India doesn't like a two front war with China and Pakistan in the North.
Bangladesh is not a factor for India. India will handle Bangladesh to it's own advantage in any such war situation. In a Sino Indian or Sino-Pakistan Indian war Bangladesh can only support India or at best desperately try to be seen as "neutral".
Offering, or even appearing to offer any kind of diplomatic support to either Pakistan or China, will result in a crushing military response from India . Even neutrality will not be taken kindly by India, and India will demand, or take by force full road, rail, air and waterway transit across Bangladesh territory to support operations in Arunachal Pradesh.
It is far more likely that Bangladesh will offer these facilities on its own rather than risk an Indian military takeover.
For India, Bangladesh poses no risk to the "chickens neck" ( Siliguri corridor ). In case of an unforeseen collapse of the Indian front to China in that sector, India will swiftly invade Bangladesh to take over it's transit routes and facilities to support its operations in the east. This is exactly like Belgium's case in World War 2 when it's neutrality was meaningless in the face of Germany's military objectives.
Bangladesh's strategic and tactical situation is precarious. Bangladesh has a non-professional army with insufficient and outdated hardware riddled with corruption (
read Gen Hasan Sarwardy interview ).
At this time Bangladesh's Armed Forces have no capabilities of even protecting its citizens from wanton sniper fire by India's border guards.
The Bangladesh Armed Forces have no capabilities of protecting its own territory. The comments by PDF members here of Bangladesh taking over 7 Indian states by cutting the "chickens neck" are not realistic. Any such attempt will result in Indian retaliation that will cause severe or total destruction of Bangladesh's infrastructure.
Due to geography and the fact that Bangladesh is an enclave India doesn't need to put any boots on the ground or even commit its air force. Every bit of Bangladeshi territory is within range of Indian MRLS and its coastal access and ports is completely vulnerable to a Brahmos missile attack. India has allies within Bangladesh such as the Chakma insurgents. As a final punishment to Bangladesh India might carve out a "Chakmastan" from the Chittagong Hill Tracts and hand it over to the Chakmas.
If India turns on Bangladesh (in the course of a war) there is very little any foreign nation could do to help even if it wanted to. Unlike interventions in Syria or Afghanistan there is no big power vested interests in Bangladesh. Even China would be more concerned with taking Arunachal and defending Ladakh then bothering about Chittagong.
Indian war game planners have accounted for the scenario that in case
Bangladesh is annexed or even temporarily occupied there would be a partisan or gurilla resistance from remnants of the Bangladesh Armed Forces. This however would be handled by India far more easily than the situation faced by Pakistan in 1971.
India would not have the logistical disadvantages faced by Pakistan. The Indian occupation backed by India's 1 million paramilitary and reserve forces will outmatch Bangladesh numerically.( Example: West Bengals Eastern Frontier Rifles ( Bengali Speaking), supporting 26 battalions of the Bihar Regiment ( with many Bengali speaking assets) as well as the Bihar Military Police would be enough to secure Dhaka. India has huge Bengali language resources for its intelligence and population control which was unavailable to Pakistan in 1971.
The Bangladeshi resistance without shelter, protection and resupply from a friendly foreign base ( as in 1971) will quickly run out of resources. Bangladesh has no indigenous arms industry of any significance to support a people's resistance.
It is very likely that Myanmar ( looking over the shoulder at China ) will attempt a deal with India to annex the CHT.
What options does Bangladesh have ?
Obviously...
Keep marching in India's Republic Day parades, and
hope that the BSF shoots less of its civilians each year.
Didn't notice this because i was too occupied with the first thread. I see
@leonblack08 @Homo Sapiens and
@magra is already trying to correct you. So i am gonna leave it marked in three colors. Agree with the blue part, green is partially right and red parts are ridiculously wrong.
I loved 99% of your post, but only have issue with the one quoted above.
Are you saying India and BD are in a cold war, that you would jump at an opportunity to annex our North East and WB? India used the 1971 opportunity to weaken an adversary. Do you consider India to be adversary?
Nothing to love actually, just trying to talk with facts and logic. Yes i know that the 1% is the problem now. Calling it a cold war might be bit exaggeration but we share problems and most of them IMO happens because of you. Now we discussed these issues before already numerous times and still do, i think there are few new threads about those currently in this sub-forum.
The main issues are border killing, river water and now new one is NRC/CAA. BSF promise using non-lethal weapon but doesn't implement that. Killing intruders when you are attacked or when they are not complying may be ok but shooting at Bangladeshis while they are inside our border not breaking any laws, obstructing construction near our border area, supporting illegal fishing, intrusion by BSF members themselves etc.
Some Indians say that BSF kills Bangladeshis because they enter to India illegally. Then how come our BGB, BCG don't kill them for same reason instead of arresting them? It seems Indians don't like the same treatment they give others when few years ago we killed a BSF member. Then there was attempt to push you national in our country, BGB successfully thwarted that attempt. Not to mention there was big conflict between BSF-BGB in 2001 when your force intruded and decided to attack our BOP.
You may already know about Farakka, Teesta, there are at least 30-50 more dam on our various rivers. Last one was Feni river. The river doesn't even flow from India. India made a deal with BAL to withdraw water from it but report suggest India withdraws more water than the MoU.
Also when our export saw some rise in India your govt tries to hinder it by putting objection on jute, RMG and soybean product and breaching SAFTA rules. You are staying neutral on Rohingya issue and trying push them in Bangladesh. Then there derogatory remarks and threat to annex Bangladesh from BJP leaders. So the hostility is always there towards us in guise of friendship.
You talk about friendship but the actions gives opposite vibe. And hostility or not India will always be our number one potential adversary besides Myanmar because of it's military size and because there's no other external threat for BD.
About annexing NE and WB, it just a wet dream. Like
@Baibars_1260 said it's unrealistic and IMPOSSIBLE IMO. I said this in the context of 1971. Bangladesh doesn't have the power to annex those areas and it doesn't have that kinda hostility with India, similar to Pakistan. It can only happen if:-
1. India-BD relation is sour like Pak-India/USA-NK.
2. Bangladesh has maximum firepower to fight India with full force.
3. If GoB and people dream of annexing those states.
4. China invading from north.
Those won't happen so you can chill. And YES, i will take that opportunity based on the four conditions above because those states were supposed to be our during the partition of Bengal but didn't happen because of Congress.
New Indian customs rules are against the principles of South Asian Free Trade Agreement and similar trade deals, Bangladesh customs and trade officials said. They...
www.newagebd.net
Entire Adamjee jute mill machinery worth hundreds of millions and machinery from every other jute and sugar mill were all taken away. Adamjee was the world's largest jute mill at the time and no Indian mill could hold a candle to it. The compound itself was at least five miles square, probably larger. The compound was so big, that single mill area has now been turned into an entire large SEZ (Export Processing Zone with hundreds of factories). The whole mill machinery was lifted to India. And this was just one mill. There were hundreds of instances like this.
After seeing what happened to people openly expressing these opinions in Bangladesh (they either go missing or end up found dead by the side of the road by Hasina's killers), very few will express them openly.
There you go again, basically saying the same thing with sprinkles of other stuffs. You are hearing about this since you were a kid. i am hearing this since i was teenager but no document supports the rumor. I already talked about this enough in my previous post and i quote them again below. No point repeating it.
This is a serious allegations you are making in an international forum which is no different than accusing a country for genocide/ethnic cleansing/war crimes.
So when you say something like this, you have to bring solid evidence to make the allegation at least credible somehow.
More importantly why wasn't there a single complain/protest/photo/video/ news paper article in mainstream media if they stole those things? Did the entire Bangladeshi population suddenly became dumb and impotent just after independence? There were numerous patriot freedom fighters and foreign journalist present in BD that time, AP was even recording lots of clip. But they didn't hear or report anything about the alleged looting either.
After nationalization in 1972, the Adamjee Jute Mill started suffering from problems like overstaffing, lack of work discipline, absenteeism and unionism.
I asked my father and elderly relatives two times now. They first admitted Adamjee being operational and then agreed about looting. But when i asked them again they say Indians only stole nuts and bolts. See what my fellows are saying is contradictory. Nuts-bolts may be believable but whole machineries stolen "overnight" within two months?!
What would they with them if they don't have any space to set them up, if you say they can't compete with Adamjee? How did Adamjee go to operation with ALL the equipments stolen?! There wasn't any BAKSHAL or DSA then, so why no one raised voice about looting?! I see some people still talk about it and criticize BAL and remain unaffected by DSA. You already said the area was quite large, i am gonna share some photos here below. Hope it gives a idea about how you claim seems preposterous.
We Bangladeshis are that kind of people who doesn't hesitate to attack, vandalized Hindu-Buddhist temple, property and kill people if someone say "a Hindu/Buddhist insulted/disgraced Holy Quran/Prophet" or "Children are being kidnapped because decapitated heads are need for Padma bridge construction". (Nasirnagar, Ramu, women brutally killed in Badda school). So "চিলে কান নিয়ে গিয়েছে" বা "ভারতীয়রা বদনা পর্যন্ত নিয়ে গিয়েছে" বললেই যে তা বিশ্বাস করতে হবে এমন কোন কথা নাই।
And if asking for proof and saying that 24 pages of derailment with off-topic and ridiculous allegation after allegation makes the whole thread/discussions nothing but utter CRAP makes you think that i am taking India's side so be it. If India is looting us for 50 years why don't you do anything about it? Hasina and BAL didn't rule BD for 50 years, there were anti-Indian people in power too.
So I am a racist just because I said that most women in Bangladesh practice Hijab?
No, you misunderstood. When you said the line below and shared two photos it seemed you were saying that those women in the second photo follow Hindu culture and tradition just because of their dress-up. So i ask again, are you saying people follow Hindu tradition/culture just because they dress like that instead of wearing hijab, tupi and panjabi?
About the "most of the women wearing hijab" part, lets just agree to disagree. You can ignore me or do whatever you like but throwing childish tantrum like this doesn't solve the problem actually.
Of course there are non-Hijabi Bangladeshi Muslim women, but nowadays, one can easily tell among Bangladeshi women who is Hindu and who is Muslim. Twenty years ago, aping Hindu traditions were more prevalent and you could not tell women apart like this.
Having Bangladesh' foreign, trade and military policies being decided by India is not a matter of honor for me personally.
India is begging us to give you connectivity to NE through Bangladesh. Ain't happening.
Which foreign, trade and military policies being decided by India? Can you elaborate? I thought we already gave them transit-transshipment to Akhaura-Agortola and Ashuganj port and access to Ctg port. The last was India-Bangladesh Friendship Bridge (Maitri Setu) over the Feni river.
And stop medical visas and tourist visas for our people?
Why our people take them in the first place? India didn't force us to so. How about we stop that first, eradicate corruption from health ministry and improve our own health care system instead of ripping off people?
So
@The Ronin ,why did India ( so called imo ) help us in 1971?What is your opinion?
A straight forward reply will be very much appreciated and helpful. Thanks in advance!
I already gave
A straight forward reply in one line in my previous thread. We all agree on India's motive on helping us but that's not the topic here.
It's true that India would benefit in long term by defeating and splitting Pakistan in half.
বাংলাদেশ ব্যাংক থেকে সোনার বারসমূহ নেয়া হয়েছে।
This statement seems contradictory cause in my previous post i talked about a report on Pakistanis dumping looted gold and silver from national bank in CTG. Pakistanis had access to both the national bank and Bongo Bhovon so it wouldn't be surprising if they looted the carpet and chandeliers as
@Baibars_1260 talked about an Indian officers experience about handling Pakistani military personnel's belongings. Same goes for looted thing stored by Pak army in Pilkhana and cantonment. Also Mainul Hossain should've given us an idea about the looted things stored by Pak army. So his acquisitions aren't satisfactory.
a few hours before Pakistan surrendered, the Pakistan Navy had dumped into the sea a huge quantity of looted gold and silver jewellery and six large trunks of gold taken from the National Bank. Bangladesh, the new country which emerged out of the ruins of the war, now wanted to recover this treasure.
However, the tides had probably dispersed much of the dumped treasure. Plus, visibility in the waters was not good. Under the circumstances, the total recovery of 52.75 tolas of gold, 70.05 kg of silver and coins worth almost Rs 2.2 million, wasn’t bad at all.
Russia’s naval presence in the Bay of Bengal, which prevented a joint American-British strike on Indian cities, did not end after the 1971 war. Russian ships stayed on for two more years, clearing mines from the delta and recovering gold dumped in the sea by the Pakistanis.
www.rbth.com
So yes mass murder started by Pakistani army in 25 march night , but ended by Indian army in 14 December .
So why Pakistani army didn't kill intellectuals in previous nine months , but killed just before they surrendered to Indian army?
If Pakistan army can murder 3m/3 lakh in just nine months , why couldn't they kill few hundreds of intellectuals that time?
LOL, you are still at it? It seems that you have decided to create a bubble of illusion and live in it even though
@Shorisrip, countless witnesses and evidences burst that bubble of yours. To further back
@Shorisrip reply here is link below of Rao Forman Ali's plan which suggest that they planned killing certain intellectuals through whole 9 months.
https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/16th...st-pakistan-to-bangladesh.84875/post-12854406
Also according to witness's accounts and former Pakistan army officials it suggest that the Pakistan army was confident about still winning the war and was hoping that China, USA will help. Ask your Pakistani buddies here why they attacked India on 3rd December if they had to lose so fast. Their soldiers were happy to surrender to Indian army who is a signatory to Geneva convention. So yes, not surprising if Pakistan army executed the plan right before the surrender.
This the first time i am seeing someone to blame Indians for killing our intellectuals.
Now where did i see this tactics before?
Yup, some Pakistanis blamed Indian for killing our people in the past.
Your situation is like this meme from Jojo Rabbit.
Documentation is poor but could you blame the archivist?
Of course i can. I found several modified articles circling around these three books and using them as reference. But this idiot did a bit extra. The last half of his article was his writing and looks like he didn't do any research at all for his allegations and theories. Even DefRes deleted this crap.
Whoever wrote the original content didn't put references in orderly fashion which is usually in this kinda writing. I was reading Salahuddin's book to find something about the looting and his arrangement of references was total mess.
btw, where did you get that map of tank operations from? What is it about? The shiromoni article reads like a manga. I read on Facebook about the battle as it progressed, but can’t find the post.
This was the first thing we argued about in the group. Can't remember if you were a mod or not back then. The map is about which is suitable in which part of BD. But you disagreed. I think it's from a Bangladesh army journal issue. Sorry i couldn't find any PDF file on the Battle of Shiromoni.
So i shared those article links from both sides. But this PDF file might be "the tank battle of Shiromoni" book people talk about. I see they use reference from it. This book also use Musa Sadik's reference. So this one, the article from Roar বাংলা, Independent by Musa Sadik and Battle of Khulna by Pakistani commander seem the most credible ones. Do you know Syed Sabbir Eli bhai? Ask him if this is the book he read or not. Need to confirm.