$@rJen

LCA Tejas Mk-2 testing by 2017: DRDO chief
Saturday, February 20, 2016
By: International Business Times

Given that the LCA Tejas' indigenous development program has been marred by delays, the most advanced among the variants, the Mk 2 (also Mk. II) version, will take years before it can be seen taking off the HAL airport for testing.

The LCA Tejas Mk 2 will be available for testing by 2017 and will not be ready before 2024, INN reported, citing DRDO chief Dr S Christoper's statements to Vayu Aerospace and Defence Review.

The DRDO chief, however, confirmed that the proposed LCA Tejas Mk 2 will be using the powerful General Electric F414-GE-INS6 engines and will feature a lengthier fuselage. But there was no clarification by him if this he was talking about the Air Force or the Navy variant of the MK 2 aircraft.

IHS Jane's 360 had earlier reported, citing official sources, that the HAL had proposed the Indian Air Force (IAF) of acquiring LCA Tejas Mk 1A variant instead of waiting for LCA Tejas Mk 2 aircraft, as a stop gap arrangement. Currently, the IAF is on board to acquire LCA Tejas Mk 1A.

The report noted the lack of clarity on the IAF's participation with LCA Tejas Mk 2, given the recent statement by Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha to the media: "As of now we are not interested in Mk 2."

The Indian Navy has expressed its requirement for a naval variant of LCA Tejas Mk 2.

The LCA Tejas Mk 2 version will also be featuring active electronically scanned array (AESA) radar from Israeli firm ELTA System

Airforce don't need MK2 which will go for production only in 2024/25. For Navy I say. So HAL should focus on Indian AMCA project for IAF. If it's not ready by 2025 then we will be world's largest importer of arms for ever.

Nearly 200 plus to be retired from duty by 2018. 100 plus Mig 21 and 80 plus Mig 27.

How could Tejas replace this space? Our squadron strength will be very low against massive fleet strength of. Our enemies Pakistan and China combined. Our airforce will hold on with defence till Pakistan airforce will be nil but huge chunk Chinese airforce surviving incase of real war scenario.

While 300 plus fighter jets be retired how many jets will be inducted into our fleet? Until 2018 and until 2025?

Many of our friends here believe Tejas is the answer and AMCA is the answer. But let's be realistic for. Godsake.Till 2025 how many Tejas MK1-P can be inducted? In short we can produce 128 Tejas in 8 years at the rate of 16 aircraft per year. So If full steam production of Tejas starts from 2017/18 @16 per year by 2025 we can induct 128 Tejas (2017).... . . .

DRDO can easily improve present LCA by
a}Reducing weight
b}Work on CFT for LCA
c}Use EJ 200 instead of GE 404..

Airforce don't need MK2 which will go for production only in 2024/25. For Navy I say. So HAL should focus on Indian AMCA project for IAF. If it's not ready by 2025 then we will be world's largest importer of arms for ever.

It means IAF is not demanding MK-2 requirement for the order at this stage and will be inducting MK-1 SOP-18 100 nos and MK-1 IOC -- 20 nos

Nearly 200 plus to be retired from duty by 2018. 100 plus Mig 21 and 80 plus Mig 27.

Never did all 200 aircrafts are retired on the one go, but will be retired in phrased manner, my guess on per squadron basis.

How could Tejas replace this space? Our squadron strength will be very low against massive fleet strength of. Our enemies Pakistan and China combined. Our airforce will hold on with defence till Pakistan airforce will be nil but huge chunk Chinese airforce surviving incase of real war scenario.

More MKI -- 350,
Rafale -- 36 + 19 nos
Combat HACK + Lift
Darlin-3 upgrade

Problems not only for IAF

For PAF JF-17 is not enough to replaced all J-7, Mirrage 3/5 and Nanchang - Q-5 -- they will probably go for more used F-16.

For PLAAF -- Need to replaced huge number of Gen -3 fighter planes.
J-10 -- Engine still unreliable, low MTO
J-11, J-16 -- Problems is again engine, and glitches
J-15 -- Low thrust, needs F-117 engine from US, from carrier it could carry only A2A armament, and with the IP rights problem with russia cannot asked for high thrust engine, till paid all IP right penalties.
J-20 -- Meant for the Area Deniel Area Excess in the South China Sea.
J-31 -- Meant for export, but not before 2024
Su-27/Su 30MKK -- Russian ones inferior to Indian MKI
Su-35 -- Need to buy which tell the real story in the indigenous Active Radar, turbofan engine, and J-20 5th fighter plane development

While 300 plus fighter jets be retired how many jets will be inducted into our fleet? Until 2018 and until 2025?

300 Plus fighter till 2030
Upto 2025 85 MIg-27 + 120 MIG 21 Bison. I think Mig-27 should be phrased first upto 2018 as Mig 21 Bison are relative new airframe, and problems with MIG-27 with the unavalability of engines and spares.

Many of our friends here believe Tejas is the answer and AMCA is the answer. But let's be realistic for. Godsake.Till 2025 how many Tejas MK1-P can be inducted? In short we can produce 128 Tejas in 8 years at the rate of 16 aircraft per year. So If full steam production of Tejas starts from 2017/18 @16 per year by 2025 we can induct 128 Tejas (2017).... . . .

by 2025 -- 120 HAL Tejas MK-1 + 20 MK-1 trainer.

Kya chuti*o ki team hai.
Saala abhi tak Tejas Mk1 ka FOC nahi hua, Mk1A ka kuch Pata nahi Aur baat kar rahe hai Mk2 ka.
Saalo ko Rajpath pe line se khada kar ke goli mar dena chahiye.
but but but,,it flew in Bahrain airshow

buy 100 + F 16 IN or Gripen NG and get over with it. or Take blueprint from DRDO and hand it over to pvt players.

It means IAF is not demanding MK-2 requirement for the order at this stage and will be inducting MK-1 SOP-18 100 nos and MK-1 IOC -- 20 nos

Never did all 200 aircrafts are retired on the one go, but will be retired in phrased manner, my guess on per squadron basis.

More MKI -- 350,
Rafale -- 36 + 19 nos
Combat HACK + Lift
Darlin-3 upgrade

Problems not only for IAF

For PAF JF-17 is not enough to replaced all J-7, Mirrage 3/5 and Nanchang - Q-5 -- they will probably go for more used F-16.

For PLAAF -- Need to replaced huge number of Gen -3 fighter planes.
J-10 -- Engine still unreliable, low MTO
J-11, J-16 -- Problems is again engine, and glitches
J-15 -- Low thrust, needs F-117 engine from US, from carrier it could carry only A2A armament, and with the IP rights problem with russia cannot asked for high thrust engine, till paid all IP right penalties.
J-20 -- Meant for the Area Deniel Area Excess in the South China Sea.
J-31 -- Meant for export, but not before 2024
Su-27/Su 30MKK -- Russian ones inferior to Indian MKI
Su-35 -- Need to buy which tell the real story in the indigenous Active Radar, turbofan engine, and J-20 5th fighter plane development

300 Plus fighter till 2030
Upto 2025 85 MIg-27 + 120 MIG 21 Bison. I think Mig-27 should be phrased first upto 2018 as Mig 21 Bison are relative new airframe, and problems with MIG-27 with the unavalability of engines and spares.

by 2025 -- 120 HAL Tejas MK-1 + 20 MK-1 trainer.
don't know much about CHINA bro but on a serious note Pakistan does not face the same issue as the IAF does

Remember PAK is only inducting 150 JF 17's which includes BLOCK 1 2 and 3's out of which 50 block 1's are already in service 29 block 2's are done too which means 79 out 150 meaning only 71 remaining 16 to 17 block 2's will be inducted by the end of this year which means around of figure of 100 jets till the end of this year and Kamra has mentioned that till 2019 it will be able to pull out 25 jets a year but i m still not counting that and a dual seat variant is also comming out in the mid of this year and Block 3 is in progress and will be done by mid of 2017 so 50 block 3's would take max time till 2019 to be fully inducted in our AF....and than block ones will be upgraded to block 2 so that will take 2 years at max taking upto 2021 and PAF having 100 block 2's and 50 block 3's all in battle ready mode by the end of 2021 max and this timeline is refering to the fact that if Kamra only produces 17 planes a year if it starts 25 jets a year than 2020 is max .....

and PAK won't be retiring all of the mirages and F-7's...

The Mirage III/V with ROSE upgrades can still stay in service by 2025 and F-7PG are the latest of F-7 variants so they might stay with us till 2025 too since the Plan is of only 150 JF's so there might be a possibility of inducting 50 more F-16 by the year of 2020 and rest will depend on how JF 17 block 2 or 3 performes if its really good and cost effective it might get more orders from PAF and will replace the remaining Mirages and F-7's if that happens then by the end of 2025 you will see a whole new PAF.... so we are on track and going really smooth where as you guys really need some HELP really get some sane minds in DRDO too work and work fast......

don't know much about CHINA bro but on a serious note Pakistan does not face the same issue as the IAF does

Remember PAK is only inducting 150 JF 17's which includes BLOCK 1 2 and 3's out of which 50 block 1's are already in service 29 block 2's are done too which means 79 out 150 meaning only 71 remaining 16 to 17 block 2's will be inducted by the end of this year which means around of figure of 100 jets till the end of this year and Kamra has mentioned that till 2019 it will be able to pull out 25 jets a year but i m still not counting that and a dual seat variant is also comming out in the mid of this year and Block 3 is in progress and will be done by mid of 2017 so 50 block 3's would take max time till 2019 to be fully inducted in our AF....and than block ones will be upgraded to block 2 so that will take 2 years at max taking upto 2021 and PAF having 100 block 2's and 50 block 3's all in battle ready mode by the end of 2021 max and this timeline is refering to the fact that if Kamra only produces 17 planes a year if it starts 25 jets a year than 2020 is max .....

and PAK won't be retiring all of the mirages and F-7's...

The Mirage III/V with ROSE upgrades can still stay in service by 2025 and F-7PG are the latest of F-7 variants so they might stay with us till 2025 too since the Plan is of only 150 JF's so there might be a possibility of inducting 50 more F-16 by the year of 2020 and rest will depend on how JF 17 block 2 or 3 performes if its really good and cost effective it might get more orders from PAF and will replace the remaining Mirages and F-7's if that happens then by the end of 2025 you will see a whole new PAF.... so we are on track and going really smooth where as you guys really need some HELP really get some sane minds in DRDO too work and work fast......
Man, if you don't mind, JFT can't meet our standards.

It is being inducted in large numbers in your AF but Tejas is a mere additional fighter to us.
Our ambitions and goals are different, our problem and threats are different.

Man, if you don'tblk 3 which is stnd, JFT can't meet our standards.

It is being inducted in large numbers in your AF but Tejas is a mere additional fighter to us.
Jf is still inferior to current tejas mk1 & their is no sign of blk 3 which will be inferior to mk 1a we need to scrap tejas mk 2 & move on to AMCA or we will be late again & will be inducting 5th generation fighter when rest of the world already moven to 7th

Man, if you don't mind, JFT can't meet our standards.

and by standards you mean requirements i believe right i mean for a country like India it can't depend on single engine fighter because of the land mass of your country ??

Jf is still inferior to current tejas mk1 & their is no sign of blk 3 which will be inferior to mk 1a we need to scrap tejas mk 2 & move on to AMCA or we will be late again & will be inducting 5th generation fighter when rest of the world already moven to 7th
oh really care to explain how JF is inferior to your might TEJAS ??? and for AMCA if you start now i believe you wil be able to get it till 2030 and if your referring to PAK-FA i mean every one knows where's that going :P

because of the land mass of your country ??
Nah! , it may be just one of those several reasons.
And if you are really a defense enthusiast, you may know those reasons. Can't speak directly man.

Nah! , it may be just one of those several reasons.
And if you are really a defense enthusiast, you may know those reasons. Can't speak directly man.
direct is good you might wanna speak up i would like you have a brief conversation with you on the "STANDARDS" of JF-17 :)

oh really care to explain how JF is inferior to
your might TEJAS ???
1. Role of Tejas and JF are different. JF is made for going in combat ground and bombing meanwhile Tejas is made for defending skies. No need for comparison.
2. Don't compare yourself with India on the basis of JFT. JFT is result of ToT from Chengdu.
It's name FC-1 Xiaolong is still dominant over JFT in all other forums.
and for AMCA if you
start now i believe you wil be able to get it till
So? o_O
No country has made Stealth Fighter in 10 years.
Schedule is 2025, and will overshoot to 2030.
Even, then, acquiring an indigenous stealth fighter won't be a common achievement.
By the way, have you guys any such programs.
and if your referring to PAK-FA i mean
every one knows where's that going
I also know but we can run the project further till we get even small squadron of FGFAs(which can further be integrated into India's indigenous program.)
Moreover, if cost crosses it's limits, yes, we ca ln scrap the project. We aren't dying of shortage of fighters. Can wait for some time to get our own.
because you may be aware that our 4G fighter is also not weakling. :azn:
direct is good you might wanna speak up i would like you have a brief conversation with you on the "STANDARDS" of JF-17 :)
Sure mate.
JFT is made for frontline fight after F-16s like planes and can help your country to maintain strength in lower budget because of lower cost too. Given it's range, it can be used for bombing in enemy territory.
It's induction in large numbers indicates it gonna be backbone of PAF.
Meanwhile, India has much better options for this role. Su30 MkI(now trying for MMRCA) and have enough money to maintain strength at high cost.
By the way, our threats are larger too. We have to lovely and peaceful neighbors like China and Pakistan.
And also we are getting addicted to that so called power projection (flaunting capabilities). :D
Like we developed our Navy in long term and it's unchallenged in IOR,
our army is now on right way after privatisation(projects are not getting delayed),
and it's improving in both quantity and quality.
So, obviously we will seek next such plan to get our AF to good track as well.
Private Co's of India are collaborating with foreigners for license production and later use that skill and experience in indigenization.
And many states are also building aerospace hubs to develop tech.
And as economy is expanding, and tech is getting edge now, we are accelerating.
Aren't facing much problems and delays as compared to before.
Let's see what happens but I hope we could get a breakthrough here too. :enjoy: