Does PDF Do A Good Job of Representing Pakistani Society

Insulted Other Member/Nationality

PDF disciplinary policy is not for me to decide. But İ believe a lot has to be done to bring more awareness and shaoor to our people. İ think modern technology we have could certainly help us do that.
No one is perfect except Allah and his Prophets. So, there is always space for improvement

It's not an accurate reflection on our society. Most people here are either expats or wealthy/middle class Pakistani's. Most people here have an active interest in defence, otherwise they'd be on siasat.pk.

I doubt anyone here is a manual labourer/semi skilled worker. Everyone has an excellent understanding of English.
I don't think PDF really reflect the true Pakistan. It is represented only by a small portion of english educated forumer plus heavily mix with many overseas Pakistanis who bear dual nationality whom I doubt really place Pakistan as first priority.

But it's good venue to share lots of information despite the trolling presence. But this is also where some fun can added in, right? :enjoy:

Pakistani dual nationals place Pakistan first or at least equal to their host country. The vast majority of us migrated for economic opportunity, not to change our nationality or to experience a different culture. The community in the UK especially migrated due to poverty and the UK currently needing manual labourers in the 60's and the 70's. People like me stay in the UK because I have better economic prospects and social facilities, not because I consider myself more British than I am Pakistani. If Pakistan could provide law and order, affordable healthcare and merit based economic opportunity I would migrate back.

Currently Pakistan offers this to the wealthy in or around the biggest cities. However a middle class person struggles more in Pakistan than they would in the UK. Pakistani expats are increasingly moving back to Pakistan and investing in Pakistan but only those who are wealthy and have roots in the bigger cities. In the rest of the country it's a more difficult life. A good quality of life is possible even in rural Pakistan, but it is harder to achieve.

This forum was setup by i believe overseas Pakistani's, as was the old PDF.

İ am just being curious here. Does PDF do a great job of accurately portraying all facets of the Pakistani society??

Because we mostly see all of the educated english speaking people here. Kinda like how r/Turkey only has educated, english speaking Left Wing people on there.

And we don't get to see the people who post comments like Yes, Mashallah, Good, Very Nice, Rasool s.a.w sey kon kon pyar karta hai mera comment like kare etc under Haqeeqat TV YouTube videos. How can we get some of these dulhan bus people into PDF or get them educated. Like how can we give them access to things like udemy, Khan Academy or other learning services where they can learn English or any language they like, where they can learn about geo-politics, foreign affairs, science subject matter, true knowledge of the deen vs what the 10 pence mullah teach and pull them out of the darkness of being ignorant(due to no fault of their own). This might just solve Pakistan's problem of electing complete buffoons to high office.

Yes İ do realize my words are a tad bit condescending. But this is the reality and we need to somehow come up with a creative solution within our social and economic constraints.

Institute and fund a comprehensive national mass literacy campaign, including adult literacy, with the global of near universal literacy in 10-15 years. Once people are literate they will find their way onto every platform they desire to engage upon.

Also good Urdu to English and English to Urdu software on smartphones will help remove the language barrier between people that only speak/write in one language or are not as equally proficient in both languages.

It is a big deal to ask people to be proficient to a high enough level in not just one but two languages. Accommodation for Pakistanis that have only learned Urdu or Overseas Pakistanis that are not as literate in Urdu will help bridge the divide.

İ am just being curious here. Does PDF do a great job of accurately portraying all facets of the Pakistani society??

The question to ask is whether PDF is tasked with the goal of accurately portraying all facets of Pakistani society, or with something else?

Instead of assisting or giving your opinion - you attempt to tell the OP to ask a different question? Thanks for the input or perhaps lack of

The OP's question may not apply to PDF at all. :D

PDF is not here to represent Pakistani society. It is here to represent the views of its management as they determine them.

You are welcome.

Because we mostly see all of the educated english speaking people here. Kinda like how r/Turkey only has educated, english speaking Left Wing people on there.

And we don't get to see the people who post comments like Yes, Mashallah, Good, Very Nice, Rasool s.a.w sey kon kon pyar karta hai mera comment like kare etc under Haqeeqat TV YouTube videos. How can we get some of these dulhan bus people into PDF or get them educated. Like how can we give them access to things like udemy, Khan Academy or other learning services where they can learn English or any language they like, where they can learn about geo-politics, foreign affairs, science subject matter, true knowledge of the deen vs what the 10 pence mullah teach and pull them out of the darkness of being ignorant(due to no fault of their own). This might just solve Pakistan's problem of electing complete buffoons to high office.

Yes İ do realize my words are a tad bit condescending. But this is the reality and we need to somehow come up with a creative solution within our social and economic constraints.
Friend, i learnt a lot from this forum.

However i feel it has become a trolling ground for Chinese paid CCP bots and Indians. There are some who are good and civil but others are needing perament ban.

PDF is not here to represent Pakistani society. It is here to represent the views of its management as they determine them.

You are welcome.
So you’re a mind reader are you? PDF is here to represent PDF - naturally, as any forums - there are rules and regs that we have to abide by. Stay within the rules and you will be dandy. Non of my opinionated posts have been censored and I’ve learnt plenty. I don’t feel the management are in any way totalitarian - quite the contrary.
Pakistan opinion is varied like any society and is well represented here. Now please doc - try to add to the discussion - always helps 😉

Two very different questions.

1. Accessing PDF.

Some of it is interest, some of those people just aren't interested. Also forums are an older platform, many people who are new to the internet get their information through social media, not through forums, or even formal news sites. If you access the twitter feed or FB page of PDF you'll notice more of the typical awam on there.

Language is a big thing too. Much of our Urdu speaking awam who has an interest in defence matters will refer to Khoji TV or Haqeeqat TV or other urdu language youtube channels. Even our journalists are increasingly opening their own youtube channels.

2. Accessing E-learning content. Well language barrier is also a part of that. India is doing well in this regard. Look on youtube for any software development platform and concept and you'll find videos of Indians explaining it and increasingly you'll find hindi videos explaining it.

Also it's a cultural thing. Is there a culture of self learning? Do people know these platforms exist? Do people know how they can use them? Our schools, colleges and Universities don't teach them. Our job sector isnt really interested in development of employees - who's going to point someone at udemy?

You are welcome.

It would seem someone is bitter for not making the cut to a more favorable managerial position themselves even after a decade of service... i guess even taking into account your so called 'credentials' (Air chief Marshal) maybe it's safe to assume You never tended to break the glass ceiling to begin with.. perhaps You'd have better opportunities at the Ganges Defence Forum (GDF), plus You'll have the added benefits of being around Your own kind.. minus the perks reserved for special guests (i.e. fantastic tea).

So you’re a mind reader are you? PDF is here to represent PDF - naturally, as any forums - there are rules and regs that we have to abide by. Stay within the rules and you will be dandy. Non of my opinionated posts have been censored and I’ve learnt plenty. I don’t feel the management are in any way totalitarian - quite the contrary.
Pakistan opinion is varied like any society and is well represented here. Now please doc - try to add to the discussion - always helps 😉

My decade long presence here is proof that the management at least tolerates some dissidents. Please carry on with the discussion as you see fit.

It would seem someone is bitter for not making the cut to a more favorable managerial position themselves even after a decade of service... i guess even taking into account your so called 'credentials' (Air chief Marshal) maybe it's safe to assume You were never tended to break the glass ceiling to begin with.. perhaps You'd have better opportunities at the Ganges Defence Forum (GDF), plus You'll have the added benefits of being around Your own kind.. minus the perks reserved for special guests (i.e. fantastic tea).
Something seems to be burning. On topic - site is what the users make it. iMO I turn to it if I’m looking for what’s going on in the homeland.
On the whole Good community good opinion and always an encyclopaedia of info

The question is aimed at exactly what it asks. How can we make PDF more accessible to some of our Urdu only folks.
Friend, i learnt a lot from this forum.

However i feel it has become a trolling ground for Chinese paid CCP bots and Indians. There are some who are good and civil but others are needing perament ban.
İ agree you can clearly see when someone is trying to push a particular nations agenda. That Hamartia and that Beijing Walker guy guy don't even deny it anymore. Haven't seen Beijing Walker here in a long time. Must've switched to a different username by now.

The question is aimed at exactly what it asks. How can we make PDF more accessible to some of our Urdu only folks.

İ agree you can clearly see when someone is trying to push a particular nations agenda. That Hamartia and that Beijing Walker guy guy don't even deny it anymore. Haven't seen Beijing Walker here in a long time. Must've switched to a different username by now.

My suggestion, Urdu FB posts, and tweets. Also translating pdf articles to urdu. It requires effort on someones part though. i dont think any AI does it.