Imran mediating between Iran, Saudi Arabia

HAIDER

UNITED NATIONS: Prime Minister Imran Khan has said he has been mediating with Iran to defuse tensions in the Middle East after the US president and the Saudi crown prince asked him to do so.

Hours after Mr Khan revealed this at a news briefing at the UN headquarters on Tuesday, President Trump told reporters that he had “a very good relationship” with the Pakistani leader and that was why he was involved in the effort.

Mr Khan met Mr Trump and Iranian President Hassan Rouhani on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly in New York this week and met Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman during a two-day visit to Saudi Arabia on his way to the United States.

At his news conference, Mr Khan indicated that he was also working with the United States to keep the Afghan peace process alive, although last month President Trump halted the process and cancelled a Taliban visit to Washington.

The prime minister, however, ruled out a meeting with his Indian counterpart Narendra Modi, who is also in New York. “What’s the point of talking now unless they lift the curfew and restore Article 370 of the Indian constitution,” he said.

PM says he has been requested by Trump, Saudi crown prince to do so

“It will be tragedy for all, if there’s a war between Iran and Saudi Arabia,” said Mr Khan while explaining why he got involved in the mediation effort. “President Trump asked me that if we could de-escalate the situation and maybe come up with another deal.”

Mr Khan said he had already conveyed Mr Trump’s desire to the Iranian leader. “Yes, we did convey this, and yes, we’re trying our best,” he said.

“I immediately spoke to President Rouhani (on Monday) after the meeting with President Trump,” he said. “I can’t say anything right now more than this, except that we’re trying and mediating.”

In Saudi Arabia, the crown prince “also asked me to talk to the Iranian president”, Mr. Khan said.

The prime minister’s comments caused speculations in the United Nations about a possible face-to-face meeting between Mr Trump and Mr Rouhani on the sidelines of the general assembly. Some media reports claimed that French President Emmanuel Macron was trying to arrange such a meeting, although the US president was scheduled to return to Washington on Wednesday.

At a separate briefing on Tuesday evening, President Trump said he was aware of these mediation efforts. “They would like to negotiate. It certainly makes sense, but we haven’t agreed to that yet,” he said.

The French president, he said, was “also talking to us” and to other people.

“So is Prime Minister Khan of Pakistan. A lot of people, (German Chancellor Angela) Merkel is also very much involved, we have a lot of people involved. A lot of people would like to get us to the table.”

When asked to clarify if he had asked Mr Khan to get involved, Mr Trump said: “Well, he’d like to do that, and we have a very good relationship and there’s a chance that that could happen.

“But no I haven’t spoken — he actually asked me, he thought it would be a good idea to meet and we’re here, we’re in New York together and we have the time to do it, although we’ve done a lot of bilats in the last two days.”

Diplomatic observers at the UN headquarters pointed out that Pakistan has good relations with both Saudi Arabia and Iran and represents Tehran’s consular interests in the US in the absence of diplomatic relations.

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, while speaking to reporters in New York said the prime minister had made it clear to the US president that the region could not afford another war, as it would have drastic consequences.

“During the Saudi visit too, the prime minister had suggested an amicable solution to the US-Iran standoff,” Mr Qureshi said. President Trump too had expressed trust in Mr Khan’s leadership, he added.

At the prime minister’s news briefing, an Afghan journalist asked Mr Khan if Pakistan was still involved in the Afghan peace efforts.

“We are still working on the Afghan peace process. Hopefully, the deal is signed and then we will contact the Taliban and ask them to talk to the government in Kabul,” the prime minister responded.

Published in Dawn, September 26th, 2019
https://www.dawn.com/news/1507408

UNITED NATIONS: Prime Minister Imran Khan has said he has been mediating with Iran to defuse tensions in the Middle East after the US president and the Saudi crown prince asked him to do so.

Hours after Mr Khan revealed this at a news briefing at the UN headquarters on Tuesday, President Trump told reporters that he had “a very good relationship” with the Pakistani leader and that was why he was involved in the effort.

Mr Khan met Mr Trump and Iranian President Hassan Rouhani on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly in New York this week and met Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman during a two-day visit to Saudi Arabia on his way to the United States.

At his news conference, Mr Khan indicated that he was also working with the United States to keep the Afghan peace process alive, although last month President Trump halted the process and cancelled a Taliban visit to Washington.

The prime minister, however, ruled out a meeting with his Indian counterpart Narendra Modi, who is also in New York. “What’s the point of talking now unless they lift the curfew and restore Article 370 of the Indian constitution,” he said.

PM says he has been requested by Trump, Saudi crown prince to do so

“It will be tragedy for all, if there’s a war between Iran and Saudi Arabia,” said Mr Khan while explaining why he got involved in the mediation effort. “President Trump asked me that if we could de-escalate the situation and maybe come up with another deal.”

Mr Khan said he had already conveyed Mr Trump’s desire to the Iranian leader. “Yes, we did convey this, and yes, we’re trying our best,” he said.

“I immediately spoke to President Rouhani (on Monday) after the meeting with President Trump,” he said. “I can’t say anything right now more than this, except that we’re trying and mediating.”

In Saudi Arabia, the crown prince “also asked me to talk to the Iranian president”, Mr. Khan said.

The prime minister’s comments caused speculations in the United Nations about a possible face-to-face meeting between Mr Trump and Mr Rouhani on the sidelines of the general assembly. Some media reports claimed that French President Emmanuel Macron was trying to arrange such a meeting, although the US president was scheduled to return to Washington on Wednesday.

At a separate briefing on Tuesday evening, President Trump said he was aware of these mediation efforts. “They would like to negotiate. It certainly makes sense, but we haven’t agreed to that yet,” he said.

The French president, he said, was “also talking to us” and to other people.

“So is Prime Minister Khan of Pakistan. A lot of people, (German Chancellor Angela) Merkel is also very much involved, we have a lot of people involved. A lot of people would like to get us to the table.”

When asked to clarify if he had asked Mr Khan to get involved, Mr Trump said: “Well, he’d like to do that, and we have a very good relationship and there’s a chance that that could happen.

“But no I haven’t spoken — he actually asked me, he thought it would be a good idea to meet and we’re here, we’re in New York together and we have the time to do it, although we’ve done a lot of bilats in the last two days.”

Diplomatic observers at the UN headquarters pointed out that Pakistan has good relations with both Saudi Arabia and Iran and represents Tehran’s consular interests in the US in the absence of diplomatic relations.

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, while speaking to reporters in New York said the prime minister had made it clear to the US president that the region could not afford another war, as it would have drastic consequences.

“During the Saudi visit too, the prime minister had suggested an amicable solution to the US-Iran standoff,” Mr Qureshi said. President Trump too had expressed trust in Mr Khan’s leadership, he added.

At the prime minister’s news briefing, an Afghan journalist asked Mr Khan if Pakistan was still involved in the Afghan peace efforts.

“We are still working on the Afghan peace process. Hopefully, the deal is signed and then we will contact the Taliban and ask them to talk to the government in Kabul,” the prime minister responded.

Published in Dawn, September 26th, 2019
https://www.dawn.com/news/1507408
Non of these countries see, imran as mediator, I think PM modi has the power to deal a agreement between Iran and ksa cause both trust india as the new power in South Asia, Pakistan is jst good for providing its retired genrals for body gurd roles in Arab world and Thts it

Good, Mediation between the two Muslims fighting is the Teachings of Muhammad Pbuh , but lets not get involved in their wars .
Yes you are right. However I do think that there is a ruling on taking a part in the fight between two Muslim parties. If a Muslim party thinks someone is an "aggressor or oppressor", then it must act against it until it stops hostilities and comes to the table to talk.
Who do you think can be defined properly as an "aggressor or oppressor"? Is it Saudi Arabia or Iran?

Yes you are right. However I do think that there is a ruling on taking a part in the fight between two Muslim parties. If a Muslim party thinks someone is an "aggressor or oppressor", then it must act against it until it stops hostilities and comes to the table to talk.
Who do you think can be defined properly as an "aggressor or oppressor"? Is it Saudi Arabia or Iran?

Both are wrong .. So in this case, lets just leave this case to Allah to figure it out, both KSA and Iran are worse enemy of Islam, the two countries who divided into two sects, I was ashamed when my Wife took Oath of Islam, and ask me , Which Muslim that this Oath make me ? Shia or Sunni .. it literally break my heart when i was teaching that Islam is one and teaches unity .

Good, Mediation between the two Muslims fighting is the Teachings of Muhammad Pbuh , but lets not get involved in their wars .

I can’t believe IK/Pak agreed to another thing they can’t deliver. If Pak citizens are happy about this “responsibility” then I guess goal already met.

IK is getting played by Trump/Modi big time.

I can’t believe IK/Pak agreed to another thing they can’t deliver. If Pak citizens are happy about this “responsibility” then I guess goal already met.

IK is getting played by Trump/Modi big time.
And u think, he and bajwa don't know that?
It's a ll a setup, to ask pakistan give up its nucks and genral bajwa is the master mind, imran is jst a front man?
How come ISI doesn't have the knowledge about what india is about to do in IOK?
Or genral bajwa Givn the task by pentagon to clear pakistan nuckes give AJK and GB to India, accept state of Israel, and live like a peaceful state like Nepal or BD????

K is getting played by Trump/Modi big time.

Like really how ? Our role most will be to arrange a meeting behind the curtains and that's it after all we finally able to brought US and Talibans to table earlier.

And u think, he and bajwa don't know that?
It's a ll a setup, to ask pakistan give up its nucks and genral bajwa is the master mind, imran is jst a front man?
How come ISI doesn't have the knowledge about what india is about to do in IOK?
Or genral bajwa Givn the task by pentagon to clear pakistan nuckes give AJK and GB to India, accept state of Israel, and live like a peaceful state like Nepal or BD????

I don’t know what point you are trying to convey. India is successfully wearing down Pak along with pro Pak Kashmiris.

Both are wrong .. So in this case, lets just leave this case to Allah to figure it out, both KSA and Iran are worse enemy of Islam, the two countries who divided into two sects, I was ashamed when my Wife took Oath of Islam, and ask me , Which Muslim that this Oath make me ? Shia or Sunni .. it literally break my heart when i was teaching that Islam is one and teaches unity .
At Imran Khan's talk at the Council on Foreign Relations, he said that there is only one Islam. I was really happy to see a leader of an Islamic country finally attacking the roots of the increasing Western Islamophobia. We must work very hard to convince the Muslim world that we have divided the pure Islam just for political reasons.
Religious thought in Islam is at a standstill for centuries. People are not developing with time even though the religion Islam was for the humanity till the end of time. Allah's prophet Muhammad (SAW) said that my Ummah will be never Unanimous in error. This shows that if Muslims were to sit down and discuss the problems facing Islam in the modern world, they would always make the right decision. But the problem is that ego and pride does not let the two sects listen to one another, let alone sitting down and discussing the problems in our Islamic culture that has been corrupted by the lack of religious thought in Islam.

Like really how ? Our role most will be to arrange a meeting behind the curtains and that's it after all we finally able to brought US and Talibans to table earlier.

If that is Trump’s intention to have peace with Iran, he would use India than Pak.

IK is just being made to look important and being dispatched on a useless errand.

If that is Trump’s intention to have peace with Iran, he would use India than Pak.

IK is just being made to look important and being dispatched on a useless errand.

No one takes India seriously other than a business partner. In between Saudia and Iran, there is an ideological war which Pakistan perfectly understands and co relates unlike India.

bro, let me tell you exactly what India is to the world in typical Karachi language ..

India woh ameer Chutiya bacha hai, jise baqi bache apne sath isi liye khilate hai kyun ke woh Ball aur Tape ke paise deta hai .. @dexter @Areesh han bhai kuch galat kaha ?

Ahhh clearly Indians are jealous regarding Imran's xfactor and growing international persona. These goras have quickly realized this. Trump actually used Modi (Pakistan-copied) rally to get Indian Americans votes for next year elections. Else Modi is of no use anyways.

bro, let me tell you exactly what India is to the world in typical Karachi language ..

India woh ameer Chutiya bacha hai, jise baqi bache apne sath isi liye khilate hai kyun ke woh Ball aur Tape ke paise deta hai .. @dexter @Areesh han bhai kuch galat kaha ?

Exactly - just a mere business partner.

Pak is way too pro-Saudi to be trusted by Iran.