IAF to induct 8 squadrons 'Tejas' in 8 years: Manohar Parrikar

sudhir007

IAF to induct 8 squadrons 'Tejas' in 8 years: Manohar Parrikar - The Economic Times

NEW DELHI: Indian Air Force will induct three to four indigenously developed Light Combat Aircraft 'Tejas' this year and a total of eight squadrons in eight years, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said today.

He told the Lok Sabha that a Letter of Intent for procuring 120 Tejas was issued and the first aircraft was inducted by the IAF in 2015 and three to four would be inducted this year.

"Letter of Intent has been issued for 120 LCA. The first aircraft was given during 2015. The next three to four, to form the squadron, will be delivered during current year.

"We are also in the process of approving the second line of manufacturing to the HAL so that they can produce 16 aircraft per year. In the next eight years, you will have about eight squadrons of LCA," he said during Question Hour.

Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) is the nodal organisation for the development of 'Tejas'.

Parrikar said India has been importing 15 per cent of the global arms imports which has now come down to 14 per cent.

India's arms import bill has also come down from around Rs 35,000 crore to Rs 24,900 crore now, he said.

The Defence Minister said Indian defence industries, ordnance factories and shipyards have been functioning in full capacity and the orders received by them have increased substantially over the years.

They have orders to the tune of Rs 1,60,000 crore and they would not be able to complete all orders even in the next ten years, he said, adding that these orders were indigenous, mostly from the government, and just two per cent orders from abroad.

Replying to another question, Parrikar refuted a suggestion that India's budget allocation for defence sector was low in comparison to countries like the US, China and Pakistan, saying the pensions of defence personnel was not part of the defence budget.

He said modernisation of the armed forces was a continuous process based on threat perception, operational challenges and technological changes to keep the armed forces in a state of readiness to meet the entire spectrum of security challenges.

"Government attaches the highest priority to ensuring that the armed forces are sufficiently equipped to meet any operational requirement. This is achieved through induction of new equipment and technological upgradation of capabilities," he said.

@PARIKRAMA
Why does God often fulfill half of what we wish?
A second line but that too for HAL only ?

We cant get a pvt sector line for Tejas unless this diagram is implemented
Fa6UkSe.png

Time for pvt sector to at least start manufacturing component parts for Tejas via HAL outsourcing it partially and finally leading them to sub assembly level. All this will happen over next 8 years...

So its clear by 2024 end we should get all MK1As ... thus after that we should do MK2 as per DM MP's plan (the same is said in rafale sticky where ADA/HAL asked for 1 year for a committee to assess..)

See DM MP said clearly
Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) is the nodal organisation for the development of 'Tejas'.

So Tejas a platform development into MK2 is ADA's headache.. If they involve pvt sector for MK2 now itself it becomes easy.

"We are also in the process of approving the second line of manufacturing to the HAL so that they can produce 16 aircraft per year. In the next eight years, you will have about eight squadrons of LCA," he said during Question Hour.

So its just LCA + most probably Rafale what he referred few days back.. Nice..

@Abingdonboy : We got confirmation again!!!

We cant get a pvt sector line for Tejas unless this diagram is implemented
Fa6UkSe.png

Time for pvt sector to at least start manufacturing component parts for Tejas via HAL outsourcing it partially and finally leading them to sub assembly level. All this will happen over next 8 years...

So its clear by 2024 end we should get all MK1As ... thus after that we should do MK2 as per DM MP's plan (the same is said in rafale sticky where ADA/HAL asked for 1 year for a committee to assess..)

See DM MP said clearly

So Tejas a platform development into MK2 is ADA's headache.. If they involve pvt sector for MK2 now itself it becomes easy.

So its just LCA + most probably Rafale what he referred few days back.. Nice..

@Abingdonboy : We got confirmation again!!!

I feel most probably we will develop a Tejas Mk2 only as a tech demonstrator. By 2024, it would not be wise to keep going for them.

But 8 Years is too long. Pakistan is working to roll out 25 airframes now while the chi was have been doing this with J11s and J10s for a while.

If we will have 2 Production lines, say
Production line 1=> 12 per year
Production line 2=> 16 per year...
We should be getting >25 airframe each year by 2018.

And if we produced ~14 aircrafts from both , then by 2020 we will have all the 100 aircrafts.

We can then think about a small number of Mk2.

I feel most probably we will develop a Tejas Mk2 only as a tech demonstrator. By 2024, it would not be wise to keep going for them.

But 8 Years is too long. Pakistan is working to roll out 25 airframes now while the chi was have been doing this with J11s and J10s for a while.

If we will have 2 Production lines, say
Production line 1=> 12 per year
Production line 2=> 16 per year...
We should be getting >25 airframe each year by 2018.

And if we produced ~14 aircrafts from both , then by 2020 we will have all the 100 aircrafts.

We can then think about a small number of Mk2.

I think combined 2 lines is 16 jets (guessing first line production of 8 jets per year)..

About what i talked on outsourcing .. did some search see here and i quote

Sources in HAL said given the Centre's Make in India campaign and to save on time, outsourcing some manufacturing has happened and a few other projects are in the pipeline. The wing assembly has been outsourced to L&T, while 10 vendors will be in the fray for the centre and rear fuselage, for which tenders will be floated soon. "Outsourcing of 33 electrical panels, six mechanical assembly projects making of fin and rudder, etc is under way," they said.

To enhance the rate of production, HAL had late last year sent a proposal to the defence ministry for setting up a second production line.A senior official said the ministry is likely to clear it by February .

HAL has invested Rs 150 crore for capacity augmentation. According to the proposal, HAL is expected to invest 50% of the Rs 1,200-crore estimated cost, while the IAF and the Navy will invest 25% each.

Unquote

Team LCA gears up for increased orders - The Times of India

About Tejas MK2, well we do require light fighters in close numbers of approx 1/3rd of squadron strength,,

So if its 45 sqdrs - 15 Squadrons Light
48 sqds - 16 sqds Light
60 sqds - 20 sqds light

So you see on and above 8 sqds we need to have another 7-8 light sqds with further improvement and evolution of Tejas Mk1A or MK1 SOP18 platform...

We cant stop that plan or else you will see light category being used up by other imported jets..

I am sure 16 number is as of now thought and arrived at.. By the time of 2024 you will hear a third line for the MK2 product and see say 8 x 3 = 24 jets or more a year for the improved MK2 product. Most probably that third line will be n pvt sector. Judging by wing assembly experience already by L&T i wont be surprised if they chose to be the 3rd line folks.. In such a situation all these jets for say 7-8 squadrons would be inducted in 4.7-5.4 years and by 2030 we will have a full strength 15-16 squadrons of light fighter..

Thats not bad surely.. after all its a very huge improvement for a country like us who had waited very long for having a credible light fighter of our own...

I think combined 2 lines is 16 jets (guessing first line production of 8 jets per year)..

About what i talked on outsourcing .. did some search see here and i quote

Sources in HAL said given the Centre's Make in India campaign and to save on time, outsourcing some manufacturing has happened and a few other projects are in the pipeline. The wing assembly has been outsourced to L&T, while 10 vendors will be in the fray for the centre and rear fuselage, for which tenders will be floated soon. "Outsourcing of 33 electrical panels, six mechanical assembly projects making of fin and rudder, etc is under way," they said.

To enhance the rate of production, HAL had late last year sent a proposal to the defence ministry for setting up a second production line.A senior official said the ministry is likely to clear it by February .

HAL has invested Rs 150 crore for capacity augmentation. According to the proposal, HAL is expected to invest 50% of the Rs 1,200-crore estimated cost, while the IAF and the Navy will invest 25% each.
Unquote

Team LCA gears up for increased orders - The Times of India

About Tejas MK2, well we do require light fighters in close numbers of approx 1/3rd of squadron strength,,

So if its 45 sqdrs - 15 Squadrons Light
48 sqds - 16 sqds Light
60 sqds - 20 sqds light

So you see on and above 8 sqds we need to have another 7-8 light sqds with further improvement and evolution of Tejas Mk1A or MK1 SOP18 platform...

We cant stop that plan or else you will see light category being used up by other imported jets..

I am sure 16 number is as of now thought and arrived at.. By the time of 2024 you will hear a third line for the MK2 product and see say 8 x 3 = 24 jets or more a year for the improved MK2 product. Most probably that third line will be n pvt sector. Judging by wing assembly experience already by L&T i wont be surprised if they chose to be the 3rd line folks.. In such a situation all these jets for say 7-8 squadrons would be inducted in 4.7-5.4 years and by 2030 we will have a full strength 15-16 squadrons of light fighter..

Thats not bad surely.. after all its a very huge improvement for a country like us who had waited very long for having a credible light fighter of our own...

8 From 1line ? :hitwall:
Too slow, toooo slow.
At least 12 should be made, 1 per month.

IAF to induct 8 squadrons 'Tejas' in 8 years: Manohar Parrikar - The Economic Times

NEW DELHI: Indian Air Force will induct three to four indigenously developed Light Combat Aircraft 'Tejas' this year and a total of eight squadrons in eight years, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said today.

He told the Lok Sabha that a Letter of Intent for procuring 120 Tejas was issued and the first aircraft was inducted by the IAF in 2015 and three to four would be inducted this year.

"Letter of Intent has been issued for 120 LCA. The first aircraft was given during 2015. The next three to four, to form the squadron, will be delivered during current year.

Parrikar said India has been importing 15 per cent of the global arms imports which has now come down to 14 per cent.

India's arms import bill has also come down from around Rs 35,000 crore to Rs 24,900 crore now, he said.

The Defence Minister said Indian defence industries, ordnance factories and shipyards have been functioning in full capacity and the orders received by them have increased substantially over the years.

They have orders to the tune of Rs 1,60,000 crore and they would not be able to complete all orders even in the next ten years, he said, adding that these orders were indigenous, mostly from the government, and just two per cent orders from abroad.

Replying to another question, Parrikar refuted a suggestion that India's budget allocation for defence sector was low in comparison to countries like the US, China and Pakistan, saying the pensions of defence personnel was not part of the defence budget.

He said modernisation of the armed forces was a continuous process based on threat perception, operational challenges and technological changes to keep the armed forces in a state of readiness to meet the entire spectrum of security challenges.

"Government attaches the highest priority to ensuring that the armed forces are sufficiently equipped to meet any operational requirement. This is achieved through induction of new equipment and technological upgradation of capabilities," he said.

1sqd per year is it possible???

@PARIKRAMA Dude how long it'll take to set up a 2 line ?? till then we'll have only 8 build per year right??

I think the line will take 18-24 months for it to start.. So if they approve now, may be by 2018 beginning it should start it's production..

Perhaps the line could be made in a manner that later it could ramp up to more than 16.. May be 24.. Little more investment can make it a strong possibility.. Hope MOD considers that aspect

Impossible to replace our retiring fleet with tejas alone !!!!

Our maximum capacity without any second production line could be around 16 . 16 * 8 = 128 plus 2 or 3 reserve for each squadron if we go for it . Even without reserve 16 makes as 1 squadron we will have 8 squadron only . More than 300 fighters could would be decommissioned .

Till 2024 We will add 128 tejas 60 Plus Sukois while 60 being upgraded to super sukoi standard , 36 Rafale if at all we agree to pay more or if French agree to come down on price . As we know .

Now keep our finger crossed for 60 PakFa , 18 More Rafales. If all goes well . Later AMCA have to fall in place to replace other fleet of Jags and Mirages and mig29s ... Tight rope to walk . Time to act before its too late

By 2018 we could increase our capacity to 16 per year.

Our maximum capacity without any second production line could be around 16 . 16 * 8 = 128 plus 2 or 3 reserve for each squadron if we go for it . Even without reserve 16 makes as 1 squadron we will have 8 squadron only . More than 300 fighters could would be decommissioned .

Till 2024 We will add 128 tejas 60 Plus Sukois while 60 being upgraded to super sukoi standard , 36 Rafale if at all we agree to pay more or if French agree to come down on price . As we know .

Now keep our finger crossed for 60 PakFa , 18 More Rafales. If all goes well . Later AMCA have to fall in place to replace other fleet of Jags and Mirages and mig29s ... Tight rope to walk . Time to act before its too late

If we want we can increase the capacity to 24 aircrafts per production line.

If the Chinese can do it with flankers ( which is more complex to build ), then why should not we do it ?

Sure, check :
"The first aircraft was given during 2015. The next three to four, to form the squadron, will be delivered during current year. ..." he said during Question Hour.

With 5 planes per squadron, problem solved!

Still not a fan of that DM, Tay.
Lol, May be our Intelligent defence journos misquoted him as for a squadron minimum 18 birds required :lol:

It is possible to have 39.5 sqn ( present authorised) by 2025.. And then to reach 42 sqn by 2030.
The plan is to increase to 45 sqn as of now.. Which also can be achieved by 2030-33.

But how...it's as follows..
By 2024, IAF will have

Su 30... 15-16 sqn...312 planes..
MIG 29... 3 sqn
mirage.... 2 sqn
Jags darin3...3 sqn
Jags (not upgarded)..3 sqn
LCA... 7sqn... ( going by 7 only against 8 as IAF said six mk1a and on mk1)
Rafale..2 sqn (French line)
Rafale.. 4 sqn ( Indian line) timeline 2020-2024

This is 39-40 sqn by 2024...
In 2025...
We can get 1 sqn rafale (Indian)+ 1 sqn rafale ( French). + 1 sqn LCA + possible FGFA 1 sqn..

So total is 42-44 sqn.... By 2025... For IAF....
IAF will be also satisfied with 38-39 sqn by 2025.. As we replacing Gen3 with Gen 4/4.5+ and rest 03 sqn of rafale can go to IN if needed..

Lol, May be our Intelligent defence journos misquoted him as for a squadron minimum 18 birds required :lol:

Nah... To commision a sqn and start making tactical manuals, (despite being understrength) , u need minimum 04 jets.....

The number of planes in a sqn is not fixed..
USMC sqn is 12 jets while USAF is 16 ..
IAF also have 18 jets sqn for western planes and 20 jets sqn for Russian jets..

He meant to say that 1st sqn of LCA will be commisioned this year with first four LCA..
However, he said 16 jets/sqn of LCA... Too less.. We need minimum 18 jets/sqn

With Much better aerodynamics and other problem resolved , 800 kg lower weight and AESA and EW suite , Air refueling probe installed , 28* AOA certified with 9g, This plane shall be top class light fighter. It is going to give our enemy a sleepless nights for sure. Most important of all is that it will relieve MKI from many peace time duties saving a huge amount in fuel cost.