7M$ per missile I found on wiki that its cost is less than 1M$
Harpoon (missile) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Maybe TOT inside the contract? But you have had brahmos
the corruption is criminal
I can't blame you guys or the Russians. You have no choice but to sell it for 3x the price. What if the rupee fall another 40% next year, you have to take into account for that.The kickback inflation. I'm also thinking of the ac deal with Russia. US should sell India one of our retired AC for triple the price of a new one.
Exorbitant price.
7 Million $ for 1 Missile ?
Some pretty crazy stuff is happening:
EW DELHI (PTI): India will undertake mid-life upgrade of six Russian-made Kamov 28 anti-submarine warfare helicopters besides overhaul of another four.
Of the ten Kamov 28 helicopters that were procured from the erstwhile USSR in the mid-80s, only a few are in flying condition today while the remaining have been mothballed for spares.
The Defence Acquisition Council on Saturday cleared the proposal for the upgrade of the helicopters in Russia, defence sources said.
Under the mid-life upgrade, the six choppers will get new sensors among others while the rest four will only undergo engine overhauling.
The project, to be undertaken by Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Rosoboronexport, is valued at nearly Rs 2,000 crore.
About $300 million for upgrading ten choppers that are 30 year old ? At about $30 million each?
WTF!!!! Is there something hidden or corruption??
If it comes to Indian weapons than they are not ready to spend money.
what? $145 million for this old school shitty missile? this is stupid.
That figure must be wrong, Those helos weren't worth $30 million new!
Either way, even if the cost is $6-7 million per helo it isn't worth it, the IN is in the process of buying brand new S-70B for around $25 million each and these are state of the art what is the point in upgrading this old junk and extending their lives? Just retire them now.
i
This doesn't make sense at all, there's no way the deal can be valued at that. Corruption can be ruled out entirely on the Harpoon deal as it will be a FMS sale and thus guaranteed to be free of any graft/wrongdoing.
I am pretty sure the prices for both deals have been massively exaggerated, it's not like the Indian media haven't done this before.
Yeh kya ho raha hain? This kind of splurging is incomprehensible! Has money started growing on trees?
Something is fishy
These are sub surface missiles, launched from submarines. To be able to fire them a submarine will need to be adapted or modified, the end user has to be trained and lifetime support provided. Weapon like the harpoon arent bought as unit price but as a system.
There are very few systems going to be supplied to us soon, but not part of any particular deal. Total amount is being disbursed in assimilated manner with officially announced deals. Can't say more or should I say, don't know more.
the corruption is criminal
The entire package under the foreign military sale route includes more than a dozen UGM-84L Harpoon Block II Encapsulated Missiles, 10 UTM-84L Harpoon Encapsulated Training missiles, and two Encapsulated Harpoon certification training vehicles, spares, training, logistics and support equipment.
Brazil is buying 20 of them for $169 million - US Clears Harpoon Missile Sale to Brazil | Defense News | defensenews.com
I can't blame you guys or the Russians. You have no choice but to sell it for 3x the price. What if the rupee fall another 40% next year, you have to take into account for that.
U.S. to sell Harpoon missiles to India - The HinduSeptember 11, 2008
Washington: The United States on Wednesday announced the sale of two dozen Harpoon II anti-ship missiles to India.
The deal, worth over $170 million, was made public as Defence Minister A.K. Antony began a high-level visit to the U.S. This would be the first sale of American missiles to India.
The Pentagon has notified Congress of a possible sale to India of the Harpoon Block II missiles, which would arm squadrons of the maritime-role version of Jaguar warplanes of the Indian Air Force.
The Pentagon’s Defence Security Cooperation Agency said India had sought 20 AGM-84L Harpoon missiles, which are fired from fixed-wing aircraft, and four ATM-84L Harpoon Block II Exercise missiles, containers, training devices, spare and repair parts.
India has also asked for supply/technical support, support equipment, personnel training and training equipment, technical data and publications, U.S. government and contractor engineering and logistics support services, the DSCA said.
US notifies sale of Harpoons for Indian P-8I | StratPostDecember 23, 2010
Pentagon notifies Harpoon missile sale to India - The HinduUpdated: July 3, 2014
The Pentagon has notified the U.S. Congress about its decision to sell anti-ship Harpoon missiles to India at an estimated cost of $200 million arguing that it will strengthen India-U.S. strategic relationship and improve security of an important partner.
The entire package under the foreign military sale route includes more than a dozen UGM-84L Harpoon Block II Encapsulated Missiles, 10 UTM-84L Harpoon Encapsulated Training missiles, and two Encapsulated Harpoon certification training vehicles, the U.S. Department of Defence’s Defence Security Cooperation Agency said.
the Harpoon missile system will be employed on the Indian Navy’s Shishumar class submarine
India - HARPOON Block II Missiles | The Official Home of the Defense Security Cooperation AgencyThe Government of India has requested a possible sale of 20 AGM-84L HARPOON Block II missiles; 4 ATM- 84L HARPOON Block II Exercise missiles; containers; training devices; spare and repair parts; supply/technical support; support equipment; personnel training and training equipment; technical data and publications; U.S. Government and contractor engineering and logistics support services; and other related elements of logistics support The estimated cost is $170 million.
India – AGM-84L HARPOON Block II Missiles | The Official Home of the Defense Security Cooperation AgencyThe Government of India has requested a possible sale of 21 AGM-84L HARPOON Block II Missiles, 5 ATM-84L HARPOON Block II Training Missiles, Captive Air Training Missiles, containers, spare and repair parts, support and test equipment, publications and technical documentation, personnel training and training equipment, U.S. Government and contractor representatives’ technical assistance, engineering and logistics support services, and other related elements of logistics support. The estimated cost is $200 million.
India - UGM-84L Harpoon Missiles | The Official Home of the Defense Security Cooperation AgencyThe Government of India has requested a possible sale of 12 UGM-84L Harpoon Block II Encapsulated Missiles, 10 UTM-84L Harpoon Encapsulated Training missiles, 2 Encapsulated Harpoon certification training vehicles, containers, spare and repair parts, support and test equipment, personnel training and training equipment, publications and technical data, U.S. Government and contractor engineering and logistics support services, and other related elements of logistics support. The estimated cost is $200 million.
China isnt selling anything to India. The guy you're replying to is Chinese.
Obama said that India needs to have more religious tolerance. He must be Chinese, according to your logic.
Obama is American, you're Chinese, differences, sir.
Yes, and I am Pakistani! What kind of fool is this???Wrong. Both Obama and I are Americans speaking truth about India. If what I said make me Chinese, than Obama is chinese as well.
Wrong. Both Obama and I are Americans speaking truth about India. If what I said make me Chinese, than Obama is chinese as well.
Not really. We want the same kind of margin as the Ruussians. So we multiply per cost unit. But no worries, Indians are getting some of it back in the form of kickbacks.
Yes, and I am Pakistani! What kind of fool is this???
Stupidity has no bound!!!! Your entire life is worth of only trolling in Indian threads. Bahot time hai tere paas.
Guys, how many of you believe that he is American and I am Pakistani?
@Major Shaitan Singh
@anant_s @kaykay @vostok @Tshering22 @Agent Smith @xuxu1457 @kaku1 @Zarvan @OrionHunter @CONNAN @Hindustani78 @Ind4Ever @Stephen Cohen @WebMaster @WEB CONSULTANTS @webxeon @Capt.Popeye @Captain Maverick @500 @TankMan @Water Car Engineer, @Frosty, @aazidane, @ptldM3, @Sinopakfriend, @definitelynotIndian, @Srinivas, @Bill_Maher, @Rizwan Qayyum, @waz, @timetravel, @The Pakistani, @Kyle Sun, @Tractor, @Kinetic, @IND151, @Sunan, @third eye, @zeeshanvita, @egolfs, @sahaliyan, @Marxist, @bhagat, @Devilduck, @NMTD, @Ahmed Eid, @war is peace, @Psychic, @na088, @Khalid Newazi, @Razia Sultana, @Border Defender, @HariPrasad, @Mustang06, @ManavKalia, @Beast, @70U63, @whitefox011, @nik141991, @Shoaib Rathore, @AndrewJin, @Brahma Bull, @Rafael, @Navigator, @SecularNationalist, @danish @Saleem, @hinduguy, @Djinn, @Bang Galore, @hans @migflug @babbar, @MilSpec, @SvenSvensonov, @vsdave2302, @Echo_419, @ayesha.a, @Kinetic
@gambit, @Storm Force , @ptltejas, @The Great One, @PARIKRAMA, @Czar786, @Superboy, @Viper0011., @LittleFish, @sicsheep, @kṣamā, @definitelynotIndian, @gslv mk3, @45'22', @Shinigami
@Umair Nawaz, @manishmaithani, @Dash, @Soumitra, @Raje amar, @Dadagiri, @Omega007, @kahonapyarhai, @hkdas, @sathya, @UKBengali, @#hydra# @Srinivas, @jaiind, @Screambowl, @Abingdonboy @mauka, @The_Sidewinder, @The BrOkEn HeArT @deckingraj, @DeathInvader, @Guynextdoor2
My reply was in response to a query on excess amount being disbursed to Russians. Thank you.The entire package under the foreign military sale route includes more than a dozen UGM-84L Harpoon Block II Encapsulated Missiles, 10 UTM-84L Harpoon Encapsulated Training missiles, and two Encapsulated Harpoon certification training vehicles, spares, training, logistics and support equipment.
Brazil is buying 20 of them for $169 million - US Clears Harpoon Missile Sale to Brazil | Defense News | defensenews.com
I do.Yes, and I am Pakistani! What kind of fool is this???
Stupidity has no bound!!!! Your entire life is worth of only trolling in Indian threads. Bahot time hai tere paas.
Guys, how many of you believe that he is American and I am Pakistani?
@Major Shaitan Singh
@anant_s @kaykay @vostok @Tshering22 @Agent Smith @xuxu1457 @kaku1 @Zarvan @OrionHunter @CONNAN @Hindustani78 @Ind4Ever @Stephen Cohen @WebMaster @WEB CONSULTANTS @webxeon @Capt.Popeye @Captain Maverick @500 @TankMan @Water Car Engineer, @Frosty, @aazidane, @ptldM3, @Sinopakfriend, @definitelynotIndian, @Srinivas, @Bill_Maher, @Rizwan Qayyum, @waz, @timetravel, @The Pakistani, @Kyle Sun, @Tractor, @Kinetic, @IND151, @Sunan, @third eye, @zeeshanvita, @egolfs, @sahaliyan, @Marxist, @bhagat, @Devilduck, @NMTD, @Ahmed Eid, @war is peace, @Psychic, @na088, @Khalid Newazi, @Razia Sultana, @Border Defender, @HariPrasad, @Mustang06, @ManavKalia, @Beast, @70U63, @whitefox011, @nik141991, @Shoaib Rathore, @AndrewJin, @Brahma Bull, @Rafael, @Navigator, @SecularNationalist, @danish @Saleem, @hinduguy, @Djinn, @Bang Galore, @hans @migflug @babbar, @MilSpec, @SvenSvensonov, @vsdave2302, @Echo_419, @ayesha.a, @Kinetic
@gambit, @Storm Force , @ptltejas, @The Great One, @PARIKRAMA, @Czar786, @Superboy, @Viper0011., @LittleFish, @sicsheep, @kṣamā, @definitelynotIndian, @gslv mk3, @45'22', @Shinigami
@Umair Nawaz, @manishmaithani, @Dash, @Soumitra, @Raje amar, @Dadagiri, @Omega007, @kahonapyarhai, @hkdas, @sathya, @UKBengali, @#hydra# @Srinivas, @jaiind, @Screambowl, @Abingdonboy @mauka, @The_Sidewinder, @The BrOkEn HeArT @deckingraj, @DeathInvader, @Guynextdoor2