Does PDF Do A Good Job of Representing Pakistani Society

Institute and fund a comprehensive national mass literacy campaign, including adult literacy, with the global of near universal literacy in 10-15 years. Once people are literate they will find their way onto every platform they desire to engage upon.

Also good Urdu to English and English to Urdu software on smartphones will help remove the language barrier between people that only speak/write in one language or are not as equally proficient in both languages.

It is a big deal to ask people to be proficient to a high enough level in not just one but two languages. Accommodation for Pakistanis that have only learned Urdu or Overseas Pakistanis that are not as literate in Urdu will help bridge the divide.
Two very different questions.

1. Accessing PDF.

Some of it is interest, some of those people just aren't interested. Also forums are an older platform, many people who are new to the internet get their information through social media, not through forums, or even formal news sites. If you access the twitter feed or FB page of PDF you'll notice more of the typical awam on there.

Language is a big thing too. Much of our Urdu speaking awam who has an interest in defence matters will refer to Khoji TV or Haqeeqat TV or other urdu language youtube channels. Even our journalists are increasingly opening their own youtube channels.

2. Accessing E-learning content. Well language barrier is also a part of that. India is doing well in this regard. Look on youtube for any software development platform and concept and you'll find videos of Indians explaining it and increasingly you'll find hindi videos explaining it.

Also it's a cultural thing. Is there a culture of self learning? Do people know these platforms exist? Do people know how they can use them? Our schools, colleges and Universities don't teach them. Our job sector isnt really interested in development of employees - who's going to point someone at udemy?
Both of you have brought up really good, pertinent points. How should we go about this national drive of literacy. Especially for the adult population? How about instituting military service after a mandatory 2 years of education in a military institution at 16?

Something seems to be burning. On topic - site is what the users make it. iMO I turn to it if I’m looking for what’s going on in the homeland.
On the whole Good community good opinion and always an encyclopaedia of info

True, I myself born and raised in the UK had pretty bad image of Pakistan growing up, as I only saw it through a narrow lens at the time due to the negativity from people around me (Pakistani's), however this perception started to change when I started to meet like-minded individuals, and sites like the PDF played a big role. I feel we Pakistanis fail to represent ourselves properly; the good doers go unnoticed, whilst the bad actors actions get magnified, and thus with the lack of proper representation its no wonder of the current social, political and economical challenges we having to deal with today..

My suggestion, Urdu FB posts, and tweets. Also translating pdf articles to urdu. It requires effort on someones part though. i dont think any AI does it.
Google translate does. İf İ visit any non english website it offers to translate it for me. İ don't think it doen in Pakistan. We could ask them to do that.
@313ghazi Also I've observed that Pakistani populace largely gravitates towards the youtube channels that proliferate spicy masaledar news. İnstead of the ones that genuinely talk about Defence or current affairs like İnternational Defence Analysis ran by one of the PDF members. How could we make the public demand better journalism. Does it boil down to education again or is it also a cultural thing?

Both of you have brought up really good, pertinent points. How should we go about this national drive of literacy. Especially for the adult population? How about instituting military service after a mandatory 2 years of education in a military institution at 16?

The easiest approach to literacy is school. Get kids educated. Currently govt is paying some poor families to send their kids to school. I am a firm belieiver that free school meals would help encourage enrolment into school too, as well as free uniforms and books. If you take the cost of going to school out of it, then more people will attend.

The next focus should be on Young adults, 16-25, maybe even under 30's in our country. We need to focus on basic literacy, numeracy and skills to help them get jobs. At this age if you don't know your Pakistan studies or your Chemistry - the academic ship has sailed for you. You need to be learning the skills required to earn. Govt should roll out apprenticeships (tax breaks for companies that take on apprentices for example). We also need colleges that train people in skills like carpentry, plumbing, mechanics etc etc. I posted a topic about Ethopia and they are doing this with kids aged 14.

Ulltimately it's upon the state to get people in education and then develop a culture of learning. NGO's could do their part, businesses could too (staff development) but state has schools and colleges everywhere, they need to do their job better.

I'd prefer people taught less subjects but taught them well.

You need to be learning the skills required to earn. Govt should roll out apprenticeships (tax breaks for companies that take on apprentices for example). We also need colleges that train people in skills like carpentry, plumbing, mechanics etc etc. I posted a topic about Ethopia and they are doing this with kids aged 14.
İ think the German higher ed model does a great job of making sure only the best students end up in universities and some of the less intelligent ones go to technical schools. Overall the system helps reduce unemployment and helps curb feelings of hopelessness in the youth especially.

Free services. Minutes for the cell phone, discount on electricity bill, water bill. And once you have learned, if you can teach someone you can get a continuation of these benefits based on how your students perform. Government gets value for the money spent and minimal and less invasive overhead. People can learn how ever they want to learn and get tested to see if they know how to actually read and get the free benefits. It’s win win.

İ am just being curious here. Does PDF do a great job of accurately portraying all facets of the Pakistani society??
No
And we don't get to see the people who post comments like Yes, Mashallah, Good, Very Nice, Rasool s.a.w sey kon kon pyar karta hai mera comment like kare etc under Haqeeqat TV YouTube videos. How can we get some of these dulhan bus people into PDF or get them educated. Like how can we give them access to things like udemy, Khan Academy or other learning services where they can learn English or any language they like, where they can learn about geo-politics, foreign affairs, science subject matter, true knowledge of the deen vs what the 10 pence mullah teach and pull them out of the darkness of being ignorant(due to no fault of their own). This might just solve Pakistan's problem of electing complete buffoons to high office.

Yes İ do realize my words are a tad bit condescending. But this is the reality and we need to somehow come up with a creative solution within our social and economic constraints.

You are right 100%. Unfortunately its a bitter truth that majority of our AWAM with internet is like "Bandar k haath me maachis"

True, I myself being born and raised in the UK had pretty bad image of Pakistan myself growing up, as I only saw it through a narrow lens at the time due to the negativity from people around me (Pakistani's), however this perception started to change when I started to meet like-minded individuals, and sites like the PDF played a big role. I feel we Pakistanis fail to represent ourselves properly; the good doers go unnoticed, whilst the bad actors actions get magnified, and thus with the lack of proper representation its no wonder of the current social, political and economical challenges we having to deal with today..
You have hit the nail on the head as regards to representation. The way for example the Jews represent control and market themselves puts The way we present ourselves to shame. Frustration is rife a I see other communities and nations shine brightly as Pakistan fails to market itself. We live in hope and that glitter of hope will never ever be diluted as it’s engrained in our green and white hearts.....

Any one here who went to government school or Trust school (extremely low fee) in Pakistan ?
Count the heads and you will get the Answer.

This forum is made up of mostly of Expats (who left Pakistan long time ago or Never lived in Pakistan for reasonable time), Bots of establishment, Chinese/US/Indian govs, High Class, Upper Middle Class and DHA people. Add some trolls to equation as well.

So in essence it's not the representative of Pakistan at all.