In Pakistan, men make decisions and women make dinner

Freedom - the power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.

If actress does not mind acting in that role what is your problem? you too have the freedom to watch or not watch the film but you do not the freedom to ban the film as then you would be encroaching on the freedom of others who may want to act in the film or watch the film.

In tennis people play mixed doubles

View attachment 386798

View attachment 386799

View attachment 386802

Yes mix but you never see a men competing against a women. In tennis or any support. There are different bathrooms for both. They are physically different for GOD sake these feminists think they can deny that and talk about there stupid delusional equality.

Writer of the blog is: A software engineer, musician, writer and activist from Islamabad, currently based in Chicago.

:rofl:

So a musician hippie wanna be in the U.S knows the problems of average Pakistani women living in small towns, villages, and communities etc?

These burger types have NO clue as to the real challenges face by average Pakistani girls. They live in their bubble and try to act as our 'saviors'

These burger types are so dumb that while women in interior Sindh were getting exploited and raped by feudal lords and waderas---these "feminists" type girls fromultra-rich families were busy talking about "being proud of their periods." Remember that?

bnu-wall.jpg

Their motto was "Periods make us hornier"

Yes, these are the secular-liberals who want to change Pakistan's "oppressive" culture and talk about "real issues" of our sisters, and daughters. Real issues such as "periods" and their "horny-ness"

It's insulting to Pakistanis how these idiots think they can speak for us and define what our problems are. No mate, you fu*ck off with your elitist behavior and throught process. You don't speak for Pakistan or it's problems. You have never experienced them, and never will (thanks to your rich and well-connected daddy that got you this job at English-language magazine....which 90% of Pakistanis can not even read).
chaaaaaaaaa gaya @AUz ...inlogon mein dam hai to yahan beth kar bat karen...apki baat se yad aya when musharraf was questioned from a UN human rghts representative that we want to give humar rights to pakistanis...musharraf gave a bold and honourable reply " u western people have a sick habbit of promoting west centric human rights throughout the world as if its ur empire , i have my own country named pakistan and we have our own type of human rights.."

Yes mix but you never see a men competing against a women. In tennis or any support. There are different bathrooms for both. They are physically different for GOD sake these feminists think they can deny that and talk about there stupid delusional equality.

Freedom - the power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.

If actress does not mind acting in that role what is your problem? you too have the freedom to watch or not watch the film but you do not the freedom to ban the film as then you would be encroaching on the freedom of others who may want to act in the film or watch the film.

-Revisit your arguments, because one of the most popular arguments by feminists and other egalitarian movements is that women are not "a piece of meat". Their intellectual capability, their personality etc. stands for something. Using your argument, one can easily defend prostitution i.e. a job which requires women to be exactly that.

-BTW, do you really think feminists/ women empowerment movements want "freedom"? There is evidence to suggest that "stay at home moms" are shamed by such empowered women. Heck, the woman in my profile picture (Erin Pizzy) was the first one who established a safe house for women victims of domestic violence in the UK yet when she stated that men are victims of such violence as well and that she wanted to do something similar for men, she was threatened by the same "women empowerment groups". If you think freedom is what such movements are fighting for ... you are sadly mistaken.

That is a straw-man's argument. No one is proposing that men and women use the same bathroom at the same time. but one could argue both can use the same bath room one at a time. I have highlighted the points that the author is trying to make.

upload_2017-3-26_7-48-29.png

My own mother worked, made financial decisions, paid bills and did whatever she felt like the same way my father did;

She said she was afraid of her friend’s reaction at being late.

In her subconscious mind, men had an elevated status to the point where she was willingly acting like a slave to a boy who perhaps, by the same logic, may have felt superior as a result of his own upbringing.

Recently, Punjab Higher Education Minister Syed Raza Ali Gillani suggested that government institutions would allot five marks to hijab-wearing students in a bid to promote the practice.

She is taught that she is a representation of honour. She is taught to be shy and quiet. Her purpose in life is to get married and run a home, and many times there’s a conversation between families as to whether she would be ‘allowed’ to work, just to check if her husband would be comfortable with it.

The point of an education is to equip an individual with a sense of independence and liberty. These are absolutely worthless if in the same premises, we teach women that they are only meant to fill certain roles.

-Revisit your arguments, because one of the most popular arguments by feminists and other egalitarian movements is that women are not "a piece of meat". Their intellectual capability, their personality etc. stands for something. Using your argument, one can easily defend prostitution i.e. a job which requires women to be exactly that.

-BTW, do you really think feminists/ women empowerment movements want "freedom"? There is evidence to suggest that "stay at home moms" are shamed by such empowered women. Heck, the woman in my profile picture (Erin Pizzy) was the first one who established a safe house for women victims of domestic violence yet when she stated that men are victims of such violence as well and that she wanted to do something similar for men, she was threatened by the same "women empowerment groups". If you think freedom is what such movements are fighting for ... you are sadly mistaken.

I don't care about feminist and liberal movements as I am associated with any.

Are you saying if women are given freedom they would choose to become prostitutes? Most women get into that business because they are helpless not because it is their preferred choice.

And what about domestic violence and rapes that take place within the family which are never reported?

These libral why want Pakistani to change their way of life..Crying almost about women's right if Quaid was libral or not if Pakistan is based on islam or not this kind of crap not going to tolerate in pakistan if any libral wants their women to be a man then be it. Don't ask rest of the people to change their prospect.

The Way I See It
In Pakistan, men make decisions and women make dinner
By Abu Bakr Agha Published: March 25, 2017

0 CommentsPrintEmail

I remember when I was much younger and observing society around me, I was so glad I was a boy.
Inequality between men and women is not something exclusive to the subcontinent or the Middle East. For instance, while allowed to participate in the army, women are still not permitted to serve in frontline combat in the United Kingdom, Turkey, and Slovakia. In the United States, and other developed nations, women are consistently overlooked for promotions and paid less for doing the same work their male counterparts do.

In this part of the world, however, we make a clear distinction. Gender inequality is far from over in the developed world but at least mainstream statements that promote equality and denounce gender bias are reassuring that the philosophy of the movement is headed in the right direction. In Pakistan, however, we are doing the exact opposite.

I remember when I was much younger, I was so glad I was a boy. At family gatherings, I would wonder why the uncle’s parents always lived at home with their son but the aunty was on her own. I realised that after marriage, women would move in with their husband’s family. I was really attached to my parents and felt relieved that in the future, I wouldn’t have to move away to some girl’s house.

I grew up in a reasonably liberal household but such social constructs still managed to reach me through school teachers, religious teachers and the odd extended family member. Men were meant to go out and make money, women were meant to take care of the house; men made decisions, women made dinner.

My own mother worked, made financial decisions, paid bills and did whatever she felt like the same way my father did; so, perhaps I looked at other ideas of gender as a story or metaphor. However, strong gender roles are forced upon those less fortunate than myself. In Pakistan, people in positions of authority, who children are taught to respect, continuously highlight differences between men and women, often selling short a woman’s ambition, her individuality and her worth as a human being. And often, these authority figures are not just teachers but parents as well.

When I was in America, I met a girl from India. I remember one day she was running late to meet one of her guy friends, which eventually lead to her having a panic attack. I calmed her down and asked what the problem was. She said she was afraid of her friend’s reaction at being late. I asked how she could be so afraid of someone she called a friend. She explained she didn’t want to disappoint him or make him angry, because he would always lose his temper when she didn’t listen to him or was late.

This was clearly a toxic friendship. I eventually helped her get out of it, but she never had an answer or explanation for the way she acted. Turns out, from a very young age, her mother always told her women should be subservient to men. In her subconscious mind, men had an elevated status to the point where she was willingly acting like a slave to a boy who perhaps, by the same logic, may have felt superior as a result of his own upbringing.

This is how dangerous our South Asian culture can be when it comes to raising our children. Another friend told me that some of her Pakistani and Indian friends were depressed at how subservient they had become to their husbands or boyfriends.

Recently, Punjab Higher Education Minister Syed Raza Ali Gillani suggested that government institutions would allot five marks to hijab-wearing students in a bid to promote the practice. This reminded me of all times men felt the need to force rules and ideas upon women. I was glad to see the backlash that ended up making this such a short-lived story but it is still proof that the problem is alive and kicking.

The average girl in Pakistan is extremely oppressed. She is taught that she is a representation of honour. She is taught to be shy and quiet. Her purpose in life is to get married and run a home, and many times there’s a conversation between families as to whether she would be ‘allowed’ to work, just to check if her husband would be comfortable with it.

The point of an education is to equip an individual with a sense of independence and liberty. These are absolutely worthless if in the same premises, we teach women that they are only meant to fill certain roles. I recently heard a lecture on the number one trending YouTube channel in Pakistan, ‘Bolti Kitabain’(Talking books), that the purpose of a women’s education is to make her a good person; not so that she can work … go figure.

Of course, we can’t hide away from the fact that there is a strong religious association to this entire problem and with our culture so strongly tied to religion, which is taboo to even question, therein lies the problem.

I was always taught a verse in the Quran, ‘there is no compulsion in religion’ (Surah 2, verse 256). But this verse is falling onto deaf ears. So, let’s say we weren’t taught it. The problem is that men feel the need to control women and use religion as a proxy and women refuse to challenge it. To get out of this problem, egalitarian men, women and scholars need to stand up for oppressed women and girls.

When we have discussions about women rights, women need to be present at those panels and TV shows in the majority. We have repeatedly been brainwashed by being told that women should do a certain thing. It’s time we stand up and constantly remind society and people like Gillani that a man should not speak on behalf a woman but should empower her speak up and make decisions for herself.

It is hypocritical to be offended when France bans the veil and be proud when Pakistan enforces the hijab. Every human being deserves a choice in what to wear, what to study, when to get married, whether to get married at all and what to do with his or her life.

This oppression on women in Pakistan is justified through convenient interpretations of the Holy Scripture, but everyone seems to forget that the Holy Prophet (pbuh)’s wife Hazrat Khadijah was a successful merchant with numerous trade caravans, without the help of a man. She was a strong independent woman who approached the Holy Prophet (pbuh) for marriage and then supported him. How do we react today in Pakistan when a wife supports the husband? We can’t even picture it because the gender roles we teach don’t subscribe to such ideas.

Abu Bakr Agha
A software engineer, musician, writer and activist from Islamabad, currently based in Chicago.

In Pakistan women's are more free and secure compare to India. In many cases India didn't give right to women to serve for the nation. For example in India you didn't see any fighter pilots, commando's and special services etc . In many field Pakistani women were enjoying more freedom then Indian for example first we have first women state bank head then India, we have more women's in parliament then India. So in urban area's we are leaders and as far as rural area we both are in same league

Where did i even compare india vs pakistan?

I don't care about feminist and liberal movements as I am associated with any.

Are you saying if women are given freedom they would choose to become prostitutes? Most women get into that business because they are helpless not because it is their preferred choice.

And what about domestic violence and rapes that take place within the family which are never reported?

-Stay on point my friend. This is about you advocating for absolute freedom, to which I say .. the argument can be used to justify just about anything including prostitution. Can you prove otherwise? If so, please do... otherwise you can just agree to disagree.

-On to "freedom", there is no such thing as absolute freedom. Either the vision of visionaries or the collective input of the society decides the limitation and de-limitations of freedom.

-As far as domestic violence and rapes, who is condoning such behavior ? I don't know of ANYONE who condones such behavior. So instead of "are you saying xyz" or "what about xyz" try to stay on point.

Pakistani men are the true champions of their families having to assume responsibility early in life without break. Spare us this dogmatic bullshit, Pakistani family system is very mature and decisions are made with full consultations with the females.

-Stay on point my friend. This is about you advocating for absolute freedom, to which I say .. the argument can be used to justify just about anything including prostitution. Can you prove otherwise? If so, please do... otherwise you can just agree to disagree.

-On to "freedom", there is no such thing as absolute freedom. Either the vision of visionaries or the collective input of the society decides the limitation and de-limitations of freedom.

-As far as domestic violence and rapes, who is condoning such behavior ? I don't know of ANYONE who condones such behavior. So instead of "are you saying xyz" or "what about xyz" try to stay on point.

I agree that there is nothing like absolute freedom but i fully support maximum possible freedom as long as it does not encroach upon the freedom of the others.

Pakistani men are the true champions of their families having to assume responsibility early in life without break. Spare us this dogmatic bullshit, Pakistani family system is very mature and decisions are made with full consultations with the females.
perfectly expllained..just a bahana and fazool ki "chingari ko hawa dena" balkay yahan koi chingari hai bhi nai...they need something to cry and protest..tooo free in life..dont mind their own businesses

I agree that there is nothing like absolute freedom but i fully support maximum possible freedom as long as it does not encroach upon the freedom of the others.
What are the limits of the maximum possible freedom.
Pls explain for with examples.
Maybe our standard of freedom is different from indian standard.
Where woman can go to clubs and drink alcohol free and daughter or sister can dance with her boyfriend in front of her father or brother.

Yes, these are the secular-liberals who want to change Pakistan's "oppressive" culture and talk about "real issues" of our sisters, and daughters. Real issues such as "periods" and their "horny-ness"

^^ A really really stupid response. The author has tried to draw attention towards subordination and oppression of women in Pakistan. He didn't say that Islam advocates oppression of women, he has argued that Muslim men through their convenient interpretations of Islam use religion as a proxy to control women, and in doing so they ignore Quranic injunctions and example(s) from the life of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). The article does make some valid points. Why not reply to them instead of lashing out against Seculars and Liberals ?

What are the limits of the maximum possible freedom.
Pls explain for with examples.
Maybe our standard of freedom is different from indian standard.
Where woman can go to clubs and drink alcohol free and daughter or sister can dance with her boyfriend in front of her father or brother.

I would say if a brother can indulge in smoking, alcohol, and brothels why is the same not acceptable for you in case of a sister ?

I would rather have both not indulge in any but if these are acceptable for one then it should be acceptable for the other too.