India hasn't shown inclination to pursue deeper defence ties with Afghanistan: US report

Kailash Kumar

Suriname
India hasn't shown inclination to pursue deeper defence ties with Afghanistan: US report

PTI

May 04, 2019

India has not shown an inclination to pursue a deeper defence relationship with Afghanistan even as it has been the largest regional contributor to the war-torn country's reconstruction, according to a US Congressional report.

US President Donald Trump in his South Asia speech in 2017 encouraged India to play a greater role in Afghanistan's economic development, the latest report on Afghanistan by the independent Congressional Research Service (CRS) said.

"India has been the largest regional contributor to Afghan reconstruction but New Delhi has not shown an inclination to pursue a deeper defence relationship with Kabul," according to the report dated May 1.

"This, along with other administration messaging, has compounded Pakistani concerns over Indian activity in Afghanistan," said the bipartisan research wing of the US Congress which prepares period reports on issues of interest for the members of the Congress.

CRS reports are prepared for the US lawmakers to take informed decisions. These are not an official report of the US Congress.

Regional dynamics and the involvement of outside powers are central to the conflict in Afghanistan, it said.

The neighbouring state widely considered most important in this regard is Pakistan, which has played an active, and by many accounts negative role in Afghan affairs for decades, the CRS report said.

The CRS report said that Trump has directly accused Pakistan of "housing the very terrorists that we are fighting".

Afghan leaders, along with US military commanders, attribute much of the insurgency's power and longevity either directly or indirectly to Pakistan.

Experts debate the extent to which Pakistan is committed to Afghan stability or is attempting to exert control in Afghanistan through ties to insurgent groups, most notably the Haqqani Network, a US designated Foreign Terrorist Organization (FTO) that has become an official, semiautonomous component of the Taliban, it said.

US officials have repeatedly identified militant safe havens in Pakistan as a threat to security in Afghanistan, though some observers question the validity of that charge in light of the Taliban's increased territorial control within Afghanistan itself.

Pakistan, it said, may view a weak and destabilised Afghanistan as preferable to a strong, unified Afghan state (particularly one led by a Pashtun-dominated government in Kabul; Pakistan has a large and restive Pashtun minority).

However, at least some Pakistani leaders have stated that instability in Afghanistan could rebound to Pakistan's detriment; Pakistan has struggled with indigenous Islamist militants of its own, it said.

"Pakistan sees Afghanistan as potentially providing strategic depth against India, but may also anticipate that improved relations with Afghanistan's leadership could limit India's influence in Afghanistan.

"Indian interest in Afghanistan stems largely from India's broader regional rivalry with Pakistan, which impedes Indian efforts to establish stronger and more direct commercial and political relations with Central Asia," the CRS report added.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...fghanistan-us-report/articleshow/69171572.cms

And i hope it stays that way. We will provide financial support but no indian boots on the ground.

u know IK won from my area too NA 243?when he left it we nominated and elected another(apna dost apna bhai ) Alamgir Khan fixit wala bus jo acha kaam kary :)but as u see in this article its shows how much really India cares about Afghanistan hope kabhi unhain bhi aqal aa jaye
doobti kashti pe kya paise lagana

lol the article say Pakistan has a large and restive Pashtun MINORITY... lol i am a PAshtun and i am not Minority ,, We Pashtuns RULE Pakistan

Ethnic groups in Pakistan (2017)
Punjabi (44.7%)
Pashtun / Pathan (15.4%)
Sindhi (14.1%)
Sariaki (8.4%)
Muhajirs (7.6%)
Balochi (3.6%)
Other (6.3%)

https://www.indexmundi.com/pakistan/demographics_profile.html
u dont get it ...this is not about ethnicity, we here understand the concept of minority and majority on only one basis , Muslims and other Countrymen, these are merely population figures of different provinces, u cant label a province with lesser population as minority , can u ?

Afghans themselves don't want any Indian military involvement in Afghanistan. There have been articles written by Afghans on this issue in the past.

Are you afraid to help your Afghan brothers?India has 2nd largest army in the world. I hope Modi do something about it.
Not afraid. Its a price drain. The money to put our troops there is better spent on education, Healthcare in India.

The grapes are extremely sour!

I have been saying this to the Indians for years: Just wait till the USA leaves Afghanistan, everything will become clear to you. Pakistan has many scores to settle, and things will be settled with heavy amounts of interests. Pakistan's enemies will pay heavily. You ain't seen nothing yet.

u dont get it ...this is not about ethnicity, we here understand the concept of minority and majority on only one basis , Muslims and other Countrymen, these are merely population figures of different provinces, u cant label a province with lesser population as minority , can u ?

I get the first part of what you said.
But could you elaborate on the part of 'u cant label a province with lesser population as minority , can u ?' ?

I get the first part of what you said.
But could you elaborate on the part of 'u cant label a province with lesser population as minority , can u ?' ?
what i ment to say is that we have provinces and almost all provinces with different ethnic groups so basically these figures state the population of provinces , so that does not make any group a majority or minority. It is exactly the same if i say that people of Utter pradesh in india are majority and people of haryana are minority. Thats not factually correct

Lesson for the US is not to go around cheerleading Al-Qaida, Mujahideen, Free Libyan Army, Free Syrian Army and the Kurdish organisations just to name a few.

doobti kashti pe kya paise lagana

lol the article say Pakistan has a large and restive Pashtun MINORITY... lol i am a PAshtun and i am not Minority ,, We Pashtuns RULE Pakistan
Bro no one rules Pakistan except Pakistanis. No matter who u are you are equal

Disappointed at India's stance.