Indian couple sue their son for £530,000 for failing to produce a grandchild

Terrible people.

It's really important that those of us with education and with wealth have absolutely minimal weddings. If we have the courage to start this trend, then eventually the pressure will be taken off the poor who take out loans to have weddings.

I don't know about Indian community, but unfortunately for UK Pakistani's the trend is going the other way. Idiots are spending more on weddings than ever before.

I regret having a big wedding. We spent loads of money that i had saved, spent loads of money dad had saved, spent it to impress people who i didn't even know. What did we gain apart from stress on the day and empty pockets? Every function we add to the weddings creates extra stress to impress people. I advice everyone to keep it low key and only invite people you like. If you stop inviting all the extras, eventually they'll stop inviting you. Everyone is happy long term.
yall have epic weddings in the uk- proper stuff
I have been to 1-2 weddings in each UK, Canada, Australia, Kenya, Ireland my on in the US (thats one good thing about Punjab we have diaspora in every country around the globe :lol: )
UK ones were by far the most extravagant affairs- and I loved it
yall take weddings to next level

Yahan bhi wahi haal hai. Wedding ne bohat logo ko barbaad kiya hua hai. Oopar se aaj kal destination wedding aur candid photography ne alag kamar tod rakhi hai.

Yeah, what is this destination wedding ? Lots of people in the world don't have the means to food and basic living and then there are misguided people who waste resources on taking along 50 people especially their frivolous families on a wedding jaunt to some "luxury" setting. :crazy:

Meri shaadi 11,000 rupees mein nipat gayi. Rs 8000 - food for 12 people, 1500 - registration, 500 - rishwat for getting certificate instantly, 1000 - rupees overspeeding fine while returning from registrar office.

Well done, sir. Well done !

What selfish bastards, they only want a grandchild for their own pleasure. I'm fully with the son here, wish him and his wife a happy life and away from his batsh*t insane parents.

Yeah, what is this destination wedding ? Lots of people in the world don't have the means to food and basic living and then there are misguided people who waste resources on taking along 50 people especially their frivolous families on a wedding jaunt to some "luxury" setting. :crazy:

Nah sir, I disagree here. If people don't spend what will others earn? Our decision to do what we did was based on our personalities. We are both simple people who like to mingle with our limited but close group (mostly relatives, not so many friends). We travel a lot so end up spending there. And I like my drink 8-)

Yahan bhi wahi haal hai. Wedding ne bohat logo ko barbaad kiya hua hai. Oopar se aaj kal destination wedding aur candid photography ne alag kamar tod rakhi hai.

Meri shaadi 11,000 rupees mein nipat gayi. Rs 8000 - food for 12 people, 1500 - registration, 500 - rishwat for getting certificate instantly, 1000 - rupees overspeeding fine while returning from registrar office.

That's how a wedding should be.

I have seen enough lavish weddings in Pak to know how it ruins people and their savings. In fact, it put them under debt for quite a while.

Who said one can get married only once ?
In this day and age one wife is more than enough. Anything more than that you're just asking for trouble.

However I've seen people marry with a bang in their first go but if they get divorced or the wife dies, the second time marriage loses its luster and its usually done privately between the two parties.

Good that it becomes private, as it should be, as it is in Islam. Only five people required in an Islamic wedding : the bride and groom, two witnesses and the qazi. Simplicity should be the game. Unnecessary complications should be avoided.

What a way to prove that you're not qualified to be parents in the first place...attempting to hold your son financially hostage because he didn't knock someone up.

I get it, as a parent, kids are a blessing (except their never ending supply of dirty diapers and loads of lovingly gifted dirty laundry) but I don't have the expectation that my son or daughters are here to continue my bloodline unless they want to. That's just selfish parenting.

Nah sir, I disagree here. If people don't spend what will others earn? Our decision to do what we did was based on our personalities. We are both simple people who like to mingle with our limited but close group (mostly relatives, not so many friends). We travel a lot so end up spending there. And I like my drink 8-)

Nice that you are simple folk and I don't begrudge your travel and stays and mingling at all. I am only saying that the desi massive spending on weddings is not innocent at all. In desi culture many a time, or mostly, the parents of a girl will start worrying about her wedding from the time she is one or two and will start purchasing jewelry and other knick knacks to present those as bribe to a male to accept their daughter. Even her so-called education is a modern variation of making her more attractive to arranged marriage suitors ( it is not often that an educated wife being a partner in her husband's business ).

In desi culture the marriage is about "giving away the daughter" to a person, essentially abandoning her. I have listened to my desi Muslim relatives talking about their female relatives being mentioned as "Kise diye ?" despite there being in Islam the right of the female to accept or reject a marriage proposal arranged by her parents and the fact that in Islam the female is a human in her own right and not an object to be "diye" to someone.

I read in the newspaper maybe last year of an old apartment complex coming down. Though the people living in it were not harmed one of the families lamented about the five lakhs worth of jewelry they had collected for their daughter's wedding being somewhere in the rubble. Was the jewelry that necessary to be collected ? Why couldn't these non-sensible people have put some more money along with those five lakhs and started a business and raised themselves in their socio-economic status ? They did not do that. After "giving away" their daughter in marriage along with the jewelry they would have gone back to old lower middle class status. This is also the case of many middle middle class families.

Even drastic are many farmers who suicide because of taking loans and their crops not being harvested because of natural reasons and then because of India's extremely Capitalist socio-economic system the lenders harassing these farmers to repay and the society-imposed concept of a loan taker making himself or herself to get shamed because of inability to repay the loan to the extent that the societal pressure, lender pressure and self-oppression makes them suicide. This is also the same of many other Indians or desis in general.

LOL. All the posts here are by guys. Women love big weddings.

Back on subject, the parents should have taken SKI holidays.

SKI = Spending Kids' Inheritance.

LOL. All the posts here are by guys. Women love big weddings.

Any woman who is on her second wedding will have become sensible enough not to consent to a frivolous and anti-social big wedding. :)

Back on subject, the parents should have taken SKI holidays.

SKI = Spending Kids' Inheritance.

That is not the right of the parents to do. The parents did not get that money etc through a divine boon. They either inherited it themselves or if through business then it required the participation of society to build that money etc so in essence that kids' inheritance is the parents' only until they transfer it to the kids.

I've been to a few, really really fun but no ostentatious display of money or wealth, good people who did well enough for themselves.. smallish intimate gathering of close friends and family. No dowry etc bs at all, couples did it all themselves for their special day. In fact, in one case (probably many more out there too), certain people were very stubbornly insistent ki "hamari beti ki shaadi hai, sky's the limit" .. and in a classic judo move of using their opponents weight, charity karva di in animal shelters and conservation projects around the country.. :omghaha: isn't that beautiful ? :enjoy:

You're very quick to jump to judgement and pigeonhole people. Weddings also hopefully lol only happen once, kisi ko splurge karna hai to why not, who are you or me to decide how, on what and where they go about spending it ?

This is your commie bimari on full display again.. ji ki main bataunga kaisey apni zindagi jiyo, kitna kamao, kitna khana khao, kya allowed hai, kya mana hai... ye kya baat hui ? :angry:

In desi culture many a time, or mostly, the parents of a girl will start worrying about her wedding
Agreed

Even her so-called education is a modern variation of making her more attractive to arranged marriage suitors
Not always. Many women today want to be educated because it means freedom. My own wife though technically from a royal family had to struggle a lot because her father squandered their wealth away and generally behaved like an a**hole. She took an education loan, paid it off and earns more than me today. She cannot imagine a life of financial dependence again.

Neither spending is bad, nor loans but there should be some sense of balance. I too had to take an education loan for my masters as my parents could not afford the fees. I got into a good college, paid it off in 2 years after getting a job.

Consumption is good for the economy. If everyone had a wedding like mine, the wedding industry would collapse. The negative impact of showbazi is true for all aspects of life, not just weddings. At the same time, I wouldn't say that everyone indulging in a grand wedding is showbaz. If you have money, spend it. Loans however should be taken for productive purposes only.