Jamaat-e-Islami issuing threats against Ahmadis in Lahore

Killing of IJT activist in drone hit raises alarm

Amir Mir
Thursday, December 05, 2013
From Print Edition

560 235 189 1

ISLAMABAD: The November 29 killing of an Islami Jamiat Tuleba (IJT) activist in a US drone attack in the North Waziristan agency has reinforced the concerns of the security agencies about the alleged links of the Jamaat-e-Islami’s student wing with al-Qaeda-linked terrorists who operate from the lawless Waziristan tribal region on Pak-Afghan border.

Identified as a former student of the Industrial Manufacturing Department of the NED University of Engineering and Technology in Karachi, Abdur Rehman, the elder son of Shujaat Hussain, was a resident of the North Karachi, sector 11/A. He was killed [along with three other Punjabi Taliban] on November 29 in a US drone attack that targeted a residential compound in North Waziristan.

Abdur Rehman was a known activist of the Islami Jamiat Tuleba before being expelled from the NED University a few years ago due to his extended absence. His killing in an American drone attack and that too in North Waziristan, which headquarters the Tehrik-e-Taliban and the Haqqani Network, has given credence to the findings of security agencies that hundreds [if not thousands] of the IJT activists have joined the al-Qaeda-run training camps in the North Waziristan over the past five years.

As per the findings of the security agencies, it was Dr. Arshad Waheed, the president of the Islamic Medical Association (an offshoot of the JI) who actually began recruiting IJT activists for training at al-Qaeda run camps in Waziristan in the aftermath of the 9/11 terror attacks and the subsequent US invasion of Afghanistan.

Arshad and his younger brother Dr Akmal Waheed, who were ideologically inspired by the Jamaat-e-Islami, were arrested from Karachi in July 2004 in connection with a bomb attack on the convoy of the then Corps Commander Karachi Lt Gen Ahsan Saleem Hayat which killed ten security personnel. The interrogation of the doctor brothers - cardiac surgeon Dr. Akmal Waheed and orthopedic surgeon Dr. Arshad Waheed - prompted the security agencies to literally charge sheet the strongest political voice of Islamists in Pakistan with having links with al-Qaeda.

Those who interrogated the doctors had in their possession a videotaped confession by the two, admitting that they had recruited a large number of the IJT activists from different educational institutions of Karachi and taken them to the Waziristan tribal region. They also confessed having raised funds for the Pakistani Taliban besides treating al-Qaeda-linked Arab fighters in Waziristan.

However, the doctor brothers were set free by the courts due to lack of evidence. They instantly travelled to Wana in South Waziristan where Dr Arshad was killed in a drone strike on March 16, 2008, thus confirming their al-Qaeda links. Dr Arshad was the first Pakistani al-Qaeda sympathizer to be featured by the terrorist group’s media wing As-Sahab in a long

documentary, in which he was described as a role model for young jehadis.

Arshad’s death was announced in a 40-minute videotape in which he was eulogized by Abu Mustafa Yazid, the then chief operational commander of al-Qaeda who had earlier claimed responsibility for the December 2007 killing of the twice-elected Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto. While Ameerul Azeem, a central leader of the JI, strongly refutes the presence of any IJT activist in the al-Qaeda-run terror camps in Waziristan, sources in security agencies say the late JI ameer Qazi Hussain Ahmed knew about the dangerous development and had even tried to bring the IJT activists back. Qazi Hussain Ahmed had sent Hafiz Waheedullah Khan, the father of the doctor brothers, to Wana, to prevail upon his sons. Waheedullah, an educationist who used to run a vast network of private schools, was a founder of the JI-backed Teachers’ Association of Pakistan, the largest in the country. However, the mission failed as Dr Arshad and Dr Akmal simply refused to listen to their father.

By that time, the security agencies had been keeping a close eye on the activities of the Jamiat and the JI activists, especially following the March 2003 arrest of al-Qaeda’s chief operational commander and the 9/11 mastermind, Khalid Sheikh Mohammad from the Rawalpindi residence of a JI leader, Farzana Qudoos. It was on March 1, 2003 that an FBI-guided raiding party broke into the modest brick house in the West Ridge area of Rawalpindi and arrested Khalid Sheikh.

Ahmed Abdul Qadoos, the owner of the house who was sheltering Khalid, was also arrested during the raid.

A few months after the arrest, the then interior minister, Faisal Saleh Hayat, had asserted while speaking in the National Assembly on August 13, 2004 that the JI had been supporting the al-Qaeda. At a press conference on August 16, 2004, Faisal listed a number of incidences in which members of the JI had been tied to the al-Qaeda, and called on its leadership to explain these links.

Almost a decade later, concerns about the alleged al-Qaeda links of the Jamaat and its student wing have grown manifold, amid a statement by the JI ameer Munawwar Hasan, describing Hakeemullah Mehsud as a martyr and deriding the Pakistani soldiers who are being killed by the militants. The security agencies’ concerns about the links of JI and its student wing with al-Qaeda have been heightened in recent months especially after the September 2013 arrest of a six-member team of al-Qaeda’s suicide bombers along with their local handler from a boys’ hostel of the Punjab University in Lahore. Those arrested from the hostel allegedly had the support of the Islami Jamiat Tuleba. The documents recovered from Room No237 of the Punjab University’s Hostel No.1 also included a list of the key members of the Jamiat who are students of the University.

One of those arrested from Hostel No 1, an Arab fighter from Waziristan tribal region, has confessed to be the mastermind of the June 2, 2008 suicide attack on the Denmark embassy in Islamabad which killed five people. It is pertinent to mention that al-Qaeda had claimed responsibility for the Embassy attack on June 5, 2008, saying that it was a reaction to the publishing of some blasphemous cartoons in a Danish newspaper against the Holy Prophet (PBUH) and the presence of the Danish troops in Afghanistan. Just a month before the Danish embassy attack, al-Qaeda’s No 2, Ayman al-Zawahiri, had urged Muslims to strike against Danish targets.

That the IJT harbours militants in the university hostels has already been confirmed by the PU Vice Chancellor Dr Mujahid Kamran in a recent statement made on September 18, 2013. The VC further said in the same statement that illegal occupants were living in the Punjab University hostels against whom a major operation will be launched to get rid of the elements involved in militant activities. He further confessed that the police have already arrested several IJT activists from the university hostels for their alleged militant links. Although the IJT spokesman has refuted any link with the six students who had been charged with al-Qaeda links, the law enforcement agencies insist that they were al-Qaeda operatives who were being provided shelter in the hostels by the JI’s student wing.

Although an IJT spokesman disowned Abdur Rehman last week after his al-Qaeda links were made public by the agencies, the NED Registrar Javed Aziz confirmed that he was an active member of the Islami Jamiat Tuleba. Abdur Rehman’s death first became viral over the social media, where his dead body was shown along with the details of his links to NED University and the Jamiat. He was involved in the operational planning of several terrorist attacks, especially the one targeting Pakistan’s only naval air base in the port city of Karachi (Mehran Naval Base) on May 22, 2011. The brazen PNS attack had destroyed a precious PC Orion aircraft which was used by the Pakistan Navy for crucial sea surveillance.

A subsequent video titled ‘Revenge of Sheikh Osama bin Laden’, released by al-Qaeda-linked Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan, had claimed responsibility for Mehran Base attack. Four attackers were shown in the video reading out from a written statement before carrying out the attack. One of the terrorists said the attack was a revenge for the killing of Osama bin Laden [who was killed in a secret raid by US commandos in Abbottabad on May 2, 2011]. Terrorists shown in the video were the same whose dead bodies were found at the end of the 17-hour siege of the PNS Mehran.

Coming back to Abdur Rehman, he was not the only IJT activist to have been droned to death by the American CIA in Waziristan. MQM Chief Altaf Hussain has named the other day several IJT activists who, he claims, had lost their lives in drone attacks in the Waziristan tribal region. Those named included Tanveerul Islam, a former Nazim of IJT in Karachi University, Kashif Hussain, Shabbir Hussain, Naeemul Haq, Zohair Imtiaz Qidwai and Sanaullah, all belonging to different educational institutions of Karachi.

Accusing the Jamaat-e-Islami of being in covert partnership with the al-Qaeda, Taliban and other anti-state outfits, Altaf called for an immediate ban on the JI and trial of its leaders for treason. He said the establishment had made the JI its ‘B team’ but now the same party in connivance with internal and external elements was plotting against the country.

However, refuting the allegations leveled by Altaf, the Secretary General of Jamaat-e-Islami Liaqat Baloch has said that the Islami Jamiat Tuleba and the Jamaat-e-Islami were peaceful religious parties and all the allegations about their al-Qaeda links were simply baseless.

Jamat i Islami has formally denied this allegation citing that it is not their letter head and JI does not indulge in secratrain politics.

Are you serious? JI does not indulge in sectarian politics? Were you born yesterday?

Rondu Qom? Beta you are lucky that Ahmadiyya belief is against violence, where I come from in Pakistan we remember enmity for hundred years and more. I don't care what the sarkari muslims in Pakistan think of me, I plan to return to Pakistan anyway.

You think nationality is worth a lot to any ahmadi more than being forced to leave their homes and their ancestral land? No mate, the only people who cry for nationality are the sarkari muslims from Pakistan who came to England claiming to be Ahmadi just because they wanted british nationality, I know a few.

Munafiq main hu ya tum woh to akhir main pata chalay ga. I only come PDF to chill and kill time. I don't take anything here seriously.
And you Qadiyanis don't beg for foreign nationality ??? Lolz chapter he close is se zyada aur kya sach bolo gay :p:

We don't beg, western countries accept us openly and tell us Ahmadis are welcome here, especially Germany and Canada. Unlike other sarkari muslims, you know why? Because we contribute to the society we live in instead of forming ghettos, criminal gangs, child exploitation. So no we don't beg, we have never begged anyone for anything. But I find it ironic that a sarkari muslim keeps saying that Ahmadis beg? Arent you the guys who are surviving on amreeki loans and IMF bailouts?

don't you claim asylum from those western countries ? Asylum is actually begging to accommodate you and you are happy with it so enjoy your stay there. :-D:-D we Pakistanis survive for 67 years and InshAllah we will survive in the future. We don't need any rondu qadiyani who propagate against Pakistan and gets benefits from EU. Lanat hai aise munafqat per. 2nd and important thing is qadiyanis are minority in Pakistan and i respect them 2 of my friends are also ahmadis and i dont have any problem with them neither they have any from me. And i am from KPK and they live in harmony. People like you are the real culprits who put bad image of Pakistan to the western people and yet claim Mein wapis aon ga Pakistan ye topi drama kise aur ke samne kerna :-D:-D

I put bad name to Pakistan? Are you an Idiot or do you actually follow me around in England wherever I go? I am the one defending Pakistan when terrorist like the Taliban kill innocent people. I am the one who tells them that the majority of Pakistani's want to live in peace and they are the biggest victims of terrorism. I am the one who goes house to house and says Islam doesn't allow the killing of innocent people.

Yet you will sit there in your glass palace throwing wild accusations, concocted by God knows who. You keep calling me a munafiq yet here you are keep repeating the things that you heard and did not verify for yourself.

And if I am the culprit for giving Pakistan a bad name, then what about the Taliban? What about Al Qaeda? what about jamat ur ahrar? Laskhar e jhangvi? do you think they are giving a bad name to Pakistan by killing innocent people?

And It's obvious now you are just arguing for the sake of argument. It's good to know you treat minorities in Pakistan, but that is what is expected of a normal human being, so I guess thank you for being normal?

I put bad name to Pakistan? Are you an Idiot or do you actually follow me around in England wherever I go? I am the one defending Pakistan when terrorist like the Taliban kill innocent people. I am the one who tells them that the majority of Pakistani's want to live in peace and they are the biggest victims of terrorism. I am the one who goes house to house and says Islam doesn't allow the killing of innocent people.

Yet you will sit there in your glass palace throwing wild accusations, concocted by God knows who. You keep calling me a munafiq yet here you are keep repeating the things that you heard and did not verify for yourself.

And if I am the culprit for giving Pakistan a bad name, then what about the Taliban? What about Al Qaeda? what about jamat ur ahrar? Laskhar e jhangvi? do you think they are giving a bad name to Pakistan by killing innocent people?

And It's obvious now you are just arguing for the sake of argument. It's good to know you treat minorities in Pakistan, but that is what is expected of a normal human being, so I guess thank you for being normal?
listen exile pakistani i am the one who sit with taliban and argue with them and call them terrorist. Al qaida TTP all are terrorists. Killing the innocent or minority is greater sin from all. Our prophet PBUH said if a Muslim harms a person from a minority then on the day of judgement i will be the lawyer from his(minority) side. I am not directly blaming you but majority of Ahmadis who live in uk or in germany( coz i visited these 2 countries by my self). Not all sarkari muslims are hard liners :-D:-D btw a idiot kinnu kiya hai tussi B-)B-)

Arey Bhai choro, I know not every sarkari Muslim is a hardliner, that is what I precisely argue anyway. Subah subah larai kernai ka mood nahi. Chai shai Piyu. :cheers:

And spend your precious time wisely not with bhains ke aage been bajana:wink:

No. What Bangla Desh govt. is doing is a total bloodbath and witch-hunt. What they are doing will only create more hatred and division. We need to simply root out and expose those who seem to work hand in glove with the extremists/sectarian terrorists.

the leadership needs to be shaken up and told to get on board with Pakistan and support ALL the citizens, or otherwise shut up and sit down

These people are ardent supporters of extremists they are playing games here , there leadership is found helping AQ and talibani leadership they want pan islamism and wish to implement khilafat therefore if talk was any good could have sorted things out . We can take action now or after a decade but there will no solution. Bangladeshis took 40 odd years , its a interesting case study .. Why they took action now ?

Is the source reliable? Its from a blog (ahmadi one).

PS: I'm against JI, hates them to the core. Just asking the credibility of the source.

Instead of arguing here I think a fully moderated thread should be established to discuss if laws against marzais are right or wrong. And another thread about Jamat Islami should be established if they are right or wrong. I think these threads should be established by some moderator rank person.

Rondu Qom? Beta you are lucky that Ahmadiyya belief is against violence, where I come from in Pakistan we remember enmity for hundred years and more. I don't care what the sarkari muslims in Pakistan think of me, I plan to return to Pakistan anyway.

You think nationality is worth a lot to any ahmadi more than being forced to leave their homes and their ancestral land? No mate, the only people who cry for nationality are the sarkari muslims from Pakistan who came to England claiming to be Ahmadi just because they wanted british nationality, I know a few.

Munafiq main hu ya tum woh to akhir main pata chalay ga. I only come PDF to chill and kill time. I don't take anything here seriously.

I believe you are an Ahmedi. I can only apologize for the behavior of my fellow Muslims towards you. We need to end bias against ahmedis. Zafarullah Khan was an Ahmedi and he played a role in creating Pakistan. Never let anyone tell you Ahmedis did nothing for Pakistan. Abdus Salam's contribution is well known too. You are like a brother for me. Do not worry about the fanatics.