India asks its airlines to spare capacity for likely Kashmir evacuation

undercover JIX

India asks its airlines to spare capacity for likely Kashmir evacuation

Air India, IndiGo and Vistara waive rescheduling, cancellation fees for flight to state

Published: August 02, 2019 22:36 Agencies
India asks tourists and pilgrims to leave Kashmir

New Delhi: Given the security situation in Jammu and Kashmir, central civil aviation authorities have advised airlines to spare additional capacity that can be deployed to Srinagar in case of an emergency, sources said on Friday.

The advisory came hours after the Indian Army, citing intelligence inputs, said Pakistan-based terrorists were planning to target the ongoing Amarnath Yatra.

The Army's disclosure prompted the Jammu and Kashmir administration to ask the yatris and tourists to "curtail" their stay in the Valley and leave immediately.

"DGCA has advised airlines to remain ready. If there is a need, airlines should be ready to run extra flights," a source privy to the development told PTI.

"Around 8.45pm, the situation at the Srinagar airport was checked by the DGCA and it was found to be normal. It was found that there is no need to run extra flights right now. But if the need arises later on, the airlines have been advised to remain ready to run extra flights," the source added.

Quick deployment
According to government sources, airlines have been advised to free up capacity that can be quickly deployed to the state so that tourists and pilgrims can be flown-out. On their part, airlines such as Air India, IndiGo and Vistara have waived rescheduling, cancellation charges for all flights to and from Srinagar.

"In view of the current security situation in Srinagar and the Government advisory regarding it, we are providing a full fee waiver on rescheduling/cancellation for all flights to/from Srinagar till Aug 09," IndiGo said on its official Twitter handle.

Vistara tweeted: "Due to prevailing security situation in Kashmir, we are waiving change and cancellation fee for flights to/from Jammu and Kashmir for next 7 days (till August 9)."

In a statement, Air India said: "In view of the prevailing circumstances, the national carrier has decided to give a full fee waiver on rescheduling/cancellation for all Air India flights to/from Srinagar till August 15."

The development assumes significances after the Jammu and Kashmir government issued a security advisory for tourists and pilgrims on Amarnath Yatra to curtail their pilgrimage.

In an advisory, the state government on Friday said: "Keeping in view the latest intelligence inputs of terror threats, with specific targeting of the Amarnath Yatra, and given the prevailing security situation in the Kashmir Valley, in the interest of safety and security of the tourists and Amarnath Yatris, it is advised that they may curtail their stay in the Valley immediately and take necessary measures to return as soon as possible."

Trump renews J&K mediation offer; India says no thanks
As US President Donald Trump, in an off-hand manner, renewed his offer of mediation in the Kashmir issue, India on Friday firmly rejected the offer, saying that any discussion on Kashmir, if warranted, will only be with Pakistan, and only bilaterally.

Hours after Trump told reporters in Washington that "it is up to Prime Minister Modi" to accept his offer to intervene in Kashmir, Indian External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, during a bilateral meeting with US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo in Bangkok, conveyed "in clear terms that any discussion on Kashmir, if at all warranted, will only be with Pakistan and only bilaterally".

Jaishankar tweeted: "Wide ranging discussions with @SecPompeo on regional issues. Have conveyed to American counterpart @SecPompeo this morning in clear terms that any discussion onKashmir, if at all warranted, will only be with with Pakistan and only bilaterally."

https://gulfnews.com/world/asia/ind...for-likely-kashmir-evacuation-1.1564771073874

. . . . .
I think here Indians members are right. This all hussle seems to be preparations of some thing of extra ordinary nature. And abolition of special stays is most probable one. Indian policy makers are well aware that trump can say any thing regarding kashmir

35A gone for sure... 370 can also go...

All hype is to check the water... like... Abdullah and Mufti were threatening earlier... now they are requesting with folded hands...

40k for Amarnath yatra... 10k later... 25k now... this cant be usual...

With so much media coverage, a false flag?
Sorry but why don't you use your brains, at most it could be 35A, our internal issue.
With your self fellatio media, a false flag is easy. Why don’t you use your brains, try not to pass smart arse remarks with me especially.. and investigate the possibility that your country is now ruled by a lying fascist government out to commit atrocities.

At least the Vajpayee government was filled with smart principled people when compared to the maniacs in power now.

Why evacuate civilians for a false flag operation? Nobody knows for sure but most likely these measures are for scrapping 370 and 35A and to deal with any Pakistani misadventure post that.
Create hysteria. There is no misadventures except the brainwashed myths you have been fed since your childhood.

All hype is to check the water... like... Abdullah and Mufti were threatening earlier... now they are requesting with folded hands...

It was only temporary but they made it drag on for decades...one does not need a visa to visit kashmir but on the same tone say the word "permanent residency status" it does not add up...it should have been long gone...on top of that...1% of population getting 10% of central funding...all this tamasha needs to come to an end eventually anyway.

For all those who say there is going to be war :

There will be no "war" the elites in india are the ones with the real power...they wont allow it to happen...modi is just part of that power structure...he is nowhere close being in absolute control....no politician in india really is...I am not saying modi ji is not powerful or a dummy far from it...but there are indian forces much more powerful than modi ji in play here....many fail to include this thing when gauging the current events on the ground.

Heard rumours that Jammu is going to become state,
And Kashmir and Laddakh will be Union Territory.
Problem of 35A and 370 will be solved automatically in new arrangement.

And handing over valley to Pakistan will be easier after negotiation in case of settlement.

You will get the news within two three days.
But as I said, these are rumours only.

With your self fellatio media, a false flag is easy. Why don’t you use your brains, try not to pass smart arse remarks with me especially.. and investigate the possibility that your country is now ruled by a lying fascist government out to commit atrocities.

At least the Vajpayee government was filled with smart principled people when compared to the maniacs in power now.

Create hysteria. There is no misadventures except the brainwashed myths you have been fed since your childhood.

Waise iss beemari ka koi ilaaz nahi.

But all I can say,

Get well soon.

For all those who say there is going to be war

One reads such thoughts in a number of posts mostly by Pak posters

Why should there be war ? How does removing an archaic rule implemented through a Presidential order in 1954 amount to provocation for war ?