Disappointed in Imran Khan's Pitch at Davos in the Desert, Saudi Investment Conference

GDP will be in a better position by 2023-24.

More ever, if we cut money laundering and corruption to a great deal, we will be saving 1-2 billion dollars every year anyways

Pakistan spends ~5 billion usd a year on failing PIA & Pakistan Steel Mills. Selling these non performing state enterprises and bringing even 30% of Pakistan’s black economy mainstream will do wonders.

You take care of Trump.

Silly reply.

Honestly saying Imran disappointed me too, he was totally unprepared unaware , He have dilemma he thinks he is master of all things but infact he is Jack of All , in economics he is totally illitrate, he wasnt impressive at all , this is because in his cabinet no one dares to argue him or tell him how to handle situations, more than him Asad umer disappointed me he would have briefed IK properly ,or Imran would have put his ego asides and would have asked that finance Minister will answer this question, any way after all he did it a million times better than Nawaz Sharief, imagine have it been NS what would we have listened from him,
Do you have suggestions.. because any econmost or logical person will say he touched all the points nicely..

I am surprised that he was able to get such big bailout from Saudis..what have we given to the devil in return will be interesting to know

Imran khan aim was never the conference but to show the support to Saudi to make them feel that we are with them and we got the result already $6 billion in return. So it was a success.

it is a $6 billion loan. it has to be repaid
the government postponed the day of reckoning

China is not responsible for Pakistani incompetent politicians.
Pakistan will get 16 billion dollar from Saudi Arabia and it will include cheap oil and investment in 2 to 3 major projects including oil refinery.

And the way Imran is, as a self respecting human being, Pakistan will inshallah come out of its debt trap. We need to get out this seeking loans to run our country. Its not sustainable and it erodes the dignity of the country.

Imran spoke very well. Without looking at paper. It seems like he knows what he is saying. Thats a sign of a leader.

Do you have suggestions.. because any econmost or logical person will say he touched all the points nicely..

I am surprised that he was able to get such big bailout from Saudis..what have we given to the devil in return will be interesting to know
If you think Saudi Arabia gave this bailout due to Imran then you need to rethink, what ever we got, is by the efforts of our establishment and now please don't try to dig it down further,

it is a $6 billion loan. it has to be repaid
the government postponed the day of reckoning
so you were thinking 2 month old govt will put their hands intheir pocket and give billions of dollars? Every loan has to be repay but this loan at this time with no condition will give Pakistan 3 year time that's all this govt needs.

This is what I tweeted this morning after watching Imran Khan's speech (
) at Davos in the Desert:

Disappointed in #ImranKhan's #Pakistan pitch at #DavosInTheDesert. #Saudis are big investors in #SiliconValley and #ImranKhan failed to mention Pakistan's #tech potential. It took an #Indian questioner in the audience to point to #Pakistan's #IT potential

http://www.riazhaq.com/2018/08/state-bank-pakistan-it-exports-surge-to.html

Pakistan's information technology exports have bucked the nation's declining exports trend with double digit growth to reach $1,065 million in fiscal year 2018, according to the State Bank of Pakistan. It is generally believed that Pakistan's central bank underestimates technology exports. Some have argued that the actual IT exports were closer to $5 billion in fiscal 2018. Some of the differences can be attributed to the fact that the State Bank IT exports data does not include various non-IT sectors such as financial services, automobiles, and health care.

Source: State Bank of Pakistan

Pakistan IT exports surged 13.4% to $1.06 billion in fiscal year 2018 from $939 million in fiscal year 2017. The growth was even more robust in the prior year with IT exports rising 19.1% from $789 million in fiscal 2016 to reach $939 million in fiscal year 2017.

Source: State Bank of Pakistan

About $320 million of IT exports revenue in fiscal 2018 came from software exports while the rest was made up of services such as consulting, telecom and call centers.

Online Labour Index top 20 worker home countries, 1-6 July 2017

Freelancers in Pakistan are benefiting from the growing access to broadband connections which are now being used by over 50 million Pakistanis across the country. Pakistan is ranked 4th in the world by the freelancing industry report. The country has rapidly increasing human capital of technologists.

Growth in IT exports is a good sign for Pakistan's export diversification beyond commodities such as textiles and food. In addition, air forces of about a dozen developing nations are buying and deploying Pakistani made aircrafts. The reasons for their choice of Pakistan manufactured airplanes range from lower cost to ease of acquisition, maintenance and training.

Related Links:

Haq's Musings

South Asia Investor Review

Tech Jobs Moving to Pakistan

Pakistan Made Airplanes Lead Nation's Defense Exports
Pakistan Ranks High Among Top Outsourcing Destinations

Riaz Haq on Pakistanis in Silicon Valley

Can Pakistan Avoid Recurring BoP Crises?

Pakistan Launches NUTECH to Prepare 21st Century Workforce

100% agree with you on IT. PTI is the best of a bad bunch, unfortunately they're not the best this country has. I also was dissapointed to see how IT was missing.

I was also dissapointed on the focus on carbon based fuel sources such as oil, gas and coal and no mention for our huge green potential. We should be looking to attract people who manufacture solar panels and wind turbines to manufacture in Pakistan.

Why are we selling ourselves short as merely agricultural and resources and potential for lo-tech manufacturing. We have hi-tech talent, it should be advertised.

Apparently PMLN supporters are not happy with the latest development through Saudia. Not just here on PDF, I have been noting same skepticism by Noony losers on TV talk shows in the last couple of hours. Bloody defeated and pessimistic losers!:D

I am referring to Kabira's post not topic starter.

It's lovely to see their randi rona on TV every night.

For all of the people who are suggesting production and export of high value products instead of lower valued item. Can you for a moment stop bashing governments of present and past and ask your incompetent and greedy corporate sector?
Your Tech industry is not even willing to Invest in producing a decent Fully Pakistan Designed motor bike, Look at your auto industry. folks at Indus Motors, Atlas motors, PSMCL assembling cars for decades yet dont bother to take an initiative to make a home grown car.
This is capitalism, this is driven by Businessmen. People are still stuck at Mentality of 60s and 70s socialism. Govt can only make policies. Initiatives, Productivity new ways are all given by people. Yes Govt have done a lot of wrong but honestly look at your corporate sector. They are pathetic introverts. For example I still cannot comprehend why despite having companies like Waves Singer PEL, We cant produce decent sewing machines for textile sector. We still have to look to Japan and Taiwan for these sewing machines for decades and now China is added to list of machine importers :mad::hitwall:
When it comes to innovation your Corporate sector is a dud no matter how you defend it and try to shift all burden on Governments

There will come a day our people don't have to go to other countries for a handout. I hope this is the last time. I guess you have to hit rock bottom before you can begin the rise.

By 2030 I want to see exports at $100 billion with a healthy current account.

Don't say that, you'll give Pee x3 and Noora supporters a heart attack. Positivity in Pakistan? Nahi - only in House of Sharif/Zardari.

For all of the people who are suggesting production and export of high value products instead of lower valued item. Can you for a moment stop bashing governments of present and past and ask your incompetent and greedy corporate sector?
Your Tech industry is not even willing to Invest in producing a decent Fully Pakistan Designed motor bike, Look at your auto industry. folks at Indus Motors, Atlas motors, PSMCL assembling cars for decades yet dont bother to take an initiative to make a home grown car.
This is capitalism, this is driven by Businessmen. People are still stuck at Mentality of 60s and 70s socialism. Govt can only make policies. Initiatives, Productivity new ways are all given by people. Yes Govt have done a lot of wrong but honestly look at your corporate sector. They are pathetic introverts. For example I still cannot comprehend why despite having companies like Waves Singer PEL, We cant produce decent sewing machines for textile sector. We still have to look to Japan and Taiwan for these sewing machines for decades and now China is added to list of machine importers :mad::hitwall:
When it comes to innovation your Corporate sector is a dud no matter how you defend it and try to shift all burden on Governments

That is not true of the IT sector and OP did focus on IT sector. IT sector in Pakistan is innovative, it's exporting, it's supporting new startups through techHubs where big companies help new guys come into the market. A lot of it is down to Umar Saif and his vision.

@Kabira

Kabira bhai,

Why does Pakistan have to pay anything back. Ask the lenders to take a hike or if they create too much of a ruckus give them some assets like barren land in Baluchistan in lieu of the loans. Like SL has handed over Hambantota to PRC once it couldnt pay back loans.

The same model applies. If the CPEC projects and Gwadar work, the cashflows will pay off PRC loans. If they dont work the CPEC roads, rails and the port can be handed over to the Chinese, they can suck on them.

Win-win as I see it.

Regards

@Kabira

Kabira bhai,

Why does Pakistan have to pay anything back. Ask the lenders to take a hike or if they create too much of a ruckus give them some assets like barren land in Baluchistan in lieu of the loans. Like SL has handed over Hambantota to PRC once it couldnt pay back loans.

The same model applies. If the CPEC projects and Gwadar work, the cashflows will pay off PRC loans. If they dont work the CPEC roads, rails and the port can be handed over to the Chinese, they can suck on them.

Win-win as I see it.

Regards

We are not giving inch of land to anyone. China will be asked to increase imports from Pakistan and Saudis will have to take more Pakistanis to increase remittances.

If you think Saudi Arabia gave this bailout due to Imran then you need to rethink, what ever we got, is by the efforts of our establishment and now please don't try to dig it down further,
hmm...so establishment wanted the right face..obviously anti saudi PPPP and kickback man wasnt the answer

@Kabira

Kabira bhai,

Win-win as I see it.

Regards
Direct loans are not existence in CPEC ..most projects are either BOAT(build operate transfer) or via private investment

The main objection is lack of open bidding and transparency and undue to favour to chinese comapnies in building but what do you expect when its fully funded by china

The biggest loan projects are nuclear power plants(well india has dozen govt to govt nuclear plants more expensive than chinese) and railway upgrade