Karachi receives less than half of its water demand, says minister

The Newspaper's Staff Reporter Updated June 21, 2019

KARACHI: The water shortage crisis in the city, which is already receiving less than half of its required water supply, is deepening because of suspension of supply from main pumping stations twice in recent days, while on the other hand, authorities have claimed that the supply would be normalised, a top official said on Wednesday.

He also expressed the hope that the new pumping station installed at the Dhabeji pumping station would start operation within the next few days which would further reduce the pressure.

However, he added that the recent damage to key pipelines in the city due to fast eroding infrastructure remained a source of concern which had caused wastage of hundreds of gallons of water recently.

“Unfortunately 72-inch pipeline at the central Dhabeji pumping station burst due to power breakdown twice in a week,” said Sindh Local Bodies Minister Saeed Ghani.

“That caused suspension in water supply for a few days. It took time to get it normalised, but then within the city some key pipelines were damaged which affected the supply to a couple of districts. The supply has turned normal and situation would improve in a day or two,” he added.

Due to recent suspension of supply from Dhabeji, old city areas of Lyari and Keamari, Korangi, Gulshan-i-Iqbal, Gulistan-i-Jauhar, Malir, Landhi, Model Colony, Manzoor Colony, Mehmoodabad, Ahsanabad, Gulshan-i-Maymar and Orangi Town were among the areas which remained badly affected.

The minister said the city was facing acute water shortages as it was receiving close to 500MGD against demand of 1,100MGD.

The Sindh government had allocated enough funds for development of water resources and supply as well as improved the sewerage system, which would improve the situation within the next two years, he claimed.

“In this budget, allocation for the Greater Karachi Sewerage Plan is Rs5bn,” he said. “There is a mega project called S-III with a budget of Rs36.11bn and it is under implementation since last over a decade. Similarly, the Sindh government has allocated Rs800m for the ongoing Greater Karachi Water Supply project, also known as K-IV. We are also working on multiple proposals to finalise them for recycling of water and contain its wastage.”

Published in Dawn, June 21st, 2019

When India release water they complain and when India withheld water they still complain!!!!

Its nothing to do with india, its Karachi's creaking infrastructure and old pipes

More reason not to vote for useless PPP and PMLN idiots who have done nothing for our country

Its nothing to do with india, its Karachi's creaking infrastructure and old pipes

More reason not to vote for useless PPP and PMLN idiots who have done nothing for our country

Of course who to vote is individuals right and must be respected.
Now since we have PTI, instead of fixing Karachi they are bringing rest of Pakistan to that level.
BTW for record it was MQM scums ruling Karachi previously.

Who exactly complains ?

I refer to Zardari party here.
They don't allow to build Kalabagh dam so obviously there's no control over water.

Of course who to vote is individuals right and must be respected.
Now since we have PTI, instead of fixing Karachi they are bringing rest of Pakistan to that level.
BTW for record it was MQM scums ruling Karachi previously.

I refer to Zardari party here.
They don't allow to build Kalabagh dam so obviously there's no control over water.

Oh so you want PTI to fix your corrupt kings corruption and looting within a year with minimal funds???

Inshaallah it will with rest of Pakistan as that issue is everywhere btw why we discussing that indian namoona posts??kitna mukhlis hai yeh indians hum sab jaanty hain
i think we can clean sea water and use it like gulf countries . karachi deserve better man

Man i said it decade ago. but i'm told that water is actually leaking to the ground due to broken pipes of distribution network.

Inshaallah it will with rest of Pakistan as that issue is everywhere btw why we discussing that indian namoona posts??kitna mukhlis hai yeh indians hum sab jaanty hain
wo to apni bee marwany aya tha . per problem apni hai karachi main yaar .

Sure,, that is indeed a choice however Pakistan has plenty of water

What we dont have enough of is dams, canals and water storage facilities

Our water infrastructure in places is old and the pipes leak a massive amount of water

Its a similar storyline with having old transmission lines for electricity

But aslong as we have a idiot kaum and looters who spend billions on metros rather then dams

Then who are we to complain????

If the same idiots then want to free and elect the same corrupt idiots like Nawaz and Zardari then how can we fix our country????

Karachi destroyed by neglect of many years last we get some funds during Musharraf era.From 2008 its totally neglected first by PPP than by NS as per mutual understanding ""SIndh tumhara punab hamara ""even that operation was forced by Raheel Shariff now we got the cursed of 18th amendment.After IK quitting seat our friend Alamgir Khan is elected from my area he always complained ""kuch karna chaoo sobai masla ban jata hai "" K4 water project got delayed by over 10 years
wo to apni bee marwany aya tha . per problem apni hai karachi main yaar .

Indus delta is dying and dams are the culprit.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1939963/6-fast-depleting-indus-delta/?amp=1

STARVED of fresh water and no longer able to withstand the encroaching Arabian Sea, the Indus is dying a slow death. The channels of this mighty and historic river are running dry, while salt water is destroying the lush tamarisk forests which once lined the river, the estuarine timmar, or mangrove swamps, and the red rice paddies.

The destruction of the Indus delta is a direct consequence of the dams and barrages that have been built higher up on the river. These have diverted the river's water into areas that were earlier rainfed, drastically reducing the quantity of water flowing into the deltaic channels leading and, thereby, increasing salinity.

Keti Bunder, which lies to the east of Karachi, was once a bustling port and trading centre with a population of 40,000. Today, it's a ghost town. Most of its residents have long since migrated to more economically viable areas. Its active rice mills now lie neglected and its water supply systems no longer function because of lack of drinking water.

Shah Bunder tells a similar story, ......

https://www.downtoearth.org.in/coverage/death-of-the-indus-delta-29827