak. One on this precise subject just ended.

Introduction

It has water

the "water" on the moon regolith is not in directly-usable form... and it is not known if there is water ice on the moon's "far side"... lot more easier is carrying water from earth's oceans...

the dust it has can be fuel for fusion reactors (helium-3)
is it in usable quantities?? again, easier is carrying fusion reactants from earth... i just posted the below in peacefan's "future without wars" thread...

[QUOTE]"there is only one fusion that may be realizable... inertial confinement fusion ( icf )... ( Laser Fusion: The Uncertain Road to Ignition | Optics & Photonics News ).
.."[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE]"With the invention and advance of laser technology, however, another possible method for achieving fusion came to light. Inertial confinement fusion involves the heating of frozen micrograms of deuterium and tritium, generally with high-power lasers, to drive the fusion reaction that would lead to ignition"[/QUOTE]

and th same dust can be used in conjunction with large 3D printers to create a moon base

1. well, "3-d printing" is the defacto future manufacturing method, with maybe bioengineered viruses for small things... but what you said can be the experiment to learn base construction on low-gravity worlds.

2. the moon mud may have composition that asteroids or the moons of mars may not have... so, the moon cannot be taken as the only model for base construction.

if we consider it as exception!!!! the chances are....like 0.01% . sorry bhai. mai na 20-25 country ghuma hoon aur boht saari ladkiyon ko bhi mila hun, alag alag nationals. par kisi ne aaj tak war ki baat nahin ki.

if all we need is a staging base, why not (1). a big station in geosynchronous orbit... easier to construct and still within earth's magnetosphere,. (2). this station is used construct big ships to travel to mars and asteroid belt.

you don't have to worry about radiation on moon if you build underground.
and let's not forget the moon has plenty of helium-3 for energy and exploitable water.

the "water" on the moon regolith is not in directly-usable form... and it is not known if there is water ice on the moon's "far side"... lot more easier is carrying water from earth's oceans...

I was refering to water that's supposed to be on Lunar poles.

is it in usable quantities?? again, easier is carrying fusion reactants from earth...

Helium 3 is very scarce on Earth. It would be transported back here. This is meant on a larger timeframe than a Lunar base, instead of perhaps 20 years for the base, we're talking 50 years here, as there would not be too many fusion power plants
(in best case scenario of uninterupted funding and no new techincal difficulties) up until then anyway. The reason why i mentioned it is because of your "Moon is boring" comment, as i don't think that's true if it has so much potential.

1. well, "3-d printing" is the defacto future manufacturing method, with maybe bioengineered viruses for small things... but what you said can be the experiment to learn base construction on low-gravity worlds.

2. the moon mud may have composition that asteroids or the moons of mars may not have... so, the moon cannot be taken as the only model for base construction.

Again, i did not mean it as the only model for construction, i merely tried to provide as many decent arguments as possible against "Moon is boring" and how perhaps these properties can be used in order to construct a base.
Although i do also think that orbit stations and construction sites will be more important.

you don't have to worry about radiation on moon if you build underground.

that will be true of any space world, yes??

and let's not forget the moon... ...and exploitable water.

I was refering to water that's supposed to be on Lunar poles.

directly-usable water ( or even water ) on moon is not confirmed... what has been supposed is molecules of hydrogen locked into other chemicals... do correct me if i am wrong.

and let's not forget the moon has plenty of helium-3 for energy

Helium 3 is very scarce on Earth.

in few years from now, i believe, biofuel ( ethanol ) will be used for electricity generation, and that generation will be decentralized, portable ( sized according to needs ) and usable for most needs... (a). bioengineering will enhance plant growth, ethanol quantity, oxygen production by plants, (b). vertical farms will make this politically possible and allow fuel to be generated in any possible big space, including spaceships. ... so, what is needed is water, soil, light, fertilizer.

fusion... laser-confinement or otherwise... doubtful in fifteen years at least... and do we really need fusion power when we have semi-renewable biofuel??

directly-usable water ( or even water ) on moon is not confirmed... what has been supposed is molecules of hydrogen locked into other chemicals... do correct me if i am wrong.

It was an Indian craft that first detected water particles in Lunar "atmosphere". Later confirmed by a US probe that was ejected into one of the craters.

BBC News - Ice deposits found at Moon's pole

in few years from now, i believe, biofuel ( ethanol ) will be used for electricity generation, and that generation will be decentralized, portable ( sized according to needs ) and usable for most needs

Truly a utopian jamahiriya! I doubt it's gonna be a few years though.
fusion... laser-confinement or otherwise... doubtful in fifteen years at least... and do we really need fusion power when we have semi-renewable biofuel??

I believe you have a bit of lack of vision here, or more accurately, i think you only see until the point where eco friendly, self generating power mechanisms for individual use are established. That's all good for your jamahiriya (and everyone else-end user in particular, less governments and established power sector companies), but looking more long term, space mining, exploration of moons in the solar system i can tell you that biofuel powered spaceship is not a very good solution. In other words, we need fusion regardless of what happens with the renewables trend that is happening.

Truly a utopian jamahiriya! I doubt it's gonna be a few years though.

so, you either knew of jamahiriya before hand ( and then looked at my user-name ) or you have seen my posts... i am impressed either way... :-)

It was an Indian craft that first detected water particles in Lunar "atmosphere". Later confirmed by a US probe that was ejected into one of the craters.

but it was a american instrument on that indian craft that actually detected those particles, but did it really detect water as we know it on earth... same with the american suicide-probe case... is there some technique to assemble those particles into water?? sincere question.

I believe you have a bit of lack of vision here, or more accurately, i think you only see until the point where eco friendly, self generating power mechanisms for individual use are established.

i remembered something after i posted previous post... what about "stirling engines"... all they require is a heat-source and a working-gas... both are available in many forms... coal, sunlight, hydrogen gas, air, burning ethanol, decay of some radioactive compounds... "stirling engine" can be used to generate electricity or rotary motion for any use... for earth or for space operations or on other worlds...

------

1. a classic stirling engine, running...

Stirlingmotor_in_Betrieb.JPG

2. a solar-power electric generator for buildings..

800px-EuroDishSBP_front.jpg

3. this ( Stirling radioisotope generator - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia ) is a nasa project using small plutonium pellets heat source...

"In the early 21st century, a major project using this concept was undertaken: the Advanced Stirling Radioisotope Generator (ASRG), a power source based on a 55-watt electric converter.[1][2] The thermal power source for this system is the General Purpose Heat Source (GPHS). Each GPHS contains four iridium-clad Pu-238 fuel pellets, stands 5 cm tall, 10 cm square and weighs 1.44 kg. The hot end of the Stirling converter reaches 650°C and heated helium drives a free piston reciprocating in a linear alternator, heat being rejected at the cold end of the engine. The AC is then converted to 55 watts DC. Thus each ASRG unit will utilise two Stirling converter units with about 500 watts of thermal power supplied by two GPHS units and will deliver 100-120 watts of electric power. The ASRG underwent qualification testing at NASA Glenn, as a power supply for a future NASA mission. The ASRG was designed into many mission proposals in this era.[3]"

------

i believe going back to simplicity and bringing back of low-tech is the future... "stirling engine" usage on earth in a self-governing decentralized socialist model is eco-friendly, as you said... and removes humanity from petro-economy slavery.

1. has the existence of "heliopause" and "termination shock" been confirmed by observation... or is it just the proposal of mathematicians-turned-astronomers??
well as the voyager 1 left heliosphere and entered interstellar space then charged particles and plasma activities increased about 40X as compared to readings inside the Heliosphere.
Proof of having crossed the Heliopause should be signaled by
  • a sharp drop in the temperature of charged particles,
  • a change in the direction of the magnetic field, and
  • an increase in the amount of galactic cosmic ray
jamahir said:
2. by the time humanity has prepared to go to mars, spaceship engines like vasimr will propel the ships to mars in about 40 days... ( vasimr - Our Engine | Ad Astra Rocket )... it is a real engine of simple design, with working models, and will soon tested on the international space station ( iss ).
thats news to me! :)
I don't have any plans on visiting Mars either; I'd much rather visit Snickers or KitKat ! :undecided:
How about visiting galaxy and bounty??? :P
levina is a sister... not mine, of course...
maybe @levina may choose to clear that up...
:lol: :lol:
ya right a sister talkin about mars. nazi weapons , wars and a senior member of a defence forum. okay i believe you brotha.
Do I've to prove my gender to post a "nazi insane weaponry" thread or a scientific thread???
pathetic!
Do you you still live in the stone age??
For the records there 're many of this forum whom I've talked to. And from now you can stop visiting my threads.
if we consider it as exception!!!! the chances are....like 0.01% . sorry bhai. mai na 20-25 country ghuma hoon aur boht saari ladkiyon ko bhi mila hun, alag alag nationals. par kisi ne aaj tak war ki baat nahin ki.
then you underestimate women!!
To men like you it must be quite a news if I tell you that women work shoulder to shoulder with men in army,navy & airforce. And being from an army background all this is not new to me.

i didn't ask you to prove ur gender. i wont visit ur thread, by mistake if i post something , warn me. stone age is nothing new at the place we're discussing. no country has 50% women army. never seen a bunch of women building a road or doing some hard labor wrk. pls read 400 days, 300 days part of your thread. by no means i desrespect women. they are good at their fields, womenly things. if i post my expert comments on salma hayek's wardrobe or angelina's affair, it would ne hard for many to digest i'm a man.

they are good at their fields, womenly things. if i post my expert comments on salma hayek's wardrobe or angelina's affair, it would ne hard for many to digest i'm a man.
So that's your "digestion" problem!!
Now believe it or not this is my taste-science and technology. If you thought all the females were bimbos then that's your problem not mine.
My posts and threads should not be judged on the basis of my gender.
Now stop derailing this thread and you may ignore all my threads in future.

so, you either knew of jamahiriya before hand ( and then looked at my user-name ) or you have seen my posts... i am impressed either way... :-)

I knew beforehand ofcourse!

but it was a american instrument on that indian craft that actually detected those particles, but did it really detect water as we know it on earth... same with the american suicide-probe case... is there some technique to assemble those particles into water?? sincere question.

Read the links......ice ejected upwards, upon impact.

i believe going back to simplicity and bringing back of low-tech is the future... "stirling engine" usage on earth in a self-governing decentralized socialist model is eco-friendly, as you said... and removes humanity from petro-economy slavery.

Can't comment on these engines, never actually heard of them up until now, will have to look it up some more.
As for the petro slavery, i know for a fact petrochemical companies are one of the largest investors in anything new related to energy.They will not give up the chicken that lays golden eggs willingly or easily.