The_Showstopper

Khap offers 51 buffaloes for beheading Vinod Kapri, director seeks protection
  • IANS, Mumbai
    |
  • Updated: Jun 18, 2015 10:26 IST
Miss Tanakpur director Vinod Kapri sought police protection on Wednesday after receiving death threats from a Khap panchayat in Uttar Pradesh. The Khap panchayat is said to have announced that they will give 51 buffaloes to anyone who beheads director Vinod Kapri.

A panchayat of Ahalwat Khap convened in village Bhainsi of district Muzaffarnagar on Friday to discuss the issue and it demanded to release the film only after seeking no objection from Khap leaders. Describing the film as an insult to villages and khap panchayats, people participating in the meeting suggested ways to teach a lesson to the director so that no one could dare to project a negative image of khap panchayat and village culture in future. A few suggested to parade the director naked while other advised to stage a dharna outside director's residence. A person offered 51 buffaloes whosoever will bring the director's head.

"Khap members were angry over maligning the image of panchayats and villages therefore gave suggestions including reward of 51 buffaloes on director's head," said Raju Ahalawat, president of Bhartiya Kisan Union's Muzaffarnagar district.

Watch the trailer of Miss Tanakpur Haazir Ho

Describing Panchayat's decision irrelevant and unethical, film director Vinod Kapri has earlier clarified that he respects khap panchayats and requested them to first watch the movie before issuing any decision.

After seeking police protection, Kapri said in a statement: "Actually, I'm a little shocked and worried. Shocked about the death threat. But at the same time I'm relieved that what I wanted to show through my film has already been proven by such statements. I'm worried for my family, not for myself. I'm seeking police protection because I'm here in Mumbai and my family is in Noida (Uttar Pradesh). In this busy schedule of releasing the film just two weeks later, I'm constantly thinking about my family at the back of my mind. So if they are protected I would be relieved."

Asked whether Kapri is planning to file a case against the Khap panchayat ruling, he said: "No, I would not want to lodge any complaint against them. But yes, I would request them to act sensibly, logically and responsibly. Such immature and illegal statements are not expected from Khap panchayats ruled by the experienced and elderly."

The trailer of Miss Tanakpur Haazir Ho earned praise from Amitabh Bachchan and Rajkumar Hirani. The film narrates the story of a man who is falsely accused by a village strongman that he has raped a buffalo named Miss Tanakpur. The powerful man of the village also gets the Khap panchayat to pass a verdict that he has to marry the victim.

"I respect them and want to request them to be patient and not pass such immoral judgments without even seeing the film," he added.

Miss Tanakpur Haazir Ho, which stars Annu Kapoor, Ravi Kishan, Om Puri, Rahul Bagga and Hrishita Bhatt, is set to release on June 26.

Khap offers 51 buffaloes for beheading Vinod Kapri, director seeks protection

@jamahir .. direct democracy in action. :)

not really... these are just traditional "elders" whose diktats are obeyed through fear and reactionary thought.

there is no enlightened masses here, there is no revolution, and no democracy... the term "direct democracy" cannot be applied here in any measure.

not really... these are just traditional "elders" whose diktats are obeyed through fear and reactionary thought.

there is no enlightened masses here, there is no revolution, and no democracy... the term "direct democracy" cannot be applied here in any measure.
oh.. so first prcondition of direct democracy is enlightened masses? Where are they? not even in UK.
where are the checks and balances in the system? Can it stop nazi takeover of a country, because people tend to suppress criticism when you want to rule by 'consensus'.

Samajwadi party & BSP has turned UP into an Islamic State type hell hole.

oh.. so first prcondition of direct democracy is enlightened masses? Where are they? not even in UK.

no, the precondition for direct-democracy is a revolution... the form of revolution is never a fixed thing and depends on the situation in each society... for example, the pre-revolution social situation of libya or venezuela cannot be applied to india... india is too chaotic and because of the high population, has more self-centered people and very less altruistic and committed communitarian people who will also generally be isolated and will have to be gathered using some means.

one just has a undemocratic system, and then revolutionaries use some means to achieve power, and then they bring direct-democracy to replace the present system, and invite the masses to rearrange the society into the decentralized communes of direct-democracy... the method of revolution must take into account three states of the general masses to the revolution... (1). hostility, (2). apathy, (3). welcoming... the revolutionaries must try to engage the apathetic people to counter the hostile ones.

in india's case, the hostiles ones are not only the reactionary section of the masses but also the military ( i have not heard of a single socialist coup attempt in the almost seven decades of the post-1947 indian military ).

so ??

"aam aadmi party" has adopted the direct-democracy concept ( but not socialism ) and they call it "swaraj"... i have spoken to the leaders of a city central committee of theirs... this was last year... their idea is to propose a "swaraj" bill in the national parliament... it is of consequence that the two rebels of aap - yogendra yadav and prashant bhushan - have done so because they felt aap forgot its reason for existence and got involved in traditional indian politics.

and you will no doubt wonder, how do i propose to bring direct-democracy socialism to india.

where are the checks and balances in the system? Can it stop nazi takeover of a country, because people tend to suppress criticism when you want to rule by 'consensus'.

jamahiriya is a simple system.

at the level of "basic people's congress"...

1. all decisions are taken in consensus ( ideally verbally ) and recorded by the bpc secretariat which itself has been elected prior by the local residents and can include one or more or all local residents... and there are witnesses ( peers/neighbors/residents ) to the whole procedure and one can arrange a common publication of the decisions taken and their state of fulfillment.

2. a "revolutionary command council" will ensure that the direct-democracy norms are being followed without subversion or corruption... this can include members in bpc or "municipal people's congress" or other means.

3. in libya, the post-revolution citizens. because they had been brought this true democratic system, also were given the responsibility to defend their system from external and internal enemies... every citizen had the right to own a gun and young female citizens were especially brought to prominence to defend the new revolutionary system... this obviously requires a enlightened masses otherwise like you said, it becomes dangerous in places like india.

4. since the congresses at every level ( bpc, mpc, rpc, gpc ) are essentially a construct of people's decisions, there is general transparency and feedback-loop for decisions or needs to start at neighborhood level and go to higher levels and back.

5. also, since the system is so simple, there is no need for competing "political parties" to exist... the main objective of people's welfare is being met... this removes divisions among the citizens and conflict for loyalty in the secretariats.

no, the precondition for direct-democracy is a revolution... the form of revolution is never a fixed thing and depends on the situation in each society... for example, the pre-revolution social situation of libya or venezuela cannot be applied to india... india is too chaotic and because of the high population, has more self-centered people and very less altruistic and committed communitarian people who will also generally be isolated and will have to be gathered using some means.

one just has a undemocratic system, and then revolutionaries use some means to achieve power, and then they bring direct-democracy to replace the present system, and invite the masses to rearrange the society into the decentralized communes of direct-democracy... the method of revolution must take into account three states of the general masses to the revolution... (1). hostility, (2). apathy, (3). welcoming... the revolutionaries must try to engage the apathetic people to counter the hostile ones.

in india's case, the hostiles ones are not only the reactionary section of the masses but also the military ( i have not heard of a single socialist coup attempt in the almost seven decades of the post-1947 indian military ).

so ??

"aam aadmi party" has adopted the direct-democracy concept ( but not socialism ) and they call it "swaraj"... i have spoken to the leaders of a city central committee of theirs... this was last year... their idea is to propose a "swaraj" bill in the national parliament... it is of consequence that the two rebels of aap - yogendra yadav and prashant bhushan - have done so because they felt aap forgot its reason for existence and got involved in traditional indian politics.

and you will no doubt wonder, how do i propose to bring direct-democracy socialism to india.

jamahiriya is a simple system.

at the level of "basic people's congress"...

1. all decisions are taken in consensus ( ideally verbally ) and recorded by the bpc secretariat which itself has been elected prior by the local residents and can include one or more or all local residents... and there are witnesses ( peers/neighbors/residents ) to the whole procedure and one can arrange a common publication of the decisions taken and their state of fulfillment.

2. a "revolutionary command council" will ensure that the direct-democracy norms are being followed without subversion or corruption... this can include members in bpc or "municipal people's congress" or other means.

3. in libya, the post-revolution citizens. because they had been brought this true democratic system, also were given the responsibility to defend them system from external and internal enemies... every citizen had the right to own a gun and young female citizens were especially brought to prominence to defend the new revolutionary system... this obviously requires a enlightened masses or like you said, it becomes dangerous in places like india.

4. since the congresses at every level ( bpc, mpc, rpc, gpc ) are essentially a construct of people's decisions, there is general transparency and feedback-loop for decisions or needs to start at neighborhood level and go to higher levels and back.

5. also, since the system is so simple, there is no need for competing "political parties" to exist... the main objective of people's welfare is being met... this removes divisions among the citizens and conflict for loyalty in the secretariats.
I understand this system will require 'great purge' of selfish masses in the beginning, and systematic removal of any dissent as time goes on.
the last point(5), how do you arrive at best conclusion keeping in mind interest of people. There is always two sides to a story, pros and cons of every decision you take. Without division, you will get 'consensus', a dangerous situation.

Ss these panchayats try to usurp govt space, they should be banned.

Change your glasses and get a hearing-aid ! UP is a Hindu Rashtra type hell hole !
Naa.. it's ruled by a Mulla by the name Mulla Singh Yadav belonging to a half Islamic half goonda Party enforcing 8th Century traditions, hence my description seems more apt ... And by the way why do Pakistanis get offended when somebody says something bad about Islamic State. o_O

These khaps are a disgrace to any nation which envisage the rule of law..

Naa.. it's ruled by a Mulla by the name Mulla Singh Yadav belonging to a half Islamic half goonda Party enforcing 8th Century traditions,

Mukayam Yadv is not Muslim he did nothing when Muslims were attacked in Muzaffarnagar.What about Hindutva also propagating 2000 year old Vedic traditions. What Hindutva committing violence against minorities. ISIS, Al-Qaeeda and Talibans are all opportunistic entities. It is Muslims that are fighting against them.

All of them are Islamic State equivalents. :lol:

As a matter of fact India has VERY weak defamation laws. Libel and Slander is hardly punished by law.

In the absence of Law to provide Justice, it is natural that Vigilante Justice will step in to do the needful.